82 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

DIY DIY amp club V2, Post your DIY amp here

nanhifi
post Jan 22 2010, 09:32 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Jan 22 2010, 07:32 PM)
where got meeting for 3 peoples.....no fun.....we must ask nanhifi first if he willing to be the host????
Me to be the host? I never expected this appreciation, but have to check my free time... now working at nilai so I get to work early in 10am get back to home at 12am or 1 am.... The bad news is I am working every day for now since there are no one to cover me at Nilai. Maybe I have to see other diy stuff 1st biggrin.gif . I think littleghost or gabanyayaya is far better then me.

As for farnell component I only buy a critical component such as Power MOSFET driver. Those fake one will make your diy amplifier turn into a smoky one. I have blown more then hundred ringgit of the power transistor until I know this is a fake transistor sold to me.... like a firecraker... So using farnell component it help me a lot.

Most of mine diy stuff are at Kedah, I just move to here last year (2009) so nothing to show but only my bee amp at here now. I plan many project this year and hope I will manage to make it at least one (need more time to do the reseach). I also need to get all my stuff at hometown first.

The pass F5 on previous post is wonderfull and I wonder how the sound? But I feel it will be great audio result.

For those who love Headphone there are also a good diy headphone amp . Maybe I will make the small headphone amp and publish here. But I only got a sony headphone to be test blush.gif . As mention I have to do some more reseach for this kind of amplifier.

LittleGhost
post Jan 22 2010, 11:19 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

biggrin.gif just so to know I've ordered a Tektronik TDS2002B and a gw-Instek 7MHz DDS signal generator. lead time is about 3-4 weeks :\

Going to go crazy when it arrives.

gabanyayaya
post Jan 22 2010, 11:44 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(nanhifi @ Jan 22 2010, 10:32 PM)
Me to be the host? I never expected this appreciation, but have to check my free time... now working at nilai so I get to work early in 10am get back to home at 12am or 1 am.... The bad news is I am working every day for now since there are no one to cover me at Nilai. Maybe I have to see other diy stuff 1st  biggrin.gif .  I think littleghost or gabanyayaya is far better then me.

As for farnell component I only buy a critical component such as Power MOSFET driver. Those fake one will make your diy amplifier turn into a smoky one. I have blown more then hundred ringgit of the power transistor until I know this is a fake transistor sold to me.... like a firecraker... So using farnell component it help me a lot.

Most of mine diy stuff are at Kedah, I just move to here last year (2009) so nothing to show but only my bee amp at here now. I plan many project this year and hope I will manage to make it at least one (need more time to do the reseach). I also need to get all my stuff at hometown first.

The pass F5 on previous post is wonderfull and I wonder how the sound? But I feel it will be great audio result.

For those who love Headphone there are also a good diy headphone amp . Maybe I will make the small headphone amp and publish here. But I only got a sony headphone to be test  blush.gif . As mention I have to do some more reseach for this kind of amplifier.
working everyday really from seri kembangan to nilai...man it's like a marathon and still have time to diy.

farnell is expensive, but to be safe from imitation parts we don't have any choice... shakehead.gif
LittleGhost
post Jan 23 2010, 12:05 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

^farnell sells a handful of "cheap" items comparing to the ones you can get locally.

You just need to know what to get. I think there is no one in malaysia that can beat their price when it comes to components you actually use for performance.

jazzy939
post Jan 23 2010, 09:52 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I can imagine!.. the same way when I got my scope and audio gen. Keep us posted!

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 22 2010, 11:19 PM)
biggrin.gif just so to know I've ordered a Tektronik TDS2002B and a gw-Instek 7MHz DDS signal generator. lead time is about 3-4 weeks :\
wui223
post Jan 23 2010, 10:09 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 22 2010, 11:19 PM)
Bro u must be crazy tongue.gif
Invite me to ur secret lab when the baby arrives, i want to PK ur amp with my discrete headamp hehe
ccschua
post Jan 23 2010, 10:42 AM

1,630 posts

for those who love F5, check out the built unit by KP33000 at the other forum.

it is really kickass with only 25W class A. suggest to use bigger casing.

check out the casing here if u want to build one.

http://www.hifi4sale.net/audio-video-equip...ghlight=chassis

Hi littleghost,

I have all the parts (txf, pcb, compo, cap, etc. ) including casing for the F5, wonder if you can build the unit for demo ?

This post has been edited by ccschua: Jan 23 2010, 10:48 AM
nanhifi
post Jan 23 2010, 05:54 PM

35 posts

littleghost, what a great tools you have, and for now I am just using a software base Spectrum analyser. Anything else are on simulations... not so much to be test in practical.
LittleGhost
post Jan 23 2010, 09:24 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(wui223 @ Jan 23 2010, 10:09 AM)
Bro u must be crazy  tongue.gif
Invite me to ur secret lab when the baby arrives, i want to PK ur amp with my discrete headamp hehe
dem it, must finish my folded cascode asap :|

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 23 2010, 10:42 AM)
for those who love F5, check out the built unit by KP33000 at the other forum.

it is really kickass with only 25W class A. suggest to use bigger casing.

check out the casing here if u want to build one.

http://www.hifi4sale.net/audio-video-equip...ghlight=chassis

Hi littleghost,

I have all the parts (txf, pcb, compo, cap, etc. ) including casing for the F5, wonder if you can build the unit for demo ?
Don't mind doing it lol, but my timetable is sorta insane this trimester and might actually take some time to finish it. I thought you've finished building one?

Which reminds me, chchyong89 is also planning a F5 biggrin.gif He's my university mate and we might just build one together for his speakers.

QUOTE(nanhifi @ Jan 23 2010, 05:54 PM)
littleghost, what a great tools you have, and for now I am just using a software base Spectrum analyser. Anything else are on simulations... not so much to be test in practical.
I've seen your designs. Your topology reflects similarity with people like douglas self, and DX destroyer, and that guy from sound.westhost. biggrin.gif I'm curious why you did not go with more exotic topologies.

I find that eventually all of us will need a scope because simulations are too perfect to be true biggrin.gif (though they are accurate most of the time)

ruffstuff
post Jan 24 2010, 07:39 AM

3,345 posts

I want to ask a question to all DIY who knows electric and electronic.

I have problem with my USB dac (alien DAC), whenever i switch on my table fan or switch on my ceiling light, they seems like interrupting my USB DAC. The DAC have no sound after that. I have to replugged the usb cable again.

I also notice once in a while, my mouse light(also usb connected) responding on the activity above.

Any idea why might cause this?
ccschua
post Jan 24 2010, 10:03 AM

1,630 posts

done. i will get you the parts.

yesterday I listened to my fren's diy amp. wow, that was amazing. it was a Pass Aleph 30W class A. The huge casing isnt too hot.
nanhifi
post Jan 24 2010, 07:52 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 23 2010, 09:24 PM)
dem it, must finish my folded cascode asap :|
Don't mind doing it lol, but my timetable is sorta insane this trimester and might actually take some time to finish it. I thought you've finished building one?

Which reminds me, chchyong89 is also planning a F5 biggrin.gif He's my university mate and we might just build one together for his speakers.
I've seen your designs. Your topology reflects similarity with people like douglas self, and DX destroyer, and that guy from sound.westhost. biggrin.gif I'm curious why you did not go with more exotic topologies.
I find that eventually all of us will need a scope because simulations are too perfect to be true biggrin.gif (though they are accurate most of the time)
The design look a same but there are value and other component and type introduced in my design so the sound result is not a same. They are my major reference and just in what matters I design look a same but not sound same. Well this guy have help me a lot and to study more so I try to designing it with a few more upgrade from my reseach that I found. That why my design look similar but not a same.. smile.gif

As you see in Rode design he omited the current mirror component, Dougles put a current mirror but Rode put a green LED but I using a red LED but for Dougles he use a diode 1n4148. Each have own special charateristic not just using like try and error. The result I am choosing is from my reseach and as you see there are more than what I call same topoly but not same component value and more likely so much to say in here. So much variation involve even a what we call classic topology but it also have a limitation of maybe we still not found a better one. My website have been seen by sound.westhost after I launch it.

More exotic design mean more secret they keep on. To design is not just to take and change a bit value or add more component and claim as my design. I need to know why each of the component is put there and how it effect the sound not only the THD, Phase, IMD and so on but the only things is are it sound good?. Your all diyer I have made so many amplifier and electronics project as I even not count it and around 5% of the DIY project is shown in my website. This because I also keep my secret to and most of all it also have a copyright issue. But I know most of you also a great diy.. biggrin.gif ..
Need to find osc but also need to upgrade a few things too...

This post has been edited by nanhifi: Jan 24 2010, 08:34 PM
chchyong89
post Jan 29 2010, 04:54 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

itchy? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by chchyong89: Jan 29 2010, 04:55 PM
jazzy939
post Jan 29 2010, 08:08 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

What are you trying to do, chchyong?
More poison..? laugh.gif
Certainly nice those brushed aluminium casing, 'champagne gold' ala Marantz anodic treatment but why the different tint..? hmm.gif
My main complaint would be 'Dun Mei Audio' markings...
gabanyayaya
post Jan 30 2010, 04:10 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(nanhifi @ Jan 24 2010, 08:52 PM)
The design look a same but there are value and other component and type introduced in my design so the sound result is not a same. They are my major reference and just in what matters I design look a same but not sound same. Well this guy have help me a lot and to study more so I try to designing it with a few more upgrade from my reseach that I found. That why my design look similar but not a same.. smile.gif 

As you see in Rode design he omited the current mirror component, Dougles put a current mirror but Rode put a green LED but I using a red LED but for Dougles he use a diode 1n4148. Each have own special charateristic not just using like try and error. The result I am choosing is from my reseach and as you see there are more than what I call same topoly but not same component value and more likely so much to say in here. So much variation involve even a what we call classic topology but it also have a limitation of maybe we still not found a better one. My website have been seen by sound.westhost after I launch it.

More exotic design mean more secret they keep on. To design is not just to take and change a bit value or add more component and claim as my design. I need to know why each of the component is put there and how it effect the sound  not only the THD, Phase, IMD and so on but the only things is are it sound good?. Your all diyer I have made so many amplifier and electronics project as I even not count it and around 5% of the DIY project is shown in my website. This because I also keep my secret to and most of all it also have a copyright issue. But I know most of you also a great diy.. biggrin.gif ..
Need to find osc but also need to upgrade a few things too...
Ok would you like to be the president of the DIY club here...?
nanhifi
post Feb 1 2010, 09:51 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Jan 30 2010, 04:10 PM)
Ok would you like to be the president of the DIY club  here...?
What a pleasure but I am sorry maybe not for now. I feel so much to be upgrade for my DIY and there are also better DIYer in here too.. I also burden work commitment now.

ccschua- according to your friends aleph 30w class A what model is it. You said is not so hot. Previous I make for my friend Zen V1 the even a big heatsink is very2 hot any it only run at 10Wrms with idle of 100W. I cannot tuch it during operation. The insulator used in my friend Zen is mica not the normal silicon type. If using the silicon type the power transistor will easly damage since the thermal contact is lower then using mica (modi from top-3 mica insulator).

The diy casing -dun mei- maybe small for my aleph 4. As you know even the orginal version of aleph4 on operation it ca reach up to 55 celcius and this is very2 massive heatsink. I have to see it 1st maybe have to modify to insert bigger heatsink and it must be taller than that (double I think). My class A pml current feedback only idle for 30W and I use single car power amplifier to cool it down but still so hot to touch.. (I hate heat from class A tongue.gif ). If your amp run to hot it will make your power transistor/FET get older fast. and it will reduce the power output example from 30W down to 20w (check the datasheet for power transistor or FET). Maybe be I have to buy two (making monoblock). But no bonus this year cry.gif

The Dun Mei marking.. I will whipe it out... tongue.gif ...

Where are all diyer gone (busy diy or what)?...
gabanyayaya
post Feb 2 2010, 07:28 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(nanhifi @ Feb 1 2010, 10:51 PM)
What a pleasure but I am sorry maybe not for now. I feel so much to be upgrade for my DIY and there are also better DIYer in here too..  I also burden work commitment now.

ccschua- according to your friends aleph 30w class A what model is it. You said is not so hot. Previous I make for my friend Zen V1 the even a big heatsink is very2 hot any it only run at 10Wrms with idle of 100W. I cannot tuch it during operation. The insulator used in my friend Zen is mica not the normal silicon type. If using the silicon type the power transistor will easly damage since the thermal contact is lower then using mica (modi from top-3 mica insulator).

The diy casing -dun mei- maybe small for my aleph 4. As you know even the orginal version of aleph4 on operation it ca reach up to 55 celcius and this is very2 massive heatsink. I have to see it 1st maybe have to modify to insert bigger heatsink and it must be taller than that (double I think). My class A pml current feedback only idle for 30W and I use single car power amplifier to cool it down but still so hot to touch.. (I hate heat from class A  tongue.gif ). If your amp run to hot it will make your power transistor/FET get older fast. and it will reduce the power output example from 30W down to 20w (check the datasheet for power transistor or FET). Maybe be I have to buy two (making monoblock). But no bonus this year  cry.gif 

The Dun Mei marking.. I will whipe it out... tongue.gif  ...

Where are all diyer gone (busy diy or what)?...
Certainly go busy for this year since no bonus.... sad.gif

Nanhifi, so what is your casing/heat sink solution??? I'm in a mission to find a casing too. Look is not the main issue but must be able to accommodate all 'nonsense' in the amp circuit and fit nicely into it....perhaps maybe in your area there's a place that can provide custom made chassis.....wood would be good for vintage look.
nanhifi
post Feb 4 2010, 05:45 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Feb 2 2010, 07:28 PM)
Certainly go busy for this year since no bonus.... sad.gif

Nanhifi, so what is your casing/heat sink solution??? I'm in a mission to find a casing too. Look is not the main issue but must be able to accommodate all 'nonsense' in the amp circuit and fit nicely into it....perhaps maybe in your area there's a place that can provide custom made chassis.....wood would be good for vintage look.
I am looking to find a custom block with CNC cutting heat sink. The component placing must be place at rules. The power section, the heat sentitive device (Caps) and the wiring diagram and etc to minimize the hum or interfarence signal (RF) and prolong life . So far I still not be able to find the heatsink locally but only imported. The major problem is the shipping cost are very high.

My solution for now is try to combine all heatsink that I found to reduce heat. Or put some fan but it will have a fan noise but this is not very cricital we drive the amp at high volume the noise will not noticed. The problem it.. sure it look ugly whistling.gif . as always my prototype project always without casing. brows.gif it kind a dangerous but need to find the result 1st.

gabanyayaya
post Feb 4 2010, 08:31 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(nanhifi @ Feb 4 2010, 06:45 PM)
I am looking to find a custom block with CNC cutting heat sink. The component placing must be place at rules. The power section, the heat sentitive device (Caps) and the wiring diagram and etc to minimize the hum or interfarence signal (RF) and prolong life . So far I still not be able to find the heatsink locally but only imported. The major problem is the shipping cost are very high.

My solution for now is try to combine all heatsink that I found to reduce heat. Or put some fan but it will have a fan noise but this is not very cricital we drive the amp at high volume the noise will not noticed. The problem it.. sure it look ugly whistling.gif . as always my prototype project always without casing. brows.gif  it kind a dangerous but need to find the result 1st.
Sounds interesting, nanhifi is it possible for me to have a look at your 'naked' prototype....lawatan sambil belajar....??? I need something to inspire me...
nanhifi
post Feb 5 2010, 08:19 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Feb 4 2010, 08:31 PM)
Sounds interesting, nanhifi is it possible for me to have a look at your 'naked' prototype....lawatan sambil belajar....??? I need something to inspire me...
I looking for something like this casing..

Can somebody tell me where to find it locally?.

This post has been edited by nanhifi: Feb 5 2010, 08:27 PM

82 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0289sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:05 AM