Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx

novicebackpacker
post Nov 4 2012, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(pskk @ Nov 4 2012, 03:38 PM)
hi,

let me share a bit of experience i went thru b4 i bought my 1st bike last wk.

weight n size of fold u can find on d specs of bike.usually more light means more expensive.
better take ur car n try fold size if can fit into ur car boot b4 buy.

not sure wat u mean by able to roll...

i compared ori & tern b4 buy.
summary by salesperson, ori is like bmw while tern is like camry.
not sure below $3k can get ori...models i saw was ar9, m series sports.
i thk fold at front n rear wheels better than at mid frame cos logic tells me a frame with no joint is better than a frame with one....but tat is juz my opinion.

i thk below $3k, u hv many options.don't get a cheap one as wear n tear on cheap one is faster n will not last u for years unless u juz wan try 1st later upgrade.

get one tat fits d description of ur rides. better yet get one tat can be upgraded, eg convert 9 speed into
18 speed.

i tried many of my frens foldie b4 buy, i juz wan to say tat good handling, comfort, etc comes with a price.
try test d bike b4 buy.

lastly i din try out doppelganger cos i had my eyes set on ori n tern.

Added on November 4, 2012, 3:48 pmoh yeah i forgot to add....
there are parallel imports bike tat r cheaper than those fm local appointed distributors.
be careful as d specs differs.
i found ori ar9 which abt $400 cheaper but it uses lower specs n it's parallel import.
Thanks for sharing.

Able to roll i was referring when the bike is in folded form, i can just roll like a wheeled-luggage instead of carry it.

I would prefer to buy one that can last.

whoa...didn't know ori is like BMW & tern like camry, i thought is the other way around.

I'm looking at ori M10 which says superlight. Able to get ori below $3k info from a shop, think is the lower range C series. Would C series be sufficient?

Guess I better buy from appointed distributors, not familiar with the specs whether it's lower or not.

Hmm...since i can't afford a BMW car, perhaps to own a bike like BMW, how's that sounds?! tongue.gif

Decision...decision...
pskk
post Nov 4 2012, 05:55 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(novicebackpacker @ Nov 4 2012, 05:07 PM)
Thanks for sharing.

Able to roll i was referring when the bike is in folded form, i can just roll like a wheeled-luggage instead of carry it.

I would prefer to buy one that can last.

whoa...didn't know ori is like BMW & tern like camry, i thought is the other way around.

I'm looking at ori M10 which says superlight. Able to get ori below $3k info from a shop, think is the lower range C series. Would C series be sufficient?

Guess I better buy from appointed distributors, not familiar with the specs whether it's lower or not.

Hmm...since i can't afford a BMW car, perhaps to own a bike like BMW, how's that sounds?!  tongue.gif

Decision...decision...
tat 'car' comparison by d salesperson i doubt is correct....there r other branded bikes better than ori.....haha..

ori m10 is very light at 10.4kgs compared to my verge p18 at 11.6kgs....
ori m10 retails at RM3888 if m not wrong....
yes c series is lower price.
m sorry i cannot tell u if it suits ur ride style....u shd ask d salesperson at the shop cos they wud hv the knowledge.

if u go thru all the pages here, u wud hv an idea on the brands...
u can get the specs usually fm local websites....for ori go to folding bike trading website.

to understand the variation of the groupsets see below. i copy fm some website cant remember where,

Shimano and SRAM are the big two manufactures of bike group-sets for mountain-bikes.

Shimano and Campagnolo fight it out on the road.

The Japanese bicycle company Shimano have been around since way back in 1921, and have always been a market leader (with a share 80-90%, depending on the country) in terms of high-end bicycle components (road/off-road) as well as some of the best ranges of cheaper bike parts and cycle components.

The Shimano group-sets are marked out by a series of letters.

The 2008 ranking of Shimano mountain bike components is (from best to worst):

XTR
Deore XT
SLX
Deore LX
Deore
Alivio
Altus

Footnote: To equate these to what’s on a road-bike, it’s XTR = Dura Ace, Deore XT = Ultegra, Deore LX = 105, Deore = Tiagra, Alivio = Sora

SRAM rank their branded mountain bike components (from best to worst):

X-0
X-9
X-7
SX-5
SX 4

And here’s how both Group Sets rank, were we to line-up Shimano & SRAM together, and compare their respective product range.

Shimano versus SRAM dollar for dollar & pound for pound (over 12 rounds, no standing 8 count)

XTR = X.0.....Pro: Lightest strongest most efficient
XT = X.9.....Expert: Light, strong, durable, efficient
LX = X.7.....Sport: Strong, durable reliable
Deore = X.5.....Sport: Strong reliable
Alivio = X.4.....Recreational
Acera = X.3.....Recreational
Altus = No comparitive.....Entry Level

usually bike manufacturers mix the groupsets for foldie...m not sure if there is a groupset for foldie.

bike which after folded can roll i thk is brompton....fyi brompton is d rolls royce of folding bike...m not sure wat is d price of their lowest range...
m not sure if there are other brands which can do it.

where u fm? if fm kl.....then go chk out d bike shops as there r many compared to other states.

u can try dahon brand or tern....both i believe r good.

This post has been edited by pskk: Nov 4 2012, 05:57 PM
ora-ito
post Nov 5 2012, 02:01 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 3 2012, 10:24 PM)

Added on November 3, 2012, 10:26 pm

i love your black silvertip, really power!!  rclxms.gif

bro the radbot u order online or from sg? power giler.!! mata kucing kenot fight..!
thanks H2D, its very power... i can pow most bicycles on the road easily...
the other day when i came out from exit, i saw one group of MTB in front of me... so i catch up with them... saw the last person in the group and greeted them good morning till the 1st person on a 2km uphill and i rockets away! my roadie kaki are also having trouble to pace up with me hehehe
this baby manage to clock on flats 40-42kmph constant and uphills around 20kmph plus

as for the Radbot, its really power!!! beat the mata kucing anytime of the day... its very noticeable in broad daylight... i think it may blind the person behind me in the night... and if a car hits me at night... probably he bey song with my lights hahaha (high powered 1watt LED)
the blinking pattern on this light is very diff from others... it really grabs your attention... check out some youtube vids and u will know what i mean...
i bought this online... around sgd30+

H2D
post Nov 5 2012, 04:48 PM

598 posts

PDW - portland design works radbot,
one of the best blinkers biggrin.gif
but be careful the cyclist behind you might go rclxub.gif

this description, i copy from youtube....

Side by side comparison of the PB SuperFlash Turbo & PDW Radbot-1000

http://ecom1.planetbike.com/3070.html
http://www.ridepdw.com/goods/lights/radbot%E2%84%A2-1000

Both lights use 2x AAA batteries to power a 1W LED. The SuperFlash Turbo has an addition two LEDs where the Radbot-1000 has a built-in reflector. With both lights on "steady" they both produce what appears to be the same amount of light. The differences are the flashing patterns, buttons, construction and other subjective features.

Both lights use the same mount/clip. This makes it very convenient to swap lights among multiple bikes. The mounts/clips are high quality. Seatpost and seatstay mounts included. The Radbot-1000 also includes a mount (and hardware!) for attaching to a rear rack.

The SuperFlash Turbo has two LEDs that supplement the "Power LED". This looks particularly impressive at close distances, but the "wig-wag" effect diminishes with distance. Beyond a certain distance it looks like single LED light. I wonder... are these types of lights more visible or conspicuous to other road users? Or just more attention getting on the shelf at the bike shop?

The SuperFlash Turbo has two modes:
* Super-Flash
* Steady

The Radbot-1000 has three modes:
* "zZz" - Slow blink
* "cornea blitz" - fast blink
* "rock steady" - steady on

To see the Radbot-1000's slow-blink mode - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2Ep4DK_uVI

theHumble Cyclist reports that "Unlike other blinkies, the Radbot 1000 speaks closer to the language that drivers understand universally, warning drivers not only of the hazard but also warning them to slow down." Interesting. http://thehum.bostonbiker.org/2010/10/26/n...pdw-radbot-10...

The SuperFlash Turbo has a soft-touch switch with zero tactile feedback. Pressing it with gloves or cold fingers is frustrating, but it seems unlikely to turn itself on in a bag. The Radbot-1000 has a "clicky" switch with nice tactile feedback and is much easier to operate with gloves. The SuperFlash Turbo rotates through both modes (and off) as the switch is pressed. The Radbot-1000 requires the button to be held for two seconds to switch on or off. When the light is on the button rotates through the modes. When the light is switched on, it remembers the mode that was last used.

Battery access on the SuperFlash Turbo requires a coin to pry open the case. Battery access on the Radbot-1000 requires a #2 Phillips screwdriver.

These are both good lights with nearly identical light output where they are aimed but the SuperFlash Turbo has MUCH better output to the sides.

The reflector on the Radbot-1000 is nice in areas where such things are enforced. Otherwise, these are both great lights. The light output to the sides is steering me towards the SuperFlash Turbo but I also like having a slow-blink mode of the Radbot-1000.

This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 5 2012, 04:50 PM
pskk
post Nov 5 2012, 05:04 PM

133 posts

hi,

where can i buy d radbot 1000 in msia or online? wan to use it as front light, possible?
batt removable?
or can recommend any good front headlight?
thks.

This post has been edited by pskk: Nov 5 2012, 05:07 PM
H2D
post Nov 5 2012, 05:10 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(pskk @ Nov 5 2012, 05:04 PM)
hi,

where can i buy d radbot 1000 in msia or online? wan to use it as front light, possible?
batt removable?
or can recommend any good front headlight?
thks.
AA batt mar, of cos u need to replace it. biggrin.gif
not sure where to buy online, hv to seach like amazon.... ebay??
u can install many on ur bike if u like tongue.gif

but front light? it blinks, doesn't shine on the road leh.
warning for front part as well as rear perhaps... biggrin.gif
pskk
post Nov 5 2012, 07:55 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 5 2012, 05:10 PM)
AA batt mar, of cos u need to replace it.  biggrin.gif
not sure where to buy online, hv to seach like amazon.... ebay??
u can install many on ur bike if u like  tongue.gif

but front light? it blinks, doesn't shine on the road leh.
warning for front part as well as rear perhaps...  biggrin.gif
thks for explanation.my fren bought a few high lumens but non removable batt n the batt don't last long....ha ha.
H2D
post Nov 5 2012, 08:00 PM

598 posts

those probably are front bicycle lights...
ora-ito
post Nov 5 2012, 09:32 PM

176 posts

guys,
if you all want to join the bulk, i'm buying for my racing bud a Radbot 1000
costs will be RM95 (after the currency conversion & tax)
i can help u all get and postlaju to your address

the unit takes 2x AAA batt and its removable... the PDW unit is water proof, and you will have to unscrew the back to access the batts.

front lights i'm using Roxim RS3 and strongly recommend it...
you can find some youtube videos in that light as well...

those who interested to join the PDW Radbot 1000 bulk PM me for further details... TQ (just lending a hand & not profiting from this)
PINK_MING
post Nov 5 2012, 09:47 PM

guys,can we actually get a decent folding bike at 350-400?i heard panasonic oso has their own bicycle??issit true?ok de ka?hahah.
gataddhin
post Nov 5 2012, 11:34 PM

Source: http://bicycles.blogoverflow.com/2012/03/tail-light-review/

I just wonder why the author did not include Topeak Redlite Mega in his review. Topeak Redlite Mega has 5 mode lightings and 100 hours of battery life.

Topeak Redlite Mega
H2D
post Nov 6 2012, 12:13 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Nov 5 2012, 11:34 PM)
I just wonder why the author did not include Topeak Redlite Mega in his review. Topeak Redlite Mega has 5 mode lightings and 100 hours of battery life.

he din manage to get it kot..... biggrin.gif

Added on November 6, 2012, 12:26 am
QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Nov 5 2012, 09:47 PM)
guys,can we actually get a decent folding bike at 350-400?i heard panasonic oso has their own bicycle??issit true?ok de ka?hahah.
panasonic bicycle very famous, u look at the pic above, silvertip dahon using panaracer tyres are from panasonic la... haha

http://panasonicbikemuseum.info/history

but now mebe got fake MIC bicycle put sticker panasonic.. not sure... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 6 2012, 12:26 AM
ora-ito
post Nov 6 2012, 08:21 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 6 2012, 12:13 AM)

Added on November 6, 2012, 12:26 am

panasonic bicycle very famous, u look at the pic above, silvertip dahon using panaracer tyres are from panasonic la... haha

http://panasonicbikemuseum.info/history

but now mebe got fake MIC bicycle put sticker panasonic.. not sure...  tongue.gif
back in the 90's got panasonic bikes... but today u tell me 300-500 panasonic bike, i think it's fake...
nowadays, panasonic only focus on the tire/tube industry for bicycle... if you anti western tire, you should go for Panaracer as they are Made in Japan...
however they are not easy to get in local shops... need to import...
joonming
post Nov 6 2012, 12:35 PM

JM
540 posts

QUOTE(ora-ito @ Nov 6 2012, 08:21 AM)
back in the 90's got panasonic bikes... but today u tell me 300-500 panasonic bike, i think it's fake...
nowadays, panasonic only focus on the tire/tube industry for bicycle... if you anti western tire, you should go for Panaracer as they are Made in Japan...
however they are not easy to get in local shops... need to import...
pedal sport is selling panaracer
Sphenix
post Nov 6 2012, 04:25 PM

Hired........
3,705 posts

Any comment on JAVA FIT? 20" sealed bearing....
pskk
post Nov 6 2012, 05:33 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Sphenix @ Nov 6 2012, 04:25 PM)
Any comment on JAVA FIT? 20" sealed bearing....
i hv tried before my fren's java fit 1st generation. quite a nice ride...but of course up to individual...

This post has been edited by pskk: Nov 6 2012, 05:33 PM
mbax
post Nov 6 2012, 09:47 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(triciakate @ Nov 4 2012, 12:56 PM)
Wow, where to get this??  drool.gif
end alrd lah bro, easybike doing disc for customer tat order online.

Added on November 6, 2012, 9:48 pmbro pskk u also stop fishing and start biking alrd?

This post has been edited by mbax: Nov 6 2012, 09:48 PM
H2D
post Nov 6 2012, 10:02 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Nov 5 2012, 09:47 PM)
RM 288 oni...
the locking of the fold is like quick release 'tension' type icon_idea.gif

pskk
post Nov 7 2012, 12:21 AM

133 posts

Added on November 6, 2012, 9:48 pmbro pskk u also stop fishing and start biking alrd?

[/quote]

bro mbax,

i still fish but not much anymore.maybe few mths once.family alredi so time out but i did go bungsamran in jun....cycling juz exercise as nothing to do....ha ha!
mbax
post Nov 7 2012, 10:46 AM

66 posts

haha same here, only last weekend manage to get bullied by those mekong in hatyai.. now most of the old coots stop fishing and go cycling alrd..

130 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:53 PM