130 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx

kenycw55
post Jul 6 2012, 10:45 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jul 6 2012, 08:39 PM)
Thanks for your reply. Raleigh Ugo is cheaper by around Rm200 while Dahon Eco C7 and XDS is about the same price.  Dahon seems to be the best brand when it comes to folding bike, but how is the quality of the Eco C7 as it is the entry level model. What I like about the Dahon Eco C7 is that it fold fast and end up really small.  XDS AFB958 on offers rear suspension and Alloy Rear Rack which is pretty attractive. 

Anyway, which has the best built quality?  Which has the best features?
Well, Eco C7 will be ok & am using 1 for now..It depends on what is your preferences. FOr XDS, with suspension will be good to give it a try...
yangman
post Jul 8 2012, 11:37 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jul 6 2012, 08:39 PM)
Thanks for your reply. Raleigh Ugo is cheaper by around Rm200 while Dahon Eco C7 and XDS is about the same price.  Dahon seems to be the best brand when it comes to folding bike, but how is the quality of the Eco C7 as it is the entry level model. What I like about the Dahon Eco C7 is that it fold fast and end up really small.  XDS AFB958 on offers rear suspension and Alloy Rear Rack which is pretty attractive. 

Anyway, which has the best built quality?  Which has the best features?
Looks like you are leaning toward the dahon. You will not go wrong with it. Go for it.

ora-ito
post Jul 9 2012, 02:38 PM

176 posts

guys,
i do not know which one to choose... between the two bikes...
Dahon Dash P18 vs Tern P9
price wise very close and differs by about rm100...

i like riding it fast... both seem to be fast foldies...

dash P18 has solid frame 7005 alloy
tern P9 has good hinges and portability

i don't really mind the size as i keep the bike in store room and my car should be no problem bringing these 2 bikes around...

pls help... thanks
hellfire8888
post Jul 9 2012, 02:43 PM

3,196 posts

Just bought Dahon MU p8 during the maybank fair!

http://dahonbikes.com/index.php?id=99&no_c...ts%5Bbike%5D=16

still wondering if it is worth that much compare to HASA folding bike which just cost rm500 to rm700
kenycw55
post Jul 9 2012, 05:20 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jul 9 2012, 02:43 PM)
Just bought Dahon MU p8 during the maybank fair!

http://dahonbikes.com/index.php?id=99&no_c...ts%5Bbike%5D=16

still wondering if it is worth that much compare to HASA folding bike which just cost rm500 to rm700
Cheers, Enjoy it...Fun it should be...
jess7
post Jul 9 2012, 06:39 PM

155 posts

hi there foldies experts,
i love folding bicycles but i'm new to it
thing is i found a second hand folding bicycle seller
and i jz wanna ask u guys if shimano 6speed gear from my current old bicycle can be transfered to the folding bicycle?
just for sparepart purposes smile.gif
yangman
post Jul 9 2012, 06:54 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(ora-ito @ Jul 9 2012, 02:38 PM)
guys,
i do not know which one to choose... between the two bikes...
Dahon Dash P18 vs Tern P9
price wise very close and differs by about rm100...

i like riding it fast... both seem to be fast foldies...

dash P18 has solid frame 7005 alloy
tern P9 has good hinges and portability

i don't really mind the size as i keep the bike in store room and my car should be no problem bringing these 2 bikes around...

pls help... thanks
if folded size & portability is not an issue, the Dash P18 has more gears for steep hills, and the double arced frame makes it stiffer for a faster ride. If speed is what you want then you should consider the P18. The Tern is a sweet bike tho I have not rode it before.

Try to test ride both. But ultimately the speed depends on the riders legs...
ora-ito
post Jul 10 2012, 08:33 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(yangman @ Jul 9 2012, 06:54 PM)
if folded size & portability is not an issue, the Dash P18 has more gears for steep hills, and the double arced frame makes it stiffer for a faster ride. If speed is what you want then you should consider the P18.  The Tern is a sweet bike tho I have not rode it before.

Try to test ride both.  But ultimately the speed depends on the riders legs...
yangman, thanks for your input...
well yesterday i was lucky enough to get a test drive for both models at the shop...
the shop sales lady was very good, she cycled with me around the neighborhood so i could make up my mind on which bike to buy

so below are my most honest review:
Dahon Dash P18:
- frame was solid and sturdy
- the andros stem didn't give me much confidence as it could slip when i exerted some force
- gear shifting on the microshifter thumb was a bit of a nuisance esp on the front gear Hi/Lo. my expectation was when i click the button it should automatically shift immediately to the Bigger/smaller gear but i had to click more than 1 time to get it to change
- gear shifting on the rear was ok but nothing great to rave about. my XDS foldie with Acera feels much better and more responsive to each click i pressed. plus the shifters (+) & (-) were both in front for the dash P18. i'm so used with my XDS shifters being one in front and back since it makes you more oriented whereby you don't get mixed up which button is for + and which is for - when seeing 2 buttons in front of you.
- ride wise, you will feel higher as the frame is larger compared to normal foldie design, handling was ok, no wobbles or wiggling

TERN Link P9:
- frame lock hinges were very good and sturdy therefore very solid connection.
- everything was felt as if it was connected in 1 piece. no squeaking. everything was tightly locked
- gear shifting on the SRAM grip shifters was very responsive. i accidently shifted 3 gears in one shot and it executed without any problem like a minigun "clank clank clank"
- folding and unfolding was quite a breeze and very easy since tern has large hinge handles for you to pull it
- ride wise, very steady and you feel bolted/grip to the ground. you would feel your hands>handle>wheel connected to the bike therefore its a very confident ride. saddle was very comfortable too

so now, the big decision, which one to get???
jeng jeng jeng....

why i took the TERN?
first of all, it was the superb ride feel and handling i experienced
second, gear shifting was better on the tern despite Dash P18 having 18speeds. for myself i would not need the Lo gear offered on the Dash P18 since my "engine" quite strong now. most of the time i was on Hi gear when tested the DashP18. even on the inclines i could manage being on Hi gear.
thrid, the ease of folding the bike, TERN is much easier and faster to fold. also is has less joint connections (main frame x1 joint + handle x1 clamp) comparing to DashP18 (main frame x2 joints + handle x2 clamps)

what i learnt?
well, on DashP18 the specs on paper surely standouts and beats the TERN in most areas. however theory always doesn't tie with practicality when hands-on... the DashP18 was more of a Honda Civic Type R and the Tern was more of a BMW 320. it was the ride, comfort and handling which made the difference... so guys, please do not look or judge based on paper and specs... you need to get out there and try the bikes yourself and see which you like most

thanks for reading and happy biking!

This post has been edited by ora-ito: Jul 10 2012, 08:38 AM
yangman
post Jul 10 2012, 04:32 PM

78 posts

Sweet. You bought from FBT?

Join la https://www.facebook.com/groups/413005198744758/
ora-ito
post Jul 10 2012, 10:16 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(yangman @ Jul 10 2012, 04:32 PM)
Sweet. You bought from FBT?

Join la https://www.facebook.com/groups/413005198744758/
nope, from the Authorized dealer tern provided in JB...
https://www.facebook.com/pages/khass-machin...344395118922495
minizian
post Jul 13 2012, 12:44 AM

1,074 posts

just curious where the best place for p18. I was at rodalink and the yellow bike vector x27 there caught my eye. Looks cool, just curious how much does p18 cost?

Can folding bike corner similarly like road bike?
hellfire8888
post Jul 13 2012, 02:44 PM

3,196 posts

my new ride
H2D
post Jul 13 2012, 04:08 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(ora-ito @ Jul 10 2012, 08:33 AM)
- the andros stem didn't give me much confidence as it could slip when i exerted some force

u mean the new quick release stem is not tight enuff? can it be adjusted?

Added on July 13, 2012, 4:09 pm
QUOTE(minizian @ Jul 13 2012, 12:44 AM)
just curious where the best place for p18. I was at rodalink and the yellow bike vector x27 there caught my eye. Looks cool, just curious how much does p18 cost?

Can folding bike corner similarly like road bike?
u went to rodalink n u din look at the price?? biggrin.gif
the new model is it same price as the old one? does it have black colour frame?

small wheel bike mebe not as steady if u are used to big wheel, center of gravity is suppose to be lower on small wheel.
got used x27 for sale in mudah. oso p18.

This post has been edited by H2D: Jul 13 2012, 04:12 PM
Jasper88
post Jul 14 2012, 07:52 PM

i need some advise. I am totally new to this. Me and Wife decide we should take this up as hobby. Went to hunt around, firstly went to foldingbikes at damansara Perdana. Saw the folding bikes and kinda like it. Forgot which model but it was a white and it cost around 2.5k and its light.
Then decide to round at KSH as per my mates recommendation, only one type of folding bikes avail.

My Q - Where is a good place to hunt for folding bikes ? i seen quite a few nice reviews on the dahon dash P18. May i know where is the best place to get this model ? or would u suggest others please.

This post has been edited by Jasper88: Jul 14 2012, 07:55 PM
H2D
post Jul 14 2012, 10:09 PM

598 posts

u can get dahon bikes from any lerun dealer, or bike shops provides good service to customers. i bought mine from rodalink.
i heard ppl rekemen 'my bicycle shop' in bandar utama, they have other folding bikes like xds, oyama...

http://www.facebook.com/pages/My-Bicycle-Shop/190359582326
http://www.lerun.com.my/dealer_selangor.html

This post has been edited by H2D: Jul 14 2012, 10:10 PM
Jasper88
post Jul 14 2012, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 14 2012, 10:09 PM)
u can get dahon bikes from any lerun dealer, or bike shops provides good service to customers. i bought mine from rodalink.
i heard ppl rekemen 'my bicycle shop' in bandar utama, they have other folding bikes like xds, oyama...

http://www.facebook.com/pages/My-Bicycle-Shop/190359582326
http://www.lerun.com.my/dealer_selangor.html
thanks for the heads up...... !!!! will have a look at the stores recommended.

Added on July 14, 2012, 10:23 pmwhich brand would u recommend please, dahon? or tern, oyama etc etc

Added on July 15, 2012, 5:37 pmok went to scout around again, finally got my wife a dahon dash. She loves it. As for myself, awaiting the new ORI Mio M10. Now to look for kakis....

This post has been edited by Jasper88: Jul 15 2012, 05:37 PM
hellfire8888
post Jul 16 2012, 11:01 AM

3,196 posts

i notice dahon mu p8 for year 2011 and year 2012 got different..

rim 2011 use kinetix but 2012 donno use what brand
the rear derailer on 2011 is neo 2 but 2012 no wording there..
sadle 2011 use aria but 2012 use different.
crank 2011 use kinetic but 2012 donno use what brand..

so any concern in the different material?

H2D
post Jul 16 2012, 02:33 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Jasper88 @ Jul 14 2012, 10:18 PM)

Added on July 15, 2012, 5:37 pmok went to scout around again, finally got my wife a dahon dash. She loves it. As for myself, awaiting the new ORI Mio M10. Now to look for kakis....
so got the bikes frm FBT? they do organize rides,
u also can check out http://malaysianfoldies.rocks.it/
for weekend rides etc.

Added on July 16, 2012, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jul 16 2012, 11:01 AM)
so any concern in the different material?
is the 2012 bike cheaper?
mebe dahon just wana reduce the cost..

Added on July 16, 2012, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(jess7 @ Jul 9 2012, 06:39 PM)

and i jz wanna ask u guys if shimano 6speed gear from my current old bicycle can be transfered to the folding bicycle?
just for sparepart purposes smile.gif
u should check with your bicycle shop mechanic regarding this....

This post has been edited by H2D: Jul 16 2012, 02:34 PM
Jasper88
post Jul 16 2012, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 16 2012, 02:33 PM)
so got the bikes frm FBT? they do organize rides,
u also can check out http://malaysianfoldies.rocks.it/
for weekend rides etc.
yep, went to the link but its down..
H2D
post Jul 16 2012, 03:34 PM

598 posts

no its not down.. i can open the forum....

130 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:59 PM