XBOX sales goes millions higher than PS3

technophile
post Jan 10 2009, 07:08 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 10 2009, 06:34 PM)
Ya, I have GOW for WINDOWS and GOW2 for 360... technically, the windows version pawns the 360 also tongue.gif I bought 360 for GOW2 as it was announced that GOW2 won't be release on PC  sad.gif
of coz. any games that has been out on PS3 and 360 will be pawned by PC version. you can't compare it that way.

known fact that tho Cell is extremely powerful, it's surrounding architecture hinders developers to get the full benefit of it. bottlenecks in bus, slow RAM access, slow data transfer from Blu-ray device : everyone of these problems kills the potential of the processor being used 100%.

reason why Kojima-san doesn't not want to port MGS4 to 360 is not because of the hardware. just that he doesn't not want to do it. simple as that.

any games that's on PS3 can run with acceptable and playable quality on 360 : this is a fact. plus 50GB of data for MGS4 is mostly comprised of UNCOMPRESSED audio which can be compressed easily for DVD-9 release. heck i know a lot of ppl will still buy it if it comes in 2 disc (i would too).

so really there's not much issue in terms of graphics on 360.

LO is just a bad example. clearly the developers have not have enuff experience with Unreal Engine like most failed Unreal Engine-based games. check out the difference between graphics on PS3 and 360 version of Saints Row, GTA4, and even Burnout. and those are a few of handful multiplatform game that has been released in the wild.
PrivateJohn
post Jan 10 2009, 07:38 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 10 2009, 06:28 PM)
I know it's not right to compare a game which was released for 360 and not on the PS3. Graphics wise, LO is just ok, nothing to shout about. I am not a fanboy else I won't buy both the consoles. I just feel that graphics as well as CPU processing power, PS3 has the edge.

Hideo Kojima should be right saying that MGS4 is unable to be ported over to the 360 due the reasons you and I know.

cannavaro, I do play LO from HDD. Acceptable loading time tongue.gif
Yet GOW 2 is superior in terms of texture, no. of AI/enemies on screen, taking no hits in gfx department for multiplayer & coop (jump in jump out on the fly), practically no loading. The best part? It's DVD only... biggrin.gif

You play MGS4, you should know its gfx only excel in the form of cutscene but during gameplay it isn't "omg wow!". Uncharted would be a better choice for graphic showcase, don't you think so?

Now lets discuss Haze and show ps3's power-less performance! laugh.gif At the end of the day, PC pwns everyone...the most expensive rig out there, yet more & more developer are taking less advantage of its spec with Crysis being the last of the remnant, Blizzard is gameplay focus, Valve still squeezing its HL2 engine, Epic a console-centric company now, id software..quiet. Why? Console gamers buy more games... sweat.gif
Besides, there isn't a definite answer to whether ps3 will perform better in the gfx department yet unlike last gen where everyone know something as a fact.

However there is a distinctive difference between Sony & MS 1st/2nd party game...Sony 1st party game tend to focus more on singleplayer cinematic experience while Microsoft 1st/2nd party game emphasize very much on the balance of singleplayer, coop & multiplayer. That's my 2 pennies, let me know if you agree or not. smile.gif
technophile
post Jan 10 2009, 07:45 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jan 10 2009, 07:38 PM)
Yet GOW 2 is superior in terms of texture, no. of AI/enemies on screen, taking no hits in gfx department for multiplayer & coop (jump in jump out on the fly), practically no loading. The best part? It's DVD only... biggrin.gif

You play MGS4, you should know its gfx only excel in the form of cutscene but during gameplay it isn't "omg wow!". Uncharted would be a better choice for graphic showcase, don't you think so?

Now lets discuss Haze and show ps3's power-less performance! laugh.gif At the end of the day, PC pwns everyone...the most expensive rig out there, yet more & more developer are taking less advantage of its spec with Crysis being the last of the remnant, Blizzard is gameplay focus, Valve still squeezing its HL2 engine, Epic a console-centric company now, id software..quiet. Why? Console gamers buy more games... sweat.gif
Besides, there isn't a definite answer to whether ps3 will perform better in the gfx department yet unlike last gen where everyone know something as a fact.

However there is a distinctive difference between Sony & MS 1st/2nd party game...Sony 1st party game tend to focus more on singleplayer cinematic experience while Microsoft 1st/2nd party game emphasize very much on the balance of singleplayer, coop & multiplayer. That's my 2 pennies, let me know if you agree or not. smile.gif
agreed. a lot of ppl forgot the fact that MGS4 is 70% cutscene and 30% game. which is why to me it's absurd that the game won some "game of the year" award and nominations.

and yes. i do agree that Sony's 1st party/exclusives titles are more limited to single player experience (uncharted, MGS4, Ratchet and Clank) while ALL MS's 1st party/exclusives will have a kick-ass online multiplayer portion of the game. heck you can even completely skip the single player mode and jump straight online (GOW 1 & 2, Halo series, even Fable 2).

This post has been edited by technophile: Jan 10 2009, 07:50 PM
PrivateJohn
post Jan 10 2009, 07:48 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Jan 10 2009, 07:45 PM)
agreed. a lot of ppl forgot the fact that MGS4 is 70% cutscene and 30% game. which is why to me it's absurd that the game won some "game of the year" award and nominations.
lol do not want to turn this into game bashing....GOTY is that game site's opinion, different site different opinion. There is nothing wrong with it... biggrin.gif

and yes. i do agree that Sony's 1st party/exclusives titles are more limited to single player experience (uncharted, MGS4, Ratchet and Clank) while ALL MS's 1st party/exclusives will have a kick-ass online multiplayer portion of the game. heck you can even completely skip the single player mode and jump straight online (GOW 1 & 2, Halo series, even Fable 2).
That's not what I meant either! doh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Jan 10 2009, 07:53 PM
technophile
post Jan 10 2009, 07:51 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jan 10 2009, 07:48 PM)
lol do not want to turn this into game bashing....GOTY is that game site's opinion, different site different opinion. There is nothing wrong with it... biggrin.gif
hehehe. not bashing la. just stating out the obvious fact. ppl seem to think MGS4 is "the one and only game that defines PS3" since it came out when they totally forget that the game has more cinematics and dialogues of FF7 - FF12 combined. biggrin.gif
Thrust
post Jan 10 2009, 09:10 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jan 10 2009, 07:38 PM)

Ya, MGS4 excel in cutscenes but those cut scenes are rendered in real time thus showcasing the PS3 RSX's graphics processing power sweat.gif I think we ordinary gamers wouldn't exactly be sure of which console is superior as we are not game developers/programmers.
PrivateJohn
post Jan 10 2009, 09:52 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

In-game render or not, you still need a game or it would end up as a tech demo (Assasin Creed? lol. No, i love that game) Nvidia & Ati both have wonderful tech demo which was render using their card without worrying too much on AI, physics, multiplayer etc...in other words, cutscene only. It only matter the most to the developer. If it looks good, it's not like typical gamers gona care it's in-game or CG right? Only the few of us geek/hardcore will be interested on its spec.

So like you said, only developer will know. If it's a good game, it's a good game. Maybe for games like Gears need good gfx, otherwise chainsawing wouldn't be as satisfying. However not every game require jaw dropping gfx, there is a point of "good enough" or "good representation".
It's a fact though Japanese developers are terrible with Unreal Engine laugh.gif Ace Combat, Capcoms's game or even Blue Dragon seems to be doing fine with their own engine. Have you check out Resident Evil 5 demo? Looks good....but not my cup of tea tongue.gif

TSpakcikkantin
post Jan 10 2009, 09:57 PM

I read Playstation blogs and they did compare the price with XBOX, PS3 is cheaper than XBOX, that includes Blu ray, Free online, and built in wifi not like XBOX.

I just saw Resistance on PS3 using HDMi and get the maximum display output on Sony 32 LCD, and agree the graphics is clear, but lag, something is not right when playing the game?

I never seen Fallout 3 on PS3 , but i think Fallout 3 is great on XBOX.

Current XBOX still need more revision on the board it self and the heat problem ( eventhough MS denies it). Overall, great job on XBOX ( anyway still planning on buying PS3). PS3 still need to cut down the cost of the H/W itself.

Another things , i noticed , all PS3 games reviewed on Gamesopt, get 9.0/10.0 unlike XBOX.

This post has been edited by pakcikkantin: Jan 10 2009, 09:58 PM
cyhborg
post Jan 10 2009, 10:07 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(pakcikkantin @ Jan 10 2009, 09:57 PM)
Another things , i noticed , all PS3 games reviewed on Gamesopt, get 9.0/10.0 unlike XBOX.
Including Lair and Haze? brows.gif

TSpakcikkantin
post Jan 10 2009, 10:31 PM

QUOTE(cyhborg @ Jan 10 2009, 10:07 PM)
Including Lair and Haze? brows.gif
Ayooo, 3 days without touching my XBOX and Fallout ... RROD already... aduss..
evofantasy
post Jan 10 2009, 11:49 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Jan 10 2009, 07:51 PM)
hehehe. not bashing la. just stating out the obvious fact. ppl seem to think MGS4 is "the one and only game that defines PS3" since it came out when they totally forget that the game has more cinematics and dialogues of FF7 - FF12 combined. biggrin.gif
actually there is more gameplay on mgs4 than cutscenes...
the only ones complaining about the cutscenes are those who never bothered to stealth and went run/gun mode on easier diffculty...
if u actually went to combine both stealth and run/gun while exploring the areas the gameplay is pretty long...

another thing mgs4 cutscene is interactive...
u actually have gameplay elements in them...
for example, the mission briefings, u can use the mk2 to explore around while the cutscene is played etc...
u are actually playin the cutscene rather than jz watching...

mgs4 is an experience more than a game which is why its been getting awards...
u really feel the game and the emotions (especially if u played the other mgs)...
u can listen to gamespot's podcast special where they rant about how awesome the experience is for 40 minutes+ when one of them dun even play the other series and still love the game...
it is their argument for why they chose mgs4 as their GoTY...

graphics wise on multiplatform titles, both consoles have their strengths n weakness...
LO and last remnant are jz poor optimization on the unreal engine...
GeoW2 has proved wut the 360 can offer in the right hands...
2008 however was nt really a good year for the 360 in terms of exclusive...
hope forza3 really is out for 2009...
the 360's biggest strength would be its online community which is unrivaled by sony...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jan 10 2009, 11:54 PM
PrivateJohn
post Jan 11 2009, 12:04 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 10 2009, 11:49 PM)

ok, the name is Interactive cutscene?
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 10 2009, 11:49 PM)
graphics wise on multiplatform titles, both consoles have their strengths n weakness...
LO and last remnant are jz poor optimization on the unreal engine...
GeoW2 has proved wut the 360 can offer in the right hands...
2008 however was nt really a good year for the 360 in terms of exclusive...
hope forza3 really is out for 2009...
the 360's biggest strength would be its online community which is unrivaled by sony...
lol wut?
navigator
post Jan 11 2009, 06:58 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 10 2009, 06:28 PM)
I know it's not right to compare a game which was released for 360 and not on the PS3. Graphics wise, LO is just ok, nothing to shout about. I am not a fanboy else I won't buy both the consoles. I just feel that graphics as well as CPU processing power, PS3 has the edge.

Hideo Kojima should be right saying that MGS4 is unable to be ported over to the 360 due the reasons you and I know.  smile.gif

cannavaro, I do play LO from HDD. Acceptable loading time tongue.gif
The obvious reason is Kojima want the title to be exclusive to PS3. Himself admited before--Anything runs on PS3 now can run on xbox360 without any problem. icon_idea.gif

Try to google that

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 10 2009, 09:10 PM)
Ya, MGS4 excel in cutscenes but those cut scenes are rendered in real time thus showcasing the PS3 RSX's graphics processing power  sweat.gif  I think we ordinary gamers wouldn't exactly be sure of which console is superior as we are not game developers/programmers.
cutscene rendering is a preset animation which required minimum physics calculation compared to actual play. whistling.gif
defaultname365
post Jan 11 2009, 09:43 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

The one thing I dun understand is Microsoft talking Blu-Ray only for movies and not storage capacity for games. They refuse Blu-Ray Add-on or even the format stating the priority is gaming and video/movie downloads. But what about storage ? Game developers can't possibly cram their next-gen titles into a single DVD ? Remember John Carmack's rant about the 360 - he claims the PS3 version of 'Rage' will look much better than the 360 because of the storage limitation (heavy compression methods used) on the 360 version...

Somewhere deep in Microsoft Xbox labs... are 'prototypes' of Xbox 3 / 720... and it could either have
1. Microsoft's own optical drive standard
2. A DVD drive. Yes. A DVD drive.
3. A Blu-Ray drive. The wise choice.

I don't see it any other way...

S4PH
post Jan 11 2009, 09:50 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

if u have played all the MGS series u wont be complaining about MGS4 bro hehehe icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 11, 2009, 9:53 am
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jan 11 2009, 09:43 AM)
The one thing I dun understand is Microsoft talking Blu-Ray only for movies and not storage capacity for games. They refuse Blu-Ray Add-on or even the format stating the priority is gaming and video/movie downloads. But what about storage ? Game developers can't possibly cram their next-gen titles into a single DVD ? Remember John Carmack's rant about the 360 - he claims the PS3 version of 'Rage' will look much better than the 360 because of the storage limitation (heavy compression methods used) on the 360 version...

Somewhere deep in Microsoft Xbox labs... are 'prototypes' of Xbox 3 / 720... and it could either have
1. Microsoft's own optical drive standard
2. A DVD drive. Yes. A DVD drive.
3. A Blu-Ray drive. The wise choice.

I don't see it any other way...
its not that ms dowan to take blu ray,sony is waiting when Ms will give up and pay them for use of blu ray rights on their console,when that happens sony will be king again.

This post has been edited by S4PH: Jan 11 2009, 09:53 AM
defaultname365
post Jan 11 2009, 10:01 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 11 2009, 09:50 AM)
if u have played all the MGS series u wont be complaining about MGS4 bro hehehe  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 11, 2009, 9:53 am

its not that ms dowan to take blu ray,sony is waiting when Ms will give up and pay them for use of blu ray rights on their console,when that happens sony will be king again.
Err... you're basically saying Microsoft refuses to give in like Warner Bros. did to Sony ? You can't resist the future...

evofantasy
post Jan 11 2009, 10:46 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jan 11 2009, 12:04 AM)
ok, the name is Interactive cutscene?

lol wut?
lol it means that the cutscenese are interactive...
after all most (not all) of the cutscenes are rendered with the in game engine...
u dun jz watch the cutscenes but rather u can interact with it using the mk2, look around, pressed certain buttons for flashbacks etc...

all those bashing on mgs4...
when mgs4 'do' one day get ported to the 360 will be gone...
hypocrites i would say...

and yes kojima supported the ps3 with so much hints in mgs4 itself (though he did asked fans not to bug him for a 360 port)...
he said its possible for the game to run on the 360...
but how good it runs was never stated...

as for 2008 is a bad year for 360 exclusives, the reviews and gaming awards shows it...
GTA4 was IGN and Gamespot GoTY for the 360...

MS's reason for not having a blueray drive for the 360 is pretty obvious: -
- despite winning the format war, blueray have not overcame DVD's dominance
- the cost for the add-on would be high costing the price advantage that the 360 have to be negated
- the games/ gamers of the 360 do not require blueray now
- royalty fees to sony LOL

Added on January 11, 2009, 10:58 am
QUOTE(navigator @ Jan 11 2009, 06:58 AM)
The obvious reason is Kojima want the title to be exclusive to PS3. Himself admited before--Anything runs on PS3 now can run on xbox360 without any problem. icon_idea.gif

Try to google that
cutscene rendering is a preset animation which required minimum physics calculation compared to actual play. whistling.gif
as i've stated...
you are playing in the cutscenes...

example during the mission briefing: -
- u have a 3 way split screen (1 for cutscene, 1 for mk2 view, 1 for the camera)
- u have the option to maximize one of the view at will
- u can move the mk2 freely and if one of the other 2 views is looking at where the mk2 is, u can see the m2
- while using the mk2, u can interact with objects and the ppl

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jan 11 2009, 10:58 AM
S4PH
post Jan 11 2009, 11:05 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jan 11 2009, 10:01 AM)
Err... you're basically saying Microsoft refuses to give in like Warner Bros. did to Sony ? You can't resist the future...
dats why ms created the nxe so they can compress all the data in a single dvd then when installed to hard drive we can enjoy the full detail of the game.Blu ray is still not of high importance to ms as not many games that utilise 50gb of space on the blu ray.
defaultname365
post Jan 11 2009, 12:07 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 11 2009, 11:05 AM)
dats why ms created the nxe so they can compress all the data in a single dvd then when installed to hard drive we can enjoy the full detail of the game.Blu ray is still not of high importance to ms as not many games that utilise 50gb of space on the blu ray.
? No idea wat ur trying to say. Installing game to hard drive does not magically decompress texture quality and increase graphics resolution.

PrivateJohn
post Jan 11 2009, 12:46 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

@evo, "Interactive Cutscene" is my statement, not a question. The ongoing discussion between Thrust & me is on the machines gfx capabilities but not the game quality, so... For game bashing or hardcore fanboyism, it's better to bring it outside whether you are on the ps3 or 360 boot camp. Please don't force me into...user posted image

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 11 2009, 10:46 AM)
all those bashing on mgs4...
when mgs4 'do' one day get ported to the 360 will be gone...
hypocrites i would say...

What goes around comes around. From "gamespot = Microsoft paid gaming site --> Gamespot is BIAS after a few ps3 games getting bad reviews --> Gamespot is awesome after 1 GOTY! --> Gamespot full of Sony Fanboys!"

See the vicious cycle? It all happens in 2008, there are many in LYN who join in the fun too. Hypocrite calling hypocrite a hypocrite...nothing new. That's how the fanboy crumble, fanboyism is what fuel the console market. As for me I would respect an honest sensible fanboy more so than a fanboy in disguise, you see.

as for 2008 is a bad year for 360 exclusives, the reviews and gaming awards shows it...
GTA4 was IGN and Gamespot GoTY for the 360...<--

Why stop there? biggrin.gif I would also like to see your source of bad years for 360 because from my FBI source, it's pretty well spread out for all 3 platform. (unless your source is SDF, lol)
However, the consumer are voting with their wallet for Wii games which top the chart with 360 & ps3 trailing behind. So if you ask me, it's a bad year for both ps3 & 360 laugh.gif

I feel for you though because your gaming experience are dictated by the press & journalism.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:48 AM