The Tailoring Thread, Bespoke. Nothing beats a perfect fit
Flaxnot
Oct 12 2014, 04:32 PM

Hi sifus! I've been doing some reading and I'm thinking of getting a suit made for my graduation ball. I have an approximate budget of 1.2-1.5k. Based on what I've read here on the forums,many incline to charcoal and navy blue. I for one have a soft spot for navy blue on the pictures of models but I'm still unsure if it'll fit the very Malaysian looking me. So I'm curious,for a slim fitting suit,and one that I don't mind being a bit tight as long as its aesthetically pleasing (I intend to wear this only indoors and not for prolonged periods of time),what fabric should I get? One infamous forumer in the world of suiting has said that mohair is the way to go in our local climate,I however need further confirmation on if this is indeed true or not. tl;dr 1. Should I buy the fabric locally or off eBay? 2. What fabric would you personally recommend and what colour? 3. Does navy blue look good on the average Chinese Malaysian? 4. Are there any reputable and competent tailors around Penang island that you sifus can reccomend? 5. How long should I expect the whole process to take? (From the day I purchase the fabric,to the day I receive the suit) 6. Any pointers on how to NOT get conned? I'm below 20 years of age,some like to take advantage of this. Thanks in advance!
This post has been edited by Flaxnot: Oct 12 2014, 04:34 PM
lionelmessi88
Oct 13 2014, 11:33 PM

I have a formal suit from my brother, but the size is way bigger than mine...especially on the shoulders Any good & reasonable alteration sifu to recommend?
lil^pig
Oct 21 2014, 07:38 PM

How much does a a suit (jacket and pants) costs from Button Liew? A range say from 400-600? Or higher?
What about shirts? Range from 80-100?
nanan75
Oct 21 2014, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(bambookenzo @ Sep 23 2014, 11:39 PM) jsut went today for 2 pairs of working pants...wait 2 weeks and see how the works finished....  ..one navy blue and one grey... how did it come out, above expectation?
bambookenzo
Oct 24 2014, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(nanan75 @ Oct 21 2014, 10:17 PM) how did it come out, above expectation? very good fitting and cutting and also the shirt.....clean cut....will go back.....hehehehee.....
sapuri
Oct 29 2014, 02:22 PM
hii.. i'm been lurking for a while to find a good tailor.. anybody here can suggest me a tailor shop that can make slim fit shirt (for work).. price below 200.. i live in shah alam..
Seralph
Oct 30 2014, 04:43 PM
Hello Everyone, I've recently purchased a new shirt and upon the first wash, my maid tore it while ironing with high temperature - I didnt even manage to wear it once! Is there any possible way to repair this damage? (traditional stitching will leave a mark too noticeable)   Hope there's a kind soul who will help advice me. Thanks!
deriku
Oct 30 2014, 05:27 PM
Considering the size of the tear plus the obvious location, I doubt anyone can do much to save it. Would be pretty pissed with the maid...
This post has been edited by deriku: Oct 30 2014, 05:27 PM
attacusatlas
Oct 30 2014, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(Seralph @ Oct 30 2014, 04:43 PM) Hello Everyone, I've recently purchased a new shirt and upon the first wash, my maid tore it while ironing with high temperature - I didnt even manage to wear it once! Is there any possible way to repair this damage? (traditional stitching will leave a mark too noticeable)   Hope there's a kind soul who will help advice me. Thanks! say good bye to your shirt and spank your maid later tonight.
littlebeettle
Oct 30 2014, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(Seralph @ Oct 30 2014, 04:43 PM) Hello Everyone, I've recently purchased a new shirt and upon the first wash, my maid tore it while ironing with high temperature - I didnt even manage to wear it once! Is there any possible way to repair this damage? (traditional stitching will leave a mark too noticeable)   Hope there's a kind soul who will help advice me. Thanks! Sorry to hear that bro.... Unless u can accept the scar on ur shirt, otherwise, buy another one
netmatrix
Oct 30 2014, 07:39 PM
I remember seeing a Japanese video, where they used a type of transparent sheet that iron on from the inside of such tear. And it almost 99% invisible mended the tear. I cannot find the video anymore. Neither does the uploaded told us what the material is. I think i saw it once in Daiso, but was skeptical because there is no english word on it. Though the user guide picture seems to indicate such.
sarap
Nov 3 2014, 12:07 PM
i want to add a side pocket (inside one) on my jubah. anyone know where can i send to do this in wangsa maju/melawati area. i prefer small shop, (like jeans repair shop) because they do faster job. last time i send to big shop, they took weeks. thanks
jymqlassheroes
Nov 4 2014, 02:32 PM
Hi. I need some advice/recommendations:
I'm looking to make some alterations to a suit jacket passed down from my grandfather and I don't know any decent tailor shops in PJ area.
Anyone kind enough to offer any suggestions?
djlake
Nov 10 2014, 04:45 PM

Hello peeps,
I wanna do white working shirts. any affordable (not cheap, but affordable) tailors and a good range of white fabric that you guys can recommend?
Am i better off sourcing out the fabric?
thanks!
p/s: i would normally go to a tailor based in Sg. Wang, would like to keep my options/alternative open for now.
This post has been edited by djlake: Nov 10 2014, 05:00 PM
bambookenzo
Nov 10 2014, 08:16 PM

QUOTE(djlake @ Nov 10 2014, 04:45 PM) Hello peeps, I wanna do white working shirts. any affordable (not cheap, but affordable) tailors and a good range of white fabric that you guys can recommend? Am i better off sourcing out the fabric? thanks! p/s: i would normally go to a tailor based in Sg. Wang, would like to keep my options/alternative open for now. button and liew at kota damansara....award wining tailor...but reasonable price....afforable...i did there..nice....
jutamind
Nov 10 2014, 09:22 PM
what's the price range for normal working shirt and trousers for button liew? QUOTE(bambookenzo @ Nov 10 2014, 08:16 PM) button and liew at kota damansara....award wining tailor...but reasonable price....afforable...i did there..nice....
djlake
Nov 10 2014, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(bambookenzo @ Nov 10 2014, 08:16 PM) button and liew at kota damansara....award wining tailor...but reasonable price....afforable...i did there..nice.... thanks man.
Joe Jambulz
Nov 11 2014, 07:36 AM
You can try to get the fabric online from acorn fabric website, though white most probably won't go on sale and may cost around GBP30 for fabric enough to make a shirt (2 or 3 mtrs, depending on fabric's width). By the way, Jeremy Tok can make you a white shirt with his house fabric for RM250.
djlake
Nov 11 2014, 12:34 PM

QUOTE(Joe Jambulz @ Nov 11 2014, 07:36 AM) You can try to get the fabric online from acorn fabric website, though white most probably won't go on sale and may cost around GBP30 for fabric enough to make a shirt (2 or 3 mtrs, depending on fabric's width). By the way, Jeremy Tok can make you a white shirt with his house fabric for RM250. Thanks for the info man
snowice93
Nov 18 2014, 05:32 PM
may i know how much is a piece of tailored black blazer from Ah loke tailor??