149 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

The Tailoring Thread, Bespoke. Nothing beats a perfect fit

wateverjunk
post Dec 27 2013, 03:55 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(healthesick @ Dec 27 2013, 01:00 AM)
what do u wan? alter shirt or what?
Suit
healthesick
post Dec 28 2013, 07:21 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(wateverjunk @ Dec 27 2013, 03:55 PM)
Suit
oh...i'm not sure. u have to check with them wink.gif
Zavia/GenX
post Jan 2 2014, 10:18 PM

274 posts

So much to read...

I am getting around to buying a suit for myself.
After trips to Subang Parade and Pyramid and trying ALL the suits in the dept stall, I find I apparently have weird shoulders. Only 2 brands out of the dozen there ngam my cut, that also not fitting very well.

Anyway, I dropped by de-catano in Summit (Point B also cannot find) and they quoted me to do a 2 piece for about below 1.5k. The 3 piece was almost 2k so I declined the waistcoat.

Getting to the point of this post, he was showing me synthetics both lycra and rayon. Black and slightly stretchable. As I understand, pretty much everyone says to go for wool. Are those material he recommended a bad choice or is wool another price level altogether? (I forgot to ask him)
Eva558
post Jan 21 2014, 05:47 PM

May call Jess @ 012-667 0403 if you guys need clothes alteration in KL.
She provides home-based clothes alteration in Kuchai Lama & her handiwork is nice.
precintofdenims
post Jan 23 2014, 08:57 AM

25 posts

should try Fairuz Ramdan bespoke
jeffreysow
post Jan 25 2014, 07:16 PM

you should try Gordon Suits in KL, the price is very reasonable as i work in an office. customer made blazers, uniforms, suits. i contacted them through their website www.gordonsuits.com thumbup.gif
qdipanda
post Jan 26 2014, 11:44 PM

425 posts

hi all,

recently saw the blazel at G2000 look nice n would like to buy. but after test it, the length for the arm too long for me. cover til 1/4 of my palm. size 48.

if after i buy it, is the length of the arm can be alter or not?? if can normally wil charge for how much?

crazyjj
post Jan 27 2014, 12:51 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(qdipanda @ Jan 26 2014, 11:44 PM)
hi all,

recently saw the blazel at G2000 look nice n would like to buy. but after test it, the length for the arm too long for me. cover til 1/4 of my palm. size 48.

if after i buy it, is the length of the arm can be alter or not?? if can normally wil charge for how much?

Yes I just get mine done at tux and blazer cost RM100. And they recommended me to alter the length of my jacket as well, another RM100 flies away~ Anyway the end result are great...! Very good service too...
qdipanda
post Jan 27 2014, 08:56 AM

425 posts

QUOTE(crazyjj @ Jan 27 2014, 01:51 AM)
Yes I just get mine done at tux and blazer cost RM100. And they recommended me to alter the length of my jacket as well, another RM100 flies away~ Anyway the end result are great...! Very good service too...
would lik to ask, urs blazer also bought at G2k??

mind to show the blazer photo? smile.gif and does it look nice after alter?
crazyjj
post Jan 27 2014, 04:27 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(qdipanda @ Jan 27 2014, 08:56 AM)
would lik to ask, urs blazer also bought at G2k??

mind to show the blazer photo? smile.gif  and does it look nice after alter?
I don't have the photo before, and didn't take the after photo... lol

Anyway mine from topman, a slim fit cutting; and same case as yours, the length of shirt sleeve reach my half palm, jacket length until my lower butt.

The tailor first let me wear it and point out the problem, then do all the shirt folding and let me see how does it look after alteration done.

I don't think the suits selling outside fits everyone, since you wear suit to enhance the look, better alter it to give yourself an excellent one.
ianthensome
post Feb 5 2014, 04:41 PM

128 posts

Hey guys, I'm so new to all this tailor-made suits, I have very little knowledge. So here's the deal: I will need a couple (or maybe three pairs) of business suit for my work. It's my first time to be wearing a pair of suit on a normal daily basis.

Question: How much is the average tailor-made pair of suit can I expect? I've done a little backreading and I'm afraid I cannot afford for now RM1,000 for a pair. Maybe when I get rich ok, but for now, I'll settle for the cheap custom mades that I can wear daily.
farkinid
post Feb 10 2014, 03:15 PM

997 posts

Hi guys,

I'm looking for a recommendation for a tailor in KL. I would like to custom make a suit for a beach wedding but I have never had to tailor make a suit in KL before.

Whats important to me is workmanship and material. So can anybody recommend a good tailor?
deriku
post Feb 10 2014, 04:02 PM

879 posts

QUOTE(ianthensome @ Feb 5 2014, 04:41 PM)
Hey guys, I'm so new to all this tailor-made suits, I have very little knowledge. So here's the deal: I will need a couple (or maybe three pairs) of business suit for my work. It's my first time to be wearing a pair of suit on a normal daily basis.

Question: How much is the average tailor-made pair of suit can I expect? I've done a little backreading and I'm afraid I cannot afford for now RM1,000 for a pair. Maybe when I get rich ok, but for now, I'll settle for the cheap custom mades that I can wear daily.
If you're looking for cheap suits you're better off getting RTW. Brands like Uniqlo etc.

QUOTE(farkinid @ Feb 10 2014, 03:15 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm looking for a recommendation for a tailor in KL. I would like to custom make a suit for a beach wedding but I have never had to tailor make a suit in KL before.

Whats important to me is workmanship and material. So can anybody recommend a good tailor?
Read the pinned thread. I suggest you look at linen.
netmatrix
post Feb 10 2014, 04:16 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,730 posts

QUOTE(ianthensome @ Feb 5 2014, 04:41 PM)

Buy off the rack man. Seriously less than RM500 for coat and pants. For low range u can still find at Aeon (Suave brand). Once inside u can also look at Padini, Seed, G2000 and such. Outside dept stores, look for H&M. Their suit price is low, and affordable for A brand. Uniqlo does not have suit for the moment. U can buy coat separates only now. Once u go upper (above RM500) its Zara, Massimo Dutti, Ted Baker and M&S and the likes. Those places u can buy lower when off season sale. Like a RM499 coat u can buy for RM199-239.
bjbalangue
post Feb 15 2014, 02:52 PM

58 posts

hope this is the right thread.. a friend of mine is looking for someone who has industrial sewing machine who can help her produce some leather stuff for some business engagement.. if you have and want to know more please send me a PM.. thanks!
Eddx
post Feb 19 2014, 10:46 AM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

hi all, just wanted to know, i wanted to get another set of tuxedo, i have 1 tailor made in my hometown and now im lazy to bring it up and down from my hometown, is there any good and cheap tailor shop around puchong or kinrara?
antichrist
post Mar 11 2014, 09:56 PM

293 posts

Hi Guys,

any idea on which reasonable tailor to recommend? I need to make a shirt for Tux, as due to my size and my long hands, I have difficulty on buying shirts, most of them in market are too short.

I work in Times Square and stay in Old klang road, any good tailor shops nearby these areas?
TechnoG
post Mar 11 2014, 11:09 PM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(antichrist @ Mar 11 2014, 09:56 PM)
Hi Guys,

any idea on which reasonable tailor to recommend? I need to make a shirt for Tux, as due to my size and my long hands, I have difficulty on buying shirts, most of them in market are too short.

I work in Times Square and stay in Old klang road, any good tailor shops nearby these areas?
Ah Loke tailor near heritage row?
biofuel
post Mar 12 2014, 01:17 AM

145 posts

hi all.. need some help from all the sifus out here.

i am going to get married by this April and the best part is I already get my suit tailored but with no shirts to wear. LOL! the tailor did asked me whether I would want to make my shirt with them - the price offered is RM190++ and being a cheapo as always, I thought that I can get it cheaper if I buy it off the rack (then get it altered of course coz I'm a short guy).

So my journey begins when I can only found the cheapest cuff shirt with the price tag of RM250++ - Shit! might as well i tailored from the suit shop. LOL!

The questions now are - where can I found "cheap" cuff shirt for the wedding or maybe you guys can recommend a good tailor shop that can offer me with a reasonable price. i might consider few shirts there too.

your help is highly appreciated! please help smile.gif

This post has been edited by biofuel: Mar 12 2014, 01:18 AM
milosevens
post Mar 17 2014, 08:34 PM

337 posts

Hi All,

I have been reading this thread for a while, and finally bought my fabric. Its S130 Wool/Cashmere Huddersfield Cloth from Jakel (I got it really cheap, RM230 for 3.5m, so I am not sure whether it really is a fabric from Huddersfield), but the feel is about there. So now I am looking for a good tailor to make my first bespoke suit. I wanted to visit some recommended tailors in this thread; The Ah Loke & Ian Chang of this world, but the constrain I have are 1) My long working hours, and 2) My office is in PJ (next to amcorp mall), so I only have weekends to visit the tailors, and 3) My weekends are very occupied lately. And I need a suit by next month.

The first tailor that I spoke to was the tailor at Jakel itself. They quoted RM850 for workmanship, with any additional details FOC (peak stitching, train tix pocket, etc.) The tailor use Zegna's lining, but I am not sure about the material. Anyone had experience with this tailor?

The second tailor that I visited was Peter Tailor. Most of my office mates made their suit there, and their suits actually looks fantastic. Peter quoted me RM430 for workmanship, with free Satin/silk lining (what he told me). I was surprised with such a low price, so I try my luck and asked him for a full canvassing. My worry starts here. First, he doesn't know what is canvassing. ohmy.gif the I asked him about Bemberg lining, again, he doesn't know. I then asked him on surgeon's cuff. His respond was that nobody made such thing. hmm.gif Then he showed me some of his Italian mix wool collection, which made me ask, "do you have anything from England?". His respond was that lots of factory in England closed down and shift its operation to India. hmm? Peak Stitching and button holes are hand-stitched. Sadly, the button holes are noticeably messy. An somehow, my current Seed suit feels a lot more solid compared to the samples in the shop.

But the cut is excellent. So my question is, given my conversation with the tailor, would it be advisable to commission my first bespoke with Peter?

He wanted to do 1 fitting but I managed to negotiate for two fittings, for the suit to be ready in 3 weeks time. If I use his tailoring service, my first bespoke suit would only cost me RM660, which is RM60 more expensive than the cheapest Zara. smile.gif

149 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:46 AM