9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V5, Proud CAMPRO always... ^^

ralf
post Feb 12 2009, 02:32 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(sebnimh84 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:29 PM)
Just changed my motor oil + oil filter (Castrol 40w) semi syn yesterday at a third party (A friend's place actually). Have not changed motor oil since 13k and now clocking 21k! Phew! Thick thick motor oil.

By the way, sadly I've experienced 2 problems since last month;

1. Knocking sound when brake (Sounds like from the back, sounds like an empty plastic water bottle dropping)
2. Some sort of belt sound from the engine compartment pretty noisy (According to my mechanic, non SC, he says it's the cam; what's that?)

:S :S :S
should be the crank pulley..?

Added on February 12, 2009, 2:36 pmAfter owning the Persona for 1year5months, i like it very much.

The car provide plenty of grip, it can steer better or can compete with japanese rivals despite this PerSona is heavy in acceleration response.
However, my SagaBLM ride and handling is a big let down..

Added on February 12, 2009, 2:36 pmAfter owning the Persona for 1year5months, i like it very much.

The car provide plenty of grip, it can steer better or can compete with japanese rivals despite this PerSona is heavy in acceleration response.
However, my SagaBLM ride and handling is a big let down..

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 12 2009, 02:36 PM
ralf
post Feb 12 2009, 11:33 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

Anyone here replaced the standard suspension to adjustable suspension?

brand, model please and of course the price !
ralf
post Feb 15 2009, 07:42 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 15 2009, 05:47 PM)
normal campro 110bhp... laugh.gif ...haha..persona turbo..there is 1 forumer modify his persona to turbo version..but not yet complete...so lets wait after he settle all den we can know how fast 0-100km.. rclxms.gif
I'll post my zerotohundred video later.. smile.gif

G2 or Waja CPS manual can't make it 8secs...oopss.. smile.gif more likely 10secs + -
ralf
post Feb 15 2009, 10:00 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 15 2009, 08:54 PM)
try to search at youtube..there is a gen2 cps done 8secs... rclxms.gif
You mean this youtube...PROTON GEN2 CPS 1.6(M) 0-180kmh clip?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6gdVmxNOD0
It is at least 9sec notworthy.gif 9.x secs is nice for 1.6L.. nod.gif*thumbs*

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 15 2009, 10:02 PM
ralf
post Feb 15 2009, 11:51 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

my ZerotoHundred and from HundredtoZero trial run, slow wink.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RjgHpEheaRM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Or5xrGpO8ek

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyYTBAtCsOU

Skid mark left on tarmac, ooouch..Briggy Adrenalin donuts has some cuts already.. cry.gif

Teluk bahang waterdam cruising.. unsure.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Downhill
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbKFt8MVrXE

Uphill
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUwf4AxqJWQ

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 15 2009, 11:53 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
ralf
post Feb 16 2009, 10:18 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Feb 16 2009, 12:40 AM)
i dun see anything interesting in the downhill part.. mind to explain bit? hmm.gif
Sunday cruising, have some fun on there only biggrin.gif sometimes can meet TBS. teluk bahang speedster at there..crazy fast..
video show it's slow but in fact almost push to the limit already...PerSona brake is so spongy..have to tap the brake early, else the wheel will jam..Latio, City, Civic brakes are much more better in terms of brake feel..
the last time the ride was on 195/60/15 tyre, every corner during downhill also screech...Now the Briggy rubber provide plenty of grip, minimal wheelspin..

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 16 2009, 10:20 AM
ralf
post Feb 18 2009, 08:38 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 16 2009, 06:45 PM)
wow not bad ah...mine if use L,2,3,D can get 11secs++/12sec.....just wanna ask..how many times ur rev ur car in 1week time??..me sometimes cant control..lol..will tekan.. sweat.gif ..what engine oil are u using?? w30? w40??
everyday to work and back home, 5-6k rpm..my mom said my car very "charn残" liao.. sweat.gif
20k km service use full synthetic Shell helix ultra 15-50w, last 10k km and 5k km use Petronas full syntium 1000 15-50w.

Added on February 18, 2009, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(! Love Money @ Feb 17 2009, 06:36 PM)
hei...! 4 ngan cai...
next time we meet and do touge around teluk bahang OK brows.gif and we can also try 0-100km/h different between auto and manual (yours and mine)... thumbup.gif
can..no prob tongue.gif noon or evening oso okay...nighttime i sure cannot...Coz i am "4 ngai cai..4eyes ma", night cannot speed so fast..

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 18 2009, 08:43 PM
ralf
post Feb 18 2009, 10:29 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 18 2009, 08:49 PM)
any improvement on using shell helix??....wah seh..u everyday 5-6k rpm....and urs auto rite??...have u change ur atf fluid??....so far ur ride ok??...
i very scare if everyday 5-6k rpm....later engine kong..lol..but love the sound..vrrrooooommmm.. thumbup.gif
improvement, can't feel it. sad.gif Yeap, already flush the ATF last 2months(31st-Dec-08)

i use shell and petronas because only Petronas available at PESC, other service dealer only offer SHELL. sad.gif

So far the ride has been serving me well. No worry, engine will last you a long time but Not for transmission. Auto gearbox is fragile and so for manual(the clutch and synchromesh thingy).

For manual, if you throw and downshift every single speed at redline, the synchromesh worn out pretty quick thus result in metal clanking during gearchange. Wheelspinning/drift with the control of clutch...the clutch can burn even it is only race for one time. smile.gif
For auto, when there's slugghish and very very slow response, slowly or later it won't shift gear at all..there's the time to replace gearbox smile.gif

Campro sounds nice, fit with low and rumbling muffler brows.gif brows.gif it Roars like an imitation american muscle.. brows.gif
ralf
post Feb 23 2009, 12:22 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

he's referrring to this..?

Single DIN cd cover..

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 23 2009, 12:23 AM

ralf
post Feb 23 2009, 12:30 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

Mine bline only cd player without the so-called high tech thingy..

no mp3, no wma..no usb..no bluetooth..no aux..bla bla..haha
ralf
post Feb 23 2009, 01:07 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

IAFM or non IAFM in terms of FC, i can guarantee that barely no difference..even there is, the gap is small. It' still a normal Campro.. smile.gif

Campro and the word Fuel saving somehow not related..prepare to fork out 10km/L(actual figure) for auto tranny.
manual tranny, no idea..

Added on February 23, 2009, 1:09 am
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 23 2009, 01:00 AM)
mine auto...for the current fuel price rm50 can go around 300km...full tank RM63 can go around 350km++once clocked 370km.....

highway 70%+city30%.....mileage 24000km d....

during morning if can dont use aircond or turn the temperature to the max zone....
rm63 350km., equivalent to rm0.17-0/18, highway 70%+city30% somemore.

i wonder if you do 100%town driving like us..how's the FC. wink.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 23 2009, 01:09 AM
ralf
post Feb 23 2009, 07:18 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 23 2009, 04:58 PM)
urs auto ??...well lastest fc....i tested when on da way to nilai...maintain 80-100km (once rev to 4000rpm just to overtake the slow car sweat.gif ).....half tank (needle poiting on the half sign)....drove till warning light appear i only got 210km....plus abit of stop due to traffic lights.....is it ok??
based on this morning

using shell...and i havent change my air filter since 10000km if i still can recall....
last service 19000km...latest 25000km
Mine oso almost same, penang town crusing, manage to do slightly over 200km.*yawn*

Here's the picture that i captured weeks ago, 9th-February.
Picture 1, mileage 22236 km
Picture2, mileage 22382 km
total travel distance = 146 km
route = 95% travel on NS highway, from Penang to Ipoh toll..
FC: Half tank gone already... wink.gif

ralf
post Feb 25 2009, 08:06 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Feb 25 2009, 05:37 PM)
erm erm erm.. cant we claim warranty for the paint rust?? lol.. i dun think they will allow.. sure come up wif alot of excuses.. "u x jg baik baik u punya kereta".. aduh..
you mean those very small, tiny fine yelowish dots right?It might be oxidation...can't help much.

Proton paint with very thin clear coat, el-cheapo paint ler..they are using KANSAI paint..quality really K@n@s@i wink.gif

post some picture here..

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 25 2009, 08:07 PM
ralf
post Feb 25 2009, 11:25 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

replaced the stock Osram halogen with Osram Night breaker, it is whiter than before. wub.gif wub.gif

Below is the before and after comparison shot(LOW BEAM). Didn't manage to capture shot for High beam because don't wanna blind the oncoming traffic/opposite lane drivers..

Will try to buy a set of Philips Xtreme power and test it out later...

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 25 2009, 11:27 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
ralf
post Feb 26 2009, 03:40 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Feb 26 2009, 12:10 AM)
isn't it ilegal on white? ?
nanti kena kasi minum kopi pulak~   sweat.gif
although the colour temperature is less than 4k kelvin(should be close to 3500K yellow)..the osram is more towards whiteish. sweat.gif

At daytime, the different is obvious sweat.gif sweat.gif can see the huge different between pole light(which is yellowish) and the headlamp bulb(is whiteish)

have to pray god first if drive at nite..

Added on February 26, 2009, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(! Love Money @ Feb 26 2009, 06:02 AM)
bro... u live in island ler... u dun worry kena tahan?
inside bolehland here the police officers can said wat they wan 1...
honestly speaking, abit worry now sweat.gif sweat.gif
.. sweat.gif Before bought, already do some research on this bulb colour temperature, it is less than 4K kelvin. sweat.gif
didn't know the result is "whiter" than i expected..

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 26 2009, 03:45 PM
ralf
post Feb 28 2009, 09:38 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(floss @ Feb 28 2009, 07:42 PM)
I think ok lar this car, you can say the best car proton has made to date. I don't like the BLM/Saga because it's severely underpowered. It actually consumes more petrol as you know lor underpowered. And then BLM/Saga you corner cepat sikit feels like buang only.
Saga BLM compare to PerSona, huge difference between both.

1.3 Campro under the Saga hood, abit underpowered...After driving it for more than 10K km, i can live with it. Agree with the handling, it doesn't grip while cornering..i would prefer Proton to make this car have longer wheelbase, shorter rearoverhang, and wider, then stiffer suspension. wub.gif notworthy.gif nod.gif

The only good point about Saga BLM is---> it Brakessss better than PerSoNa !!

Added on February 28, 2009, 9:41 pm
QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 28 2009, 06:46 PM)
my half tank petrol mileage.....

petrol brand:BHP

total traveled 122km

driving conditions:...round 3/4 times at ss15 to find parking...den highway frm klg>subang>klg....den earlier went pyramid(round for 30mins in parking lot), aircond blow normal....heavy brake few times, and heavy cornering

speed: 80km>110km/ accidentally rev to 4000/5000rpm just now...shifting gear at 3000rpm/3200rpm/2500rpm......

note: havent change my airfilter since 9000km,oil changed on 19000km,spark plugs from factory never change before.....tyre pressure 230kpsi....pumped 1month ago...,two passengers including me

modification:rear and front 3point strut bar, 1 woofer..
i found out one better way to achieve better FC for our PerSoNa, over inflate the tyre to 250-260psi tongue.gif blush.gif icon_idea.gif
be warn that, overinflate so much, the road contact patch is smaller, barely no gripp...at Wet, sure skid and buang.. tongue.gif

Added on February 28, 2009, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(wufei @ Feb 28 2009, 06:30 AM)
huhhhh, So many years already still not perfect yet.
Still comes with Jukebox
I know and understood what you mean..it's not perfect shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 28 2009, 10:10 PM
ralf
post Feb 28 2009, 10:41 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 28 2009, 10:20 PM)
lol....i think 235/240kpsi also more than enough d.....250>> is too much.....how much is urs??....erm....persona cornering not as good as waja...tested 90km on the waja still ok abit of throw out....persona 80km like wana throw out d and cant go further even with 3point front and rear strut bar....

but waja tires are dunlop, persona stock continental.....both cars test on the same corners.....
240psi equivalent to 35kpa..abit bumpy dee..anything > 35kpa ride is harsh. I overinflate the both front and back tyre to 33-34kpa...FC, aikss..forget it, Campro isn't related to 'fuel saving'

Waja tyre is 195/55/15 wor, cannot compare. nod.gif somemore ride height and suspension is stiffer. First generation Gen2 suspension is hard too..good for cornering.
Mine, downgrade to 195/55/15...can whack corner and give Wajalution a chase. laugh.gif

How's ur RS brake pad?

Mine mileage at 24k km, the brake screeching sound is back !! Oouuch, the Bendix only run for 3xxx km, brake scraping noise is loud..I can confirmed that PerSona brake really got problem, nothing to deal with pad
Went to Michelin tyre shop, mechanic couldn't find the root cause. wink.gif wink.gif the shop girl told me few Gen2 owner faced this problem, already claim the brake disc, caliper and piston but problem yet to resolved wink.gif doh.gif doh.gif sweat.gif

Added on February 28, 2009, 10:45 pmhey, someone is selling adjustable coilover at rm900 only..very cheap!

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=934529&hl=

This post has been edited by ralf: Feb 28 2009, 10:45 PM
ralf
post Mar 1 2009, 01:35 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Feb 28 2009, 11:01 PM)
but the waja i drive is 195/60/r15....hmmm...maybe suspension stiffer..lol...anyway..after u change ur tires to 55series, the car sure lower right??..is it noticable??....

my rs brakepads working fine..no screeching....when u change ur rs pads??..me around 22000km..now going to 25000km..but 1 thing i wana ask...y sometimes i do braking..got some rough sound from the brakepads???...normal??
195/55/15 radius is smaller by 2cm, so practically ride height is lower by 2cm..

yea, it is rough..i suspect it is the pad scraping with some part.
I had try to wash the caliper areas with shampoo and wheel degreaser, then rinse and dry, follow by clean away the brake dust with air pump..still the same. Strange, it is most noticeable when the pad is Hot...right?

mine still on bendix, change on 20500km, now 24000km, the "rough" noise and screeching noise are back. it drive me crazy...

This post has been edited by ralf: Mar 1 2009, 01:36 AM
ralf
post Mar 5 2009, 09:05 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(sandking @ Mar 5 2009, 01:08 AM)
ya my car had this prob too..my car just aged almost 4month but mine is mostly while taking a left or right turn on uneven road dunno same prob like u guys onot sweat.gif  sweat.gif
It is a free feature bundled together with the car from Proton wink.gif cool2.gif j/k
ralf
post Mar 9 2009, 09:11 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

Today i finally found the sports rim centre cap for less than rm10 per piece(imitation, taiwan made) at spare parts shop !hehe..

If you want to enjoy V-POWER, better do it now..When the monkey boys on top annouce RON95 will be the mainstream..RON97 Vpower price sure gila siaoo. Remember the time where fuel price is @ rm2.70 per litre, Vpower is rm3.15 per litre..Crazzeee doh.gif
Honestly speaking, i feel no difference smile.gif But if Cupcai pump Vpower, i can feel the Vroom.. laugh.gif

Yesterday i fetch my friends, they said PerSona ride is comfy, somemore praise my machine looks like showroom car(mine already 1year 6months).. wub.gif *syiok sendiri* laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ralf: Mar 9 2009, 09:12 PM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0571sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:16 AM