7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

MUET, need to know more bout this.

moon yuen
post Jan 22 2009, 05:15 AM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(influenza04 @ Jan 22 2009, 04:45 AM)
its not important i'd say. just a requirement for you in-order to graduate from a malaysian uni.
the answer is... clarify with your program coordinator. this is because, certain courses require a certain band in-order to fulfill their requirements. for some, their course only requires a band 3, some band 4, and mostly definitely all accept band 5. band 6 ar, its kinda tough to get, so... u know la, dun think any course needs band 6 as a min requirement.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Actually, my sister is studying in UM medicine.... Therefore, I can clear your doubt.

Her course a lot people, MUET band 4 only la !!

Other races, band 3 is quite common ! Some even Band 2 ! Yup, in UM medicine course.

NO such thing that u need Band 5 to enter into UM medical course

This post has been edited by moon yuen: Jan 22 2009, 05:21 AM
limeuu
post Jan 22 2009, 08:48 AM

12,295 posts

like i said, nobody, not even the ipta, takes muet seriously......

actually, a significant portion of msian society would quite willingly dispense with english completely.........it's after all, something 'asing'........
Ibrahimovic
post Jan 22 2009, 10:18 AM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Jan 22 2009, 05:15 AM)
Actually, my sister is studying in UM medicine.... Therefore, I can clear your doubt.

Other races, band 3 is quite common  ! Some even Band 2 ! Yup, in UM medicine course.

????
Are u sure? But I think Band 4 the minimum requirement to get the certificate. My bet is her other Band 3 friend going to repeat MUET at the end of the course. You're sister is sure lucky to be in UM Medical Faculty. I can't even get to UM!

influenza04
post Jan 22 2009, 11:10 AM

♀Enthusiast♀
602 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Jan 22 2009, 05:15 AM)

Other races, band 3 is quite common  ! Some even Band 2 ! Yup, in UM medicine course.

nah... no doubts to be cleared. i didnt mention that only band 3 4 or 5 can enter in UM medical course. coz i dun even know the requirements for it. thats why i said diff course has a diff requirement. better enquire with the ppl in-charge of it. but i did say that band 5 is like... definitely fulfilled requirements for all courses tht i know of. unless they require band 6 sweat.gif
moon yuen
post Jan 22 2009, 11:49 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 22 2009, 10:18 AM)
????
Are u sure? But I think Band 4 the minimum requirement to get the certificate. My bet is her other Band 3 friend going to repeat MUET at the end of the course. You're sister is sure lucky to be in UM Medical Faculty. I can't even get to UM!
100% confirm !!

Actually, I don't consider my sister lucky la !! She is TOP student with CGPA 4.00 in STPM , MUET Band 5.
She told me lots of her Chinese friends are Band 4.
Quite a number of non-Chinese got Band 3. A few got Band 2.
She knows that because a lecturer want each person to stand up & tell their MUET results.

I specifically mention that "U did not need MUET Band 4 or above to gain admission into UM Medicine Course"
I don't know what Band u need to graduate medicine course?
Graduate & admission are two different things ~

Unlike me, take MUET , got Band 4 only, write essay also OUT OF TOPIC for Dec'08 sitting sad.gif

akkihiko
post Jan 24 2009, 10:36 PM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

is there any uni that doesn't need muet for admission??

This post has been edited by akkihiko: Jan 24 2009, 10:37 PM
enix2000
post Jan 24 2009, 11:00 PM

747 posts

i do think so dude..

btw, what course require high grade in MUET?
Nekochan
post Jan 25 2009, 12:22 AM

324 posts

Public uni only needed you to have band 1 to enter into the university. Some need band 2. But in private uni, some need band 3 or more.
lovelyduckling
post Jan 25 2009, 09:00 AM

96 posts

I scored Band 5(I took it twice,still Band 5 at the second time)And I was so surprised that many people I met in uni scored Band 3 and have to take the pre English courses here duh
lancelyod
post Jan 25 2009, 05:43 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(Nekochan @ Jan 25 2009, 12:22 AM)
Public uni only needed you to have band 1 to enter into the university. Some need band 2. But in private uni, some need band 3 or more.
Public university only requiring you to take at least 1 test of MUET, so what is the band you get they don't wanna know it. At tertiary school there are still some courses a bit likely MUET. Unless you are top student who wish to get band 6 in order to match your 4.0 pointer.
fruitie
post Jan 25 2009, 05:47 PM

Rise and Shine
72,898 posts

QUOTE(lancelyod @ Jan 25 2009, 05:43 PM)
Public university only requiring you to take at least 1 test of MUET, so what is the band you get they don't wanna know it. At tertiary school there are still some courses a bit likely MUET. Unless you are top student who wish to get band 6 in order to match your 4.0 pointer.
I thought different course has different minimum requirement of MUET, especially professional courses.
lancelyod
post Jan 25 2009, 06:30 PM

294 posts

Sorry for dint explain it properly. Several courses do need you pass your MUET with any band(the minimum requirement), except those high level courses.(I forgot what courses do need to such high requirement) So the band 6 really important for entering U? I'm emphasize on moderation, my MUET result is band 4 only rclxm9.gif
limeuu
post Jan 25 2009, 08:14 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(lancelyod @ Jan 25 2009, 06:30 PM)
Sorry for dint explain it properly. Several courses do need you pass your MUET with any band(the minimum requirement), except those high level courses.(I forgot what courses do need to such high requirement) So the band 6 really important for entering U? I'm emphasize on moderation, my MUET result is band 4 only rclxm9.gif
that i suppose, is an example of how low the standard of muet exam is........ blush.gif
fruitie
post Jan 25 2009, 09:38 PM

Rise and Shine
72,898 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 25 2009, 08:14 PM)
that i suppose, is an example of how low the standard of muet exam is........ blush.gif
Exactly. Band 3 in MUET can be considered quite poor, especially when MUET is not that difficult. No offence but this is the truth. Averagely, students scored Band 4 and it is quite common. As a Band 5 scorer, I don't feel proud because the paper wasn't difficult at all, at least for my batch (2004).

I'm not sure about public universities as I heard before one can enter with only Band 1? Don't you think that is a super very minimum requirement? How to cope in university subjects with just a mere Band 1? sweat.gif
lancelyod
post Jan 25 2009, 10:34 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 25 2009, 09:38 PM)
Exactly. Band 3 in MUET can be considered quite poor, especially when MUET is not that difficult. No offence but this is the truth. Averagely, students scored Band 4 and it is quite common. As a Band 5 scorer, I don't feel proud because the paper wasn't difficult at all, at least for my batch (2004).

I'm not sure about public universities as I heard before one can enter with only Band 1? Don't you think that is a super very minimum requirement? How to cope in university subjects with just a mere Band 1? sweat.gif
As i said, you only need to take MUET test once as 1 of the requirement to enter U. You only need retake it after entering U if ur band is lower than 3. I don't know what kind of test already but i heard people said those candidate required to have public speaking.
Honestly the marks set in MUET test are unaffair. I still remember last time my score is 180( minimum marks for band 4). Some of my friends get less 1 mark 179, so she get band 3. She felt unsatisfied with the result so she went retake again, wasting 60 bucks(don't know the accurate price jor).
louis6
post Jan 28 2009, 11:08 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 25 2009, 09:38 PM)

mayb govern is being kind to certain ppl... i do heard frm my fren said tat , frm govern official site, band 1 is the minimum requirement.
limeuu
post Jan 28 2009, 11:38 PM

12,295 posts

there is a schizophrenic treatment of english by the msian education authorities........

on one hand, they want to improve the language abilities of ipta students........the poor levels of english and the unemployability of some of these graduates are legendary.......

on the other hand, they view english with suspicion, that it will sideline bm.......and certainly makes no effort to enforce minimal english requirements lest it disadvantages a certain section of msian student population........

so they make an exam called muet, supposedly modeled after ielts.......making it compulsory to take in order to graduate.......and accepts band 1 as adequate.......

go figure.......
louis6
post Jan 28 2009, 11:54 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 28 2009, 11:38 PM)
there is a schizophrenic treatment of english by the msian education authorities........

on one hand, they want to improve the language abilities of ipta students........the poor levels of english and the unemployability of some of these graduates are legendary.......

on the other hand, they view english with suspicion, that it will sideline bm.......and certainly makes no effort to enforce minimal english requirements lest it disadvantages a certain section of msian student population........

so they make an exam called muet, supposedly modeled after ielts.......making it compulsory to take in order to graduate.......and accepts band 1 as adequate.......

go figure.......
Agree. They do it, but worry n then simply come out a faulty policies... M'sia Boleh!!

moon yuen
post Jan 29 2009, 12:06 AM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 28 2009, 11:38 PM)

go figure.......
Not Band 1 la, I think they require at least Band 2 to graduate, & in some other case, Band 3 and even Band 4
limeuu
post Jan 29 2009, 12:32 AM

12,295 posts

can you give any specific examples of any minimal muet requirement for any course? anybody failed/not allowed to graduate due to inadequate muet score? i know not such cases........

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0237sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:30 AM