Footballing Excuses debunked!, Excuses given after having lost a game.

TSDuke Red
post Dec 30 2008, 12:26 PM, updated 17y ago

6,112 posts

1) We played like crap - Right, and what did the other team do? They showed up, sat down on the pitch and watched you score into your own net?

2) The pitch was uneven - Right and which pitch was the other team playing on?

3) The ref was crap - Did you feel the same way when he awarded decisions in your favour?

4) Our players are jet-lagged - In those days, players used to play with hangovers.

solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 12:27 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

The goal that was disallowed was on side!!!
Hevrn
post Dec 30 2008, 12:27 PM

4,017 posts

"I didn't see it." Made famous by a certain French manager. tongue.gif
solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 12:29 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Dec 30 2008, 12:27 PM)
"I didn't see it." Made famous by a certain French manager. tongue.gif
I thought we were the best team(after lose) - by a certain Portuguese manager brows.gif
Everdying
post Dec 30 2008, 12:29 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

"i was only protecting my face" tongue.gif
solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 12:31 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 30 2008, 12:29 PM)
"i was only protecting my face" tongue.gif
after being sent off eh? tongue.gif
TSDuke Red
post Dec 30 2008, 12:34 PM

6,112 posts

I added the word, "debunked" in so we can explain why we thing it's an excuse and not a reason larrr...
kimhoong
post Dec 30 2008, 12:35 PM

5,154 posts

"As we say in Portugal, they brought the bus and they left the bus in front of the goal." - Source: http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Jos%C3%A9_Mourinho

And many more from http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Main_Page

Oops - the game was not lost.

Forgive me sad.gif

This post has been edited by kimhoong: Dec 30 2008, 12:36 PM
TSDuke Red
post Dec 30 2008, 12:38 PM

6,112 posts

We played them off the pitch and still lost - Well evidently you didn't play them on the pitch then.
solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 12:39 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 30 2008, 12:34 PM)
I added the word, "debunked" in so we can explain why we thing it's an excuse and not a reason larrr...
The media would be happy if he get banned for several matches - a certain Scottish manager..

Why Excuse: Why would media be happy when they get nothing beneficial out of it...
kimhoong
post Dec 30 2008, 12:39 PM

5,154 posts

Lady luck did not smile at us - debunked - because she smiled at the other side.

Seriously, luck plays a great deal in football - but the old saying is true that you need to have the needed quality to be lucky smile.gif
solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 12:40 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Dec 30 2008, 12:39 PM)
Lady luck did not smile at us - debunked - because she smiled at the other side.

Seriously, luck plays a great deal in football - but the old saying is true that you need to have the needed quality to be lucky smile.gif
A deflected goal/ own goals eh? yea..Luck plays a great part in winning trophies
kobe8byrant
post Dec 30 2008, 12:46 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

ADD:

-[at the end of the season], 'They' spent more than us! Of course they got quality.

Players and managers have to show up and make a team out of the millionaire players as well so it's not all about the money.

-[during the course of the season], I don't think it's right that managers spend that much on a player.

- The best has yet to come from us.

king_eric
post Dec 30 2008, 01:30 PM

147 posts

"The best team did not win" -
solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 01:45 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Cumshot @ Dec 30 2008, 01:40 PM)
"The players watched some of Wayne Rooney's grandma's homemade sex videos and couldnt sleep well, some faced troubles of erection for a few days. Everytime the players saw a granny, they fart and run." Sir SAF
shocking.gif Source?

Anyway, S= Sir, so wats with the Sir Sir Alex Ferguson? wink.gif
leongtat
post Dec 30 2008, 01:45 PM

950 posts

"This is our year!!!"
kobe8byrant
post Dec 30 2008, 01:48 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(Cumshot @ Dec 30 2008, 01:40 PM)
"The players watched some of Wayne Rooney's grandma's homemade sex videos and couldnt sleep well, some faced troubles of erection for a few days. Everytime the players saw a granny, they fart and run." Sir SAF
404?
kazek
post Dec 30 2008, 02:04 PM

The Bringer of Rain
1,116 posts

"We had another couple of good opportunities, so I do not think the scoreline flattered us at all. We created six or seven chances."

A certain manager after being hammered 3 goals to nil!!!

Debunk - Clearly the fella is deluded. How can you come up with such bs after a pounding like that. I guess the other team was just lucky then.

"We drew at Wigan on Sunday and I was asked about the state of the pitch after the game. Of course I would have preferred a better pitch because, frankly, it was a disaster. The excuse is that Wigan have a rugby team who play on the pitch but having a surface like that is disrespectful for the fans who come and pay money to see the game."

Debunk - Haha, seriously. Is his team the first team to play on that ground.

"They will be better in two or three more years because they will be even more experienced - and they will still be very young then."

Debunk - *Cough, Cough* Umm... The last time I checked football games are played in the present, not in the future.

"I was very annoyed about the constant announcements. I think he has to respect people and not talk too much. We are not on the radio here. There are people who want to watch a football game without a debate going on... It's really disturbing. I don't know if it puts the players off but for people watching it's disturbing... You wonder why there's one guy reading a book up there on his own and nobody is interested in what he says."

Debunk - This is officially the worst excuse in history of football notworthy.gif

"I personally put our bad start to the season down to the new stadium. We dropped some points that any team will drop when they move to a new stadium. It is linked with the unfamiliarity, as well as the fact that a team that comes to the stadium has no bad memories."

Debunk - whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kazek: Dec 30 2008, 02:05 PM
solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 02:04 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(leongtat @ Dec 30 2008, 01:45 PM)
"This is our year!!!"
Is either problem reading or problem understanding...

Never know people use this as excuse after losing...

I only know people use this as an excuse after winning...

Excuses given after having lost a game.

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Barney the Dino
post Dec 30 2008, 02:07 PM

Just a joke. no source. haha.

Anyway, most manager just say, "I can see the team progress (although lost 5-0). We've made intolerable mistakes and played well for the first 45 mins (already 3-0 down, saying that just cause their team finally made a shot), refs made some big mistakes (awarding a penalty when 4-0) and I suggest he sees the replay again. But anywa spirits are high (when the captain got sent off) and we will pick ourselves up and we understand the fans' frustration (got booed off the field). We will try and get a result againts our next opponents (Manchester United)"

This post has been edited by Cumshot: Dec 30 2008, 02:08 PM
solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 02:58 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Nov 8 2008
by a certain manager after losing at Emirates on Nov 8

"They say the league is not handicapped, but I`m not so sure,"
"Having every game away from home following a European tie is not easy. Going from Celtic on Wednesday to play at Arsenal the following Saturday lunchtime is hard, although, funnily enough, I didn`t think it was a problem on this occasion."

Debunk-
The fixture list is random, that`s the nature of the fixture list. Therefore, the fact that your team has some tough away assignments after Champions League games is, literally, the luck of the draw.And he himself , too thought it wasnt a problem at all...

Jan 21 2001
by a certain manager after knocked out of the FA Cup by West Ham at home

The pitch was very bumpy which is possibly a reason for the (lack of) smoothness of our passing." And the referee had not played enough injury time

Debunk -
Blame who for the bumpy pitch?You are playing at home and you shud have the advantage.And of course the injury time is not enough, unlike the 1999 European Cup Final, of course. whistling.gif Time is always of the essence for this manager. If his club are losing, the referee should add it on, if they're winning, he should blow his whistle. Dont get what I mean? You can guarantee as a game enters the 89th minute with his club hanging on to a one-goal advantage, this particular manager will start pointing furiously at his timepiece and probably have a dig on the referee in media again.

May 3 2007
by a certain manager after knocked out of Champion League after a 3-0 semi-final loss at AC Milan, going out 5-3 on aggregate.

"Leagues in other countries would help their clubs no end so they can prepare properly for European nights, so there is a problem there," he said.

"We've not had much help from the Premier League."

Debunk-
How the heck is another English Team able to progress to Final then? So, what he reckon the premier league suppose to do? 1 month without match for them to prepare for the champion league? doh.gif

And the most funny of all

Southampton 3-1 Manchester United

The grey shirts they were wearing meant they were unable to see one another.

Debunk:
Funny and lame excuse..and you know wat? The strip was immediately replaced with a new design. doh.gif

And not to mention a recent one that he claimed his players handball in the match against Zenit was an instinctive. thumbup.gif

Ken
post Dec 30 2008, 04:48 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

all managers also complain international duties make their players injured ... but this the price they gonna pay if having top players in the team ...
skystrike
post Dec 30 2008, 05:31 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Dec 30 2008, 04:48 PM)
all managers also complain international duties make their players injured ... but this the price they gonna pay if having top players in the team ...
yeah...like some spanish manager whistling.gif
solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 05:38 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Dec 30 2008, 05:31 PM)
13th February 2003

Sir Alex Ferguson has branded this week's friendly internationals "stupid".

"Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has to go to Greece with Norway and I think it is absolutely ridiculous. I think that is a stupid one, " the Boss told MUTV.

"We've got fifteen players away on international duty from Roy Carroll and John O'Shea with the two Irish sides, Seba Veron with Argentina and Ruud van Nistelrooy with Holland, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer with Norway, seven English players, two with France and Ryan Giggs with Wales.

"It is a lot of players away but we are doing our best to make the proper arrangements to get them back quickly."

Its not good for us to have so many players gone for their international duties.This will affect us badly if some one or other gets injured .We have the important FA cup match ,Juventus plus a heavy schedule from now on.

Added on December 30, 2008, 5:49 pm
Mar 29 2008

MANCHESTER United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has derided international friendly matches as "a waste of time" and "futile".

"Darren should have played only 45 minutes, 60 minutes at most. But instead he was heading for a full game before he got injured,"

Source

Added on December 30, 2008, 5:52 pmSir Alex blasts England friendly

14 October 2007

Source

===========================================================================
yeah...like some Scottish manager whistling.gif
Fixed for you laugh.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Dec 30 2008, 05:54 PM
disco333
post Dec 30 2008, 09:26 PM

453 posts

Sir Alex and Wenger always make excuses after they have lost, it's sort of their thing...
MADReaLJL
post Dec 30 2008, 11:40 PM

4,050 posts

Excuses given after having lost a game.

指定的借口以后输掉比赛

Alasan yang diberi selepas tewas satu perlawanan

dun understand? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
solstice818
post Dec 30 2008, 11:44 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Dec 30 2008, 11:40 PM)

dun understand?  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Understand but since someone dragged in the issue of international frenlies, i tot they wan some examples of their club manager as well...I tot u can read and see those posts were posted earlier before mine?Unless your eyes are picking posts to read and choose to ignore post #21

And you shud probably say the same to Ken and skystrike as well, no? doh.gif

Added on December 30, 2008, 11:45 pm
指定的借口以后输掉比赛

And this 1 google translator's work? Not correctly translated doh.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Dec 30 2008, 11:46 PM
lolz_5167
post Dec 30 2008, 11:48 PM

Broken Heart Staff
1,085 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Dec 30 2008, 12:46 PM)
ADD:

-[at the end of the season], 'They' spent more than us! Of course they got quality.

Players and managers have to show up and make a team out of the millionaire players as well so it's not all about the money.

-[during the course of the season], I don't think it's right that managers spend that much on a player.

- The best has yet to come from us.
this is the fact that some team are spending more than the other team

FACT is not excuse
MADReaLJL
post Dec 30 2008, 11:48 PM

4,050 posts

tongue.gif yes.. i was thinking to put on other languages but lazy to do so laugh.gif
Hevrn
post Dec 31 2008, 12:03 AM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(lolz_5167 @ Dec 30 2008, 11:48 PM)
this is the fact that some team are spending more than the other team

FACT is not excuse
Its also a fact that money follows success, and success is not solely determined by who has the larger or deeper wallet.
TSDuke Red
post Dec 31 2008, 11:36 AM

6,112 posts

Internationals occur every year without fail, managers know that. If they don't want any of their players leaving for international duty, then sign crap players smile.gif

I also remember Mourinho complaining that he has a lack of cover for Terry and Carvalho which led to them having to stick Essien and Ferreira in the middle. Well what did he do at the start of that season? He sold Robert Huth, the only covering centreback at the time.
solstice818
post Dec 31 2008, 11:14 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 31 2008, 11:36 AM)
Internationals occur every year without fail, managers know that. If they don't want any of their players leaving for international duty, then sign crap players smile.gif

I also remember Mourinho complaining that he has a lack of cover for Terry and Carvalho which led to them having to stick Essien and Ferreira in the middle. Well what did he do at the start of that season? He sold Robert Huth, the only covering centreback at the time.
but i think most of the time the manager blamed on the referee's decisions caused them to lose the game..

But sometimes, some manager did come out with some pretty funny excuses...

EG:
Colour of kits, pitch bumpy cos played too much rugby on that particular stadium...

Anyway, speaking of the referee's decision, a recent one would be Phil Brown's remark on the referee sudden chg of mind for not giving the penalty in the match against Villa smile.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Dec 31 2008, 11:14 PM
Ken
post Jan 29 2009, 11:29 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

Benitez questions Wigan's tactics

Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez insisted only a "crazy" second half against Wigan prevented his side from rejoining Manchester United at the top of the Premier League table, but also produced a thinly veiled attack on Steve Bruce's tactics.
not any excuse, just some comments from the most genius manager on earth
miketee
post Jan 30 2009, 01:22 AM

483 posts

The M-League is not football!

aboogee
post Jan 30 2009, 01:55 AM

1,090 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Jan 29 2009, 11:29 PM)
Benitez questions Wigan's tactics
not any excuse, just some comments from the most genius manager on earth
Darn! Was gona put this one in smile.gif

Apparently Wigan players lost their marbles and didnt lie down and allow the opposing team to slaughter them. AND to make it worst ! OMG the Wigan player must have really been insane to score that penalty ?!!?!? I mean ... how could he ?!?!!?

The only sane ppl in the second half !! Was Lucas !!! Fabulous chap who decided to rugby-tackle Koumas when there were 2 other players offside and wouldve been harmless !!! Oh !!! And Lucas was in a perfect state of mind when Gerrard sent in a cross and he blocked Torres from getting it !! GOSH!

But the ONLY other individual who kept his cuckoo in the clock was Benitez !! After spending 20 million on a player in the summer which he cud quite possibly be referring to as a Table...or was it a Lamp... he left on the bench ! And even when he brought him off ... HE TOOK OUT THE ONLY OTHER DECENT PLAYER IN THE TEAM !! i mean ... wow ... Benitez ... you were right buddy ... Everyone else was "Crazy" but you were doing the best thing for the game werent you smile.gif

doggyjames
post Jan 30 2009, 04:55 PM

175 posts

"someone told me having $ex before the game pumps up my performance...he didnt tell me not to do it more than 7 times!!!"
TSDuke Red
post Feb 2 2009, 11:54 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aboogee @ Jan 30 2009, 01:55 AM)
But the ONLY other individual who kept his cuckoo in the clock was Benitez !! After spending 20 million on a player in the summer which he cud quite possibly be referring to as a Table...
Well therein lies the flaw in your statement. It's another reason I always urge posters to find out more before running their mouth off. Benitez did no sanction the purchase of Robbie Keane which is why he's willing to offload him back to Spurs. Unlike at your club, Arsenal or Chelsea, Rafa reports to Rick Parry on transfer signings and not directly to the owners, hence why he's stalling on renewing his contract.

As for the comments on Wigan, even Liverpool fans are left in the dark. It's obvious he has something to say but would rather reserve his comments. Maybe he should have started blaming the FA for being biased even though our CEO is on it's committee, oh wait, that isn't true. Maybe the refs are against us, who knows? I certainly don't since Rafa isn't willing to share.
Jonno
post Feb 2 2009, 08:14 PM

JFT 96
1,164 posts

My favourite during a certain Frenchman's time:

" We are a young team, we controlled the game, we had 139485 corners, 198654843737494627 shots on goals, 29163598490237 passes, but we're just unlucky that they hit us on the break (three times!), or they were lucky, every time they attacked, they score (this is after losing to Chelsea 4 - 0!)"

It got so bad that before the match ends, me and my mate would impersonate his excuses and refuse to read or watch any interview with him, as we knew what he'd say. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
solstice818
post Feb 2 2009, 08:51 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 2 2009, 11:54 AM)
Well therein lies the flaw in your statement. It's another reason I always urge posters to find out more before running their mouth off. Benitez did no sanction the purchase of Robbie Keane which is why he's willing to offload him back to Spurs. Unlike at your club, Arsenal or Chelsea, Rafa reports to Rick Parry on transfer signings and not directly to the owners, hence why he's stalling on renewing his contract.

As for the comments on Wigan, even Liverpool fans are left in the dark. It's obvious he has something to say but would rather reserve his comments. Maybe he should have started blaming the FA for being biased even though our CEO is on it's committee, oh wait, that isn't true. Maybe the refs are against us, who knows? I certainly don't since Rafa isn't willing to share.
In addition, we din pay 20m yet...We only pay around 10m now... laugh.gif doh.gif
beck_ken
post Feb 2 2009, 08:54 PM

4,716 posts

those from Mourinho were the best...

entertainment + 1
solstice818
post Feb 2 2009, 08:56 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Feb 2 2009, 08:54 PM)
those from Mourinho were the best...

entertainment + 1
He was the one introducing the terms " bus parking tactics" rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
beck_ken
post Feb 2 2009, 09:05 PM

4,716 posts

and said Wenger is voyeur for spying and talking on his players
ken0777
post Feb 4 2009, 02:56 AM

536 posts

Fav quote: The better team lost today aka JM
Another fav quote: I need to renew my contract with the devil...SAF
jerseybuyer
post Feb 4 2009, 03:32 AM

63 posts

Benitez said: "I feel we have lost two points, we were much better in the first half and had control of the game. The second half was crazy and when it is crazy you can't control things.

lame excussssssssss !!! + 1
whoopa
post Feb 4 2009, 03:44 AM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

i believe the manager with most excuses would be SAF .. cos he managed Man Utd for long and so many trophies .. sure alot of excuses 1 la ... we cannot compare to that certain club manager... man utd has excuses where else they had facts ..
TSDuke Red
post Feb 4 2009, 03:58 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(jerseybuyer @ Feb 4 2009, 03:32 AM)
Benitez said: "I feel we have lost two points, we were much better in the first half and had control of the game. The second half was crazy and when it is crazy you can't control things.

lame excussssssssss !!! + 1
How is that an excuse? He said there are things he would like to say but can't, did you read that bit? He had the decency to keep his mouth shut knowing very well that he could be pulled up by the FA unlike certain "protected" managers. Process information before responding.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Feb 4 2009, 03:59 PM
kobe8byrant
post Feb 4 2009, 05:31 PM

12,275 posts

No actually, suggesting that certain managers are protected is also an EXCUSE.

Unless of course you are suggesting Benitez is being protected after accusing Gill and Manchester United.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Feb 4 2009, 05:32 PM
Wan
post Feb 5 2009, 12:36 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Keep his mouth shut? Guess someone stole and burn away his 'list'. tongue.gif

Worst excuse? Surely that grey kit that SAF complained about must be one of them. laugh.gif Did we ever wear them again after that?
Ken
post Feb 5 2009, 12:45 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

some people's post with status Elite is just crap ... never can read any neutral post from him ...

'protected' manager ? how many times this manager being fined and send to stand by FA ? oh ya ... he only read anything that he like to read ...
Wan
post Feb 5 2009, 12:59 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Dec 30 2008, 02:58 PM)
Nov 8 2008
by a certain manager after losing at Emirates on Nov 8
Debunk-
The fixture list is random, that`s the nature of the fixture list. Therefore, the fact that your team has some tough away assignments after Champions League games is, literally, the luck of the draw.And he himself , too thought it wasnt a problem at all...

May 3 2007
by a certain manager after knocked out of Champion League after a 3-0 semi-final loss at AC Milan, going out 5-3 on aggregate.
Debunk-
How the heck is another English Team able to progress to Final then? So, what he reckon the premier league suppose to do? 1 month without match for them to prepare for the champion league?  doh.gif
And the most funny of all

Southampton 3-1 Manchester United
Debunk:
Funny and lame excuse..and you know wat? The strip was immediately replaced with a new design.
And not to mention a recent one that he claimed his players handball in the match against Zenit was an instinctive. thumbup.gif
Yeah, us having to play every game away after a CL/International break is down to luck. Right. It is random in a way, but with TV deals and stuff, I bet they do make some arrangements.

He didn't ask for a month break(he does ask for a winter break though). Don't be stupid, and just because he's SAF, manager of ManUtd, it's OK for you to just fire without doing some homework. I seem to remember if the Spanish team have a CL game midweek, then the weekend before that game they play on Saturdays. Not sure if its the same now, but it was true back then. That's all he ask. But hey, don't let that get in your way of bringing him down. whistling.gif

Nothing to play for in the league since that team was out of the running in December. So all they had to concentrate on is the cup games. icon_rolleyes.gif
Benitez complaining about transfers. Not given enough money, but looking at the net spend, he's on par with us. air_mood has that list.. can't be arse to search for it. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Wan: Feb 5 2009, 01:02 AM
saiga
post Feb 5 2009, 01:18 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Feb 5 2009, 12:45 AM)
some people's post with status Elite is just crap ... never can read any neutral post from him ...

'protected' manager ? how many times this manager being fined and send to stand by FA ? oh ya ... he only read anything that he like to read ...
let him be... cannot even accept the truth shocking.gif . anyway, important is table position thumbup.gif .
solstice818
post Feb 5 2009, 07:31 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Feb 5 2009, 12:59 AM)
Yeah, us having to play every game away after a CL/International break is down to luck. Right. It is random in a way, but with TV deals and stuff, I bet they do make some arrangements.

He didn't ask for a month break(he does ask for a winter break though). Don't be stupid, and just because he's SAF, manager of ManUtd, it's OK for you to just fire without doing some homework. I seem to remember if the Spanish team have a CL game midweek, then the weekend before that game they play on Saturdays. Not sure if its the same now, but it was true back then. That's all he ask. But hey, don't let that get in your way of bringing him down. whistling.gif

Nothing to play for in the league since that team was out of the running in December. So all they had to concentrate on is the cup games. icon_rolleyes.gif
Benitez complaining about transfers. Not given enough money, but looking at the net spend, he's on par with us. air_mood has that list.. can't be arse to search for it. laugh.gif
Again? Someone with difficulty in reading? Who mention about AF asking for one month break? I was asking if that is AF's expectation? See that effing big question mark, no?Speaking of that junk list of air_mood, I m quite surprised that he is brave enough to put it on siggy.Come on, ages ago, tonnes of you were denying that ManU are spending a lot and say wikipedia is not trustworthy.Then, what makes that unknown website with simple layout and unknown owner trustworthy then? Or are manu supporters have this selective reading and believing habits? unsure.gif

Added on February 5, 2009, 7:35 am

How many times he get fined and send to stand? Wow, that's less than the fingers of my hands.Why dont you ask the other way round? How many times did he get away from abusing/ accusing the official? And his threatening on the FA alone(in which he threatens to send someone to make sure the fixture go his way) is over the line and should have get fined.But did he? Funnily, no...

As for Duke's Elite status, I dont remember Se7en, RBR or the staffs mention about being an elite need to post up a neutral post...Well, that's being said if I remember clearly.And Elite are recommendation by the mods for contributing to Football Lounge and the status is not for posting neutral post(or to be more precise, post that you want to listen and not the truth)...

This post has been edited by solstice818: Feb 5 2009, 07:38 AM
sk41
post Feb 5 2009, 08:47 AM

601 posts

Monstar
post Feb 5 2009, 08:48 AM

1,895 posts

Just name it out if you are going to talk crap about him. No point acting like a school girl. I am not going to defend him. I'll leave it to him. He is more than capable of dealing with pansies like you.

This list? http://www.paultomkins.com/blog_spending_detail.html

I dunno about you, but if you read the article thoroughly and look at it objectively, it is hard to deny that Rafa has less to spend than MU. I'm saying this based on facts not opinion.
nando
post Feb 5 2009, 09:18 AM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

1. YOU have never read any neutral post from him
OR
2. HE has never posted any neutral post?

because if its 1, then perhaps its a bit unfair to call people `crap'? Define crap? He gave a view and typed a few lines trying to explain and you call that crap...? gee... doh.gif doh.gif

sebelum post dan nak panggil orang crap tuh, pakai la otak sikit....especially when you want to link people's idea /view to their status.

In regard to excuses, i recalled used to be very sick of Houllier's many post-match interviews..hahah

This post has been edited by nando: Feb 5 2009, 09:29 AM
Hevrn
post Feb 5 2009, 09:20 AM

4,017 posts

Like I've said, using wealth as an excuse when one can't find success on the pitch is nonsense. The United team of the 90s weren't exactly brought in for an extravagant amount of money. And if you're gonna knock on that being the factor, Arsene and Arsenal have spent considerably less than Pool have in his reign, yet still manage to finish above them more often than once. Still, some ppl are gonna chastise me for saying this coz I'm a glory hunter fan (or a "typical United fan" you seem to like calling us) and I don't know crap about football so I shouldn't post. rolleyes.gif
Wan
post Feb 5 2009, 09:27 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Only 16m less though. Not that much. Can buy what, 2 Dossenas, or a Robbie Keane(oops, not his own target eh? weak management then), or a Nunez with another Kuyt. The squad seem decent now though, just needed two really good wingers, and a good striker as backup for Torres/to partner him. Keane may have made a difference with Gerrard out last night. Not Rafa's choice to buy him. Wonder why he took him anyway, and selling him midway half the season without replacement.
Monstar
post Feb 5 2009, 09:35 AM

1,895 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Feb 5 2009, 09:20 AM)
Like I've said, using wealth as an excuse when one can't find success on the pitch is nonsense. The United team of the 90s weren't exactly brought in for an extravagant amount of money. And if you're gonna knock on that being the factor, Arsene and Arsenal have spent considerably less than Pool have in his reign, yet still manage to finish above them more often than once. Still, some ppl are gonna chastise me for saying this coz I'm a glory hunter fan (or a "typical United fan" you seem to like calling us) and I don't know crap about football so I shouldn't post.  rolleyes.gif
I agree with you that not having enough money is not the most valid excuse to not win the league but it is definitely a reason. I am sure you would agree with me on this. Yes, there are other ways to be successful, but with enough money, its just so much easier. I have never claimed that we don't have enough money to win the league. What I always say is we don't have enough money to compete on a level playing ground. It is definitely winnable, but it is going to be harder compared to our rivals.

And to compare the 90s team of MU to the current Liverpool crop is unfair. Although Ferguson did not outspend his rivals by a mile, he was definitely among the biggest spenders. Plus you had a lot of good players coming through the system at the same time, which is really rare and this process takes a while to achieve.

Ferguson had 8-10 years to tweak his youth policy to bring about that golden generation and its only fair that Rafa is given the same amount of time if you are going to judge him based on the players that come through the ranks. And yes, GH does not count, our youth policy until then was not the best to say the least. I'll admit that.

As for Arsenal, like I mentioned earlier, not having enough to spend is one of the factors. They managed to find a way to work around it. Kudos to them. Still does not take away the fact that financial muscle has huge implications on a team's title aspirations and performance.
nando
post Feb 5 2009, 09:41 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Feb 5 2009, 09:20 AM)
Like I've said, using wealth as an excuse when one can't find success on the pitch is nonsense. The United team of the 90s weren't exactly brought in for an extravagant amount of money. And if you're gonna knock on that being the factor, Arsene and Arsenal have spent considerably less than Pool have in his reign, yet still manage to finish above them more often than once. Still, some ppl are gonna chastise me for saying this coz I'm a glory hunter fan (or a "typical United fan" you seem to like calling us) and I don't know crap about football so I shouldn't post.  rolleyes.gif
I think in football, there are teams that have triumphed because of the injection of wealth and there are teams that have not moved on to bigger thing because of the lack of wealth. But then, once in a while, we also have teams achieving glory with limited resources and vice versa. That is why the topic can be controversial.

To me , its not wrong to cite the lack of funds as one of the reason for lack of success. Teams like Villa, Everton to me, can use this reason more than others.

Teams like MU and Chelsea will find it no longer viable to cite lack of wealth as failure (if they do fail in coming years) because we do know how much resources and also income these 2 teams generate...

For Arsenal, i wont blame the lack of wealth if they fail to achieve anything again, Rather, its the lack of utilization of funds. And by the way, they just splashed out some money for Arshavin. And is Arsene's reign really more succesful than Rafa for the past 4-5 seasons?

The difficult one is Liverpool. Its a big team, strong history. It is not a Villa, not Everton (in terms of fan base and $) but neither is it MU or Chelsea. To me, it is not right for Liverpool to blindly use the excuse `lack of funds' for our failure to win titles. But then, I do believe that if our financial status is stronger, there is a possibility we can purchase better players that might help to achieve success.

And its sometimes baseless to add value of players brought over few seasons and equal them to value of 1 player and said both clubs are equal in terms of spending. Its not. I've bought over my 10 years of driving several cars-second hand, Japanese, etc, which if i add on the total value, is equal to a price of 1 spanking new C200. Does it mean my financial status today is as good as the fella who walked into a Benz showroom and buy a C200 today?

This post has been edited by nando: Feb 5 2009, 09:45 AM
Monstar
post Feb 5 2009, 09:42 AM

1,895 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Feb 5 2009, 09:27 AM)
Only 16m less though. Not that much. Can buy what, 2 Dossenas, or a Robbie Keane(oops, not his own target eh? weak management then), or a Nunez with another Kuyt. The squad seem decent now though, just needed two really good wingers, and a good striker as backup for Torres/to partner him. Keane may have made a difference with Gerrard out last night.  Not Rafa's choice to buy him. Wonder why he took him anyway, and selling him midway half the season without replacement.
Compare Liverpool's 2004 team to MU's 2004 team and honestly tell me who needs more work? And then take into consideration that despite that, we still spent 16m less. Which could potentially be a Robbie Keane or a Cronaldo.

And as for the Robbie Keane issue, just don't bother. Its too complicated. I hate to say this, but inside Liverpool's boardroom there is probably a cemetery worth of skeletons. Its s hit, I hate it. Fooking yanks.
Hevrn
post Feb 5 2009, 09:45 AM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(Monstar @ Feb 5 2009, 09:35 AM)
I agree with you that not having enough money is not the most valid excuse to not win the league but it is definitely a reason. I am sure you would agree with me on this. Yes, there are other ways to be successful, but with enough money, its just so much easier. I have never claimed that we don't have enough money to win the league. What I always say is we don't have enough money to compete on a level playing ground. It is definitely winnable, but it is going to be harder compared to our rivals.

And to compare the 90s team of MU to the current Liverpool crop is unfair. Although Ferguson did not outspend his rivals by a mile, he was definitely among the biggest spenders. Plus you had a lot of good players coming through the system at the same time, which is really rare and this process takes a while to achieve.

Ferguson had 8-10 years to tweak his youth policy to bring about that golden generation and its only fair that Rafa is given the same amount of time if you are going to judge him based on the players that come through the ranks. And yes, GH does not count, our youth policy until then was not the best to say the least. I'll admit that.

As for Arsenal, like I mentioned earlier, not having enough to spend is one of the factors. They managed to find a way to work around it. Kudos to them. Still does not take away the fact that financial muscle has huge implications on a team's title aspirations and performance.
Aye, I do agree it is a factor. But some ppl keep harping on it and bringing it up to justify their losses that its becoming a lil bitter to swallow. The current City side is a good example of how money doesn't equal success. Spurs as well. Outspending their local rivals by a mile, yet they're the ones lingering in the bottom half fighting off relegation.

Yes, United benefited from the crop of players which came out from the academy. Our core then was built around players whom we've brought up. Nevilles, Butt, Scholes, Giggs, Beckham. But Fergie carefully picked them out when he joined the side and it certainly took some very good scouting skills to pinch talents from around the area. Giggs for example was signed under City's noses when he was 15, and has never looked back.
nando
post Feb 5 2009, 10:01 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Feb 5 2009, 09:45 AM)
Aye, I do agree it is a factor. But some ppl keep harping on it and bringing it up to justify their losses that its becoming a lil bitter to swallow. The current City side is a good example of how money doesn't equal success. Spurs as well. Outspending their local rivals by a mile, yet they're the ones lingering in the bottom half fighting off relegation.

Yes, United benefited from the crop of players which came out from the academy. Our core then was built around players whom we've brought up. Nevilles, Butt, Scholes, Giggs, Beckham. But Fergie carefully picked them out when he joined the side and it certainly took some very good scouting skills to pinch talents from around the area. Giggs for example was signed under City's noses when he was 15, and has never looked back.
Your core was vital to success. But you needed the millions to surround your core with Rooney, Rio, Christiano and others. So its a milk + nice tea power = to nice teh tarik thingy...
I am of the opinion that SAF IS the most vital ingredient to MU's success. But after that, i cant differentiate if its the core youth players OR the millions that contributed.

This post has been edited by nando: Feb 5 2009, 10:03 AM
hansjkv
post Feb 5 2009, 10:02 AM

34 posts

lol.. i believe this thread is about excuses.. not into details about protections, neutral posts, etc etc. So let's stick to the topic shall we?
Hevrn
post Feb 5 2009, 10:15 AM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 5 2009, 10:01 AM)
Your core was vital to success.  But you needed the millions to surround your core with Rooney, Rio, Christiano and others.  So its a milk + nice tea power = to nice teh tarik thingy...
I am of the opinion that SAF IS the most vital ingredient to MU's success. But after that, i cant differentiate if its the core youth players OR the millions that contributed.
Yea true. But one can also argue that our wealth was built thanks to the success of our 90s team. Its like when a young businessman strikes gold with his small business, and proceeds to use his newly found fortune to purchase a larger restaurant/franchise to expand his operations. Okay, not exactly the best anecdote, but you get it.
TSDuke Red
post Feb 5 2009, 10:18 AM

6,112 posts

The same could be said of you. I am under no obligation to be neutral and if my club is under attack, you can be sure I'll defend them IF I believe in their actions. As for your allegations of me never being neutral well... I see you suffer from selective memory. I call it as I see it. I cannot count the number of times I begrudgingly praised Man Utd. How about stating that I believe Ronaldo should win the Player of the Year Award ahead of Fernando Torres and Lionel Messi? What about posting that I like watching Arsenal play? Remember the post about "The Greatest Manager of Our Time" where I stated Fergie is my pick? Guess you don't recall any of those eh? Having said all that I'm not going to sit on the fence if I backed Rafa's retaliation to Fergie's comments that we would choke. Whether or not we did is irrelevant. Being the abrasive person that I am, I would have reacted in a similar manner. So what? I'm supposed to be a 'lalang' and not take a stance? If you think I post crap, don't read it. If you want to read it put up a better argument rather than make baseless allegations.

Is money imperative? I would say so but only when used wisely. I've stated before on the Liverpool thread that I hate it when Rafa keeps moaning about the lack of funds (can this be considered a neutral post?), ask any of the Liverpool posters here. I think that a club should find succes in spite of their shortcomings. It's what makes a manager great no? That he can win the league despite not having the same amount of resources as the other big clubs. Arsenal have won the league under Wenger and even went through and entire season unbeaten, and their record signing to date is Andrei Arshavin at a mere $15 million. Why they seem to have stutered is another matter altogether. Why we aren't as rich as Man Utd despite having dominated English football before is our own doing. We didn't have the same marketing foresight. Is lack of funds a reason? Yes. Should it be used as an excuse? No. I'm so fighting the urge to be biased now rolleyes.gif Thanks again for reading my crap.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Feb 5 2009, 10:20 AM
SUSkillingspree
post Feb 5 2009, 10:22 AM

456 posts

"i am personally not prefer to say about that"
Reddy818
post Feb 5 2009, 10:43 AM

30 posts

''The turning point of the game was the second yellow card for Lucas, I was not happy, but I do not want to say anything about the referee.''

Are RB moaning about bad referee decision? I thought they are not supposed to do that.. y cant he admit the player was out of position n need to make the tackle... hmm.gif

Think this thread has run out of the course..i only see both Man utd n liverpool fans slating each other try to find opposite manager moaning from 80's till date..

This post has been edited by Reddy818: Feb 5 2009, 10:46 AM
TSDuke Red
post Feb 5 2009, 11:04 AM

6,112 posts

It happens in any thread but it can't be said it's unexpected. The point was to have generic excuses i.e. "it was the referee's fault" debunked. Managers have always blamed the officials at some point.
nando
post Feb 5 2009, 11:43 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Feb 5 2009, 10:15 AM)
Yea true. But one can also argue that our wealth was built thanks to the success of our 90s team. Its like when a young businessman strikes gold with his small business, and proceeds to use his newly found fortune to purchase a larger restaurant/franchise to expand his operations. Okay, not exactly the best anecdote, but you get it.
Yeah, the non-footballing management in MU did well to generate funds. But at the end of the day, one cannot run away from funds to build a successful club.
solstice818
post Feb 5 2009, 11:50 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Feb 5 2009, 10:43 AM)
''The turning point of the game was the second yellow card for Lucas, I was not happy, but I do not want to say anything about the referee.''

Are RB moaning about bad referee decision? I thought they are not supposed to do that.. y cant he admit the player was out of position n need to make the tackle...   hmm.gif

Think this thread has run out of the course..i only see both Man utd n liverpool fans slating each other try to find opposite manager moaning from 80's till date..
For someone who din watch the game but take it as a moan or complaint from Rafa, I find it funny.I mean is not surprising to see rival fans laughing at us.But before you laugh , ask yourself Did You watch the game?

Anyone who watched the game, should know the 1st yellow is never a yellow.Like I repeatedly mention, Lucas 1st yellow was nothing but ridiculous.Arteta fell on his own and kicked Lucas on the knee.The incident happen when the referee was facing the other side.When he turned around and saw Arteta on the ground, he gave Lucas a yellow.

And few days ago after the chelsea game, bunch of manu fans were complaining the red card cost the game.Same here.Lucas get a red that he dun deserve(at least in my opinion) and now, bunch of you were turning back on what you guys said on Monday? Or do you guys have this selective reading and believing habits I mentioned earlier? How is that a red card wont change the game? if it wont, why dont your team start with 10 in each and every match? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Feb 5 2009, 11:51 AM
nando
post Feb 5 2009, 11:51 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Feb 5 2009, 01:18 AM)
let him be... cannot even accept the truth  shocking.gif .  anyway, important is table position  thumbup.gif .
Geee!!! brilliant! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
I now got excuse not to post anything because of Liverpool's position is lower than MU.... brilliant, mate!

speaking of excuses, i'm always intrigued by coaches/management banning WAG from being near players during an important tournament..with the excuse/reason that bed activities degrades a player's performances... laugh.gif laugh.gif
solstice818
post Feb 5 2009, 11:56 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Feb 5 2009, 01:18 AM)
let him be... cannot even accept the truth  shocking.gif .  anyway, important is table position  thumbup.gif .
If you have nothing constructive to contribute, just dont post.Just imagine if there are 100 other posters like you posted "let him be la...", where our discussion will be heading to?

Talking about cant accept the truth, here's one classic example.

QUOTE(whoopa @ Feb 4 2009, 03:44 AM)
i believe the manager with most excuses would be SAF .. cos he managed Man Utd for long and so many trophies .. sure alot of excuses 1 la ... we cannot compare to that certain club manager... man utd has excuses where else they had facts ..
If she can accept the truth that her manager gave bunch of lame excuses, she wont be posting in such a sarcastic way, no?

This post has been edited by solstice818: Feb 5 2009, 11:58 AM
Reddy818
post Feb 5 2009, 12:04 PM

30 posts

For one club to be successful, the club must be self sufficient and with that you can spend the funds to improve the squad...

club that is not self sufficient will have problem when the rich owner lost interest for the club...

where are the funds come from for all the club will impact whether the club is call successful or not..

from report stated every transfer for liverpool come direct from the owner pockets, and with the credit crunch at US this is bad news for liverpool fans even chelsea also feeling the heat of credit crunch..they are not spending like they used to when roman arrived...

yes man utd spend alot on players for the past few years, but they have been winning trophies, sold out stadium, sponsors, merchandise to support the spending..

success and money come hand in hand... but u need success 1st to generate money.. those ppl who said lack of funds for a reason for not winning is because the club was not succesfull enough to generate the funds...
solstice818
post Feb 5 2009, 12:09 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Feb 5 2009, 09:27 AM)
Only 16m less though. Not that much. Can buy what, 2 Dossenas, or a Robbie Keane(oops, not his own target eh? weak management then), or a Nunez with another Kuyt. The squad seem decent now though, just needed two really good wingers, and a good striker as backup for Torres/to partner him. Keane may have made a difference with Gerrard out last night.  Not Rafa's choice to buy him. Wonder why he took him anyway, and selling him midway half the season without replacement.
It seems like u need a reminder that 16m until 2007, 2008 and 2009 transfer yet to be included...We sold Keane back and spent 8m for his 6months.you guys spent 30m on berba...Well, from what I can see, that alone already add up erm....like 22m? And not to mention the signing of the youngster duo(Tosic and Ljacic), another £16.8m.

Riera 8m, Dossena 7m, Degen- free = 15m. That not even make up for the youngster duo's transfer fee biggrin.gif

You will see how much if u included the recent transfer.... nod.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Feb 5 2009, 12:10 PM
TSDuke Red

6,112 posts

The problem is that unlike back then, you have clubs that inherit a large wad of cash. It no longer becomes a level playing field when a mid-table side can suddenly afford to splurge on the world's top players. This wasn't so a decade ago.
Reddy818

30 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 5 2009, 11:50 AM)
For someone who din watch the game but take it as a moan or complaint from Rafa, I find it funny.I mean is not surprising to see rival fans laughing at us.But before you laugh , ask yourself  Did You watch the game?

Anyone who watched the game, should know the 1st yellow is never a yellow.Like I repeatedly mention, Lucas 1st yellow was nothing but ridiculous.Arteta fell on his own and kicked Lucas on the knee.The incident happen when the referee was facing the other side.When he turned around and saw Arteta on the ground, he gave Lucas a yellow.

And few days ago after the chelsea game, bunch of manu fans were complaining the red card cost the game.Same here.Lucas get a red that he dun deserve(at least in my opinion)  and now, bunch of you were turning back on what you guys said on Monday? Or do you guys have this selective reading and believing habits I mentioned earlier? How is that a red card wont change the game? if it wont, why dont your team start with 10 in each and every match? unsure.gif
what i am stating is the moan rafa make since this is a debunked thread.. am not analyzing the match each incident...

and the quote i put is refer to lucas second yellow not the 1st one..so why are u pointing on the 1st yellow

i shall quote again ''The turning point of the game was the second yellow card for Lucas, I was not happy, but I do not want to say anything about the referee.''

solstice818
post Feb 5 2009, 12:13 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Feb 5 2009, 12:09 PM)
what i am stating is the moan rafa make since this is a debunked thread.. am not analyzing the match each incident...

and the quote i put is refer to lucas second yellow not the 1st one..so why are u pointing on the 1st yellow

i shall quote again ''The turning point of the game was the second yellow card for Lucas, I was not happy, but I do not want to say anything about the referee.''
Why am I pointing at the 1st yellow? Simple. Will there be red if there is no yellow card on Lucas in the 1st place? No.

And so, if the referee's bad decision affected the game, will this consider as excuse? I dont think so. smile.gif
TSDuke Red
post Feb 5 2009, 12:13 PM

6,112 posts

Solstice, it's good to see that you have facts to back up your arguments but when you see statements like this:
or a Robbie Keane(oops, not his own target eh? weak management then), or a Nunez with another Kuyt

you know you're hitting your head on the wall. Fact of the matter is that it wasn't Rafa's decision to buy Keane and yet, posters are trying to be sarcastic indicating that they think it was. When one tries to argue against fact, there is no way one will every concede.
solstice818
post Feb 5 2009, 12:25 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 5 2009, 12:13 PM)
Solstice, it's good to see that you have facts to back up your arguments but when you see statements like this:
you know you're hitting your head on the wall. Fact of the matter is that it wasn't Rafa's decision to buy Keane and yet, posters are trying to be sarcastic indicating that they think it was. When one tries to argue against fact, there is no way one will every concede.
Speaking of facts, din they (the man u fans) were talking about how Rafa came out with a lengthy list?

And Wan here said I shouldnt do any homework like Rafa did.

Don't be stupid, and just because he's SAF, manager of ManUtd, it's OK for you to just fire without doing some homework.
What I want to say here is...Just imagine if I dont have facts and din do some homework before posting up, I bet I will be gunned down by those manu supporters.

If I post without proper backup, they gonna say I accuse their manager or being bitter cos their manager is good in coming out with excuses like what my homework showed. laugh.gif

Anyway, they do like to contradict with their earlier statement , no?

cannot even accept the truth

The truth is it wasn't Rafa's decision to buy Keane.Take it or leave it.No one force you to believe though. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Feb 5 2009, 12:30 PM
O-haiyo
post Feb 5 2009, 12:57 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Feb 5 2009, 12:36 AM)
Keep his mouth shut? Guess someone stole and burn away his 'list'. tongue.gif

Worst excuse? Surely that grey kit that SAF complained about must be one of them. laugh.gif Did we ever wear them again after that?
I'm glad he made that comment though... biggrin.gif
Reddy818
post Feb 5 2009, 01:26 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 5 2009, 12:13 PM)
Why am I pointing at the 1st yellow? Simple. Will there be  red if there is no yellow card on Lucas in the 1st place? No.

And so, if the referee's bad decision affected the game, will this consider as excuse? I dont think so.  smile.gif
so u r pointing to 1st yellow by quoting the statement i put in, try harder mate.. one bad decision wont lose u the game arent they? football match play at least 90mins and the 1st yellow happen at 50mins ..many thing can go ur way or the others..

solstice818
post Feb 5 2009, 01:35 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Feb 5 2009, 01:26 PM)
so u r pointing to 1st yellow by quoting the statement i put in, try harder mate.. one bad decision wont lose u the game arent they? football match play at least 90mins and the 1st yellow happen at 50mins ..many thing can go ur way or the others..
Having say that(bolded part), are you agreeing that we deserved to get the 3 points from Chelsea and the red card din cost the game? If yes, then point taken....If no, you are contradicting your own statement.
O-haiyo
post Feb 5 2009, 01:47 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 5 2009, 12:09 PM)
It seems like u need a reminder that 16m until 2007, 2008 and 2009 transfer yet to be included...We sold Keane back and spent 8m for his 6months.you guys spent 30m on berba...Well, from what I can see, that alone already add up erm....like 22m? And not to mention the signing of the youngster duo(Tosic and Ljacic), another £16.8m.

Riera 8m, Dossena 7m, Degen- free = 15m. That not even make up for the youngster duo's transfer fee  biggrin.gif

You will see how much if u included the recent transfer.... nod.gif
Then again, i would point back on how much you get back from your investment. I wouldn't mind paying more for a great service. and how many games have degen played?
verx
post Feb 5 2009, 01:56 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

All this bickering back and forth is getting tiresome. It's been argued to death already.

Speaking of excuses by managers, Schuster has to be one of the best; even blaming a ref's Catalan roots for costing us a game laugh.gif
solstice818
post Feb 5 2009, 02:06 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Feb 5 2009, 01:47 PM)
Then again, i would point back on how much you get back from your investment. I wouldn't mind paying more for a great service. and how many games have degen played?
And how many "awesome" game veron had then? Paying a great amount of money for him and his "great" service certainly worth mentioning eh?

The funny thing about manu supporter is, here we are in a thread where footballing excuses were debunked, and here we have few manu supporters dragging the issue far apart.You guys always have "something" extra to discuss when your points went blank and were answered with proper "fahcts ".

whoopa mentioned about AF won a lot trophies so he had more excuses after I posted some of the greatest excuse AF came out with.Then, Ken mentioned about bias post of Duke after reading Duke's post on "protected manager" .Wan then lead in the discussion of " who spent more ?" to defend his club before Monstar showed him some "facts", and you bring up this "paying more for great service"

What's next? Who look more handsome? who dives more? Gimme a break.

P.s:Now that quote from "saiga" can be used.

cannot even accept the truth shocking.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Feb 5 2009, 02:11 PM
O-haiyo
post Feb 5 2009, 02:13 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 5 2009, 02:06 PM)
And how many "awesome" game veron had then? Paying a great amount of money for him and his "great" service certainly worth mentioning eh?

The funny thing about manu supporter is, here we are in a thread where footballing excuses were debunked, and here we have few manu supporters dragging the issue far apart.You guys always have "something" extra to discuss when your points went blank and were answered with proper "fahcts ".

whoopa mentioned about AF won a lot trophies so he had more excuses after I posted some of the greatest excuse AF came out with.Then, Ken mentioned about bias post of Duke after reading Duke's post on "protected manager" .Wan then lead in the discussion of " who spent more ?" to defend his club before Monstar showed him some "facts", and you bring up this "paying more for great service"

What's next? Who look more handsome? who dives more? Gimme a break.
I do agree that some player were not up to par ie. veron, but im talking as a whole. and why this anger dude? i did not post something degrading about Liverpool. U talk to the wrong guy... nod.gif
solstice818
post Feb 5 2009, 02:18 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Feb 5 2009, 02:13 PM)
I do agree that some player were not up to par ie. veron, but im talking as a whole. and why this anger dude? i did not post something degrading about Liverpool. U talk to the wrong guy... nod.gif
Cheers.Not angry just frustrated at how the issue can be dragged further and further away especially looking at Ken's post tongue.gif

Anyway, Rafa did complain about lack of fund.It might be an excuse.Look what's happening at AV and Everton, with limited fund, they are great teams.Then again, the standard for a team pushing for title is different from them and transfer fund did affect in someway.

That's the truth.

This post has been edited by solstice818: Feb 5 2009, 02:20 PM
Reddy818
post Feb 6 2009, 09:22 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 5 2009, 01:35 PM)
Having say that(bolded part), are you agreeing that we deserved to get the 3 points from  Chelsea and the red card din cost the game? If yes, then  point taken....If no, you are contradicting your own statement.
sorry i din not make any comments on that issue before and i wont question the referee decision, in a match referee is the boss.. for me who put the ball in the net n win the match is the winner simple as that.. u moan again and again think the result will change meh...

solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 12:00 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:22 AM)
sorry i din not make any comments on that issue before and i wont question the referee decision, in a match referee  is the boss.. for me who put the ball in the net n win the match is the winner simple as that.. u moan again and again  think the result will change meh...
Is not about moaning.What I m trying to say here is if the referee decision really affected the game, then it's not an excuse for a manager, more to truth. nod.gif
Reddy818
post Feb 6 2009, 02:07 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 12:00 PM)
Is not about moaning.What I m trying to say here is if the referee decision really affected the game, then it's not an excuse for a manager, more to truth. nod.gif
the truth is liverpool lost the game due to they unable to put the ball in the net..and ur boss try to find excuses that make liverpool lose the match rather than analyze what wrong to the team he sent out.. thumbup.gif
solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 03:42 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Feb 6 2009, 02:07 PM)
the truth is liverpool lost the game due to they unable to put the ball in the net..and ur boss try to find excuses that make liverpool lose the match rather than analyze what wrong to the team he sent out..  thumbup.gif
Then again, is ur point of view.I have my own and it will be pointless to argue something that you and I have different pov. biggrin.gif
TSDuke Red
post Feb 6 2009, 03:55 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 03:42 PM)
Then again, is ur point of view.I have my own and it will be pointless to argue something that you and I have different pov.  biggrin.gif
By choosing to be vague in his comments instead of openly having a dig at officials, Rafa has come across as being incoherent, or so quotes the star (surprise surprise). Perhaps he should have a dig and face punishment from the FA instead.
solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 04:17 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 6 2009, 03:55 PM)
By choosing to be vague in his comments instead of openly having a dig at officials, Rafa has come across as being incoherent, or so quotes the star (surprise surprise). Perhaps he should have a dig and face punishment from the FA instead.
To be precise, isnt that everyone else want him to be?After all, he is now labeled as " protected" manager as well, having escaped from punishment after saying out his "fahcts" tongue.gif

0.0385sec    1.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:29 AM