kpa, Different tyre?

TScwd8769
post Dec 27 2008, 11:12 PM, updated 17y ago

Scott
927 posts

My wira 1.5GLI is pump 210 kpa for 13" inches tyre, i had change to 15" tyre last few weeks.
Then how many kpa is suitable for my current 195/50/15 tyre?
rozz_1291
post Dec 27 2008, 11:24 PM

Semi N/A
861 posts

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Dec 27 2008, 11:12 PM)
My wira 1.5GLI is pump 210 kpa for 13" inches tyre, i had change to 15" tyre last few weeks.
Then how many kpa is suitable for my current 195/50/15 tyre?
My Saga 15" I pump 280kpa.... my dad's Nissan Livina 240kpa.... I also dunno which 1 is correct or wrong rclxub.gif .... Maybe both also wrong tongue.gif Juz make sure not 2 pump 2 hard, cuz may loose traction n not 2 soft cuz may cause wear n tear faster nod.gif
moon*
post Dec 27 2008, 11:25 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

not sure about KPA; but normally i pump around 32psi.

from the pic; tat should be around 221kpa

a normal 195/50;55 series max is up 50PSI only.

but no body is crzy enough to put so much sweat.gif

when u pump 32psi into a cold tire; when it gets warm up u should be getting around 35-36psi or even higher sweat.gif

This post has been edited by moon*: Dec 27 2008, 11:29 PM
V12Kompressor
post Dec 27 2008, 11:28 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

1psi= 6.9kpa
amduser
post Dec 27 2008, 11:28 PM

5,542 posts

my parents pump 25-28psi

i pump 30-33 psi

dont know how much is the kpa, never see.
TScwd8769
post Dec 27 2008, 11:46 PM

Scott
927 posts

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Dec 27 2008, 11:24 PM)
My Saga 15" I pump 280kpa.... my dad's Nissan Livina 240kpa.... I also dunno which 1 is correct or wrong rclxub.gif .... Maybe both also wrong tongue.gif  Juz make sure not 2 pump 2 hard, cuz may loose traction n not 2 soft cuz may cause wear n tear faster nod.gif
280kpa seem too high already.
How to determine it was to hard?

Added on December 27, 2008, 11:49 pm
QUOTE(moon* @ Dec 27 2008, 11:25 PM)

when u pump 32psi into a cold tire; when it gets warm up u should be getting around 35-36psi or even higher sweat.gif

Thanks for your board and nice SWATCH watch rclxms.gif
195/50;55 series max is up 50PSI, then the accurate psi is..?

Added on December 27, 2008, 11:51 pmMany tyres shop offer cold tyre air...

This post has been edited by cwd8769: Dec 27 2008, 11:51 PM
moon*
post Dec 27 2008, 11:54 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

lol.. dont ever try filling 50psi sweat.gif

even 40 is killer liau.

when to know when u over fill ah. have u tried 38psi b4?? LOL. try putting 38psi n going over the yellow lines on the road; the car will rattle like mad.

keep it within 30-34; u feel more comfortable.

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Dec 27 2008, 11:46 PM)
280kpa seem too high already.
How to determine it was to hard?

Added on December 27, 2008, 11:49 pm

Thanks for your board and nice SWATCH watch rclxms.gif
195/50;55 series max is up 50PSI, then the accurate psi is..?

Added on December 27, 2008, 11:51 pmMany tyres shop offer cold tyre air...
rozz_1291
post Dec 28 2008, 12:06 AM

Semi N/A
861 posts

My standard 13" got once tried pump 300kpa, ezy wheel spin n wheel lock thumbup.gif I pump 280kpa cuz I dun 1 my tires 2 wear n tear very fast... nod.gif Cuz if below 280kpa, my car tyre will look like lack of air pressure n very hard 2 turn... especially 3 point turn doh.gif No Power Steering Assist lor cry.gif
DtG4207
post Dec 28 2008, 12:09 AM

20 posts

mine 14 inches, pump to 210kpa, around 31psi i think, as recommended by the tyre shop fella...
DreMAx
post Dec 28 2008, 12:10 AM

Nature's Best Music
3,799 posts

My Wira, 1.5GL with the stock tire, I normally pump 31psi for the front and 29psi for the rear
the_catacombs
post Dec 28 2008, 01:02 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

30-32psi is good for 195/50/r15...
SUSceo684
post Dec 28 2008, 02:34 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Depends on driving style and sidewall stiffness..
comfort + soft sidewall (falken 912, conti cc1, nct5) ~32 psi
handling wise + soft sidewall can go 36psi
handling + hard sidewall (mich PP2) ~32 enough
deodorant
post Dec 28 2008, 03:01 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Dec 28 2008, 12:06 AM)
I pump 280kpa cuz I dun 1 my tires 2 wear n tear very fast... nod.gif 
:no: Over-inflation causes uneven tire wear too. Best is to be fairly within your car/tire manufacturer recommended pressure.
selinix
post Dec 28 2008, 05:05 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Dec 27 2008, 11:24 PM)
My Saga 15" I pump 280kpa.... my dad's Nissan Livina 240kpa.... I also dunno which 1 is correct or wrong rclxub.gif .... Maybe both also wrong tongue.gif  Juz make sure not 2 pump 2 hard, cuz may loose traction n not 2 soft cuz may cause wear n tear faster nod.gif
280 is too much la bro ... normally 15 inch pumped around 210 - 220 is the best already ...if want to go more .. 10% of it would be the safe spot ..

or else your tyre would end up

TScwd8769
post Dec 28 2008, 09:23 AM

Scott
927 posts

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Dec 28 2008, 12:06 AM)
My standard 13" got once tried pump 300kpa, ezy wheel spin n wheel lock thumbup.gif  I pump 280kpa cuz I dun 1 my tires 2 wear n tear very fast... nod.gif   Cuz if below 280kpa, my car tyre will look like lack of air pressure n very hard 2 turn... especially 3 point turn doh.gif  No Power Steering Assist lor cry.gif
300kpa?? Wao....too hard

Added on December 28, 2008, 9:26 am
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 28 2008, 01:02 AM)
Tyre shop is recommence this standard for me too.
It's not depend what tyre just depend on our favour?

No matter motorcycle or car?

Added on December 28, 2008, 9:28 am
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 28 2008, 02:34 AM)
Yes, i use mich PP2 195/50 15 now

This post has been edited by cwd8769: Dec 28 2008, 09:28 AM
rozz_1291
post Dec 28 2008, 09:37 AM

Semi N/A
861 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 28 2008, 03:01 AM)
:no: Over-inflation causes uneven tire wear too. Best is to be fairly within your car/tire manufacturer recommended pressure.
ooo.... icic

Thanks 4 da info... thumbup.gif

Added on December 28, 2008, 9:45 am
QUOTE(selinix @ Dec 28 2008, 05:05 AM)
280 is too much la bro ... normally 15 inch pumped around 210 - 220 is the best already ...if want to go more .. 10% of it would be the safe spot ..

or else your tyre would end up

Maybe I will reduce my pressure to 240 kpa la.... cuz if 200 kpa, my car will feel sluggish n slow... nod.gif Bout da pic, I pelik cuz my previous 13" I pump around 280-300 kpa also but da side wear n tear faster thn da middle rclxub.gif Maybe its my driving style lor... crazy driver tongue.gif Until my tire begin 2 crack, I reduce to 250-260 kpa.... Thn change 2 dis 15" thumbup.gif

Added on December 28, 2008, 9:51 am
QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Dec 28 2008, 09:23 AM)
300kpa?? Wao....too hard
Ya lor... dat time wuz stupid n noob... I juz pump n test out by punching da tires... tongue.gif No wonder my tires lack of grip... Now I better take care my new 15" nod.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by rozz_1291: Dec 28 2008, 09:51 AM
the_catacombs
post Dec 28 2008, 02:30 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 28 2008, 02:34 AM)
good info... notworthy.gif
TScwd8769
post Dec 28 2008, 10:44 PM

Scott
927 posts

Now i stick on 220kpa.

I just don't understand, there was no standard for different tyre air pressure it just depend on user favour.
the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2008, 02:24 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Dec 28 2008, 10:44 PM)
Now i stick on 220kpa.

I just don't understand, there was no standard for different tyre air pressure it just depend on user favour.
yeap... depends on user favour as long as within the allowed specifications... ride comfort and handling performance varies with tyre pressure...
BridgestoneRE711
post Dec 29 2008, 02:36 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

it is pressute of the tire . many ppl misunderstood that the pressure = volume . for 15" or 17" the 210kpa is the same for both , the volume is different only . when u pump , the pressure actually react with the outside air pressure , that is why just stil to 210 is the best.

just stick to 210-220 is the best one .
ekiddie
post Dec 29 2008, 07:58 AM

810 posts

i pumped 205kpa on 14 incher...

did went to patched up 1 rear tire coz it hits on a nail... the tire shop ppl sure refills de air pressure back rite... after a few days running, i went to petrol station to check tire pressure... whoa~ they pumped in 280kpa! blink.gif then i release the pressure back to 205kpa and all 4 tires stick to 205kpa...

but everytime like after a week of running, all 4 tires will dropped on the pressure to 190kpa... all 4 4pcs! very consistent wan... hahaaa!

wink.gif

TScwd8769
post Dec 29 2008, 09:40 AM

Scott
927 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Dec 29 2008, 07:58 AM)
i pumped 205kpa on 14 incher...

did went to patched up 1 rear tire coz it hits on a nail... the tire shop ppl sure refills de air pressure back rite... after a few days running, i went to petrol station to check tire pressure... whoa~ they pumped in 280kpa!  blink.gif  then i release the pressure back to 205kpa and all 4 tires stick to 205kpa...

but everytime like after a week of running, all 4 tires will dropped on the pressure to 190kpa... all 4 4pcs! very consistent wan... hahaaa!

wink.gif
Normally tire shop will pump higher.

SUSsoyaben86
post Dec 29 2008, 03:45 PM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 28 2008, 01:02 AM)
i pump 25psi for 195/50/r15 wor..cause above that..i feel my car very hard oh..
shadow111
post Dec 29 2008, 05:09 PM

3,140 posts

is it true that we should pump more pressure for the front tyre as most of our car is FF? my friend ask me to pump 230kPa for front and 220kPa for rear.
btw, i'm using 195x50xr15
the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2008, 06:01 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Dec 29 2008, 03:45 PM)
i pump 25psi for 195/50/r15 wor..cause above that..i feel my car very hard oh..
the higher pressure is it, the bumpier it is...

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Dec 29 2008, 05:09 PM)
is it true that we should pump more pressure for the front tyre as most of our car is FF? my friend ask me to pump 230kPa for front and 220kPa for rear.
better fuel consumption...
lighter steering feel....
TScwd8769
post Dec 29 2008, 08:27 PM

Scott
927 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 29 2008, 06:01 PM)
catacombs, do you agree to pump 230kpa for front tyre and 220kpa for rear tyre (FF car)?
If yes, i will try next time.

I found the front tyre will get heat faster compare to rear tyre.
It's normal?

the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2008, 08:40 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Dec 29 2008, 08:27 PM)
catacombs, do you agree to pump 230kpa for front tyre and 220kpa for rear tyre (FF car)?

It's normal?
i pump front 32psi... rear 30psi...
afraid sudden loss of traction at the rear... haha....

if ur rear tyres are bloated with high pressure, less traction available at the rear tyres... ur tail end will tend to sway abit... if u love oversteer effect, give it a try lor....

yea, FF cars front tyres get heated up faster due to more wear n tear... because all braking and pickup stress to the front tyres....
SUSsoyaben86
post Dec 29 2008, 11:05 PM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 29 2008, 06:01 PM)
so if i pump 25psi in 195/50/15..will the tire lifespan somehow become shortter??

some more u guys can pump up to 30++psi..for me..my ride will be like damn hard already..each hole i pass by..will feel like my wheel will come out anytime..is the car suspension problem or the tire problem ah??
the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2008, 11:16 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Dec 29 2008, 11:05 PM)
so if i pump 25psi in 195/50/15..will the tire lifespan somehow become shortter??

some more u guys can pump up to 30++psi..for me..my ride will be like damn hard already..each hole i pass by..will feel like my wheel will come out anytime..is the car suspension problem or the tire problem ah??
it depends on what kinda tyre u using.... for soft wall tyres such as good year, its good to pump a bit higher pressure...

higher or lower tyre pressure can cause uneven tyre wear.... correct tyre pressure gives even tyre wear and good fuel consumption...
claxxion
post Dec 30 2008, 12:16 AM

465 posts

Im using 205/45/r16 tyres. I realised that the front tyres looks it does not have enough pressure even when i pumped in 35psi. Rear 32psi and they look fine. Is it because of the low profile tyres? The tyres are brand new though, less than a month old.

The shop fella says that it is because the front engine is heavier than the back. sweat.gif
post Dec 30 2008, 12:18 AM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

I normally pump 235 kpa for my 195/55/R15 Silverstone Synergy M5 tyre.

Easier to turn steering wheel and car feels lighter when accelerating
deodorant
post Dec 30 2008, 12:25 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(claxxion @ Dec 30 2008, 12:16 AM)
The shop fella says that it is because the front engine is heavier than the back. sweat.gif
Most FF cars and especially hatches typically have a very nose-heavy weight distribution.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Dec 30 2008, 12:26 AM
the_catacombs
post Dec 30 2008, 02:46 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(claxxion @ Dec 30 2008, 12:16 AM)
Im using 205/45/r16 tyres. I realised that the front tyres looks it does not have enough pressure even when i pumped in 35psi. Rear 32psi and they look fine. Is it because of the low profile tyres? The tyres are brand new though, less than a month old.

yeap.... dat is also the reason why i pump mine front 32psi... rear 30psi...
SUSceo684
post Dec 30 2008, 04:17 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Dec 29 2008, 11:05 PM)

U put 25psi only if all u care about is comfort - which in the first place is mismatched priority (comfort is for 55 series above, 50 and below normally hard rock low profiles for handling)
u cant feel the road brows.gif

but
shoulder wear on tyres is awesome..
fuel consumption also awesome..
$ to change tyres more often

Added on December 30, 2008, 4:21 am
QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Dec 29 2008, 08:27 PM)

It's normal?
Noprob lah difference is 5% only wat..
take note its for COLD tyres.. if u pump when hot add 20kpa to the cold ratings to compensate for air expansion otherwise its still underinflated

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 29 2008, 11:16 PM)
it depends on what kinda tyre u using.... for soft wall tyres such as good year, its good to pump a bit higher pressure...

higher or lower tyre pressure can cause uneven tyre wear.... correct tyre pressure gives even tyre wear and good fuel consumption...
Depends on driving style.. for me i corner like gila wan so shoulder wear is quite high
compensate with higher pressure (280kpa on 195/55/15) cos i also do alot of highway cruising
end up even wear brows.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 30 2008, 04:21 AM
skylinegtr34
post Dec 30 2008, 04:33 AM

157 posts

the tyre has soft sidewall should pump higher pressure
detomaso
post Dec 30 2008, 07:29 AM

1,896 posts

check tyres sidewall for max,min pressure u might put.
NewAchiever
post Dec 30 2008, 08:48 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Dec 29 2008, 05:09 PM)
Also depends on individual, for me i stick to the Proton BLM manual book saying to pump 210kpa for the front wheels and 190 kpa for the back wheels ~

I also dun understand why until readong the_catacombs comments

Other reason that i heard is that it is to support the engine weight in the bonnet ~

Now pump 215 for front wheels and 195 kpa for the bac ~
the_catacombs
post Dec 30 2008, 01:23 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 30 2008, 04:17 AM)
Noprob lah difference is 5% only wat..
take note its for COLD tyres.. if u pump when hot add 20kpa to the cold ratings to compensate for air expansion otherwise its still underinflated
Depends on driving style.. for me i corner like gila wan so shoulder wear is quite high
compensate with higher pressure (280kpa on 195/55/15) cos i also do alot of highway cruising
end up even wear  brows.gif
datz why it is recommended to pump nitrogen... more stable... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(detomaso @ Dec 30 2008, 07:29 AM)
check tyres sidewall for max,min pressure u might put.
of coz u dont pump until max pressure la...
SUSsoyaben86
post Dec 30 2008, 07:14 PM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

is there any way to check the sidewall is soft or hard by ourself beside asking those tireman??
thefryingfox
post Dec 30 2008, 10:01 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

i usually pump higher if im going on a long journey on a highway.

a bit bumpy but i feel so much more smoother and my frm my observation, i consume lesser petrol but isnt that much. just that my steering is also lighter

if i come back to town, i'l use the standard recommended one coz of the potholes around

highway cruising - F 235 / R 220
normal town driving - F210 / R 190

i dont really do this that much coz of inconvinience. usually when im going outstation on a long trip, semangat abit.

the_catacombs
post Dec 30 2008, 10:46 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 30 2008, 10:01 PM)
i usually pump higher if im going on a long journey on a highway.

a bit bumpy but i feel so much more smoother and my frm my observation, i consume lesser petrol but isnt that much. just that my steering is also lighter

if i come back to town, i'l use the standard recommended one coz of the potholes around

highway cruising - F 235 / R 220
normal town driving - F210 / R 190
i dont really do this that much coz of inconvinience. usually when im going outstation on a long trip, semangat abit.
higher pressure, less rolling resistance, better high speed...

but beware ur tyres might heat up and increase the air pressure inside till exploding point..
amduser
post Dec 30 2008, 11:09 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 30 2008, 10:46 PM)
higher pressure, less rolling resistance, better high speed...

but beware ur tyres might heat up and increase the air pressure inside till exploding point..
which is y the maximum pressure we can put is around 5-10psi lesser than the psi stated at the tyre there to prevent explode
SUSceo684
post Dec 31 2008, 04:12 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

wont explode so easily wan.. the sidewall rating is for max cold pressure
the tyre engineered for use, not for showroom usage

got one time i saw one champion pump his stock saga LMST with 400kpa. Im waiting to use air pump also cannot believe my eyes hahahaha
wch5274
post Dec 31 2008, 12:04 PM

Validating
532 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 31 2008, 04:12 AM)

got one time i saw one champion pump his stock saga LMST with 400kpa. Im waiting to use air pump also cannot believe my eyes hahahaha
u should take his picture as the highest air tyre fill in the world.. kehkehkeh
tongue.gif
the_catacombs
post Dec 31 2008, 01:52 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 31 2008, 04:12 AM)

dat champion using what tyre??.... i'm amazed his tyre didnt blow when he filling up the tyres... laugh.gif
SUSceo684
post Dec 31 2008, 01:57 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Sime tyre tongue.gif A-star you know. Dun pray pray.
the_catacombs
post Dec 31 2008, 02:13 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 31 2008, 01:57 PM)
Sime tyre tongue.gif A-star you know. Dun pray pray.
mayb he is going for top speed attack.... laugh.gif
TScwd8769
post Jan 1 2009, 08:24 AM

Scott
927 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 30 2008, 01:23 PM)
datz why it is recommended to pump nitrogen... more stable... thumbup.gif
of coz u dont pump until max pressure la...
Ya, a lot of tyre shop provide nitrogen...

Added on January 1, 2009, 8:26 amWe should pump depend car type or tyre type?

This post has been edited by cwd8769: Jan 1 2009, 08:26 AM
the_catacombs
post Jan 1 2009, 12:46 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Jan 1 2009, 08:24 AM)

Added on January 1, 2009, 8:26 amWe should pump depend car type or tyre type?
both... but mainly tyre type...
mysql2779
post Apr 7 2012, 01:12 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(moon* @ Dec 28 2008, 12:25 AM)

Regarding this cold tire and warm tire theory I read on BridgeStone website too. But I just don't get what cold and warm meant to the tire. I am driving to the petrol station to pump my tires which means they are warm , I pump more kPa right ? But in normal tires shop they pump the tires as if they are cold right ? Then how much is the exactly kPa shud add in a warm tire compared to cold ? Could it be calculated ? Does the pressure of tires affected by weight of car too ? Heavier front pump more ?
amad108
post Apr 7 2012, 03:34 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

if the temp is not that diff then u can ignore them.. but if u prepare for trackday, then the temp will go above average which could be extremely high, so for daily usage its ok to ignore the cold n warm temp for tyre pressure.. as long not exceed max tyre pressure its ok..

P/S: during trackday i put it low to get more traction especially for front tyre (FF car meh..hehe)
moon*
post Apr 10 2012, 09:21 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

woah, u re-posted up such a old pix lol...

for me, i normally only check my temp early in the morning n get it pump up to required pressure.

cos air will expand quite abit when its warm. the pressure can be 32 in the cold morning, but in the hot afternoon it can expand to about 34-35.

plus minus abit here n there, should be okay.. if u feel ur car is too bumpy/stiff reduce it abit.
amad108
post Apr 11 2012, 10:31 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

but not apply to PS3 tyre, how high i put also still felt comfort.. but the grip is there.. 195/55/15 size..
kadajawi
post Apr 12 2012, 06:30 PM

544 posts

The tyre heats up much more when the tyre is underinflated. Tyres are usually safe to at least 300 kpa, it should be written on there somewhere. To reduce FC, improve handling, safety (if you don't overdo it and the suspension can keep up with the lack of dampening from the tyre), wear you can put in more then recommended. To increase comfort reduce the pressure, but never ever go below what was recommended.

0.0377sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:48 PM