8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

30-32psi is good for 195/50/r15...
the_catacombs
post Dec 28 2008, 02:30 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 28 2008, 02:34 AM)
Depends on driving style and sidewall stiffness..
comfort + soft sidewall (falken 912, conti cc1, nct5) ~32 psi
handling wise + soft sidewall can go 36psi
handling + hard sidewall (mich PP2) ~32 enough
good info... notworthy.gif
the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2008, 02:24 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Dec 28 2008, 10:44 PM)
Now i stick on 220kpa.

I just don't understand, there was no standard for different tyre air pressure it just depend on user favour.
yeap... depends on user favour as long as within the allowed specifications... ride comfort and handling performance varies with tyre pressure...
the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2008, 06:01 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Dec 29 2008, 03:45 PM)
i pump 25psi for 195/50/r15 wor..cause above that..i feel my car very hard oh..
the higher pressure is it, the bumpier it is...

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Dec 29 2008, 05:09 PM)
is it true that we should pump more pressure for the front tyre as most of our car is FF? my friend ask me to pump 230kPa for front and 220kPa for rear.
btw, i'm using 195x50xr15
better fuel consumption...
lighter steering feel....
the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2008, 08:40 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Dec 29 2008, 08:27 PM)
catacombs, do you agree to pump 230kpa for front tyre and 220kpa for rear tyre (FF car)?
If yes, i will try next time.

I found the front tyre will get heat faster compare to rear tyre.
It's normal?
i pump front 32psi... rear 30psi...
afraid sudden loss of traction at the rear... haha....

if ur rear tyres are bloated with high pressure, less traction available at the rear tyres... ur tail end will tend to sway abit... if u love oversteer effect, give it a try lor....

yea, FF cars front tyres get heated up faster due to more wear n tear... because all braking and pickup stress to the front tyres....
the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2008, 11:16 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Dec 29 2008, 11:05 PM)
so if i pump 25psi in 195/50/15..will the tire lifespan somehow become shortter??

some more u guys can pump up to 30++psi..for me..my ride will be like damn hard already..each hole i pass by..will feel like my wheel will come out anytime..is the car suspension problem or the tire problem ah??
it depends on what kinda tyre u using.... for soft wall tyres such as good year, its good to pump a bit higher pressure...

higher or lower tyre pressure can cause uneven tyre wear.... correct tyre pressure gives even tyre wear and good fuel consumption...
the_catacombs
post Dec 30 2008, 02:46 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(claxxion @ Dec 30 2008, 12:16 AM)
Im using 205/45/r16 tyres. I realised that the front tyres looks it does not have enough pressure even when i pumped in 35psi. Rear 32psi and they look fine. Is it because of the low profile tyres? The tyres are brand new though, less than a month old.

The shop fella says that it is because the front engine is heavier than the back. sweat.gif
yeap.... dat is also the reason why i pump mine front 32psi... rear 30psi...
the_catacombs
post Dec 30 2008, 01:23 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 30 2008, 04:17 AM)
Noprob lah difference is 5% only wat..
take note its for COLD tyres.. if u pump when hot add 20kpa to the cold ratings to compensate for air expansion otherwise its still underinflated
Depends on driving style.. for me i corner like gila wan so shoulder wear is quite high
compensate with higher pressure (280kpa on 195/55/15) cos i also do alot of highway cruising
end up even wear  brows.gif
datz why it is recommended to pump nitrogen... more stable... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(detomaso @ Dec 30 2008, 07:29 AM)
check tyres sidewall for max,min pressure u might put.
of coz u dont pump until max pressure la...
the_catacombs
post Dec 30 2008, 10:46 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 30 2008, 10:01 PM)
i usually pump higher if im going on a long journey on a highway.

a bit bumpy but i feel so much more smoother and my frm my observation, i consume lesser petrol but isnt that much. just that my steering is also lighter

if i come back to town, i'l use the standard recommended one coz of the potholes around

highway cruising - F 235 / R 220
normal town driving - F210 / R 190
i dont really do this that much coz of inconvinience. usually when im going outstation on a long trip, semangat abit.
higher pressure, less rolling resistance, better high speed...

but beware ur tyres might heat up and increase the air pressure inside till exploding point..
the_catacombs
post Dec 31 2008, 01:52 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 31 2008, 04:12 AM)
wont explode so easily wan.. the sidewall rating is for max cold pressure
the tyre engineered for use, not for showroom usage

got one time i saw one champion pump his stock saga LMST with 400kpa. Im waiting to use air pump also cannot believe my eyes hahahaha
dat champion using what tyre??.... i'm amazed his tyre didnt blow when he filling up the tyres... laugh.gif
the_catacombs
post Dec 31 2008, 02:13 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 31 2008, 01:57 PM)
Sime tyre tongue.gif A-star you know. Dun pray pray.
mayb he is going for top speed attack.... laugh.gif
the_catacombs
post Jan 1 2009, 12:46 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Jan 1 2009, 08:24 AM)

Added on January 1, 2009, 8:26 amWe should pump depend car type or tyre type?
both... but mainly tyre type...

0.0187sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:57 AM