Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews
Jan 2 2011, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(jonny4 @ Dec 31 2010, 09:30 PM) Then try using a clay mask and a mild scrub a few times a week. A BHA/AHA product will help to in getting rid of black and white heads. Thanks for the suggestion  Added on January 2, 2011, 9:52 pmQUOTE(dr3w @ Jan 1 2011, 06:33 AM) their product are unisex, i got them from sasa.com as it is cheaper than buying in department store in australia. it's 50% cheaper buying from sasa hk Great, thanks This post has been edited by 1282009: Jan 2 2011, 09:53 PM
Stuffi
Jan 3 2011, 03:42 PM
Jonny,
why must we use a cleansing oil to clean away sunblock ? O.O
Can't we just use tap water and rinse the face? It won't melt in the water?
jonny4
Jan 3 2011, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(Stuffi @ Jan 3 2011, 03:42 PM) Jonny, why must we use a cleansing oil to clean away sunblock ? O.O Can't we just use tap water and rinse the face? It won't melt in the water? It depends on the type of sunscreen u use. Usually the American/European ones are easier to wash off and might not need to use cleansing oil. Japanese/Asian sunscreens are water (sometimes sweat/sebum) proof and are extremely hard to remove compared to American/Euro ones. The other day I went fishing and it was really hot n humid at first followed by a thunderstorm...my Shiseido Anessa sunscreen I had on kept my face shine free and matte the whole 12 hrs I was out. Tap water just isn't going to wash it off...even a face cleanser. That's why cleansing oil is important. Nowadays some American/Euro brands have tried copying Japanese sunscreens and are equally hard to remove. So to be on the safe side I recommend the use of a cleansing oil to remove any kind of sunscreen. *Applies only for the face...u don't need to bother too much about removing body sunscreen properly. Just regular soap will be enough. This post has been edited by jonny4: Jan 3 2011, 04:10 PM
Stuffi
Jan 3 2011, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(jonny4 @ Jan 3 2011, 04:07 PM) It depends on the type of sunscreen u use. Usually the American/European ones are easier to wash off and might not need to use cleansing oil. Japanese/Asian sunscreens are water (sometimes sweat/sebum) proof and are extremely hard to remove compared to American/Euro ones. The other day I went fishing and it was really hot n humid at first followed by a thunderstorm...my Shiseido Anessa sunscreen I had on kept my face shine free and matte the whole 12 hrs I was out. Tap water just isn't going to wash it off...even a face cleanser. That's why cleansing oil is important. Nowadays some American/Euro brands have tried copying Japanese sunscreens and are equally hard to remove. So to be on the safe side I recommend the use of a cleansing oil to remove any kind of sunscreen. *Applies only for the face...u don't need to bother too much about removing body sunscreen properly. Just regular soap will be enough. What if the sunscreen stays on your face? It clogs pores? I am using Nano so I think it's Japan one hahaa.
jonny4
Jan 3 2011, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(Stuffi @ Jan 3 2011, 08:21 PM) What if the sunscreen stays on your face? It clogs pores? I am using Nano so I think it's Japan one hahaa. These Jap sunscreens (korean/asian) ones too act as a makeup base and has a lot of silicones to cover pores/smooth skin/control shine so they will definitely clog pores if not removed properly. I have no idea if Nano sunscreens will clog pores or not...what's the SPF ? anything more den 30 would need a special product to remove. After using a normal cleanser to wash off the Nano sunscreen how does ur face feel ? if u can still feel like there's a layer of something dry n smooth den u need cleansing oil.
Stuffi
Jan 3 2011, 09:59 PM
the spf is 30 i guess. But anyway i think i better get the cleansing oil because i just got a makeover and i have no fringe anymore so my forehead can be seen and it is stress to maintain acne free haha. From my diet to hours of sleep bla bla bla. Thanks alot anyway Just that wouldnt using both facial cleanser and cleansing oil dry up our faces ?
Added on January 3, 2011, 10:23 pmand also i think i am getting diacneal too because my panoxyl has finished. Wish i could get some discounts . Yea !
This post has been edited by Stuffi: Jan 3 2011, 10:23 PM
jonny4
Jan 4 2011, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(Stuffi @ Jan 3 2011, 09:59 PM) the spf is 30 i guess. But anyway i think i better get the cleansing oil because i just got a makeover and i have no fringe anymore so my forehead can be seen and it is stress to maintain acne free haha. From my diet to hours of sleep bla bla bla. Thanks alot anyway Just that wouldnt using both facial cleanser and cleansing oil dry up our faces ? Added on January 3, 2011, 10:23 pmand also i think i am getting diacneal too because my panoxyl has finished. Wish i could get some discounts . Yea ! They will dry up your face but that can be solved by using a good moisturizer at night. Should have sale now at pharmacies so go check out the big 3 (Guardian, Watsons and Caring) to get the best deals.
jonny4
Jan 4 2011, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(malaya06 @ Jan 4 2011, 11:49 AM) the best cleansing oil you can get now is the MAC cleansing oil. it is not as drying as the DHC cleansing oil. its all rave here in the UK. It's too expensive here...it's RM95 for only 150ml. The DHC is slightly cheaper, RM100 for 200ml.
jonny4
Jan 4 2011, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(malaya06 @ Jan 4 2011, 12:01 PM) rm50 is not much if you want a great skin. RM50 ?
jonny4
Jan 4 2011, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(malaya06 @ Jan 4 2011, 12:26 PM) Sorry for the typo error. I meant to say RM5  Seriously if u wanna troll go /k/ and do it.
itnama
Jan 4 2011, 04:49 PM
this is for cheapo people like me who dont want to spend alot on make up remover. i use extra virgin olive oil (i use colavita, but thats because its for cooking purpose too. any brand will do). pour some onto palm, then gently rub-rub my face. use tissue to absorb the oil on the face, and wash my face with my regular facial foam. u can also use cotton pad to wipe off the dirts, its up to u. but always wash with facial foam and use moisturiser after that. makeupalley on evoo1makeupalley on evoo2
Zephyr_Mage
Jan 4 2011, 05:35 PM
I'm still looking for jojoba oil and castor oil. Any ideas?
Stuffi
Jan 4 2011, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(jonny4 @ Jan 4 2011, 12:25 AM) They will dry up your face but that can be solved by using a good moisturizer at night. Should have sale now at pharmacies so go check out the big 3 (Guardian, Watsons and Caring) to get the best deals. Yayayaayayyaa~ Thanks.
itnama
Jan 4 2011, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Jan 4 2011, 05:35 PM) I'm still looking for jojoba oil and castor oil. Any ideas? for castor oil, try looking at indian shops. maybe around masjid jamek, masjid india... but dont be like me, bought the wrong castor oil. ask for pure castor oil, not the one they put fragrance in it. the smell not nice. for jojoba oil, try guardian, watson... i might be wrong, but i think ive seen them selling before.
Stuffi
Jan 7 2011, 07:25 PM
Hey jonny, got any idea for the best and budget moisturizer? Still a student couldn't afford much.
jonny4
Jan 7 2011, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(Stuffi @ Jan 7 2011, 07:25 PM) Hey jonny, got any idea for the best and budget moisturizer? Still a student couldn't afford much.  I can't remember the last time I bought a budget moisturizer LOL. U can probably try brands like L'Oreal, Garnier or Neutrogena. Maybe someone on this thread can help u out.
sickboy
Jan 7 2011, 10:05 PM
Budget Moisturizer I can think of, RM18 for Garnier Aqua Defense Non stop intensive moisturizing essence. RM30-50 range, i woulda get those Taiwan brand i.e. Naruko
Kanebo cleansing oil, good stuff and it is fragrance free. I prefer it over Oslee i used. I havent try out on the Kanebo toner which came free of the purchase. And i'm really liking the Sunplay sunscreen although it doesnt control oil as strong as Biore and the Sunplay SPF65 i used before. But it is still good overall I havent get any obvious result from the hydration though. My cleansing oil costs higher than sunscreen i use, lol.
How you doing with your shiseido sunscreen,jonny
Stuffi
Jan 7 2011, 10:45 PM
Not so budget lah until RM18 lol... Maybe below RM50...
I think I saw you mentioned Hada Labo jonny. That good ar?
And er... sorry... What sunscreen? Sunplay ? Got specific product ?
jonny4
Jan 7 2011, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(sickboy @ Jan 7 2011, 10:05 PM) Budget Moisturizer I can think of, RM18 for Garnier Aqua Defense Non stop intensive moisturizing essence. RM30-50 range, i woulda get those Taiwan brand i.e. Naruko Kanebo cleansing oil, good stuff and it is fragrance free. I prefer it over Oslee i used. I havent try out on the Kanebo toner which came free of the purchase. And i'm really liking the Sunplay sunscreen although it doesnt control oil as strong as Biore and the Sunplay SPF65 i used before. But it is still good overall I havent get any obvious result from the hydration though. My cleansing oil costs higher than sunscreen i use, lol. How you doing with your shiseido sunscreen,jonny The Shiseido Anessa sunscreen I'm currently using is awesome. Probably the best I have used so far. Oil control isn't as strong as Biore which is good because it isn't drying....but it is still matte to a certain extent without making me look like a corpse. It's also less oily compared to Sunplay ones I have used. I admit it's expensive but really worth the RM105 I spent. This post has been edited by jonny4: Jan 7 2011, 10:50 PM
hongzheng
Jan 9 2011, 06:23 PM
where to get the cheapest Shiseido Men Hydrating Lotion or Biotherm Homme Aquapower? Is it ok to apply these before sleep and removing it the next day? Cant seems to find Shiseido & Biotherm product in Watson & Guardian & Caring...
By the way, Sunplay SPF 50 is having sales in Guardian @ RM 27. Almost 8 bucks cheaper than the normal price of Rm 34.90.