TSjind86
post Jul 1 2009, 11:53 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(ojp @ Jul 1 2009, 09:24 AM)
Any idea on where to get the the white fabric to put onto the pocket (as shown in the pic below)
its called a pocket square.. there are certain ones which use materials such as linen, silk, etc.. but then there are also cotton, which basically makes them handkerchiefs..

QUOTE(zhaen @ Jul 1 2009, 11:21 AM)
okays... i will get a better camera to snap 1 more including pants.. it cost me only 850, coz i chose a cheaper fabric - from japan. i think is wool.  blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif  - no budget lah. intiially i saw one italy fabric but is cost 1250 per set. the fabric is really smoother n can see is high in quality. so i opt for cheaper one this time.

ya i purposely ask him make it slimmer on arms and the button higher.  i think if u r very tall then can low the button. but if average height only, asian size, make higher a bit is ok.  overall look is suit the person wearing it.  =)  at least not loose.. coz i see mostly bought from shelf is loose and some made also loose. so must be firm to tell the tailor wat u want becoz u know what suit u most and coz that's what u see fro mags...

p/s: ok! won't fasten the 2nd button and using bro's login ID!!    laugh.gif
may i know the name of this shop =)

actually as a matter of fact, a lower button stance actually helps elongate the body to give a taller appearance.. which means it is recommended to go for a lower button stance for average to shorter height..

but in terms of preference then yes there is no right or wrong..
TSjind86
post Jul 3 2009, 01:29 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 3 2009, 01:27 AM)

btw here are some more pics of guys in suits
lol.. this is like a really trendy suit, check out the big double button extended waist tab tongue.gif

Added on July 3, 2009, 1:31 amomg check out the lapels on the left suit.. kaka.. i wanna get one haha

This post has been edited by jind86: Jul 3 2009, 01:31 AM
TSjind86
post Jul 3 2009, 01:41 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 3 2009, 01:34 AM)
as i thought u guys really enjoyed the pic of the pretty pretty boys  rclxm9.gif
yeah Fusion[eX] has a huge crush for pretty boys..

TSjind86
post Jul 3 2009, 01:48 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 3 2009, 01:43 AM)
that's why he always insist on seeing my full body shots  sweat.gif

little did he know i am not a pretty boy  thumbup.gif
lOL.. WHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA..
TSjind86
post Jul 8 2009, 04:33 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jul 8 2009, 10:41 AM)
Anymore fitting, Topman would be your answer, especially it's Slim Fit and Skinny Fit ranges. Actually G2000 is more or less a normal fit which does not compliment thin people while G2000 Blu is cut slightly slimmer although nowhere near Topman's.
shit i tried on the skinny fit jackets, their really not playing around when they say its skinny.. i tried one on and i could barely get them buttoned, AND IM A THIN GUY.. so i passed..

o.O"

QUOTE(nairud @ Jul 8 2009, 01:56 PM)
let's say those 2 brands also doesnt cut it for me...
are there any tailor shops costing around 1k?
hmmm ive got a friend who did his suit in the state, PJ.. i think the tailor shop is called The State, it looked rather good.. around RM700 only..
TSjind86
post Jul 9 2009, 01:53 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jul 9 2009, 01:35 AM)
They should have named their ultra skinny range, "STICKMANĀ®" Which would be rather apt for Topman and Skiny range altogether. Saves them marketing ideas and regular joes like us that still dives into BigMacs once in a while.
lol.. hmmm talking about bigmac, im feeling mcd now.. hmmm..
TSjind86
post Jul 11 2009, 02:40 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 10 2009, 02:17 AM)
ooh lookie...

i must say that i am most happy with itĀ  biggrin.gif
oh cool you got one from granoff as well =)

when u got this done? how much?

This post has been edited by jind86: Jul 11 2009, 02:41 AM
TSjind86
post Jul 11 2009, 02:17 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 11 2009, 09:48 AM)
i had this done over the past month actually. to me, it was a pleasant experience dealing with Mansor (thanks for the suggestion with your sharing of info about your bro's suit). i'd rather not discuss prices here (all i can say it cost me a wee bit more than my original budget)  sweat.gif but i'm looking forward to it lasting me years of service like my last suit which was made with a woolblend for RM600 and served me well over the past decade  thumbup.gif
yeah he's a cool guy.. but did u get 5 buttons on your sleeve lol?

is it their in house material? or u purchased your own?

hmmm but why is your tag the "su misura" one? granoff's new tags were suppose to be "specially commissioned for"..
TSjind86
post Jul 16 2009, 02:07 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Jul 15 2009, 01:30 AM)
I actually have to get a suit quite some time already.

Can't seem to make decision myself, waiting for my gf but both of us doesn't have that much time lolx. Normally only can go mall after 9:00pm which left not much time to shop.

Im consider quite thin but not my stomach =P, I have a roughly 29" waist. Not looking for something too trendy, probably should look at Padini?
no point rushing when buying a suit, go on a sunday..

read the first post the see a classic suit's details..

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 16 2009, 11:24 AM)
hmmm.. i never really fancied sparkman shop to begin with.. i recently read an article about another tailor who's store is located in sri hartamas.. hmmm.. still using the term MTM for bespoke.. hmmm..

hey lanatir, hows your new Granoff suit going? =)
TSjind86
post Jul 16 2009, 05:15 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 16 2009, 04:37 PM)
anyway we shouldn't get too hung up about phrases and terms used. sure, it's a bonus - but many tailors in the country are trained locally and traditionally perhaps without knowledge from their sifus about the actual definitions of words being used. i've heard of some fantastic tailors in shanghai and HK using old school methods who i am sure are unaware of such words and phrases but still churn out good well made suits (and probably will swear at you in chinese if you insist that they change their signboards). what should be most important is a tailor that produces good quality products commensurate with the price - i'd rather have this one anytime over someone who can spit out the encyclopaedia of suit jargon regurgitated from google but can't produce the goods.
yupp true indeed, but then again they have to realize that this is their advertisement, they have to buy the customers first before the customers start buying from them.. with these kinds of advertisements, it does to some point show their level of involvement to sartorial knowledge.. so when people like me read about this, the first thing that comes to my mind is "how can they not know that, especially if they claimed they've trained in savile row?".. true they may indeed be very good in their craft but are just not familiar with these terms, but that's the impression they send out..

besides that, it is just plain misleading, because im actually seeking for a tailor who's doing REAL made-to-measure, so when read something like that, now im confused to whether it is actually really MTM or they actually meant "custom made"? many of the times i actually end up calling or sending an email to these tailors to clarify which one is it.. till today i've not heard of one tailor in malaysia doing actual MTM..

This post has been edited by jind86: Jul 16 2009, 06:04 PM
TSjind86
post Jul 16 2009, 06:11 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 16 2009, 05:26 PM)
so in the end, are you going to avoid using a tailor simply because he doesn't know the 'correct words'?

"till today i've not heard of one tailor in malaysia doing proper MTM"

you haven't heard of a tailor being able to do proper MTM job or you haven't heard of a tailor being able to give you the correct definition of MTM?
nope, i certainly wont avoid using a tailor because he doesnt know the proper terms given that i indeed know he is good, but what if i dont know? it certainly would have me re-consider if im planning to use him for the first time.. other than hearing feedback and reading ads, meeting the tailor and having a small chat is one of the influences of choosing a tailor..

"you haven't heard of a tailor being able to do proper MTM job or you haven't heard of a tailor being able to give you the correct definition of MTM?"

none of both, ive not heard of any tailor in malaysia doing MTM service..

This post has been edited by jind86: Jul 16 2009, 06:14 PM
TSjind86
post Jul 17 2009, 05:22 PM

1,507 posts

i know they were branched out from Spark Manshop as Mansor and his associates previously worked there, furthermore their fabric is taken from Spark Manshop as well.. im not too sure who are the owners, but if it is in fact the 3 partners of RH who owns Granoff, just wanted to clarify that they own Granoff Malaysia, and not Granoff..
TSjind86
post Jul 17 2009, 07:55 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jul 17 2009, 06:54 PM)
I think the more appropriate term would be operating a franchise in Malaysia right?
im not exactly sure whether they are able to operate a franchise, or whether they own the rights to use the brand in malaysia, or whether its a joint venture or whichever other form..

i just wanted to point out that those three people do not own Granoff as a whole (assuming it is that three people)..

This post has been edited by jind86: Jul 17 2009, 07:56 PM
TSjind86
post Jul 18 2009, 01:19 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(Vint @ Jul 18 2009, 12:03 AM)
Hey guys, I've got my tailor suit. The tailor made it in a way which is quite tight for both of my arm which i find it difficult to even tie after putting my suit on. He has altered it but still it's quite tight..maybe it's my bad as i requested for a slim fit suit earlier.Does it looks odd if both the sleeves are a little tight plus a V-shape around my waist. I find it odd for what i've requested by showing him a photo. Nevermind now, as i have to wear a white shirt underneath..so where or which brand of clothing that has "S" size white shirt coz i cant seem to find any S size to go with it..if i were to wear M or larger..then definitely it's going to look even more odd..
pix pls.. well usually tailor made suits have extra give, therefore there shouldnt be any problem to loosen it up a little depending where the problem is..

where to find S size shirt? erk? everywhere?
TSjind86
post Jul 19 2009, 05:53 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Jul 19 2009, 04:30 PM)
guys.. i'm new in tailor made suits... wana ask.. what meterial sould i ask the tailor to make? not planing to sue it overseas.. just for malaysian weather..
the standard material for suits are pure wool.. high-quality worsted wool is the most seasonally versatile.. im kinda into having a cotton suit at the moment, not one of those really casual cotton materials but one which is meant for suiting.. avoid blends that are made with too much polyester, as they don't breathe well and may look cheap..

if you have the money and you want a proper suit, then your choice is pure wool..
TSjind86
post Jul 20 2009, 02:59 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Jul 19 2009, 07:49 PM)
today i checked out alain delon and their latest one is not bad. rm799 for the entire set (that includes pants). anyway i'm just getting one for my school's prom

so waddaya guys reckon? formal or fashion? been thinking abt getting formal cz can be used in future. looking for one less than rm1000. is tailor-made necessary?

p.s. by the way i'm 178cm

thxx
how fashion-forward are you talking about?

QUOTE(yijzen @ Jul 19 2009, 07:53 PM)
my budget isnt hight.. probably around below 1k.. wad materials do you suggest?
hmmm for below 1k, if you want to tailor make, then it would probably be mix wool material as pure wool would cost a little more than 1k.. you can go for wool mix with polyester/microfiber..
TSjind86
post Jul 20 2009, 02:38 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jul 20 2009, 10:42 AM)
Finally got my measurements done, will wait for a call for refitting in 2 weeks time. lol.

first time i met a lady tailor
which place you're getting your suit done?
TSjind86
post Jul 21 2009, 02:16 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(WayeYoung @ Jul 20 2009, 11:09 PM)
I think making a suit in places which are further away from the city (KL) are probably cheaper. But I don't know about their bespoking. Basic ones should be fine.

I had mine made, 2 piece suit for RM600. Italian Cashmere. I have no idea whether to consider this wool. heh.
(tailor made, but, no surgeon cuffs =.=" )

p/s can't afford any upscale brands. e.g zara etc as I'm still a student.
and where did u get that done?

some pix will be wonderful =)
TSjind86
post Jul 24 2009, 01:47 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(Bank @ Jul 24 2009, 09:40 AM)
I saw this Lord's Tailor @ Pusat Bandar Damansara near the immigration office. Is tat the same as the Lord's Tailor u guys talking abount in Bangsar Village? but the shop seems very old...
nope, its not the same, one of Lord's Tailor is in Bangsar Shopping Complex, and the other is in Ampang.. BTW, where was this lot @ Pusat Bandar Damansara?
TSjind86
post Jul 31 2009, 04:03 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Jul 30 2009, 04:45 PM)
It will be good if some1 can come up with a post to explain bout Suit Jacket/Tuxedo/Sportcoat/Blazer , the difference, occasion that suitable to wear it, the origine, the cutting and preferably the brands or shop to get it.
QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jul 30 2009, 06:06 PM)
jin86 is your friend too if whenever he is free.
well since i am your friend as Fusion[eX] mentioned, i shall do a simple illustration:

suit:

worn as a two-piece or three piece for it to be considered a suit.. two-piece meaning matching jacket and pant, three-piece meaning with the additional matching vest..

tuxedo:

usually in black, there are also midnight blue, white.. the thing that makes a tux different from a suit is in the details; lapels are usually from satin or grosgrain material and the original tux features a peak lapel..

blazer:

a more casual piece of jacket, not to be part of a suit, regularly are in navy color, traditionally came with brass buttons..

sportjacket:

a casual coat, designed to be worn on its own and not part of a suit.. more sturdier fabrics are used such as corduroy or tweed.

This post has been edited by jind86: Jan 13 2010, 09:48 PM

19 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0521sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:35 PM