QUOTE(calvinloke @ May 13 2009, 07:09 PM)
yes its a tux, but im just trying to point out how the wide lapels look great on him even though he isn't a big guy..The Suiting Thread V1, Suit/Tuxedo/Sportcoat/Blazer
The Suiting Thread V1, Suit/Tuxedo/Sportcoat/Blazer
May 14 2009, 12:57 AM
1,507 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
May 14 2009, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(calvinloke @ May 14 2009, 08:11 PM) 2. Instead of drowning other colors like black, charcoal lets the surrounding colors speak more for themselves. Besides, as FusionEX mentioned, the color black seems to remind people of goth, funeral, etc... Would you want to take that risk? Or maybe that doesn't happen in Malaysia as the majority are in black. Honestly, do you really want the mourning color black on a festive wedding day? I don't know. true, charcoal is definitely more versatile than black, however you made it seem as though no one wears black except if their going for the goth look or unless their going for a funeral, which is not true.. in fact black suits are among the popular choices for weddings.. black is a strong color, not exactly a mourning one.. |
May 15 2009, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(mofonyx @ May 15 2009, 10:04 AM) I need to know how the Americans tie such wonderful ties. Always with a solid dent in the middle. although it can be done on any knot, i think its best paired with the windsor as those who really want to go for that elegant look, would most likely tie the windsor anyway..Is it a Windsor knot usually? |
May 18 2009, 11:57 AM
May 18 2009, 01:01 PM
May 22 2009, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(lanatir @ May 22 2009, 01:47 PM) hey, my bro's suit alright, they will call soon when its ready.. then i'll take pix and post them up here.. im tempted to make a cotton suit lol..http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/v/031609NPH |
May 24 2009, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(hako @ May 22 2009, 05:36 PM) hi there, any idea how should one wear this suit? i actually kinda like the material, i think the pink stripe is a great touch.. no pants? but i cant judge the suit just looking at it hang from a hanger.. your son should actually try putting on the suit and from there then we can give our opinion on how it looks on him.. for me, if you bought it without your son first trying - that's already a wrong move there..is it suitable for a teenager around 18++? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « its for me son. colour : brown with pink stripes |
May 24 2009, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(hako @ May 24 2009, 12:22 PM) thanks for the infos. actually i saw this in garage sale someone was selling it for Rm100. its from topman, and as far as i know...topman seems to be the 'in' brand now among teenagers. and he's prom ball is coming and he's been pestering me to get him a suit. oh you mean you've not purchased it yet? hmmm yeah as what Fusion[eX] mentioned, its really going to be hard to pair this with a non-matching pant.. especially because it is a BROWN stripe.. the only thing that comes to my mind to nicely match these are with corduroy pants.. in fact it may actually be a little hard to pull those off with jeans.. i'd advice getting your son the matching jacket and pant, preferably something more basic in terms of color, charcoal grey, navy blue, black.. the jacket you posted up is more for seasoned suit wearers..so..u're saying sriped jacket is a big no no? |
May 24 2009, 07:48 PM
May 25 2009, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(z3r0c0d3r @ May 24 2009, 11:46 PM) Hi LYN, yes as Fusion[eX] mentioned, what your friend meant by 36/34 is either a size US 36 or a size 34, so for European sizing, it will be size 46 or 44.. but i dont get it, can't he get a suit himself? why get a suit from here out of all places? A friend of mine who is abroad asked me to send a suit for him. He simply told size 36/34. I went to all popular shops such as G2000, Padini and major brands in Parkson and Jusco. But from all shops I was told there is no such thing as size 36/34. Smallest is size 44. Does this mean there is a sizing difference between countries? Whats 36/34 equivalent in Malaysia. QUOTE(calcd @ May 25 2009, 10:48 AM) Guys...interesting thread this. But I see that most of you like to purchase ready made suits. As much as I would like to do that....let's just say my body size is not suitable for ready made stuff my recommendation is still the same: Lord's or Granoff.. i'd like to go hong kong and get a suit from one of the "Big 3".. Any recommendation for a tailor? Am looking to get a suit for a wedding dinner and my budget is around 2K |
May 25 2009, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(calcd @ May 25 2009, 02:12 PM) Thanks for the recommendation. Could I have the address of the places that you just mentioned. I wished I could fly to Hong Kong and get a suit done....but time is not on my side. Lord's in Bangsar Shopping Complexhttp://www.lordstailor.com.my/ Granoff in Gardens Mid Valley http://www.granoff.ba/ |
May 26 2009, 10:25 AM
May 26 2009, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(calcd @ May 26 2009, 10:41 AM) no comment..QUOTE(hako @ May 26 2009, 03:24 PM) just make sure its the correct size before you buy.. if you're unsure of your son's size, measure him up first..QUOTE(prancingHORSE @ May 26 2009, 04:22 PM) How much do they charge for their service to make a suit? Assuming I am bringing my own fabric? they'll charge about RM1000 for their service, but of course its not exactly just their service, lining, buttons, thread are calculated in as well..I suppose these two are the premium tailors in town? Anyone knows a tailor that is a balance between quality and price? Most bang the back? Preferably a tailor accustomed with modern slim styles. |
May 28 2009, 02:19 AM
May 28 2009, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 28 2009, 02:56 AM) Its a 2 button suit? Wel the button stance is rather high. Just move your mouse over to visualize the 3rd button, u get what i mean. but if i would to imagine a 3rd button, then the 3rd button stance would be too low.. anyway i get what you mean by the suit jacket looking a little long, then again his legs also seem long, so they actually help balance out in the body section.. but other than that great looking suit.. |
May 29 2009, 11:43 AM
Jun 2 2009, 10:10 PM
i think with prices like RM400-500, you'll only get the jacket for that price from G2000, Topman.. and RM500-700 for the jacket only as well from brands like Zara.. so a suit from G2000, Topman will come out to about RM700 and a suit from Zara will be around RM1000..
it really depends what kind of cutting you like, im assuming you're a young guy and wants to go for slim cut one.. for interviews, a good choice will be light grey, grey and charcoal grey suit.. light grey suit can be a really fresh option and is great for summer.. for more versatility and for more bang for the buck, go for a charcoal suit.. i'd suggest going for a single breasted two button suit, its the standard in today's times.. crisp white shirt with dark tie and well polished shoes.. dark colored sling bag / luggage bag.. read the slideshow and view the video on the first post, gives you good insight on general knowledge regarding suiting.. This post has been edited by jind86: Jun 2 2009, 11:02 PM |
Jun 2 2009, 11:14 PM
on the right you can see a great suit for interviews:
![]() this style is basically trim cut, looks really great for younger adults, he complemented his look with a slim tie.. this is the look which you should strive for, so when buying your suit, you practically have to try out tons of suits, its not an easy job.. you have to find one that fits something like the picture on the right.. don't be afraid to try smaller sizes, one of the biggest mistakes people make when buying a suit is buying sizes which are actually too big.. you have to first gain the "eye" on how a good fitting suit should look like as looking good is really all about the state of mind.. so you have to be tuned in to what is really considered a good looking suit.. This post has been edited by jind86: Jun 5 2009, 05:51 PM |
Jun 5 2009, 05:51 PM
after watching the movie 17 Again yesterday, im enticed to get a leather jacket lol..
![]() |
Jun 8 2009, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(lanatir @ Jun 8 2009, 01:29 PM) jin, did u ever post the finished product from granoff? the suit's not ready.. i'll post up pix once their done..anyway i really find this article useful http://www.luxury-insider.com/columns/Pete..._Breasted_Suit/ seems this book is a must buy! http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/006019144...creative=380601 nice read on the single breasted suit article.. do you guys regularly buy books from amazon, ive not purchased anything from amazon bfore.. are we able to access it from malaysia? |
| Change to: | 0.0458sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:16 AM |