Chubbie Hamster V12, Chubbie-chubb Furball

blurjoey
post May 28 2009, 05:08 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(DeinanCF @ May 28 2009, 03:01 PM)
Thanks for the info. Yeah, my sand is scented... Didn't know it was scented when bought, can't read the Japanese words on it....
But if they do their business in there and eat the food...Isn't it unhygienic? Will they get sick?
Currently I have 2 Syrians in a storage box, a 6 month old and a 2 month old. They get along fine. But I don't want to breed them. Previously bought a wrong sized cage(for dwarf hamsters, the biggest size in the shop), and the male killed the other female. I'm thinking of splitting the box [50(W)35(D)x30(H)cm] from |      |  >  | | | Will it be spacious enough for them?

That Hammie looks like it's smiling =D
You can get a big pack of non-clumping cat litter for their toilet. More economical than the sand bathe.

Anyway syrians don't sand bathe as they will groom themselves.

Hamsters does eat their own poo. Also they sometimes will eat the non-clumping toilet sand.

They can get along when they are still young but they will get more territorial when older. But you better separate them quickly. They are sexually active after 4 months old.

A syrian requires a lot of space. That box you have is only enough space for 1 syrian only. Splitting into half for 2 syrians is a very bad idea.
blurjoey
post May 31 2009, 10:32 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(sharkie28 @ May 31 2009, 03:31 PM)
wow!nezumitaro! i didn't know you had so many hamsters, lol! they must cost you a fortune!
btw,nice hamster-room you have there! brows.gif

Added on May 31, 2009, 4:04 pmlets start a new topic!
Show us your hamster cages! it's fun to see how you guys arrange your hamster cages, it gives me ideas(mainly because i'm nosey,lol!)
today i collected Smokey's new cage! have a look!
i hide his fav treat! user posted imageuser posted image

my cage isn't fully set up yet...still have to add on more toys and etc..

and finally, my little demon!
Those are not all hamsters but Mongolian gerbils in those tanks. Nezu got 2 syrians in the last pics in the maroon and blue tanks.

Nice Zoozone1 but you're not scared your syrian climb up the bars (water bottle) and escape?

Added on May 31, 2009, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(eric138 @ May 31 2009, 08:36 PM)
Hagen already stop produce. Now those selling in market are Habitrail Zoozone.

Most of the pet shop also got, zoozone1 is rm140, zoozone2 rm190+..

syrian.i tot syrian shud be kinda tame...rarely bite wan oh..
Tamed syrians? Actually depends. My TimTim is still not yet tamed and we got him for almost a year from a pet shop in Pudu.

Think he was mishandled badly in the shop. Till now he'll attack anyone's hands when it goes into his tank unless you got food in your hands.

TimTim is a mink banded long hair syrian.

Actually Habitrail is child company of Hagen. I find that the old Hagen zoozone is better build quality than the Habitral zoozone.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: May 31 2009, 10:42 PM
blurjoey
post Jun 4 2009, 11:54 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jun 4 2009, 07:33 PM)
Dragon fruit, if want to feed need to remove the black seeds right?

8 inch wheel damn hard to find wei..haha..Anyone from Kepong here that knows where to get it?
Try Petsmore Kepong
blurjoey
post Jun 7 2009, 02:32 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(DonnerGott @ Jun 7 2009, 01:52 AM)
Just throw them in a bucket with 3/4 filled water and then Watch them. They are natural Swimmer...

Oh Ya make sure you use hair dryer to 'cool' them off.
vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

Hello! Are you ok? Natural swimmers? Do you know where hamsters' natural habitat is or not? Please don't simply teach others what you don't know for sure what to do.

A bucket 3/4 filled with water? Why don't I throw you into a 20 feet swimming pool without any ladder to get out and watch you? Geez! Please use that gray matter in-between your ears first!

Please stop "washing" your hamster this way. This is call animal abuse!

vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 7 2009, 02:32 AM
blurjoey
post Jun 7 2009, 03:02 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(DonnerGott @ Jun 7 2009, 02:47 AM)
Sigh... No ppl bother the word 'bucket' anymore. It's so small that even any hummy can stand... NVM it's nice to know that human cannot swim in a 20 feet swimming pool wihtout any ladder to get out while they can float on it. No PUN. ROFL

Added on June 7, 2009, 2:49 am

FYI, The only time I bath them is where their skin got rashes due to sleeping too much in their toilet. Other than that, bathing sand is just fine for me.
A bucket coud be any size. How would anyone know what size you're using to "throw" them in and watch them "swim".

And you're not even bathing the hamster but you're just letting the hamster trying to survive in the water.

I really wonder how did you bathed them with only water if they got skin rashes? And how long you're suppose to "watch" them after "throwing" them in.

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

blurjoey
post Jun 7 2009, 03:05 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Jun 7 2009, 03:01 AM)
True, it can be done from a distance with the heat setting. But there are some ppl that used hairdryer before and burnt the ears until it crisped and curled. Good that you know how to use it for the hamster.

Wah, 8 of them? Syrian or ww?
Don't think it's syrian if he put all 8 of them in the same tank.

Even if it is 8 syrians in the same tank, you would have told him to separate them.

But I really doubt that he'll do what's right.
blurjoey
post Jun 10 2009, 08:26 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(~TheAngel~ @ Jun 10 2009, 02:54 AM)
Diarrhea

Diarrhea can occur, usually caused by a virulent strain of E. coli or Salmonella, which is most common among weaning gerbils (3-6 weeks). Symptoms include lethargy, thinness, increased irritability, hunched posture, fluid or bloody diarrhea, and a wet, soiled anal area and tail. It is treatable with antibiotics, yet the gerbil may remain a carrier of the germ and spread it to other uninfected gerbils. For this reason, a gerbil that has had diarrhea should not be chosen to breed with.

My Dear Qem Qem  cry.gif

Her Eyes Looks Like Not Enough Sleep
She Walk No Energy
Her Tail Wet
She Don't Wanna Drink Water
She Don't Eat

I Do Research Said It Won't Live By 24Hours If Not Heal Immediately
And So Hard To Cure Wet Tail Hanny Without Seeking Vet.

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

I Even Aways Sayang Her Among Other 4 Hamster In My 2 1/2 Aquarium  sad.gif
Your hamster got wet-tail disease? Better bring to vet asap. Can try to syringe feed your hammy some de-gas 100+ to drink to replenish all the nutrients lost.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 10 2009, 08:29 AM
blurjoey
post Jun 10 2009, 12:00 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Jun 10 2009, 11:31 AM)
Wah get to a vet fast lah sad.gif
Your 4 hamsters all in one tank is what breed? It says that the germs can spread.. you might want to separate your Qem Qem to a solitary tank maybe?

Added on June 10, 2009, 11:36 am
I don't play with them simultaneously.. I have 2 Syrians also. I take time for one and maybe take a rest or do something else then later on play with the other one. I also hand feed treats most of the time to make them accustomed to the smell of my hands.. I also think 4 months is still young and easily tamed.. Just give it a try and dont give up smile.gif
Yes it is better separate from the healthy hams. Also throw away the bedding and wash the tank the accessories with dettol to be safe.
blurjoey
post Jun 16 2009, 11:29 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:15 PM)
cat kibbles's protein too high for hamster...even dog cant take the amt of protein a cat need. i will suggest tat pick the cheapest brand dog food...the protein is more thn enough for hamster

Added on June 16, 2009, 11:17 pm

sleep.gif..not dare to touch the mealworm oso ...sei for
You can feed any dog kibbles that does not contain garlic. Also don't simply get any like Pedigree that you usually see in supermarket.

Try to find those good brands. Usually petshops have sample packs which you can get FOC. Sample pack can last very long if you don't have many hammies. Just 2-3 kibbles once every 2-3 days should suffice.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 16 2009, 11:33 PM
blurjoey
post Jun 17 2009, 12:06 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:58 PM)
garlic in dog kibbles?? normally no garlic ingredient in dog kibbles...
You will be surprised. You better read the ingredients and see.

Some dog food/kibbles includes garlic in them.
blurjoey
post Jun 17 2009, 09:58 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Jun 17 2009, 09:32 AM)
u got dog??haha....i did my study about dog/cat nutrients before....and garlic is totally out of dog's meal list but a small amount of garlic shld be ok.....(sorry ..out of topic)
Don't have a dog but we used look for dog kibbles for our hamsters in petshops. And usually we'll read the ingredients for garlic and we found some brands (can't remember the names) have garlic in them.

Most hamster sites advice to avoid garlic:
http://www.zapgraphix.com/articles_0024.html
http://hamsterlifeanswers.com/hamster-diet.html
blurjoey
post Jun 17 2009, 10:33 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(KennethNYC @ Jun 17 2009, 10:18 AM)
to all the Dr. Do Little

i just bought 2 new hamster and they are about 2 months old according to the pet shop owner

what type/breed ? i am not sure... but i will take a picture of it to show you guys

i am just curious how much food should i give them

cause i give them about a sauce plate full of food and they finished in a day

is that just nice for them? cause they finished it in like a day
You sure they didn't hog all the food and hid it somewhere in the tank? Usually they'll do that.

Just make sure there is dry food and water 24/7 available to them.

blurjoey
post Jun 17 2009, 02:25 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Jun 17 2009, 02:06 PM)
U sure u done enuff of research?
If he did enough research, he would know what hamsters he have bought instead of asking here laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
blurjoey
post Jun 18 2009, 10:35 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(KennethNYC @ Jun 18 2009, 10:12 AM)
thanks guys

but i notice that one of them like to sleep at the wheel there .. the best part is he/she stash up the food there for him/her self

also can someone tell me what type is this?

It's normal for them to do that. You haven't got those that pee, sleep & eat on the wheel.

Looks like Winter White to me but the picture is too dark.
blurjoey
post Jun 18 2009, 11:44 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(fendy87 @ Jun 18 2009, 11:29 AM)
is there any other petshop around kl selling vitacraft products???  other than petshack?
Got other petshops is selling the Vitakraft Premium line (low quality) but not the Vitakraft High Premium line.
blurjoey
post Jun 18 2009, 11:48 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

If I'm not mistaken. The Premium line is local whereas the High Premium line is direct from Germany.

Added on June 18, 2009, 11:50 am
QUOTE(fendy87 @ Jun 18 2009, 11:46 AM)
hurm~ too bad...want to go to petshack..but too far....
How far do you stay? You can order online from petshack.com.my and they'll send it to you by post.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 18 2009, 11:50 AM
blurjoey
post Jun 18 2009, 02:38 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(~TheAngel~ @ Jun 18 2009, 02:15 PM)
Hey Guys..
As I Know Pine Bedding Are Bad For My WW..
So Yesterday I Go To 'Chi Cheong Gai' Petmore Shop See See I Bought A Big (Some Sort Like A Sand Of Hard Wood) For My Hammy..
Wasted 50 Bucks And Its Worth For My Little Cutie^^

Q&A:
Does The Sand Of Hard Wood Bad For Them Too?

They Act Like Dog Digging Does It Normal?

I Bath Them Like The Pet Shop Worker Told Me..
Warm Water (Not Really Hot La..)
Slowly Wipe Their Body (Not On Ear/Head/Eye)
Then Use Towel Slowly (They Keep Kicking Out From My Finger Hug)
Finally Use Hair Dryer Speed Of 1 And Hot On 1
Does It Right?
Stop! The pet shop worker gave you the wrong information! Please do not bathe your hamster with water unless it is the last choice.

The hair dryer with heat on can kill your WW.

WW can sand bath. You can get those Chinchillas bathing sand for them. You see them digging and rolling in the sand bath.

If sand bath can't work for them, you can try using a wet cloth and wipe them. Bathing them is the absolutely last choice!

Digging is normal for any hamster.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 18 2009, 02:40 PM
blurjoey
post Jun 19 2009, 12:15 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Me and Sangels is in for the gathering!!! Too bad we can't bring along Pillow and Puffie.... Sure Nezu miss them so much.

Foo, just set a date and everybody go there, make it simple will do. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jun 19 2009, 12:16 AM
blurjoey
post Jun 19 2009, 05:21 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

~TheAngel~

A word of advice. Please read more about hamsters before asking for answers. There is this hamster thread and it's previous versions, google, bing, yahoo, etc that you can use to gain more knowledge.

Some of us actually read through from page 1 so that we would know first and ask what have not been discussed. Some even read back the previous versions and other hamster forum on the internet.

You're a 21 year old boy still want to act cute? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
blurjoey
post Jun 26 2009, 03:54 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(east_wing @ Jun 26 2009, 03:46 PM)
wat is PLU
From Wikipedia:

People Like Us - a gay slang denoting homosexual individuals, commonly used in Malaysia and Singapore

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0542sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:42 PM