Super Noobs Help! [Thread V3], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here
May 17 2009, 11:24 AM
3,045 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Canterlot |
ohh.. cm has sff casing? hmm, i'll try to look for powerlogic. he wanted a sff casing so that it's easier to carry whenever he goes home, cos he need to use the pc at college and at home too. plus, he's taking the bus so i dont think a mid-tower casing would be easy to carry around... thanks anyway!
May 17 2009, 12:20 PM
amd or intel, whichever one is fine. a rig with the purpose of torrenting and gaming. budget about rm1800 including lcd panel. i already suggested acer x193hq to him cos im using the lcd and so far it's quite good, pretty cheap too. the rig only need mobo, proc, 2gb ram, gc, dvd. no soundcard needed. i dont think i'll be having prob with the specs. hmm, i thought of the lanparty bag as well and suggested that to him too, but we'll consider that as plan B cos the rig is still pretty heavy and big. maybe a mini-tower would do. i'll try and ask him. thanks bro!
May 18 2009, 12:02 AM
elite 360 seems to be the best answer for the time being. looks pretty good too. thanks!
This post has been edited by danny_sp15: May 18 2009, 12:03 AM |
May 18 2009, 12:09 PM
aisey.. another prob la pulak... a right angled sata cable also cannot solve the prob? the one with L-shape? cos the asus p5kpl-am and gigabyte g31m-es2l all have the 24-pin connector at the edge of the mobo near the hdd... i'll try and google some mobos, see if there's any cheap ones with 24-pin is at lower edge or at least far from hdd bay. thanks!
This post has been edited by danny_sp15: May 18 2009, 12:14 PM |
May 18 2009, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(Clavicus @ May 18 2009, 02:15 PM) Doesn't seem too bad in this link. hmm, from the looks of it, i think i can use asus p5kpl-am, but need to bend a lot of cables carefully. cos everything is so close to each other. now im just worried about gc though, cos hd4830 is kinda long (about the width of the mobo), and i think it's gonna have trouble with the psu. well, maybe the shop can try pasang first and if cannot fit, buy another casing la.http://www.motherboards.org/imageview.html...e/1890_p6_6.jpg PSU is modular i think. Anyway, bumping my question. WTA, does the router affect transfer speeds amongst PCs? I'm using a home network and transfer speeds were around 1.5-2 mbps (according to Vista file transfer) from a torrent PC to a notebook wirelessly. Does WAN (connections to the Internet) affect local transfer speeds? Does my PC need any extra hardware to transfer files faster? anyway, i think router does affect the transfer speed between pc. i dont have any source to prove it, but from experience, using router is slower. it would be faster to use direct connection between the notebook and pc like LAN cable. that's what i did when i want to transfer data. |
May 19 2009, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ May 19 2009, 08:35 PM) wah!... now i only realize this pinned thread... yeah, come to think of it, i'm not sure myself too... are they square or a bit rectangular? too lazy to take out hsf and proc just to see it... can i ask question as simple as like: -are processor square? This post has been edited by danny_sp15: May 19 2009, 10:19 PM |
Jun 2 2009, 01:24 AM
how about the lagging problem? is it still present in the recent wireless mouse?
Jun 9 2009, 12:18 AM
Jun 9 2009, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Jun 9 2009, 05:13 PM) Erm, i mean if i send it to acer service center, will they entertain it? they will entertain. but call them first to confirm opening days or spare part availability. i know one at times square... 9th floor i think... but the price is sometimes ridiculous (if no longer under warranty). call them first and ask them the rough cost. they will tell u. 1800881918, or maybe different number already, check the warranty book. if no longer under warranty, other repair shop also can. but if they dont know how to repair, they also will send to acer service centre.I hope to get some geneuie service. Don't want later got chopped. QUOTE(mato89 @ Jun 9 2009, 05:45 PM) if i change the thermal grease then i clean the cpu is it??? how to clean it??? it say on the instructions DO NOT TOUCH the cpu...... can use cotton buds?? can touch, provided ur fingers dont have static electricity. just touch the casing or other metal objects like ur chair before touching the cpu. use cotton buds, or tissue, whichever u prefer, to remove the old thermal grease residue. if the residue is hard to remove, try dipping ur cotton bud or tissue into alcohol b4 wiping out the cpu. (the >70% alcohol used for sterilization or in electrical components, not some beer etc)This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Jun 9 2009, 07:24 PM |
Jun 9 2009, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(mato89 @ Jun 9 2009, 08:02 PM) yes there is. there's even a blu-ray writer already. price ranging from rm450 (pioneer blu-ray drive) to rm1299 (pioneer blu-ray burner). price taken from c-zone. there was a promotion for a blu-ray burner for about rm600 a few months ago, but now dunno if still got or not.This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Jun 9 2009, 08:20 PM |
Jun 10 2009, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Jun 9 2009, 11:41 PM) Can someone please give me the exact location, as in the specific floor-level and shop number, of the following two computer peripheral stores in IMBI or Lowyat Plaza? robyncom - Robyn Computer Technology Sdn Bhd Lot 1.53 1st Floor, Imbi Plaza, Jalan Imbi, 55100 Kuala Lumpur. easier way is, as soon as u enter imbi plaza from the main entrance (u will enter the 1st floor, not G), turn right. it's 2 shops away from sony vaio store. hard to miss.- robyncom - CEX I need the venue of these two computer stores urgently, thanks a lot in advance for your cooperation. |
Jun 10 2009, 12:35 AM
sometimes rockrock doesnt reply pm or sms... or reply quite late.. but i guess he's just busy.. i saw him in person and he's actually a nice guy..
Jun 11 2009, 09:46 PM
hey guys, anyone knows where can buy alienware casing in malaysia? i know there are imitation ones out there (like raidmax ninja)... but just wondering if there is any shop selling the ori one... must be expensive, since even the raidmax ninja is selling at rm250++...
This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Jun 11 2009, 09:52 PM |
Jun 17 2009, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(double_agent @ Jun 17 2009, 03:51 PM) Good day all! ur rig should be safe... but ur eyesight wont! i finished crysis in one night, and after that my eyes all red and watery already... I need to know something.Let's say my rig has a GTX 295,is it safe to play Crysis for 6 straight hours? TQ. if ur rig heats up, gameplay will be slow/crash/hang/etc, then that means u need to rest 4 a while.. if u cant afford a good casing, u can open up the side panel for the time being.. should reduce temp by 2-3C.. This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Jun 17 2009, 10:57 PM |
Jun 18 2009, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(miriel10 @ Jun 17 2009, 11:46 PM) well, yeah, dust is gonna accumulate like crazy if u open the side panel all the time like me... hehe. so open it only when u wanna play games. i also want to buy a new casing, but my budget is the one that's making me tak tenang... |
Jun 18 2009, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(finalmoto123 @ Jun 18 2009, 06:28 PM) flash ur bios using asus ezflash, or asus update.. save the rom file into a usb drive and make sure it stays connected to ur pc, then try rebooting ur pc, and the boot screen should show something like "press f2 to launch asus ezflash" (i'm not sure f2 or what, but it's f something, lazy to restart my pc to find out).. press the button, and load the rom file from the usb drive... should take only a few mins...This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Jun 18 2009, 08:48 PM |
Jun 18 2009, 08:52 PM
no prob
This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Jun 18 2009, 08:52 PM |
Jun 18 2009, 09:10 PM
yeah, dont have update again after reformat, but it would be nice to keep a copy of ur rom in a usb since the size is very small anyway..
Jun 18 2009, 10:14 PM
can just plug and play. no prob. dvi will be better than vga.
Jun 19 2009, 03:13 PM
hmm, another noob question here, probably been asked before, but i just wanna know, how often and how do u guys clean ur hsf? especially 3rd party hsf with those huge fins like ccf and red scorpion... cos i wanna buy one but afraid that the small spaces between those fins could be a dust magnet...
This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Jun 19 2009, 03:15 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0450sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:09 AM |