11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

An Eee!ktomorph's quest, huffing n puffing ..

TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 16 2008, 09:18 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(wallpaper89 @ Dec 16 2008, 04:39 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/371250

the first post in that thread is a summary of rippetoe's (with slight alterations).

its slightly different than what you did recently.

deadlift is difficult to execute (but not impossible!). i sometimes scrape my shins too. try not to get any back injuries. form is 100% important for any exercises. don't curl your lower back, keep it straight.
Hi hi, are u all referring to the sets & reps ? i m still grappling with the correct amount of weights cos nvr done exer with so little reps. unsure.gif When i reached 5 reps, i still wasn't satisfied so i went for another few more. This was esp so with the deadlift as i dared not go too heavy (for my size), so i increased it gradually to find my ground. Hopefully next week i can get it correct blush.gif

I read dat the dip is an optional exercise it but i dun have a dip bar at home. For time being i will use the decline (actually dip / decline is better ?)as a substitute until i can find it somewhere. Checked the websites of fitness equipment suppliers but they dun have it. Anyway i'll keep looking ard.

Added on December 16, 2008, 9:45 pmThis mng woke up, felt some pump in my arms. Dunno if its the change of my exercise regiment or cos of the creatine in sm.

Today had meeting till 7+, on way home went to buy 2pc murtabak for dinner. Steamed the broccoli for 4 mins + olive oil (wil reduce to 3 mins nxt time cos prefer the raw taste). Checked my kitchen supply, got strawberry, banana, papaya, 2 packets almonds .. good.

Diet check
b'fast - a sprinkling flaxseed, 6 almonds, 3/4 glas milk, 2 scoop groat, 2scoop sm, 4 strawberries
tea-1 egg
lunch - fish, 2 dimsum, rice, veg
tea - 2 scoop sm, 1.5 scoop oat. not sure if shld take milk, decided not to cos not exercisin today
dinner - as said + papaya + health drink
supper - ltr wil have 2 scoop milk, 1 scoop oat, 1 scoop sm

Remind myself dun forget my omega pills.

Added on December 17, 2008, 7:19 pmTried my best to be as precise as possible to follow rippetoe's program - succeeded in finishing in less than 1hr but i felt as though i cheated myself cos my workouts last time are all 1.5 hrs but it surely wasn't easier than last time. Surprisingly, i sweated more actually.

Squat - 3x8x33kg
I'm still working on reducing the reps but had problems with moving the barbell from my bench press every time i squat. Didn'nt have the confidence to add the weight & walking to the open area. Basically what i did was increase the height of my bench posts, squat between the posts & then reverse myself from the bench. There were some scary moments ..
The hardest part of this exercise for my was the weight of the bar on my back. It really hurt.. I wonder how everyone does it with such a heavy weight. shakehead.gif

Stand military - 3x8x20
Was tempted to cheat by seating but found out standing was ok.

Bent row - 3x10x30, 40
Will increase the weight nxt week & bring the reps down. REally worked my lats. Still have worries about hurting my back.

Chinning - 2x8
After the rows, i felt i would have problems with chinning, & it turned out true. I was only able to do 5 true chins, the rest were cheats. The last was done by me jumping up & letting myself down slowly haha.. After the 1st set, my arm was really pumped so i concentrated on lifting up with my elbows/lats instead of biceps. It helped a bit but still .. doh.gif cheated on last few pulls.

b'fast - the same blended drink. Put less flaxseed since i took omega tablet. This was as bad as the barbell squat. I had to order myself to drink it all down.
tea - egg
lunch - rice, drumstick, vege, potato/taufu
tea - 1scoop oat with a bit of sm for flavour. Found out its not filling. Will add milk nxt time. 600g papaya
preworkout - 2scoop oat, 2 scoop milk, 2 scoop sm, 10g whey
postworkout - 2scoop carbslam, 2 scoop sm, 1teaspoon colostrum. 30g whey. Sipping it as i type
dinner - yet to decide what to eat most probably some hawker fare.
supper - 2scoop milk, 1 scoop oat, 1 scoop sm, 10g whey

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Dec 17 2008, 07:19 PM
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 18 2008, 09:26 AM

2,113 posts

Decided i need to remind myself of my goals, so put up some posters (the forearms always make me xcited whenever i look at it) in my room courtesy of egonutrition. Are their things cheap enough ?

wallpaper89
post Dec 18 2008, 12:17 PM

650 posts

LOL cool poster! "I'm not here to talk" thumbup.gif

I am not an expert so I cannot really give you comments on your workout. But if you feel you're doing it right and you can benefit from your workout, then keep it up! flex.gif

I don't know about barbell squats, since I do mine on the smith machine. Maybe you should stick to your current weight until you get a better form and better balance before moving on to lower reps.
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 18 2008, 05:13 PM

2,113 posts

LOL cool poster! "I'm not here to talk"

I am not an expert so I cannot really give you comments on your workout. But if you feel you're doing it right and you can benefit from your workout, then keep it up!

I don't know about barbell squats, since I do mine on the smith machine. Maybe you should stick to your current weight until you get a better form and better balance before moving on to lower reps.

Haha.. ya i liked the macho quote too. Unfortunately i dun have anyone to talk to at home doing my workouts.

Thats the bad thing of exercising at home, no one to refer to or correct me. Thats y i really appreciate this forum, esp my dear wallpaper89 biggrin.gif

Added on December 18, 2008, 5:32 pmDaily read to share..

First and foremost, remember that when it comes to vitamin C in orange juice, no commercial preparation can match the goodness of homemade freshly squeezed orange juice.

This is quite expected, as this juice is fresh, pure, unprocessed and free of preservatives. It must be noted, however, that vitamin C is extremely sensitive to light, heat and oxygen.

So exposure to air can reduce the vitamin C content of any type of orange juice at the rate of 2% a day.

Among the commercially processed varieties, the frozen concentrated orange juice has the maximum vitamin C, followed by juices reconstituted from orange concentrates, and last, the ready-to-drink canned or carton-packed juices.

The same holds true for vitamin C in fruit juices in general, not just for orange juice. So while buying processed fruit juices, don't forget to check for the 100% fruit juice label and the date of packing.

To prevent the degradation of vitamin C in fruit juices, always store them in the refrigerator and consume within a week of opening the pack. Freezing preserves the vitamin C, while exposure to air destroys it.

This is good news to me cos i like to buy a big papaya & juice it over several days.. Light & O2 destroys vitamins. If you can't finish a sliced fruit, keep it in an airtight container in a fridge.

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Dec 18 2008, 05:32 PM
myvi5949
post Dec 19 2008, 10:15 AM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

Where u get the poster dude? smile.gif
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 19 2008, 01:19 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Dec 19 2008, 10:15 AM)
Where u get the poster dude? smile.gif
The staff at egonutritions give me a poster whenever i go there buy sth..

Added on December 19, 2008, 1:21 pmFeeling a bit under the weather, took panadol y'day. Woke up feeling heavy headed & hot, stole another soluble panadol frm a colleague, yum..

Added on December 19, 2008, 10:44 pmBy noon, A ok.

However a bit blur & mixed up my exercises.

My diet same as my usual but mng added more strawberries & 2 bananas, so thick & sticky. After workout, steamed some broccoli immediately & drizzled olive oil cos too hungry to wait for dinner.

squat - 3x8x35kg
military press - 3x8x23
bench - 3x8x33
deadlift - 2x5x40
decline press - 2x10x33

At last i discovered an exercise that worked my outer pecs. The decline press really gave a good top body workout, even the lats feel pumped. I kept sliding down the decline which was quite funny. Hopefully, i'll add some width to my frame, compared to the flat bench that only thickens my chest.

Added on December 19, 2008, 10:51 pmSomething better than carbohydrate !

Yes, sth that will provide hundreds of calories without eating, that will rocket u thro ur workouts, that makes the kilos feel half their weight.

It is JUST FOR LAUGHS on tv.

I was watching the programme while working out & despite adding another exercise to the normal routine, i didn't feel taxed at all. Sailed thro my weights laughing away & all done within the hour.

Yeah whistling.gif

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Dec 19 2008, 10:51 PM
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 21 2008, 02:48 PM

2,113 posts

Just back frm lunch & some time to reflect over my workouts the last 2 weeks.

I discovered i m leading a much more healthy lifestyle. I have been to the toilet regularly due to increased eating & more water. Its also due to healthier eating of fruits, nut, oat etc i think. In the past i would strain & spend a long time doing 'big business' till it hurts.

Meals are regular too because of my gain weight intention - previously i would jus wake up & had brunch or just laze ard the tv till 3 b4 eating anything. I'm lucky i still don't get gastric.

I'm thankful to bodybuilding for this change & resolve to continue the diet & workouts to reach my goals. I amazed to think now that bodybuilding is not just a physical activity but needs lots of spirit to improve physically, involves knowledge of nutrition & human body to go to the nxt level & most of all, its a healthy activity.

I can't wait to start working out tomorrow.
darklight79
post Dec 21 2008, 02:58 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Dec 21 2008, 02:48 PM)

I discovered i m leading a much more healthy lifestyle. I have been to the toilet regularly due to increased eating & more water. Its also due to healthier eating of fruits, nut, oat etc i think. In the past i would strain & spend a long time doing 'big business' till it hurts.

Meals are regular too because of my gain weight intention - previously i would jus wake up & had brunch or just laze ard the tv till 3 b4 eating anything. I'm lucky i still don't get gastric.

I'm thankful to bodybuilding for this change & resolve to continue the diet & workouts to reach my goals. I amazed to think now that bodybuilding is not just a physical activity but needs lots of spirit to improve physically, involves knowledge of nutrition & human body to go to the nxt level & most of all, its a healthy activity.

Good to know. Bodybuilding isn't some hobby or something just done on the side. It's a lifestyle. =)
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 22 2008, 11:23 AM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Dec 21 2008, 02:58 PM)
Good to know. Bodybuilding isn't some hobby or something just done on the side. It's a lifestyle. =)
Hi darklight ! Yup, in 1 word lifestyle. Haha.. I too full of words liao

Added on December 22, 2008, 11:26 amDaily readings..

Vit C supplements are only 50% effective, compared to fruits that are 100% usable by the body. Wow..

http://www.science.edu.sg/ssc/detailed.jsp...parent=3&cat=30
Known by most scientists, but virtually unknown by the public, is the fact that the ascorbic acid molecule has an asymmetric carbon atom. This means that ascorbic acid molecules could have two stereo-specific forms, namely the L-form and the D-form. Biosynthesis in plants produces the L-ascorbic acid, which is beneficial to our bodies. Ascorbic acids synthesised in the lab normally compose of 50% L-form and 50% D-form. The D-ascorbic acid is designated as useless and discarded by the body, as most research shows.

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Dec 22 2008, 11:27 AM
wallpaper89
post Dec 22 2008, 12:23 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Dec 21 2008, 02:48 PM)

Keep it up, it is your attitude at the beginning of a task that determines success or failure nod.gif
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 22 2008, 01:53 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(wallpaper89 @ Dec 22 2008, 12:23 PM)
Keep it up, it is your attitude at the beginning of a task that determines success or failure  nod.gif
Yah lo, normaly beginning is hangat tahi ayam. Its not yet the end of day & i feel tired already.. dunno ltr can carry the weights or not.
myvi5949
post Dec 22 2008, 06:47 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Dec 22 2008, 01:53 PM)
Yah lo, normaly beginning is hangat tahi ayam. Its not yet the end of day & i feel tired already..  dunno ltr can carry the weights or not.
Its recommended to train if ur exhausted/fatigued/no motivation, just keep the weights lighter. Well at least that's what Darklight says. tongue.gif
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 22 2008, 09:54 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Dec 22 2008, 06:47 PM)
Its recommended to train if ur exhausted/fatigued/no motivation, just keep the weights lighter. Well at least that's what Darklight says.  tongue.gif
Aiyah.. juz saw ur advise now. I did the opposite & added weight instead ohaha.. n the result was predictable..
myvi5949
post Dec 22 2008, 10:00 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Dec 22 2008, 09:54 PM)
Aiyah.. juz saw ur advise now. I did the opposite & added weight instead ohaha.. n the result was predictable..
Yeah fallen to the same mistake also. After my back fail me, I took weeks off.

I quote Darklight: Originally by Kethnaab of BB.com http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/367750

This post has been edited by myvi5949: Dec 22 2008, 10:04 PM
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 22 2008, 10:29 PM

2,113 posts

Breakfast - my usual rojak drink right on waking up. No more strawberries, put 2 bananas
tea - 1 egg
lunch - nasi paprik, telur dadar
tea - eh, i forgot my oats
preworkout - 2 scoop sm, 2 scoop oat, 10g whey
postworkout - 2 scoop carb slam, 30g whey
dinner - pork, vege, rice
supper - wil take 2 scoop sm. not sure whether to reduce my oat / milk, so.. 1 or 2 scoop oat, 1 or 2 scoop milk. Worried abt my tummy

Damn. forgot my omega pill again. vmad.gif

Looking at my diet, not much difference frm any other day, but had a hard time figuring out my fatigue today. Since noon already lethargic right up tp exercisin time. Haih.. Can it b cos i left out my tea time oats ?

squat - 3x7x38
Increasing my weights as planned to bring the reps down. I might be reaching my limit cos at 5 reps, i had to pause for 2 deep breaths b4 resuming. I oso found that i can squat up easier if i bring up my backside hmm.gif Hope i dun get big bum2

military press - 3x7x23
Tried the front press & back press. When doing the front press, i felt like a bamboo & had to stiffen my body. Scared wil snap into 1/2. I prefer behind. The feel is ohlala.. u gotta try it rolleyes.gif

bent row - 3x7x43
This is the 1st time i can feel my back muscles, though i'm not sure if this exercise is meant for my lower back. I think if i con't to do this exer, i will be able to flex my back just like a bicep haha ! Anyway, i think i've jumped too far ahead cos i cant complete the reps in good form. Must.. reeachhhh .. my abs.. aaaaaa

chinning - 2x8
Its already more than 1 hr & i've yet to finish my workout. Feeling angry wit myself, i forced myself to finish soon as possible. Managed to do 5 reps, take deep breath hanging on the bar & cont the last 3. Too bad d 2nd set i had to let myself down awhile b4 con't the last 3 reps.

This w'day must make up for this setback. Must find my form..

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Dec 22 2008, 10:41 PM
wallpaper89
post Dec 23 2008, 12:59 PM

650 posts

hey don't worry about not completing your workout under an hour's time. its not necessary to get it over with ASAP lol.

This post has been edited by wallpaper89: Dec 23 2008, 01:00 PM
myvi5949
post Dec 23 2008, 10:55 PM

Quiet Determination
1,527 posts

Rather than rushing things its better to focus on ur form. If ur workout past 1 hour, u can start drinking whey during the workout to prevent ur body going catabolic. That's just my opinion anyways.
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 24 2008, 10:19 AM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(wallpaper89 @ Dec 23 2008, 12:59 PM)
hey don't worry about not completing your workout under an hour's time. its not necessary to get it over with ASAP lol.
QUOTE(myvi5949 @ Dec 23 2008, 10:55 PM)
Rather than rushing things its better to focus on ur form. If ur workout past 1 hour, u can start drinking whey during the workout to prevent ur body going catabolic. That's just my opinion anyways.
Ok, will keep them in mind. I jus worried d longer i take the more restless i bcome. Las time i thought i must rest more between exercising to have more energy & in the end my workouts stretched frm 1.5 -> 2 hrs. In d end, kinda lost interest to continue. Anyway will try to keep to 1min rest interval.

Ya oh, how come i din think of taking some drinks when exercising ! Aiyo..

Added on December 24, 2008, 10:28 amY'day was at an x/mas gathtering & recd comments dat i look better now compared to las time - "like sick", someone even said "horrible". Hah.. lucky no one said dat to my face last time or i would ave lost my will to live.

Someone tried to grab my arms "hey, ur arms r bigger". It made all my effort worth it & strengthened my resolve to continue working out hard cos i knw i m stil some way frm looking normal.

My wish now is dat hopefully the fat ard my neck & tummy don't get bigger..

Today muz b more disciplined ! Las 2d slept at 12 & i can feel its not enuff rest cos feelin a bit blurry in ofis. SLEEP EARLIER

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Dec 24 2008, 10:28 AM
JustForFun
post Dec 24 2008, 12:00 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Calcium can aid fats breakdown, if that matters.
TSmrPOTATO
post Dec 24 2008, 10:20 PM

2,113 posts

Meals
mng - liquid meal
tea - boiled egg
noon - free burger + fries
tea - duno y always missed it
preworkout - sm + oat + whey (ran out of milk in ofis)
workout - a glass milk
postworkout - whey + carb slam
dinner - fried meehoon
supper - oat + milk + whey + sm

Workout
squat
3 x 7 x 38 (did versions of full & horizontal squat. found out hori is more taxing, must use this more frequently)

bench
3 x 8 x 33 (did 2 versions, to the sternum & collarbone. collarbone gives a tighter feel. will inc this in future)

deadlift
3 x 5 x 30,35,40 (beginning to get the hang of things, stil scraped chin but lightly only. i forgot that its only recommended to do 1x5 but somehow i got carried away & enjoyed the exercise. wil keep this frequency cos i felt it is doing good for my back)

decline press
3 x 8 x 33 (this time my right shoulder felt funny, better watch my form)

Strange.. instead of having a sore leg (my weak part) i'm having sore arms (my strongest part) but i sure like the feeling of fullness ther. Time to make my papaya shake b4 its too late & can't down my supper oats.

MISSED OMEGA !
SLEEP EARLY !

Added on December 25, 2008, 11:43 am
QUOTE(JustForFun @ Dec 24 2008, 12:00 PM)
Calcium can aid fats breakdown, if that matters.
Really ? This should be easy then. I drink quite a lot of milk, the low fat type. I think soya bean is also a type of milk but dunno got calcium or not.

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Dec 25 2008, 11:43 AM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:23 PM