Bro, you've got a nice body shape. Make full use of that. Ectomorphic here too. You have my support all the way, don't give up, achieve those dreams!
An Eee!ktomorph's quest, huffing n puffing ..
Dec 15 2008, 01:12 PM
650 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Bro, you've got a nice body shape. Make full use of that. Ectomorphic here too. You have my support all the way, don't give up, achieve those dreams!
Dec 16 2008, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Dec 16 2008, 02:27 PM) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/371250the first post in that thread is a summary of rippetoe's (with slight alterations). its slightly different than what you did recently. deadlift is difficult to execute (but not impossible!). i sometimes scrape my shins too. try not to get any back injuries. form is 100% important for any exercises. don't curl your lower back, keep it straight. |
Dec 18 2008, 12:17 PM
LOL cool poster! "I'm not here to talk"
I am not an expert so I cannot really give you comments on your workout. But if you feel you're doing it right and you can benefit from your workout, then keep it up! I don't know about barbell squats, since I do mine on the smith machine. Maybe you should stick to your current weight until you get a better form and better balance before moving on to lower reps. |
Dec 22 2008, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Dec 21 2008, 02:48 PM) Just back frm lunch & some time to reflect over my workouts the last 2 weeks. Keep it up, it is your attitude at the beginning of a task that determines success or failure I discovered i m leading a much more healthy lifestyle. I have been to the toilet regularly due to increased eating & more water. Its also due to healthier eating of fruits, nut, oat etc i think. In the past i would strain & spend a long time doing 'big business' till it hurts. Meals are regular too because of my gain weight intention - previously i would jus wake up & had brunch or just laze ard the tv till 3 b4 eating anything. I'm lucky i still don't get gastric. I'm thankful to bodybuilding for this change & resolve to continue the diet & workouts to reach my goals. I amazed to think now that bodybuilding is not just a physical activity but needs lots of spirit to improve physically, involves knowledge of nutrition & human body to go to the nxt level & most of all, its a healthy activity. I can't wait to start working out tomorrow. |
Dec 23 2008, 12:59 PM
hey don't worry about not completing your workout under an hour's time. its not necessary to get it over with ASAP lol.
This post has been edited by wallpaper89: Dec 23 2008, 01:00 PM |
Dec 25 2008, 12:32 PM
Why would your friends say you look sickly? You look fine in that pic on page 1 to me... But glad that your hardwork paid off. There's still a long way to go, so don't get complacent just yet k. Keep it up bro!
Oh and for the deadlifts, don't worry about it. If you feel fine then its probably alright. If you are doing 3x5 and you want to limit it to only one set in your next exercise, you could try increasing the weights drastically. But don't worry about doing 3 sets, darklight did PLENTY of sets on his deadlift day once and still came out in one piece. This post has been edited by wallpaper89: Dec 25 2008, 12:38 PM |
Dec 31 2008, 01:18 PM
You seem to be having fun with the decline bench press. I've never tried it before, I'm gonna follow you and do it next week and see how it feels xD
Jan 1 2009, 12:27 PM
Lol I am planning to do decline with smith so safety and balance-wise there should be no problem, although it might lack the effectiveness barbells can give.
keep up the good work for the year ahead! |
Jan 3 2009, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Jan 2 2009, 08:30 PM) Cardio meaning sth like situps ? I worry burn my calories & none left for my weight gain leh. I think there r only 2 options, either cardio like u said or reduce my calories (lazy man way). Still undecided.. if cardio have to workout longer .. cardio = jogging, swimming, etc, exercises that pump your heart rate. usually involves a lot of calories burning, thus your fats at your tummy can be burned off. i personally prefer swimming > jogging lol.you don't have to reduce your protein intake, just reduce some of your carbs will do. forumers here would suggest you don't take as much rice for dinner as the carbs will not be used after dinner (inactivity period) and hence the carbs will accumulate, leading to your tummy situation lol. eh btw you live in sri petaling?? i live there, and i don't know of any famous claypot chicken rice here also o_O normally for claypot chicken rice i go to PJ old town. they have a shop there famous for it This post has been edited by wallpaper89: Jan 3 2009, 01:22 PM |
Jan 9 2009, 11:03 PM
Congrats on the successful smooth chinnings! What grip do you use for that btw? I used to do hammer grips for biceps and it took me really long just to be able to do 2x8 comfortably. If you use wide-grip to work your lats, I think it's even harder to execute.
For the squats, if you aren't living alone it might be a good idea to get someone to spot for you, so if it isn't going right the spotter can lend a helping hand. Do you use a squat rack or do you lift the barbell from the ground? If its the latter, it will be difficult on you when you want to squat heavier weights next time, and might even be the limiting factor preventing you from squatting heavier than you actually can. |
Jan 11 2009, 12:23 PM
Narrow grip works more biceps, wide-grip works the lats so basically just do whichever one that you aim to hit.
Well that's good, you can ask him to help out then lol. For the long-term however, it would be better to get a squat rack or to join a gym, or to try other variations of squats. I believe there are other squats which do not necessarily require a squat rack, or at least to a lesser extent than that required by the back squat. You could try asking pizzaboy, he's a squat-mania apparently lol. |
Jan 14 2009, 10:10 PM
If doing squats 3 times per week is too taxing drop it to 3 times every 2 weeks, ie do it only on alternate workout days. Last time when I was on Rippetoe's I found it too taxing for me as well
This post has been edited by wallpaper89: Jan 14 2009, 10:12 PM |
Jan 15 2009, 11:13 AM
I don't believe in walls at the end of paths. You have not hit a wall yet, and you never will, because at the end of one path begins another
Jan 17 2009, 11:50 AM
Chicken chop is better than noodles. More protein, less carbs, you wanted to get rid of that tummy anyway
Jan 18 2009, 10:51 PM
Yo, if you're feeling uncomfortable with flat barbell benches you might want to drop it for a different exercise. Just found out from darklight that it may cause injury. This was his post on the progress pics thread:
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jan 18 2009, 07:30 PM) Tell your trainer, drop the flat bench press, the unnatural movement predisposes one to injury, many bodybuilders hav ended their careers due to injuries from that exercise. You can replace it with decline bench press or flat dumbell bench for a more natural movement. You could try replacing it with DB benches, I've just tried it recently too and it feels much more natural than using a barbell/smith machine. The only downside is that I have to use lighter weights otherwise cannot balance it lol. |
Jan 22 2009, 09:53 AM
Happy New Year!
Feb 7 2009, 12:34 PM
LMAO! Chill la, don't worry too much about the fruits. If you're doing dumbbell lateral raises for shoulders, use lighter weights and aim for more reps, 10-15. If you use heavy weight your form will be cacat and it won't be as effective, or at least that's what my personal experience and observations tell me. Even now I'm still doing 5 or 6 kgs x10+ only.
Feb 12 2009, 09:58 PM
LOL ya man, sometimes I get intimidated by the squat too. Very taxing exercise. Don't worry bout it bro, at least you finished your exercise for the day. Working out is about persevering through the hard times as well! Be motivatedddddd~!
Feb 14 2009, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Feb 13 2009, 10:34 PM) Will have to prepare myself mentally for the nxt squat. The moment the bar rests on my shoulders, I feel you bro! |
Feb 18 2009, 10:29 PM
^ Holy shit now that makes me sooo jealous. I want that kinda body too! Still a long way to go...
| Change to: | 0.0327sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:54 AM |