The Watches Thread V1

patryn33
post Aug 16 2009, 08:47 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(xjuen @ Aug 15 2009, 01:34 AM)
Hey guys.
My mum has Gucci and Maurice Lacroix watches that need repairs.
Any of you know good places in KL or JB to do so?
found a few ppl here talking about where to get their watch serviced.
Quite a number of ppl dislike the service from Watches Of Switzerland Repair Centre in Atria Damansara.
someone had good review of AH Lee at Wangsa Maju police station.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/630734/+140

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 16 2009, 08:51 PM
patryn33
post Aug 17 2009, 02:26 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(sembilan @ Aug 16 2009, 09:27 PM)

I was just wondering if anyone can tell me the price of Sinn 756 here in Malaysia? Thanks in advance.
do the proper conversion should be close to this price, esp when U are getting thru AD
http://www.watchbuys.com/store/pc/viewPrd....0&idproduct=320

patryn33
post Aug 17 2009, 09:13 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(sembilan @ Aug 17 2009, 08:55 PM)
thanks patryn33 for the reply. any idea where i can get it in KL?
The Hour Glass!

Added on August 17, 2009, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(lwb @ Aug 17 2009, 07:31 PM)
very techie looking.. nice  rclxms.gif

not cheap la.. if you convert it into how many boxes of chap-fan.. i think it can feed you for +1 month le, ngam bo?
btw, how often do you use the stop watch function?
feed? is very relative? feed as in buying food?
or more.. like paying for a roof, electric, transport, all kinds of bills plus food?

few ppl actually use the stop watch feature. even if 1 use it how many do use it to read the Speed/Rate?
maybe midwivies get to use it more often than Astronauts, granted they need to time contractions.
President Obama also own a Chrono don't think he timed anything.
His vulcain watch maybe more useful, but as President.. Don't need a alarm to keep him in his schedule. LOL

today how many ppl get a watch for practical reasons, aesthetic reasons more likely than anything. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 17 2009, 09:23 PM
patryn33
post Aug 18 2009, 12:11 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Aug 17 2009, 11:03 PM)
why don't you learn how to speak for yourself? instead of masquerading via a 3rd-party reference?

how well do you know obama? perhaps he uses his chrono to time his couming during lfap-time? (to see if he breaks yesterday's record) or perhaps to see how long can he put out a stream of fart via his single-valve, s.o.c.h tummy? there're lots of possibility what one can do with a chrono.. otherwise it would be a disincentive to get a 7750, don't you think?
well, I hardly use my 7750, besides timing how fast I can ans exam qns in the past and timing contractions LOL.
didn't wanna spend the time to think that way.
Thanx you for speaking out for yourself. I should have learn to do that 1st. Didn't know ppl are interested in nobody use of his Chrono watch.
masquerading? abit harsh man...

I believe a good majority of the ppl out there are doing a disincentive to a Chrono watch. I am 1 of them sign... sweat.gif
I seriously doubt ppl like sembilan (getting a Sinn ), Apple_Wannabe (thinking of a Tag Chrono), bengang13 (own a Tag F1 Chrono), hako (getting a IWC Top Gun), andrew1st (own seiko Criteria) use their chrono much. or perhaps they didn't think of all the possibility like U did. Love to see their input.

To those ppl who had done their watch a disservice or disincentive to their watch, what would U like them to do to make U happy?

I only attempted a silly/stupid guess base on the fact he is a president in a bad time. U can think of the possiblily he will be doing despite all the hell the news is reporting he is getting. Well, DO know Obama more than me! Can PM me his direct line to his mobile?

ya don't understand Cantonese "pinyin", "laboo" also Cantonese? forgive me, but is there official Cantonese pinyin out there?
I wonder if refugeez86 understand Cantonese.

patryn33
post Aug 19 2009, 09:31 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Aug 18 2009, 12:06 PM)
you sound like you've put alot of effort at trying to make a statement here.. (but i don't really get your point here at all)
sound also as though your life is dictated by "others"..
plenty of dude are like that, Apple_Wannabe is just part of the larger group. look around U find tons of ppl like that. even FeeD shows concern of Brand. Many ppl think brand = quality too!
take it easy.. chill out.. don't have to be so sour over every little things.
who are U to judge anyway? they are happy being like that so be it.

Added on August 19, 2009, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(lwb @ Aug 18 2009, 11:56 AM)
i now have a clearly idea that you're not even chinese *lol*.. (don't worry, refugeez86 probably understand it clearly!)
note - cantonese is a dialect, henceforth it has no written format.. pinyin, on the other hand, is a mandarin form of writing. (you're definitely trying to shoot in the dark here *lol*)
ya.. need a light like U so bright to enlighten me. I not too bright here.
U wrote in letters and U say no written format? contraction isn't it? or ppl need to shoot in the dark to figure it out?
Not sharp shooter myself.

Cantonese forum tons of ppl writing in Trad Chinese Characters? so what are they?
U clearly stated dialect == no written format?
today Putonghua is beijing dialect. chinese writing what? thats pinyin then?

still waiting for Obama private number in my PM..

Added on August 19, 2009, 9:40 pm
QUOTE(lwb @ Aug 18 2009, 01:20 PM)
you don't need to worry as your casio don't have such problem.. it's like a electric prius that don't even need engine oil *lol*
digress here..
Is there is Full electric prius? back in 2007 there are news the 3rd Gen in 2010 will be full electric, plug in type.
current 2nd Gen Toyota Prius still needs engine Oil.
The coming 3rd Gen also hybrid needs engine oil.

Added on August 19, 2009, 9:47 pm
QUOTE(FeeD @ Aug 19 2009, 01:23 AM)

i like this watches, even if it's not from a well known brand..

should i get it... hmm.gif
MK2 stingyray! I like the custom build specs.
http://www.mkiiwatches.com/WSWrapper.jsp?mypage=cd02_new.htm

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 19 2009, 09:50 PM
patryn33
post Aug 21 2009, 09:42 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(FeeD @ Aug 21 2009, 11:54 AM)
i like this, it's a homage of World War 2 army watches
Laco watches.. not cheap...
http://www.laco.de/lacoeng/history.html

a sneak preview at the review!
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=94009

Introduction
Beobachtungsuhren or short B-Uhren (= observation watch) were made for the German air force during WWII by 5 companies: Lange & Söhne, IWC (both with inhouse movements), Wempe (with Revue Thommen movements), Laco (with Unitas movements) and Stowa (with Durowe movements). Initially they were all made with the type A dial, from 1941 onwards the type B dial was also introduced.
I’ve always been intrigued by the simplicity and straightforward design of both dials. About a year ago I bought the Stowa Flieger with type A dial. Since I’ve always liked the type B dial too I recently added the Laco Serie 0 with type B dial to my collection. There’s a wide range of B-Uhr homages out there, but I liked to have homages made by one of the original 5 producers. Hence the Stowa and Laco were the watches of my choice. Here’s a small comparison of the two contenders.
patryn33
post Aug 21 2009, 11:48 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(us3raff @ Aug 21 2009, 10:04 PM)
Aiya Laco filed for bankcruptcy lor  hmm.gif
u are right filed on 30 Jun 2009.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=280096

interestingly they had a new site up 2 weeks ago still selling watches (still expensive!), not sure they found a invester.
http://www.laco.de/diegeschichte_en.html

sharing their press release
http://www.watchgeeks.net/showthread.php?t=42020
Press release

Drastic recession in sales leads to insolvency. Erich Lacher Uhrenfabrik GmbH & CO. Kg places insolvency request.

The Pforzheimer Uhrenfabrik Erich Lacher placed the insolvency request on 30.06.2009. Managing director Horst Günther stated that, „The tremendous reduction in sales in comparison to the previous year was over 50% - mostly due to the recession and a world-wide depletion of our overall customer base. Competitive price pressures further exacerbated the situation and made bankruptcy unfortunately necessary. Despite intensive efforts and drastic measures we could not adapt the costs to the recession in sales fast enough.“

Erich Lacher, CEO of Uhrenfabrik GmbH & CO. Kg (one of the last true watch factories in Pforzeim) now had to initiate the course to insolvency court. Managing director Horst Günther further stated that, „We can look back on a long and proud tradition. The fact that the current development forced us to place insolvency request makes all this even more hurtful." The enterprise began in 1925 when Mrs. Frieda Lacher, along with her partner Ludwig Hummel, formed Laco & Co. The well-known trademark Laco owes its creation to their foresight and initiative. In the 40's, the legendary flier watches were manufactured. The family transferred the enterprise to Günther in the 1983. Based on their good reputation, Laco resumed the business and established the mark LACO with their renowned over-sized pilot watches. Following their 75th-Year Anniversary, 75 limited copies of the originals flier watches were a big success. For almost 80-years, tying this success to further development of 'Replika Fliegeruhren' was a main staple of the collection.

In the modern manufacturing process, Laco offered a special series of unique designs while maintaining a devotion to mechanical watches. At the same time, Laco also manufactured large numbers of items for other private labels.

Laco further enhanced this tradition by developing many unique accessories. For example, in the year 1995, Laco complete the 'Funk-Uhr' prototype and, in 1999, the highly-stylistic 'Abacus.'" Per Managing director Horst Günther, „All our watches are produced exclusively in Pforzheim by 222 coworkers. This is primarily the reason that the economic development impacts us so hard now. Our goal is to continue business with the provisional insolvency administrator and to minimize as much as possible further job cuts. We are also actively seeking outside investors for our enterprise. We stand ready to negotiate with any/all prospective interested parties and customers. “

Laco's management and staff informed director Günther on 01.07.2009 that insolvency court was inevitable. He thanked them for their commitment, loyalty, and best wishes for the future. „Without our reliable and uniquely-skilled workers, we would not have succeeded in the manufacture of such high-quality watches. I would like to thank, in addition, our banks, the German Federal Armed Forces bank, the savings bank Pforzheim Calw and the cooperative bank Pforzheim EEC, as well as the Pforzheimer law office Ladenburger, which also supported us when we strove to redevelop the enterprise.“, said managing director Horst Günther.

The district court in Pforzheim appointed Mr. Blümle, Chancellor of the TZE & Brown University, as the provisional insolvency administrator. „After this, only a few true watch factories remain in Pforzheim. Accordingly, from my point of view, good prospects exist for our remaining product portfolio and the early insolvency filing of an application. Since also wages and salaries are secured until at least September, production will be kept completely on schedule.“
This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 21 2009, 11:53 PM
patryn33
post Aug 29 2009, 08:26 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Aug 29 2009, 08:06 PM)
replica monaco??
hey everyone need help here...today is my worst day in my life...i drop my tag heuer on the floor and the watch is malfunction but the chrono works...no scratch or crack around the glass and bezel...luckily...but can i tell those who works is tag that it just stop itself??the watch is still in warranty...
U can walk in and tell them that. Act blur and cross your fingers!

Added on August 29, 2009, 8:41 pm
QUOTE(kornflake @ Aug 24 2009, 10:01 PM)
what u guys think of victorinox?
actualy my budget is around rm2k.
looking for something metal bracelet.
preferbly automatic but with that budget i doubt can get?

currently comparing vict classic crono and tissot prc200.
which one would be a better bargain?? or any recomendation?

thanx in advance
looking for chrono..hmm..
both models neither, can get a Hamilton Auto Chrono on grey market with around that budget, better buy.

Added on August 29, 2009, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(bombercycle @ Aug 29 2009, 08:24 PM)
heart pain , luckly my 1 is replica , spoilt then get the new 1 lah
can send for warranty ? is your own mistake leh
most watches are build to tahan a basic drop test on wooden floor.
well, shit happens... why not U think watchmakers open the case can tell what happened to it?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 29 2009, 08:43 PM
patryn33
post Aug 29 2009, 11:42 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(us3raff @ Aug 29 2009, 08:48 PM)
Where u bought that? It's a homage right?
laco still homage? didn't they start making watches in 1940. 1 of the world war 2 makers who made pilot watches.
http://www.watchandclockforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=1414

Laco can get direct online (close to EUR$200), I think JW watch in SG sell a few.
http://www.lacher-shop.de/e_shop/product_i...products_id=188

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 29 2009, 11:42 PM
patryn33
post Aug 30 2009, 03:00 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(don8ld @ Aug 30 2009, 01:07 AM)
Im really in love with the Bvlgari Chrnograph Strap Watch, Looks so classy. Anyone know where can i get a replica version.
Haha. I love it to death more than my toywatch lol
LOL... right on! bombercycle can recommend some good ones.
or google loh.. replica so many sellers

patryn33
post Aug 31 2009, 06:59 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Aug 31 2009, 02:14 AM)
Wow it's freaking cool, how much did it cost you?
if I am wrong its $350 too
http://www.estate123.com/forum%5Cdefault.aspx?g=posts&m=1574

check out how the real concept watch!
http://home.watchprosite.com/show-forumpos.../ti-531906/s-0/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 31 2009, 07:14 AM
patryn33
post Aug 31 2009, 11:29 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(calvinloke @ Aug 31 2009, 10:08 PM)
I'm referring to the Swiss ETA movements as I've heard it is being used in high end replica models. Do tell me more on the Asian ETA movement though. tongue.gif
high high replica are U willing to pay US$300-800 for it?
something like these?
http://www.replicacafe.com/home.php?cat=327

this darn replica even try to fake whats inside!
http://www.watchestar.com/ViewDetails.aspx?ProductID=8591

asian movement - can read about it last 3-4pages.

a nice Asian 6497 movement Swan neck on the bay - US$115 (IMH overprice can get 1 in a Pam homage for under US$100)
http://cgi.ebay.com/Black-Rhodium-Asian-64...id=p3286.c0.m14

a non swan neck version US$40.
http://cgi.ebay.com/17-Jewels-Handwind-Asi...-Movement-with-
Decoration_W0QQitemZ260460993720QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item3ca4af5cb8&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

a swiss version US$134
http://www.ofrei.com/page1201.html

can get asian movement in bulk!
http://www.ec21.com/companies/asian_eta_7750_movement.html

*** not promoting replica!!! ***

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 31 2009, 11:35 PM
patryn33
post Sep 1 2009, 10:13 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(FeeD @ Sep 1 2009, 12:10 AM)
isn't it expensive? close to US$900, limited edition of 50.
http://gnomonwatches.com/DievasAvantGardePrototypeAGP.html

seem like a good deal on a swiss 6497, just US$239
http://www.bernhardtwatch.com/officerswatch.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Sep 1 2009, 10:34 AM
patryn33
post Sep 1 2009, 10:12 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(FeeD @ Sep 1 2009, 04:00 PM)
it's case is virtually scrash prove....lol
I like an expensive scratch proof case!!! also highly resistant to sweat and acid rain!
I just hope the leather also just as resistant! tongue.gif

patryn33
post Sep 3 2009, 12:46 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Sep 2 2009, 12:22 AM)
cham lor like this....hmm...how only can get ley??

its my bf favourite watch... sad.gif
only can look around on ebay or online in that case.
if U extremely lucky maybe some small stores still have old stock lying around.
patryn33
post Sep 3 2009, 10:04 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(bombercycle @ Sep 3 2009, 03:54 PM)
Now i like this
U-Boat Thousand Feet with ETA 7750 movement
50mm case diameter ,
looks like this http://www.chrono24.com/en/uboat/1315920.htm?showpage=2.
price also sweet! over US$5,000

patryn33
post Sep 5 2009, 03:45 AM

3,940 posts

This is so darn cool!

ETA swiss lab teaching how to assemble and disasemble movements

ETA 2892A2
http://www.eta.ch/swisslab/2892A2/2892A2.html

http://www.eta.ch/swisslab/7750/7750.html

http://www.eta.ch/swisslab/6497/6947.html

Quartz 251.471
http://www.eta.ch/swisslab/251471/251471.html

Quartz 205.911
http://www.eta.ch/swisslab/205911/205911.html
patryn33
post Sep 5 2009, 08:31 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Sep 5 2009, 05:01 PM)
nice replica...how much u bought?
anyone know what is the price for ori tag heuer monaco twenty four calibre?Plan to get one at my birthday lol
U talking about the real thing? or replica?
patryn33
post Sep 5 2009, 10:49 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Sep 5 2009, 09:30 PM)
i mean the ori tag heuer monaco 24 calibre...how much is the price?plan to get my 2nd tag
if U meant the original Tag Heuer monaco 24 Chrono, its a concept/prototype watch. Not in production and not selling at this time.
if U have lots of $$$ maybe Tag will let U have their prototype watch
http://www.thewatchquote.com/The-Tag-Heuer...ans-No_6990.htm

if its in production today I think retailing around US$7K. if Grand Carrera level it would be more than US$10K.

U're a definite Tag fan. Not upgrading to a different brand?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Sep 6 2009, 01:06 AM
patryn33
post Sep 8 2009, 05:57 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(bombercycle @ Sep 6 2009, 01:37 AM)
i don' t think the Monaco watch will open for public, very high % will give to their F1 team only
this is only the Tag latest model in my lists
don't know where u get your replicas..
but these on taobao just WOW me.. all under RMB400 pretty much under RM$200!
http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail...d6a4b778064.htm

This post has been edited by patryn33: Sep 9 2009, 12:46 AM

24 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:47 PM