24 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The Watches Thread V1

patryn33
post Oct 16 2009, 08:55 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Apple_Wannabe @ Oct 16 2009, 12:46 AM)
i went to KLCC yesterday, saw a Frank Muller crazy hour WOOHOOOOOOO
it's a great watch and it's funny too! with a price tag of RM 320,000 it ....me....
sadly this recession hurt them quite a bit, they laid off about 40% of their employees.

Added on October 16, 2009, 9:09 am
QUOTE(M@Y @ Oct 16 2009, 04:32 AM)
Frank Muller's Crazy Hour with 18K Gold/Platinum plus some Grand Complication style fetches around RM1k million plus... Correct me if i'm wrong huh.gif
USD$300k for a Grand Complication alittle too much.. here many retails at around US$170-200K.
http://www.thefinestwatches.com/index.cfm/...mplications.htm

below beauty is at a cool US$1M! Patek Philippe Calibre 89 is at US$6M. who can afford these things!
http://www.luxist.com/2009/06/18/2-5-milli...ica-grande-son/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 16 2009, 09:09 AM
patryn33
post Oct 21 2009, 11:16 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Reave @ Oct 21 2009, 04:46 PM)
Dont like fossil, (small budget pun choosy ke? hehe). Think i'll go for CC, got quite nice one for 1k budget.
another jointing the club! 1k rather go Russian! CC Italian brand maybe chinese inside.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1152789

Added on October 21, 2009, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(TarePanda @ Oct 20 2009, 03:41 PM)
Can we buy a watch from distributor directly?
NO, however if U know someone working there thats another story.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 21 2009, 11:17 PM
patryn33
post Oct 22 2009, 08:21 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(FeeD @ Oct 21 2009, 11:49 PM)
russian watches are not cheap...  rclxub.gif

i am aiming for this

it's around 3.1k at redarmywatch tropicana city
redarmy is expensive. Graf Zeppelin I thought is german?
http://www.longislandwatch.com/GZ/Graf_Zep...n_Watches_1.htm
http://www.watchmann.com/grafzeppelinwatch.asp

russian, watch brand that come to mind would be Aviator, Buran, Vostok. Vostok-europe also using Trigalight (Gaseous Tritium Light Source)
I will try something online, http://www.russia2all.com/ a retailer featured on next mth international watch.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 22 2009, 08:43 AM
patryn33
post Oct 23 2009, 08:48 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Salience @ Oct 23 2009, 08:34 AM)
wanna recommend u guys this watch

http://www.barackswatch.com/the-watch/
This Jorg Gray has been riding on the Obama thingy, the US president was seen most wearing the watch (daily beater) designed by him.
didn't even see Vulcain promoting that much on their Cricket Anniversary Heart watch, guess Obama isn't fond of Vulcain.
http://vicepost.com/2009/08/05/president-o...-vulcain-watch/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 23 2009, 08:49 AM
patryn33
post Oct 23 2009, 09:11 AM

3,940 posts

citizen quartz movement... ya sure!

a recap of 219yrs of US President watches
http://www.watchbizz.com/archive/wt_2008_0...2008_06_206.pdf

patryn33
post Oct 23 2009, 08:37 PM

3,940 posts

LOL... I just say its citizen hence it cheap. hey its a quartz no matter what it still "better" than your $7K watch or any of my mechanical in accuracy. So why buy expensive mechanical watches show off?

anyway, the retail price of the movement is a cool US$27.
http://jewelerssupplies.com/shop-bin/sc/pr...c41c1067c844122

I guess whats on ppl's head is "Cheap things not good, good things not cheap."

patryn33
post Oct 26 2009, 11:18 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Oct 26 2009, 09:17 PM)
very hard to find Citizen watches retailer....in KL.... not many places carry it
equally hard to find a Citizen fan! rclxms.gif
patryn33
post Oct 27 2009, 09:41 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Oct 27 2009, 10:56 AM)
Finally my watch was sent to distributor for repair yesterday due to the sapphire glass was crack after 1st drop

The cost to repair the sapphire glass is RM 158.

However, the front desk girl ask me whether should I complete overhaul the watch since I drop the watch. Cost is RM 530 and i agreed. Complete overhaul included change oil, check the movement, change tube if necessary, etc. ( wonder if there any extra charge if tube need to change.)

My question is,
I bought the watch for less than 7 months. Don't you think that the 'complete overhaul' should be under warranty?
The manual book clearly stated that the warranty exclude the glass, bezel and case only.
U drop the watch, such service is not covered by the warranty.

Added on October 28, 2009, 7:58 am
intro a young brand TX watch co. I guess those who low Seiko with multiple subdials may like their design.
retails (b4 discount): US$375 to US$700
http://www.txwatches.com/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 28 2009, 07:58 AM
patryn33
post Oct 28 2009, 11:02 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Oct 28 2009, 09:53 AM)
I read in the manual stated that warranty is not cover in crystal and case only...

For example,

Let say you bought a Ferrari for a month, assume it stated the engine will be fine even you wreck your car (In ball term, it stated shock resistance is 5,000G) you accidentally hit your pumper and crack (my case, crystal crack)...

You sent it for repair and the service center said they better check the whole car coz scare that any electronic device affected by such shock (my case, movement of my watch)...and they charge you few thousand for the service, exclude the pumper cost...

I mean, you can say it's your fault but my benchmark of good dealer should be checking for FOC within warranty period.

Just my 2 cents
there isn't warranty out there today. Its Limited warranty. U ought to read it more carefully.
Ball did state its shock resistance is at 5000G when the glass crack, since U did not measure the strength of impact its in their favor. U can try sue them. for those who got a Ferrari I bet Ferrari is smart enough to cover their Ass for such damage.
and BTW U bought a Ball in prestige wise its not even close to a Ferrari by comparison. if u got a PP @ US$200K every yr maybe there is leeway.

Its the same deal with Tag Heuer, I sent my watch in for change of battery, they change it and it didn't run. U would think its their fault but hell no, they make U pay to overhaul the watch to get it running! BTW that had happened to me more than 1 time. so its not the dealer fault, U can do it in Malaysia, USA, Singapore same Sh*t they will give U. With that U should stay away from Ball watches in general not the dealer.

http://www.abt.com/images/products/PDF_Fil...ners_Manual.pdf
BALL International Warranty

Built to exceed traditional Swiss watchmaking standards, your BALL watch is warranted
by Ball Watch Company, Inc for a period of twenty-four months from the date of
purchase under the terms and conditions of this warranty. You are cordially invited to
register at our web site www.ballwatch.com during the initial 24-month period after
purchase for free extended twelve months warranty to effectively cover your BALL
watch by a total of thirty-six months warranty period. The international warranty covers
material and manufacturing defects.
The warranty will only be valid when the warranty
card is dated, fully and correctly completed and stamped by a BALL Authorized Dealer.
During the warranty period and by presenting the valid warranty card, you are entitled to
have any manufacturing defect repaired free of charge.
In the event that repairs are
unable to restore the normal conditions, Ball Watch Company, Inc guarantees its
replacement by a BALL watch of identical or similar characteristics. The warranty for the
replacement watch ends twenty-four months after the date of replacement of the replaced
watch.

The international warranty does not extend to the bracelet or glass nor does it cover any
damage done to the watch and the movement by humidity entering the watch because of
a handling error.
The normal wear and tear and aging of the watch will not be covered
under this warranty. We reserve the right to relinquish all responsibilities under this
guarantee for repair if the watch is tampered with or damaged by unauthorized persons
other than BALL Authorized Service Centers.
This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 29 2009, 03:38 AM
patryn33
post Oct 29 2009, 08:59 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Oct 29 2009, 11:20 AM)
If they're not up to my expectation, too bad...but I heard a number of good customer service in M'sia...especially for free calibration within warranty period smile.gif
true, but never free due to handling error. manufacture defects yea.

patryn33
post Nov 2 2009, 12:11 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Oct 30 2009, 04:46 PM)
By the way, when will retailer provide free calibration?
U mean, regulate the watch? when? its not about when. should your watch run out of the specs the retailer will regulate it for free.
should it run within specs even it is at the worst end, they will not do anything about it.

patryn33
post Nov 2 2009, 06:47 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Oct 30 2009, 06:05 PM)
Can someone advise me on the prices of Graf Zeppelin watches? Also where to view them..

Edit: Oh... I looked back one page, tropicana city? The last time I went there so empty.. Any place else to see Graf Zeppelin watches?
to get an idea of prices can check online.. stores prices usually higher.
http://www.graf-zeppelin.ch/e/
http://www.aviation-time.com/230/Junkers/Zeppelin

fans of greman brands usually start off with Stowa, Nomos and move on to more expensive brands.
few would go for Guinand watch ( http://www.guinand-watch.com/ )

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 2 2009, 06:52 AM
patryn33
post Nov 3 2009, 12:44 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Nov 2 2009, 12:16 PM)
Yea man, I checked out those websites. Whats up with Junkers totally using Bell & Ross' designs for some models??? Some even use Panerai's fonts!
square? no patent that kinda of look. wonder if anyone complained with the traditional round case and the fonts used 20-30yrs ago.
many other company making watches with that kinda look too.

same parent co. !!!!
http://www.pointtec.de/zeppelin/
http://www.pointtec.de/junkers/

companies with B&R look
http://www.revue-thommen.ch/instrument.htm
http://www.steinhartwatches.de/index.php?id=67&Sel_ID=25
Invicta watch (yucks I dislike this brand)
Debaufre (quality seem to drop after they break away from Steinhart)
ESQ

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 3 2009, 11:34 AM
patryn33
post Nov 3 2009, 11:21 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Nov 3 2009, 12:13 PM)
Erm... I dunno, I feel that Bell & Ross kinda represents that design. Something like how Frank Muller represents their unique rectangular watches with their fonts. Or how Rolex's Submariner only looks right with a Rolex logo.

Some of Graf Zeppelin's models look like Glashutte too hehe, but they have some very unique and original ones.

Seeing those Junkers with B&R designs is like seeing a shirt with a Nike logo but it says Adidas  tongue.gif
LOL, to an vintage watch collector.. Pam square pillow case look like a copy of the very early rolex just larger case.
Submariner, so many similar copies... Tag, Longines etc all kinda have the same look. diver watch today pretty much have this design, so when I should go for a diver watch it got to be Submariner or u just wearing a homage (if have similar look)?

thats a interesting analogy, logo is synonyms with brand today u can't break it apart. I think more like a ferrari car with proton logo. tongue.gif

patryn33
post Nov 6 2009, 12:07 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(LordReaper @ Nov 2 2009, 03:09 PM)
how to remove scratch from a watch?
izzit available to remove scratch or just change the mirror of the watch in watches shop? 
hello can anyone answer me? =(
check out this thread.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1178408&hl=

Added on November 6, 2009, 3:21 am
QUOTE(ken_jr @ Nov 3 2009, 11:02 AM)
i've been slightly poisoned by Ball watches..
what do you guys think about Ball ?
looking for a "steal" a pre-own going for US$1550, bought at US$3400.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=303943

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 6 2009, 03:21 AM
patryn33
post Nov 9 2009, 10:43 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Nov 9 2009, 04:18 PM)
Btw... About Stowa watches. Is online purchase the only way? or are there any retailers who has them? Kinda out of my budget though... but im loving the Marine Original Romeon!! DAMNIT!!!!! I believe I found my watch. Or is it the other way around?
only very few Stowa models can be bought in stores (in Germany). of course its more expensive then going thru Stowa, U should be aware of all the additional cost of store space, rent, electric, sales ppl etc.

in Malaysia, not that I am aware of. if they do they are certainly not AD.
Stowa do build quality watches, case and leather are made in europe. according to what i had read, they do not just regulate the bought ETA movements unlike most brands that use unmod ETA movements, they take the movement apart for inspection, put them together and regulate.
should it fail they do repeat the process. thats is why there is long wait time on all their watches.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=144115

U can try your luck on watchuseek seeking a used item. they usually don't go very cheap, perhaps at 20% off the retail. strong demand for their watches somehow online.

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(sinoffire @ Nov 9 2009, 03:35 PM)
guys, aint sure if this Q has been asked before but i wanna know how much is the new seiko ananta priced at?? damn poisoning ler.... icon_question.gif
IIRC the retail prices are publish on http://www.seiko-ananta.com/jp/index.html#/home website. just check it out there.
cheapest start at 7500rm and it goes up to rm$25.6k.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 9 2009, 10:52 PM
patryn33
post Nov 18 2009, 10:32 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(FedUp @ Nov 18 2009, 09:44 AM)
Does panerai offer discount up to 28-30% like tags , omega & etc?
omega discount is just 18%
Tag is close to 25%. 28-30% hard to get man...
where U go shop for watches.. can get 28-30% on Omega etc..
Your lobang so good, I bet Panerai can get a steal too!

Added on November 18, 2009, 10:34 am
QUOTE(riskbreaker @ Nov 18 2009, 09:57 AM)
Wanna to ask u guys regarding any watch made from Germany? Im looking for it and any sifu know please do let me know ya~~ Military or modern also can. Thanks...
German watch
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=3277
A. Lange & Soehne
Alexander Shorokhoff
Almanus
Alpha Time
A.Mantei
Archimede (by Ickler)
Arctos
Aristo Vollmer
Ars eTempus
Askania Uhren
Autran & Viala (by Ickler)
Bagger & Gehring
Bethge
Blancier Lotterman & Söhne
Botta
Braun
Brior
Bruno Soehnle
Bunz
Chronosport now Guinand
Chronoswiss
Churpfälzische UhrenManufactur
Costro by Peter Göttert
Damasko
DEFAKTO
D. Dornblueth & Sohn
Egon Hummel
Erhard Junghans
Erwin Sattler
Forum
Fricker
Garde
George J Von Burg
Germano
Glashuette Original
Graf Zeppelin
Guinand
Hacher
Haldi
Hanhart
Heinrich Geisen
Hemess
Hentschel
Holdermann & Sohn
Jacques Etoile
JB-Gioacchino
Jochen Benzinger
John Harrison
Joerg Schauer
Jubilar
Joyeux
Junghans
Junkers
Kadloo
Kazimon
Kronsegler
Kurth
Laco
Lang & Heyne
Leumas
Limes
Lindburgh & Benson
Marcello C.
Martin Braun
Maximilian
Mechanische Zeitinstrumente
Meer
Meistersinger
MM uhren
Montano
MSC uhren
Muehle Glashuette
Nauticfish
N.B Yäeger
Niessing
Thomas Ninchritz
Nimbus
Nivrel
Nomos Glashütte
Otium
Otto Berger
Otto Schlund
Philippe Rosen
Rainer Brand
Rainer Nienaber
Rheinmeister
Riedenschild
Sainbach
Schauble & Soehne
Schaumburg
Schempp
Schmeltzer 1881
Schneider Manufaktur
Sinn
Sothis
Steinhart
Stowa
Temption
Thiel-Ruhla
Tourby Watches Hagen
Tutima
Union Glashuette
UTS
Volker Vyskocil
Wempe
Zeppelin Uhren

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 18 2009, 10:34 AM
patryn33
post Nov 18 2009, 12:28 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(FedUp @ Nov 18 2009, 11:36 AM)
I'm not too sure about the current discount on watches so im just giving a rough figure. Panerai offer discount is up to?
Panerai.. IIRC no discount, today poor econ maybe U can get a few percent (1-5%).
get preown and U could find them at 25% off.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30

preown prices are higher in July
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=281301

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 18 2009, 12:34 PM
patryn33
post Nov 18 2009, 10:38 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Nov 18 2009, 03:59 PM)
do you guys know what type of watches is this?
[attachmentid=1311562]
OMG! Harvard grad asking such qns...
The intelligence of a Harvard grad and the connections a Harvard Bschool grad have should narrow this down in seconds!

patryn33
post Nov 26 2009, 03:19 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(NickyKhoo @ Nov 25 2009, 11:24 AM)
Guys any1 know how much this watch cost? i cant find in penang area.
http://www.longines.com/watches/the-longin...n/L2.666.4.51.7
around 9300 b4 discount.
u can order it thru the ADs.

Added on November 26, 2009, 11:06 amsharing a young brand. swiss made, prices start from us$225
http://www.christopherward-usa.com/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 26 2009, 11:11 AM

24 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:29 AM