The Watches Thread V1

patryn33
post Jul 28 2009, 12:35 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 28 2009, 12:07 AM)
Yeah I meant Nataf. I googled, and found out he was fired recently. The Zenith of today is a product of Nataf.
fire? I thought he left to pursue something outside. he has been around for quite sometime.. 2001 to 2009.

anyway, care to share how u learn your watch making skills?

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jul 28 2009, 12:35 AM
patryn33
post Jul 28 2009, 01:40 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 28 2009, 01:14 AM)
Well, I'm a mechanical designer (what the French and Germans call a Konstrukteur) by training, so I design precision mechanisms. But I work now as something else. I used to repair old mechanical cameras as a hobby. Compared to cameras, watches are peanuts. They are very simple, very abbreviated, very elegant solutions. The design of most classical movements is very stable, with only the most minor changes from model to model, unlike even old cameras where each new model entails a complete redesign of everything inside. (The exceptions are exotic movements.)

I restored my grandfather's pendulum clock when I was 16. It was bloody, because the mainspring sprang open and cut a deep wound into my thumb. Etc. But it ticks now, and has an incredible wire gong.

I also read a lot about it.

But I'm no longer in touch with mechanics. I mostly manage people nowadays. Now those are even more complicated than old cameras.

Added on July 28, 2009, 1:17 amleft on own wish to pursue other interests = fired

BTW, try searching for Thierry nataf on timezone. Do it.
European culture... hmm.. can't really tell what they mean by just that sentence without any background.
some actually did leave to start up their own business or what not. having work with Germans/Finnish/Brits don't really know.
a quick scan on timezone, plenty of haters, plenty of rumor too! Rolex, Hamilton, Omega etc..
judging from that, Fired is very likely! ya certainly no shame... he did tried his best. U find ppl loving their design. I like the crazy defy design too, but its just super expensive! Now I like their classic elite models.

if the New CEO moves away from the crazy design.. prices of those wacky type may drop quite a bit. Can keep an eye on the LVMH friends and family sale postings on fatwallet.com. Even when they say no resale, U still find plenty getting exchanged!

Oh... Mechanical engineer! no wonder U appreciate the mechanics in such detail. No Mechanical engineer here.. didn't have the passion until late 20s.
few ppl actually look at watches the way U do. Most ppl its status, fashion, some even go to deep and say its a expression of ones character like the clothes they wear. Like Real.
people are more complex of course! LOL..
Guess I need to find a way so I can start bottom up...

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jul 28 2009, 01:50 AM
patryn33
post Jul 28 2009, 09:40 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 28 2009, 12:21 PM)
I think it is, for so much steel, so many hands (7), so many subsidiary dials (4?), and so much lettering.
Its funny.. U just gave him what he wanted to hear!

for his budget, wanted a fashionable watch that ppl recong... thats is good deal!
watch.. wear it, enjoy it!

but what I wanna to know is how freq will andrew1st use the chrono feature.
what to time? maybe runner, swimmer, racer!!

patryn33
post Jul 29 2009, 12:17 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Jul 28 2009, 11:45 PM)

but i think i wont buy him a fake 1..wan2 buy also buy a original 1 lah..can last longer...

izzit meant to be for guys?? or gal pakai 1 the watch?  unsure.gif
swatch watches, I say Unisex esp the model U looking at.
all swatch watches come with plastic face, like baby G.

orginal swatch != longer lasting. QC isn't that strict.
nice thing is if broke, an automatic can be fix easily!

patryn33
post Jul 29 2009, 09:41 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(andrew1st @ Jul 29 2009, 09:20 PM)
u r so sarcastic!!
oh... buy and hardly use... that also sarcastic? nothing wrong with loving æsthetics also.
and didn't I speak the truth.. when kotmj gave U want U wanna hear..
U are 1 funny guy too. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jul 29 2009, 09:43 PM
patryn33
post Jul 30 2009, 01:35 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 30 2009, 12:05 AM)
So patryn33, what are your views on Rolex?
simple watch not fancy features, build to last.. many ppl love it.
great resale value. renown brand.
crazy with COSC certification.. I think rolex should have their own standard like PP.
I don't really care for it, ladies love it!

whats your take? U getting 1?

patryn33
post Jul 30 2009, 10:09 PM

3,940 posts

Seiko Credor! I seen this model in a mag somewhere. if I do dig it out will share with U.

for now.. about spring drive!! a great read.. I bet U understand the mechanics a whole LOT better than me.. blush.gif
http://www.watchbizz.com/archive/wt_2005_0...2005_06_136.pdf
http://www.watchbizz.com/archive/wt_2007_0...2007_06_214.pdf

patryn33
post Jul 31 2009, 01:06 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 30 2009, 11:00 PM)
wow student also wear sub nowadays..  ohmy.gif
U'll be surprise how rich students these days!
found 1 Uni student, owns like 5-6 watches, sell them away away can easily afford a Rolex Daytona!!!

patryn33
post Jul 31 2009, 05:39 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jul 31 2009, 01:30 AM)
haha thank you everyone for their feed backs on zenith especially to "kotmj" and "patryn33"

to be honest its not a big thing if its an old stock haha if its nice in my eyes then i'll just take it! biggrin.gif

wow 50-70% that's pretty low, some peeps asked me to wait for the lvmh sales, anyone has any idea when will it be in Malaysia?

i went to the luxury clearance for valiram group and the omegas were at 50% discount or lowerr
omega at 50%.. No wonder didn't buy.. they are mostly New Old Stock?
I had seen ppl going to such event, most of the items are new old stock, other than those extremely expensive pieces.

LVMH sales, not sure.. even in SG sales not open to timepieces. Only in USA online! or at those Tourneau outlets.

when I was younger at 23yr i also anti New old stock, after so many yrs.. I don't mind NOS man! wear 2yrs also Old model!
Rolex even better model hardly change, old 1 and new not much diff in design

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jul 31 2009, 08:03 AM
patryn33
post Jul 31 2009, 09:24 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 31 2009, 02:46 PM)
Nice read. I keep hearing about Spring Drive, but it's only now I bothered to understand what it is about. And I am not impressed. I wrote earlier that the mechanical watch has a simple spring, a simple gear train, and one of the most ingenious inventions of all time -- the escapement. The Spring Drive keeps the simple stuff but replaces the escapement with a quartz oscillator. This is very much missing the point of a mechanical watch.
LOL..
a ideal U would think others will come up...
nontheless Seiko pioneer it. Anyway, aren't escapement tech is key focus of todays watch making industry.
after the co-axial thingy.. CVD carbon/diamond/silicon usage are being looked at.
the up and downs of co-axial is fun read, rejected by Rolex.. PP making life difficult for Sir George Daniels gave him a ultra thin movement like 2mm to work with. Got it to work, still rejected him.
really ppl are harder to work with! sweat.gif

patryn33
post Aug 3 2009, 03:10 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(happymilk @ Aug 3 2009, 12:18 AM)
do you guys know what is the price range for Breitling watches?
cheapest is quartz range from rm$7000 and up
auto range from rm$8400 and up, I heard can get a high as 25% discount. usual expect 20%.

Added on August 3, 2009, 3:14 am
QUOTE(fakhree @ Aug 2 2009, 10:55 PM)
anyone know where to buy luminox watches?
no idea, why not shop online?
eg
http://www.luminoxshop.com/

tech and design similar to Traser. can find them easier.
http://www.traserh3watches.com/en/dealer/dealer.php
Karisma Wira SDN BHD
15, Jalan Jelatek 2
Pusat Perniagaan Jelatek
54200 Kuala-Lumpur

Dievas also similar, but they use a mix of swiss and jap quartz movement
http://www.gnomonwatches.com/Dievas.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 3 2009, 03:22 AM
patryn33
post Aug 3 2009, 04:59 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(VvendettaV @ Aug 3 2009, 03:40 AM)
any1 got experience with titus watch??? last 2days i went to watch shop and i see a titus quartz with a leather strap, the price is 790 after discount it cost around 370...and got 5 year warranty for battery...issit a good price???
-any suggestion for leather strap watch with rm600 budget???
my mum wearing a titus watch.. bought in her younger days. manual winding, still running of course after routine servicing and a major fixing a few yrs back. main spring broke.

the newer titus, no idea. swiss quartz can last 5yrs? many run for a good 3yrs. I guess its free battery on your 3th yr.
mens watch? your nick I can't tell.
even ladies today may see a men's watch.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 3 2009, 05:11 AM
patryn33
post Aug 3 2009, 08:14 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(VvendettaV @ Aug 3 2009, 05:19 AM)
^
yea, men's watch...
can't really recommend without knowing what U seek. dress watch something like below?
under 600 budget, most ppl try Seiko.
want something more bang for the buck try Orient. or u dying for a Swiss?
http://www.orient-watch.com/support/distributors.html

http://www.pmwf.com/Watches/WATCHSALES05/O...rCDBAA003A0.htm
http://www.puritime.com/cart.php?c=23&m=product_list

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 3 2009, 08:14 AM
patryn33
post Aug 4 2009, 10:02 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Aug 4 2009, 09:53 PM)
Hey, about the lvmh sales, i think it was a few months back. I remember reading it somewhere on that very night but it was almost midnight. tongue.gif

It seems Tag's were going for 50% as well but i'm not sure whether it is the newer models.
TAG? I think they are mostly surplus stocks and they do come with the 2yr warranty.
unlike Dior and Zenith they are AS IS.
too bad they are not shipping overseas, but U do them getting traded online on fatwallet, timezone, watchuseek etc.

patryn33
post Aug 5 2009, 10:10 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 5 2009, 02:09 PM)
It looks better in person than the catalog pics you posted earlier. It's a very masculine watch, so now you'll need to go to the gym and lift very heavy weights to grow more forearm hair to match the watch.
lift weights can grow hair!!
a quicker way my friend did, just keep shaving.. soon U'll grow thick hairs on likes on your head. tongue.gif

Added on August 5, 2009, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(hako @ Aug 5 2009, 10:04 PM)
i'm planning to get a IWC TG. any idea where can i get one?
IWC Top Gun the 44mm or 46mm? Have the $$ just order from AD!
http://www.horomundi.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1512
http://www.thewatchquote.com/IWC-Pilot-s-W...799-No_6138.htm

someone got it new at US$7000 back in 2008. today suggested retail is at US$10,900.00
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=182297

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 5 2009, 10:18 PM
patryn33
post Aug 6 2009, 12:55 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:08 PM)
Can you guys distinguish a fake or authentic TagHeuer by just looking at it??
No way!
patryn33
post Aug 6 2009, 01:23 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(KLX213 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:16 PM)
this guy must be hating all his life  tongue.gif
QUOTE(KLX213 @ Aug 6 2009, 12:56 AM)
Haha, wrong section, go F urself
Hmm.. I don't get it either? Wrong section, U are certain U're posting on the right thread? Your last 2 posts here certainly aren't watch related.
seem like U are all stress out, B4 telling ppl to go F urself, maybe U should try out urself that should get rid of the tension.

patryn33
post Aug 6 2009, 09:39 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Aug 6 2009, 09:28 PM)
yea man i understand totally....but the stuff they can afford I can't...lol....so will have to stick with fossil....I do know that burberry and some other designer brand's watches are actually fossils...although they don't count as premium watches....
plenty of ppl fall under this group! Not everyone can afford a mid range Rolex or IWC.
check out this poor man watch forum!
http://www.pmwf.com/

nice read..
http://www.europastar.com/europastar/magaz...t_id=1000751981
Fossil was founded in 1984 by Tom and Kosta Kartsotis, brothers, currently Chairman of the Board and CEO respectively, focusing on fashion and value at a time when no company was really doing that. The image the company communicated was vintage Americana, which turned out to be a huge homerun. Quartz movements from the Orient helped Fossil design and manufacture price point critical timepieces, fashion statements that could be mixed and matched, and repurchased when fashion changed, and the Fossil company was born. Since 1984, the company has experienced astounding growth. In 1993, with revenues of just over $70 million, the company went to Wall Street and became a NASDAQ listed company trading under the symbol FOSL.

Licensees
Fossil has been very successful with its own brands and this success has led to companies coming to Fossil to create licensed watch lines. The licensed watch lines that Fossil designs, manufactures and distributes include Burberry, DKNY, Armani, Columbia and Diesel.
"Fossil has done an incredible job over the last 20 years building a powerful business in the US and globally," says Steve Bock, President, Luxury Division, Fossil, Inc. "Given that success, one of the results has been the ability and opportunity to build businesses with brands like Emporio Armani and Burberry."
When working on a licensed brand, Fossil has to make sure that the brand fits with Fossil's approach, and then the creative teams are set to work understanding the brand. Each brand has its own style language which Fossil has to integrate into the licensed watches.
"Generally, when approaching a project involving the launch of a new brand, we'll get together with representatives of the brand concerned and our group teams (industrial designers, graphic designers, project managers, etc.) and brainstorm," explains Diarmuid Bland, Senior Vice President, Watch Product Development, Fossil. "We'll come up with a foundation for product development, always consulting with the commercial side, and the teams flesh out into specific sketches, line art, computer design and more. We have rapid prototyping facilities here in the offices and in our product development groups around the world, where we can build size and shape representative prototypes in resin or brass. Then we work with the factories, then prototyping on a mass scale. From there, we come out with a result we are all pleased with."
Fossil is open to new licensee relationships, but it has to be a good fit or it won't happen. "The licensing goes both ways - we sometimes seek out companies that would be a good fit and we get contacted on a weekly basis," says Kurt Hagen, Vice President, Relic/Michael Kors, Columbia/Private Label, New Licensing. "One thing we are looking for is brands that we can fit into our international network. We look for brands that complement our existing distribution or allow us to tackle new distribution."
This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 7 2009, 12:30 AM
patryn33
post Aug 7 2009, 12:32 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Aug 6 2009, 03:24 PM)
replica watch collection.
U too kinda, pics like that... could be jpg collection.
I also can show a few AV actress pics and claim they are my mistress!! tongue.gif

patryn33
post Aug 7 2009, 09:53 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Aug 7 2009, 10:12 AM)
Hah pat, then how do they recognize authentic and replica.
just looking at it? replica also has grade.
cheap ones U can tell easily, like iamsobloodysick said if u know the product well enough, that is if U are looking at the markings or listening.
in fact the real cheapo ones its darn easy, esp those with magnifier on the date.. don't magnify.. definately fake!
more expensive - U may have to put it under a scope and see closely.. very hard if U are not familar with the type of finishing. easiest way to tell is open the watch!

regarding the anology, on cars... ppl can easily afford a RX 330 don't care what ppl say. if U really wanna buy something expensive just to show off and wanna hear ppl say things like "Wow.. real man!!!!" U are shallow.
better do doing something else to make ppl aware that U have the $$.

Added on August 7, 2009, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(bombercycle @ Aug 7 2009, 10:02 AM)
to me mid range original watch is to the ppl who aim on second hand value or investment, for me i can't forever love a single watch, so i still prefer playing replica, coz i can collect many brand of watch
tell your the fact
i hv a fren who wearing ori rolex , every time we meet out he sure will ask me showing him my watch, even he know that is replica, but he just like to point out the different and show off he is wearing a original watch, maybe that is the way to push up his standard
I doubt anyone owning a mid tier ORIGINAL watch is aiming on 2nd hand value or investment, cause there are NONE to begin with. 1100% of the time, Just lose money!
just see this Maurice Lacroix, if U get thru AD in SG maybe over SG$6K, now thru grey market only SG$2350!
http://www.jwwatch.com/showpro_details.asp?id=38&cat=150

interesting thought... collecting many "brand".. thats a refreshing idea on replica. More like collecting the design, not the REAL BRAND.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 8 2009, 05:01 AM

24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:42 PM