Movies The ALIEN Movies Thread, Prometheus 2: PARADISE LOST (2017)
QuickFire
Dec 23 2011, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Dec 23 2011, 03:55 PM) Chuckle - time for you to watch the first movie already... The entire movie the cast nobody is main... although some say its Noomi Rapace that will be the lead... Well she has a bit of that Sigourney Weaver vibe around her, although she doesn't have that classic Weaver motherly trait. There's a shot of a character's head upside down in the trailer, I think it was right after the title PROMETHEUS is fully revealed. Anyone else think that shot resembles Ripley? Was that Rapace's face?
hairyLGS
Dec 23 2011, 04:40 PM

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 23 2011, 04:17 PM) Well she has a bit of that Sigourney Weaver vibe around her, although she doesn't have that classic Weaver motherly trait. There's a shot of a character's head upside down in the trailer, I think it was right after the title PROMETHEUS is fully revealed. Anyone else think that shot resembles Ripley? Was that Rapace's face? It is Rapace alright (confirm by certain sites)... but what is she doing upside down is the question. All of a sudden... I think of Roger Corman's Galaxy of Terror... This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Dec 23 2011, 04:42 PM
stormlcc
Dec 23 2011, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(luckykid5 @ Dec 23 2011, 03:44 PM) what exactly is this "space jockey"? cant recall it in alien series. and i thought charlize theron is the main actress in this movie, seems like one of the sub character only. from a short glimpse from the trailer, possible android or alien infected also.. so meaning most likely this character will die in this movie. sigh... u need to watch the first Alien to remember it. or u just can use google
BelowAverage
Dec 23 2011, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Dec 23 2011, 02:23 PM) Will never know until its out. Michael Fassbender as an android... More entirely, after what I read about what this movie plot will be... I do have some doubts. Its not easy how they going to pull this how even though they did say its not entirely connected to 1979's Alien but some what the essence is there. The derelict ship, the space jockey... the acid sequence... What's even more deeper than that is how true the trailer is showing a few things, which I do have fear what it might turn out even... but I am crossing fingers until June next year and hope it will really answer all the questions there is. Also, Prometheus takes place in the year of 2080, 30 years prior to Alien... I think a lot of things will be answered... and hopefully, its a satisfying one as well if able to deliver well. agreee! I mean looking at aliens fighting is cool, but the recent alien vs predator, its like looking at the alien nothing special or scary Last time the alien come out here and there, omg scary like f***
hairyLGS
Dec 23 2011, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Dec 23 2011, 10:09 PM) agreee! I mean looking at aliens fighting is cool, but the recent alien vs predator, its like looking at the alien nothing special or scary Last time the alien come out here and there, omg scary like f*** I just hope FOX just put AVP aside and think what is best for the franchise and not just about making money. Here's one interesting fact:- » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « In Prometheus, the company is called Weyland only. The merger between Weyland_Yutani is not even there yet in the movie At the end of AVPR, when I saw the finale of how it end, it does make me wonder who these two merge as one... and the story behind it... even though AVPR is
kobe8byrant
Dec 23 2011, 11:32 PM
The film ends where Alien begins so I think we can stop debating the end already since Scott told us that much.
But dayum, this looks sick but I cannot be the only one who got the Dead Space vibe from the trailer, can I? I am sold.
vivienne85
Dec 23 2011, 11:59 PM
the trailer looked promising
stormlcc
Dec 24 2011, 02:06 AM
re-watched the making of alien - the beast within. the chest burst scene is just epic, and the actors freaking out (literally) especially the blond girl who was really in shock is awesome! Ridley is so good!
hairyLGS
Dec 24 2011, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Dec 24 2011, 02:06 AM) re-watched the making of alien - the beast within. the chest burst scene is just epic, and the actors freaking out (literally) especially the blond girl who was really in shock is awesome! Ridley is so good! It was one of the original scenes of its time and it still is. Veronica Cartwright (the blonde girl) really got the shocked of her life...
wiNd
Dec 26 2011, 09:06 PM
hfi
Dec 27 2011, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Dec 23 2011, 11:32 PM) The film ends where Alien begins so I think we can stop debating the end already since Scott told us that much. But dayum, this looks sick but I cannot be the only one who got the Dead Space vibe from the trailer, can I? I am sold. You're not the only one. The original Alien was well crafted by Ridley and it was so way ahead of its time that many good sci horror tried to re-emulate. Event Horizon, Dead Space to name a few. I really like the trailer a lot, i get the the original Alien vibe from watching it and that could only be a good thing. This post has been edited by hfi: Dec 27 2011, 06:07 PM
vivienne85
Dec 27 2011, 07:24 PM
the background music=eerie..awesome
QuickFire
Dec 27 2011, 09:25 PM
Two thirds of the movie will be slow atmospheric greatness ala the first Alien. It then all hinges on how good the last act will be, the obviously grand, slam bang finale with the admittedly great-looking CGI. This last act will determine if this is a great movie or a merely decent one.
From the looks of the teaser anyway.
wiNd
Dec 30 2011, 11:36 AM
Ridley Scott promises that one big question from his 79's scifi will be answered...
smallbug
Dec 30 2011, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(wiNd @ Dec 30 2011, 11:36 AM) Ridley Scott promises that one big question from his 79's scifi will be answered...  the jockey?
domcobb
Dec 30 2011, 08:26 PM

Mentah mental Scott's explaination on the space jockey is its fighting incoming predators aerial battleship!  sambung balik AVP punya story! This post has been edited by domcobb: Dec 30 2011, 08:26 PM
hairyLGS
Dec 30 2011, 08:54 PM

QUOTE(domcobb @ Dec 30 2011, 08:26 PM) Mentah mental Scott's explaination on the space jockey is its fighting incoming predators aerial battleship!  sambung balik AVP punya story!  Ai yoh... you think Ridley will really sambung itu trash meh...
domcobb
Dec 30 2011, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Dec 30 2011, 08:54 PM) Ai yoh... you think Ridley will really sambung itu trash meh...  Haha. Kidding, dude but the 2 AVP movie are just, in your word, trash!
hairyLGS
Dec 30 2011, 10:15 PM

QUOTE(domcobb @ Dec 30 2011, 09:49 PM) Haha. Kidding, dude but the 2 AVP movie are just, in your word, trash! totally - why they made it as slugfest is beyond me. Paul W.S. Anderson - while I do enjoy his Death Race (yes, I know some of you don't), Mortal Kombat and Event Horizon, this is his worst take on AVP... and then the sequel is just No more AVP 3... just leave it as these two is enough and hope FOX really have the brains for it...
vivienne85
Dec 30 2011, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Dec 30 2011, 10:15 PM) totally - why they made it as slugfest is beyond me. Paul W.S. Anderson - while I do enjoy his Death Race (yes, I know some of you don't), Mortal Kombat and Event Horizon, this is his worst take on AVP... and then the sequel is just No more AVP 3... just leave it as these two is enough and hope FOX really have the brains for it... +1