GaMinG HeadseT Club, GameRz Lai!
Yagami5159
Sep 9 2013, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 9 2013, 01:09 AM) Did I really not? I'm very sure I did. Meh, either way, you and the members of the club helped alot. Thanks again, will let you guys know when I get those two bad boys. P/S: I ask the club before you replied me This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Sep 9 2013, 12:27 AM
hellwaker
Sep 9 2013, 01:10 PM
Planning for recable HD668B, any source I can refer to?
SSJBen
Sep 10 2013, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(hellwaker @ Sep 9 2013, 01:10 PM) Planning for recable HD668B, any source I can refer to? Search in the Garage sales, some are making custom cables. I personally order my custom cables from Black Octagon - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=675577If you're going to change the cable on the HD668b, make sure you don't go full silver though. It'll make it way, waaaay too bright to listen to. Till the point where the headphone will be too fatiguing to hear even for a short amount of time.
hellwaker
Sep 10 2013, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 10 2013, 12:39 AM) Search in the Garage sales, some are making custom cables. I personally order my custom cables from Black Octagon - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=675577If you're going to change the cable on the HD668b, make sure you don't go full silver though. It'll make it way, waaaay too bright to listen to. Till the point where the headphone will be too fatiguing to hear even for a short amount of time. What do u mean by full silver? Sorry I'm noob in recabling.
SSJBen
Sep 10 2013, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(hellwaker @ Sep 10 2013, 12:55 PM) What do u mean by full silver? Sorry I'm noob in recabling. Cables can be made from copper (standard, which is what most cables use) or some with copper but terminated with silver conduct. There are also cables which are made entirely in silver, a lot of audiophiles believe that it provides the cleanest signal to their headphone. In the end though, cables don't make a huge significant difference to sound quality. If anything, it's more of a placebo effect and it could actually end up coloring the soung signature of a particular headphone (it depends in a good or bad way). Don't change a cable because you want better SQ, change it because you want something more durable or in a different length.
Yagami5159
Sep 12 2013, 08:29 PM
Received the headphone, plug it in, try it out for 6 hours, here's my 2 cents:
1. The headphone are comfortable for the first 3 hours, after that there's minor pressure at the upper side of my ear due to the gripe is a little tight.
2. The sound quality is detailed compared to the Gamecom 780, I can hear everything sound effects in my head and pin-point where it's at, but the bass are slightly...meh, but it does not really matter because I'm 80% gaming 20% streaming.
3. Sound can leak out of the headphone, people in the room will heard what you're playing or "watching".
Overall, it beat the GameCom780 to dust.
P/S: If you're wearing a thick frame glasses while using the headphone, you're gonna have a bad time.
This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Sep 13 2013, 08:40 PM
SSJBen
Sep 15 2013, 02:55 PM
^ You can change the pleather pads to velour, anything that fits the AKG K24x/27x series works on the HD681 Evo.
The 681Evo was never a bassy headphone. You add a little bit more bass to the 50hz region if you want a little bit more thump, or down it at 20hz for a bit more texture and rumble. But don't expect it to be a Denon D7000.
Yagami5159
Sep 15 2013, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 15 2013, 03:55 PM) ^ You can change the pleather pads to velour, anything that fits the AKG K24x/27x series works on the HD681 Evo. The 681Evo was never a bassy headphone. You add a little bit more bass to the 50hz region if you want a little bit more thump, or down it at 20hz for a bit more texture and rumble. But don't expect it to be a Denon D7000. I tried take it off the pads but it's like glued to the headphones, mind teach me how? Edit: Never-mind, nailed it. Google is my friend. This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Sep 15 2013, 08:13 PM
SpikeTwo
Sep 16 2013, 12:09 AM
is the rubber headband of the 681 evo stretchable? what is the auto adjustment thingy?
btw i also just simply try to remove the pads. lol...having hard time to put the velour ones on. which goggle site u searched bro?
Yagami5159
Sep 16 2013, 02:43 AM
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Sep 16 2013, 01:09 AM) is the rubber headband of the 681 evo stretchable? what is the auto adjustment thingy? btw i also just simply try to remove the pads. lol...having hard time to put the velour ones on. which goggle site u searched bro? Just go to youtube and type "How to remove headphone ear pads" Done.
RattleSnaKe
Sep 19 2013, 10:01 PM

Anyone know where got shop to fix a broken headphone audio jack?
SpikeTwo
Sep 20 2013, 03:59 PM
the 681EVO really not bad. been using it for a week. very nice sound and detail. some songs i didnt even know there those effects. whoa...
Skidd Chung
Sep 20 2013, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(RattleSnaKe @ Sep 19 2013, 10:01 PM) Anyone know where got shop to fix a broken headphone audio jack? U need to replace the jack. Search in Google, there is a few guides on how to do it. But you need a soldering kit to do the job.
SpikeTwo
Sep 20 2013, 06:46 PM
anyone knows what is the self adjusting of the evo 681 is about? meaning the rubber band on top can be stretched?
Yagami5159
Sep 20 2013, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Sep 20 2013, 07:46 PM) anyone knows what is the self adjusting of the evo 681 is about? meaning the rubber band on top can be stretched? Stretch? No, the headband material aren't build for stretching, it got some mechanism at both side of the headband. Not sure what's that call. QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Sep 20 2013, 04:59 PM) the 681EVO really not bad. been using it for a week. very nice sound and detail. some songs i didnt even know there those effects. whoa... You know what's even better? Try it on this vid. Virtual Hair cutThis post has been edited by Yagami5159: Sep 20 2013, 08:51 PM
SpikeTwo
Sep 21 2013, 08:45 AM
i found that if output from my lappie, the sound not as powerful, but still detailed nonetheless. however if i power it using my phone...wow...the music is so nice that i wanna listen to those old songs all night. haha...totally different feeling. better than my sony livesound earphones. even though not strong in bass but it is sufficient for the boom boom. i used it for gaming also very good. at least my AWP rifle in CSGO dont boom my eardrums off! hahaha...
Skidd Chung
Sep 21 2013, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Sep 21 2013, 08:45 AM) i found that if output from my lappie, the sound not as powerful, but still detailed nonetheless. however if i power it using my phone...wow...the music is so nice that i wanna listen to those old songs all night. haha...totally different feeling. better than my sony livesound earphones. even though not strong in bass but it is sufficient for the boom boom. i used it for gaming also very good. at least my AWP rifle in CSGO dont boom my eardrums off! hahaha...  What laptop and what phone are you using?
Yagami5159
Sep 21 2013, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Sep 21 2013, 09:45 AM) i found that if output from my lappie, the sound not as powerful, but still detailed nonetheless. however if i power it using my phone...wow...the music is so nice that i wanna listen to those old songs all night. haha...totally different feeling. better than my sony livesound earphones. even though not strong in bass but it is sufficient for the boom boom. i used it for gaming also very good. at least my AWP rifle in CSGO dont boom my eardrums off! hahaha...  Strange, normally Headphone that connect to the audio jack won't have this problem, unless the headphone are USB powered. I tried plugging Gamecom780 on the on-battery laptop and the Virtual Surround won't activate due to the laptop don't have enough juice to powered it. Anyway, you can configure the equalizer to give you a little more bass.
SpikeTwo
Sep 21 2013, 04:55 PM
not really THAT weak when using lappie haha, but in comparison can feel the music richer in the phone. maybe because of the EQ. i havent really tune anything yet as this headphone is for gaming only. haha...using Y510P and xperia S phone.
This post has been edited by SpikeTwo: Sep 21 2013, 09:29 PM
SSJBen
Sep 21 2013, 06:12 PM
What you are hearing is improper output impedance and the fact that laptops has some of the crappiest DACs known to mankind. This is a simple reason why your phone sounds so much better.