NOKIA N97!, Nokia New Flagship Smartphone
intune
Dec 6 2008, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Dec 6 2008, 05:06 PM) mobilearsenal already mentioned that they are thankful that the N79 did not use the dual processor - read it here - I quote = "Thank the gods Nokia didn’t want to stick to the Dual ARM CPU from N96 that had quite a weak performance. Instead N79 also has the 369 MHz processor that has no problems providing some real speed. " http://mobilearsenal.com/review/nokia_n79_...u_hardware.htmlAh great for you to point that out.. i was pasting this article regardging the n85/n96 controversy.. http://smape.com/en/reviews/nokia/Nokia_N85_N96-comp.htmlI honestly think the N96 was just a good ploy before the "tube" and N97 makes its debut..never thot it was a good buy at all.. IMHO This post has been edited by intune: Dec 6 2008, 05:13 PM
dattebayo
Dec 6 2008, 06:02 PM
From the N85 vs N96, it seems that N85 is what Nokia has experimented on their future CPU platform, which means in the future Nokia will avoid the dual CPU configuration ? Anyway, graphics in most Ngage games are just barely comparable to NDS, can't even match PSP, but then who would want to charge their phone every 4 hours like PSP?
davidmak
Dec 6 2008, 10:25 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(intune @ Dec 6 2008, 05:05 PM) Got your point.. Ngage games played ok on my Phone (N78) with a hack ngage patch before the official support ..so i would adhere and aggree to that comment..basically most later nokia models now support 3d video APIs..just another marketing strategy by nokia to control those gaming platforms.. Im just suprise to see then even the mid level to high level series now using single core processors (N85)which means 3D accelerators are not of specific importance anymore since the ARM11 Processor support Video IPU..which basically supports Ngage and also most 3D games in the market. What seems to be importance for Nokia I think is to produce cost effective architecture which can supports most features consumer wants at affordable manufacturing and sales cost and pricing.. thats why we can see more affordable mid level phones which has more and more features. Good strategy Nokia! As mentioned before.. i would rather see a phone with all round performance at affordable price.. if i want a gaming platform might just wait fr sony to come out with a sony psp phone..  ..Do rememebr nokia is phone first rather then a gaming console.. even though it wish to market itself in the future as one..but i dont see that happening yet..  QUOTE(dattebayo @ Dec 6 2008, 06:02 PM) From the N85 vs N96, it seems that N85 is what Nokia has experimented on their future CPU platform, which means in the future Nokia will avoid the dual CPU configuration ? Anyway, graphics in most Ngage games are just barely comparable to NDS, can't even match PSP, but then who would want to charge their phone every 4 hours like PSP?  Yes, definitely agree with you. We're beginning to see upcoming products even N85 using Freescale MXC-300 369MHz ARM11 processors. In fact, it was first introduced on entry level S60 phones and it is now gaining all the way to products like XpressMusic 5800, N97 and etc. It would be more cost effective to maintain a low IC count platform and integrate all the accelerators into one. In the past, we have Symbian OS operated by an ARM application processor while the communication/GSM stack is operated by another ARM processor. Although redundancy is reduced (when the single core ARM is halt, the communication stacks fails too), I would envision Symbian S60 implement a 'partition' in the CPU resources to keep both sides (application vs GSM stack) separated. I think it would be better to implement software rendering while keeping certain APIs accelerated on the IPU. But no doubt, the Freescale CPU is a low-cost platform for Nokia.
eball88
Dec 6 2008, 10:30 PM
X1 the best
davidmak
Dec 6 2008, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(eball88 @ Dec 6 2008, 10:30 PM) X1 the best  I am sure it is. It is as good as any HTC latest generation of PDA phones. The panels interface is however a very good idea. Too bad, thats it. After that, its the same WinMo interface. The same goes for S60 symbian phones.
lek_e30
Dec 7 2008, 12:11 AM
dattebayo
Dec 7 2008, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 7 2008, 12:11 AM) N97 is also a PDA phone wut
Seaedge
Dec 7 2008, 12:17 AM
yeah... now there is really no definite terms for PDA. and this is also categorized as PDA as well. or if u want to call it smartphone, suit urself.
firstbread2794
Dec 7 2008, 09:06 AM

want to get one T T
lek_e30
Dec 7 2008, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Dec 7 2008, 12:14 AM) N97 is also a PDA phone wut  heh meh?? still think its over price
refugeez86
Dec 7 2008, 12:00 PM
what a pretty phone..im gonna get 1 sumday huhu...
Balok
Dec 7 2008, 01:07 PM
Just afraid before N97 come here N98 launch already and then so on until N110  back to the serious part i dun think a lot of people gonna buy this (Because of price of course). even the tube already cost near 2k. Unless N97 gonna sell 2.5k (even N96 cost 3k)
HiT-AbLe
Dec 7 2008, 01:32 PM
I think when N97 launchs the price will be insanely high, somewhere around RM3500-RM4000, since tube already costs RM2k. Better wait a bit and let the price down if u r interested to buy.
hanieyf
Dec 7 2008, 06:08 PM
if n97 going to rm3500 its damn expensive then..but if n97 around rm2+++ and tube around rm18++, better n97 then
davidmak
Dec 7 2008, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(hanieyf @ Dec 7 2008, 06:08 PM) if n97 going to rm3500 its damn expensive then..but if n97 around rm2+++ and tube around rm18++, better n97 then Thats why I have a feeling that it could be RM2500 and above. When N97 is released, the 5800 probably has gone down in price range. So N97 may not be too high. Hopefully N96 has taught Nokia from its not so successful product life.
hanieyf
Dec 7 2008, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(davidmak @ Dec 7 2008, 06:59 PM) Thats why I have a feeling that it could be RM2500 and above. When N97 is released, the 5800 probably has gone down in price range. So N97 may not be too high. Hopefully N96 has taught Nokia from its not so successful product life. yes...n96 is a failure in N-series.. hope n97 doesnt follow his big brother
davidmak
Dec 7 2008, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(hanieyf @ Dec 7 2008, 07:30 PM) yes...n96 is a failure in N-series.. hope n97 doesnt follow his big brother Yeah so the most important thing N97 must achieve is good battery life. The 5800 will show how good is the S60 touch interface. Nokia can learn from that and improvise for N97. The 5800 is expendable and Nokia loose nothing. The N-series brand value however is important. So Nokia better get the battery performance up to expectations. So far I think it is doing a good job. The N96 was big and bulky. Not only that, it had to sacrifice on the battery size supported due to the amount of integration of features. Then it had to cut most important component, CPU to a smaller and lesser performing variant to help control power consumption. Lastly, it cannot compete with other flagship products due to the higher price point.
ZaRnX
Dec 8 2008, 11:24 AM
true. agreed with davidmak.
i think nokia malaysia should do some survey around malaysia market before they could totally launched new models of phone, such as recruit some peeps to do some demo or tryout the new phone before they stick the price on it!
just my opinion though
davidmak
Dec 8 2008, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(ZaRnX @ Dec 8 2008, 11:24 AM) true. agreed with davidmak. i think nokia malaysia should do some survey around malaysia market before they could totally launched new models of phone, such as recruit some peeps to do some demo or tryout the new phone before they stick the price on it! just my opinion though Yeah, I like how LG market their phones where they gave free trials of 2 weeks to a limited number of people. They get to take it home for 2 weeks without any charge. After 2 weeks, they can simply return it or keep it by buying it. Anyway Nokia does do demo periods but not in Malaysia. I would imagine this is something they do in their home country. Remember the Nokia stress test videos back in their lab in Finland (???). I would imagine they have a bunch of people signing up to do home ground testing.
intune
Dec 8 2008, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(hanieyf @ Dec 7 2008, 07:30 PM) yes...n96 is a failure in N-series.. hope n97 doesnt follow his big brother Totally agree with you on that! .. with the many articles and review and problems of the N96 i must admit consumer should totally skip the N96.. for me N85 is the best buy of the year..with the OLED display and Single Processor same as its n78 , n79 brothers the N85 is a gem.. Just wish price goes down quick..I always have a soft spot for a slider phone like N85.. the fast response on the single core arm11 is very impressive,.. since using my n78..have no complaints at all.. its very responsive then my old n95 8gb..