Chinaman company, what does it means?
vey99
Mar 11 2010, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(robertngo @ Mar 11 2010, 11:18 AM) they wont sack you without reason, those that cannot perform need to go, only this way there can be a fair performance base system. "due to business conditions ur role is no longer required. we thank u for ur servis bla bla bla" and u can go ahead komplen to labour dept lor.
ricoric
Sep 16 2010, 04:35 PM

Seems like I created a thread that someone had raised before.
koleda
May 29 2011, 02:09 PM
Thanks for the sharing, I've always wondered what a Chinaman company meant to people.
iastate
May 29 2011, 02:32 PM
In short, it's peanut pay, groundnut increment, and elephant workload.
This post has been edited by iastate: May 29 2011, 02:32 PM
debbieyss
May 29 2011, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(iastate @ May 29 2011, 02:32 PM) In short, it's peanut pay, groundnut increment, and elephant workload.
DuFfz
May 29 2011, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(iastate @ May 29 2011, 02:32 PM) In short, it's peanut pay, groundnut increment, and elephant workload. +3.142
wyen
May 29 2011, 10:46 PM
I worked in MNC previously with china man style of management. 1 person doing 3-4 jobs due to lack of headcount. My average working hours 7.30 am to 8 pm although my normal working hours is 8.30-5.30 pm to finish up my work since there's deadline but still not enough. Sometimes work during weekends but luckily can claim OT.
Already quit that job and going to work in another MNC. One thing I've learnt from my 1st job was that I able to cope/adapt to the harsh kind of environment (multitasking, meeting up with obnoxious client, politics among colleagues, handling enquires) for my 1st job after i graduated. Anyway, I may return to that company but preferably another dept because the benefits is good.
Chisinlouz
Jun 5 2011, 02:39 AM
QUOTE(wyen @ May 29 2011, 10:46 PM) I worked in MNC previously with china man style of management. 1 person doing 3-4 jobs due to lack of headcount. My average working hours 7.30 am to 8 pm although my normal working hours is 8.30-5.30 pm to finish up my work since there's deadline but still not enough. Sometimes work during weekends but luckily can claim OT. Already quit that job and going to work in another MNC. One thing I've learnt from my 1st job was that I able to cope/adapt to the harsh kind of environment (multitasking, meeting up with obnoxious client, politics among colleagues, handling enquires) for my 1st job after i graduated. Anyway, I may return to that company but preferably another dept because the benefits is good. what company? in kl?
lovebattery
Jun 7 2011, 02:43 PM

i think the term chinamen company is defining the management style of the company.
not the demographics of the the people in the company.
debbieyss
Jun 7 2011, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(wyen @ May 29 2011, 10:46 PM) I worked in MNC previously with china man style of management. 1 person doing 3-4 jobs due to lack of headcount. My average working hours 7.30 am to 8 pm although my normal working hours is 8.30-5.30 pm to finish up my work since there's deadline but still not enough. Sometimes work during weekends but luckily can claim OT. Already quit that job and going to work in another MNC. One thing I've learnt from my 1st job was that I able to cope/adapt to the harsh kind of environment (multitasking, meeting up with obnoxious client, politics among colleagues, handling enquires) for my 1st job after i graduated. Anyway, I may return to that company but preferably another dept because the benefits is good. Agreed with the bolded part. I faced the same thing when I was working in Chinaman company.
Amanda85
Jun 7 2011, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 7 2011, 03:44 PM) Agreed with the bolded part. I faced the same thing when I was working in Chinaman company.  chinaman co. is the place u learn 1 leg kick style...after survive few years there, u will think u can do any job
debbieyss
Jun 7 2011, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Jun 7 2011, 04:30 PM) chinaman co. is the place u learn 1 leg kick style...after survive few years there, u will think u can do any job  That's so true.
blogtowkay
Jun 7 2011, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(iastate @ May 29 2011, 02:32 PM) In short, it's peanut pay, groundnut increment, and elephant workload. here to +1 lol
thunderaj
Jun 7 2011, 05:00 PM
Usually it is family business and most of the family member control the top post.
Jurlique
Jul 2 2011, 11:32 AM
Characteristics of chinaman companies:-
1) Still using Pentium 3 PC with CRT monitor 2) Usually family based company 3) Low salary and benefits and bosses are calculative 4) Usually need to work on Saturdays 5) Company's carpet have not been changed for the past 10 years 6) Chinese or cantonese is the standard communication language around the company. 7) Your boss sucks in English grammer and vocabularly 8) Usually have a Chinese praying alter at the front of the company compound. 9) Your boss would rather keep a 2-3 dogs to safeguard the company instead of hiring a security guard or investing in security devices bcos it is cheaper. 10) Using punch card to take attendance instead of access cards or biometric devices. 11) Company's assets 80% mostly RM1 NBV 12) Salary release date normally is the 5th to 7th of the following month for last month's salary.
That's all I can think off rite now bcos I have previously worked in a Chinaman company before for 5 mths, then now joinned a MNC. The environment totally different.
wyen
Jul 2 2011, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Jun 5 2011, 02:39 AM) KL city area
cku87
Jul 15 2011, 02:44 PM

I am now working in a chinaman company for 2 months and it's really as what you all said above.
My boss is really calculative but want the best of the best. Really afraid of checking/audit from Gov. Dept. Luckily our GM is the best speaker we have so he can twist all the facts and create a new one while me, in the meeting room just keep silence and writing hatred message on whatever paper I have. Non of his words was familiar with me. Worst, when they asked for records my manager look at me like I'm the one keeping the records and then said we don't have the records right now.WTF
I'm in my quest to find another job. But deep in me said I want to help this company. But then, less benefits...so no.
mercury8400
Jul 15 2011, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(cku87 @ Jul 15 2011, 02:44 PM) I am now working in a chinaman company for 2 months and it's really as what you all said above. My boss is really calculative but want the best of the best. Really afraid of checking/audit from Gov. Dept. Luckily our GM is the best speaker we have so he can twist all the facts and create a new one while me, in the meeting room just keep silence and writing hatred message on whatever paper I have. Non of his words was familiar with me. Worst, when they asked for records my manager look at me like I'm the one keeping the records and then said we don't have the records right now.WTF I'm in my quest to find another job. But deep in me said I want to help this company. But then, less benefits...so no. Look at the bright side, if you don't have a choice. Chinaman business usually offer the full set of exp which MNC cannot offer because they are too specialised. After 2-3 years in chinaman co doing one leg kick, you can go any place to work. Further, if yr ambitious and have money, you can even learn from the chinaman and start yr own business to rival him. This coz chinaman business usually small set-up with not many competitive advantage unlike MNC. You can be close to his customers then snatch them away
L.Luthier Fan
Jul 15 2011, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 1 2008, 11:29 PM) cool answer - but c'mon la. let's be serious. basically they're referring to those company where the management style is CHINESE - meaning all about $$$$$ work long hours and so on so forth. that's my understanding of it la. oh yeah and quite often characterized by heavy chinese influence and having most, if not all Chinese staff BUT not necessarily so. it all depends on da boss.  but then , best get your friend to explain what they mean cos everyone has their definition and boundaries. Agree with this totally,also normally they are family runned businesses which make you almost impossible to get up the ranks. However Genting Started as a "Chinamen company" however is considered one of the company's nearest to world class in malaysia
night1218
Jul 24 2011, 10:50 PM
working for a month. and do not have a clear direction. task was not clearly briefed and almost everyday need test by my superior.
peanut pay for sure, bonus is depend of management discretion oso. anyhow, i hope can hold on to it long. But i doubt it