post Jan 16 2009, 01:40 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Jan 16 2009, 09:56 AM)

I'm in HSPDA area

Now they have new ip address but speed is slower
Nice speed. Have u gone beyond 5GB limit? I am in HSDPA area but the network kicks me out to UMTS after few seconds of every connection. Well, my billing cycle is nearing so let's see wad happen then. Maybe then I can use HSDPA.... Or not.

Still have 0kb/s download problem. Dunno why. Reported the problem since 3 days ago n Celcom didnt seem to bother. Either it is done on purpose to curb bandwidth or it is "accidentally" done... YM and MSN login are ok now. But since there are still such reported problems, it wont be long till my IM login fails...

I also noticed they have changed the subnet. Not sure the correct term to use. Previously was something like dns*.celcom.net.my. Now it is like shtdns*.celcom.net.my. IP remains unchanged though. Very weird... Celcom has never for once provided stable connection... Problem here... Problem there...
mar_ware
post Jan 16 2009, 09:53 PM

299 posts

My latest, record-breaking speed...

Not only the speed is so slow. Whenever loading a page, it stops loading after a few seconds. 0kb/s again... Wad exactly is Celcom doing? I passed by a sales booth today, the promoters were bragging about upgrade in speed. Well there were two subscribing there, apparently unaware of wad will happen after they signed on the dotted lines...

Compared to wad I used to have, this is a definite downgrade. It is as fast as GPRS. Having a HSDPA connection with the speed of GPRS. It is like buying a CD with sound quality of cassette tape... A complete disguise, perfectly done to attract new users. Let them happy for awhile and when the speed is reduced and they start complaining, Celcom will just use its trump card. "System is undergoing upgrade. Expect some increase in speed in NEAR future."

And I paying 98 a month for this... I pray that DiGi 3G is launched ASAP. I dun care if I have to pay more for unlimited bandwidth (if DiGi does have one) as long as it is better than Celcom. I rather pay more for a complete, real unlimited package than a sham "unlimited" package! mad.gif

I noticed the speedtest result has the ISP name of Celcom Internet Service Provider, not TMNET that was used to be. They seem to be making a complete overhaul in their system. Perhaps now with better technicians and engineers, with new programs that detect and monitor bandwidth usage thoroughly... The day they have made 100% capture rate on users with 5GB limit is the day Celcom users jump ship to Maxis or DiGi. RM 98 for 5GB a month is a total rip-off!!!

This post has been edited by mar_ware: Jan 16 2009, 10:03 PM
mar_ware
post Jan 16 2009, 11:19 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 16 2009, 10:51 PM)
DiGi will launch its 3G very very soon. It is an insider news. smile.gif Plus with super attractive price, I don't know what is that because still can't be revealed. smile.gif

Anyway, it will be implemented gradually. Klang Valley residents will enjoy DiGi 3G first. smile.gif

I'll abandon Celcom too when it is the time. brows.gif
I can't upload any photo to any image hosting. doh.gif
Please, please DiGi, introduce ur 3G faster... Attractive price? Good to hear that. Just praying that DiGi coming to my area fast enough. As long as the service is good, price will be the least of my concern. Cant wait to see wad they offer. Cant wait to call Celcom CS once I terminate my acc. U guys cant imagine how long it takes to load this page... It feels like going back using dial-up.

Lets go yellow, ppl!!!
mar_ware
post Jan 16 2009, 11:35 PM

299 posts

Just be positive. Knowing DiGi, it will most likely be better than Celcom. My modem goes crazy now, blinking dark blue and cyan. Maybe due to very unstable signal strength from Celcom. For the last 12 hours, I have been kicked from HSDPA to UMTS and to GPRS for countless times. Another excellent service from Celcom. Unlimited bandwidth plus blinking modem for free. All for just 98 a month.

Another test...

I not sure y Celcom ppl keep messing around with the existing network. Change here, change there. All for the sake of cutting bandwidth. Have they ever thought of getting better not worse... +1 vote for Celcom "ultimate" dissatisfaction!!!!

This post has been edited by mar_ware: Jan 16 2009, 11:41 PM
mar_ware
post Jan 17 2009, 12:10 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(de4thscythell @ Jan 16 2009, 11:46 PM)
blinking modem for free?!  drool.gif  drool.gif
doh.gif with the service  shakehead.gif
Good news is... The free-of-charge part is the "blinking". Not the "modem". Please read Celcom's terms and conditions for further details.

Not sure good news for u tongue.gif
mar_ware
post Jan 17 2009, 02:49 PM

299 posts

I really dun understand how come my connection get shifted to GPRS all the time. My 3G signal strength is 5 bar. Celcom has really pissed me off. The connection has become so unstable with so many problems. I wanna see how fast my connection is in few days' time when my billing cycle is renewed. See if Celcom can provide fast connection before 5GB limit...

DiGi may also have 5GB limit but if it does have only 5GB limit, DiGi will not gain alot of customers. The only way to attract more users is to offer higher bandwidth since Celcom has widest coverage. If DiGi ppl did some market survey, they will realise the weakness of Celcom BB right now and make the best out of it. If it offers higher than 5GB and more attractive price, alot of existing Maxis and Celcom users will abandon and shift to DiGi. That is if DiGi wanna take the opportunity. Lets hope so.
mar_ware
post Jan 17 2009, 03:17 PM

299 posts

I did try to lock "3G only". The problem is I will be getting 0kb/s download speed after some time... Dude, if I havent tried every solution, would I be so mad? Even after 3 calls to Celcom CS...

I will still wish DiGi 3G to come out soon. Everyday there are ppl subscribing to Celcom (most unaware of the unstable and ridiculous capped speed) and yet, Celcom doesnt increase its bandwidth to satisfy the demands. It is like KTM. As long as the train can still run, no need for new trains or longer trains. Now, Celcom's approach is similar.
mar_ware
post Jan 18 2009, 12:37 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(imzate03 @ Jan 18 2009, 06:55 AM)
i really need help. since last few days, i found that celcom had changed dns servers from 202.188.0.133/202.188.1.5 to 203.82.64.67/203.82.64.68. for one thing these are good for speed. i'm now able to surf with more speed. however i found out that upload speed is compromised. very slow and erratic. i'm not able to send attachments with my emails. ditto loggin to any messenger services. i have tried calling callcentre. not satisfied. technical knowledge is very lacking. by the way i'm from besut. terengganu. anyone else experience the same situation? tq..
Ya, they changed DNS servers recently. That wad I noticed. For my case, the speed is terrible for both download and upload. Celcom CS had no idea wad their technicians are doing. AS ALWAYS. Sometimes can login IM, sometimes no. Sometimes can upload sometimes no. Even have the weird 0kbps download speed when I used "3G only" connection. Or it turns to GPRS after some time. All I can say is the connection is very unstable nowadays. Celcom has had its share of problems for last couple of months but honestly, this is worse. Cannot go online in MSN or Yahoo at times. Cannot upload. Download gone to 0kbps. Even loading webpages with lots of pics often stopped halfway. Celcom BB has officially worse than a dial-up!! So, buddy, the good news is u r not alone on this... At least, good news for Celcom since lots of people cannot use their connections for anything at all...
mar_ware
post Jan 18 2009, 01:42 PM

299 posts

I guess almost all Celcom users having same problems except for new users, perhaps. I feel like terminating my account and then walk into another Celcom booth to register for new account... Will that help me getting better connection... Fat chance. Or maybe ppl living near to towers are having better connections. Or some moclec ppl lurking around giving good feedbacks...

Same here, I reported the problem 3 times. Either they said they will look at the problem or they having some upgrade... Customers call to get some answers and expect something, not some clueless retards acting and talking smart and giving false hope that something will be done to rectify the problems. Calling CS just making u much more agitated. I think the problem cropped up around 5-7 Jan. That's for my case. Have been 10 days since my first report and Celcom CS has not called me back since. Very excellent service. My YM is ok for now. MSN login requires at least 10-15 times of retry. That's if I am "lucky" enough to get stable connection or not having the 0kbps download syndrome again...
mar_ware
post Jan 18 2009, 04:15 PM

299 posts

Downloading now is considered a luxury. Honestly, since the connection in my area is so unstable, I can hardly download any big file. Browsing light webpages and checking mails r the only usage of my RM98/month connection. When set to "3G only" connection, the speed will go down to 0kbps after some time. If not set that way, the connection will go to GPRS. Well, at least GPRS still offers download speed up to 6KB/s... Better than 0kbps...

I would like to think that Celcom ppl consider reading users' feedbacks from here but the chances are slim. They already had enough complaints from the CS department... Most of them are, of course, rendered irrelevant or BS (by Celcom CS ppl) coz my complaints have gone unanswered... Maybe just Celcom promoters lurking around here giving some "positive" feedbacks.

Well, even if Celcom ppl do read the feedbacks here, even slimmer chances that Celcom will act appropriately and somehow improve. The only way Celcom will improve is to force it to do so. Either a new competitor enters the market with more aggressive and attractive packages or the G's intervention. I am hoping for the former. Hope DiGi can bring the 3G service standard much better than current Celcom standards. Or Maxis may also improve, hopefully.

One other extreme option is not to use Celcom. Once alot of customers leaving Celcom due to its inferior services, no doubt Celcom has to improve. But honestly there will still be ppl needing internet connections, so this is quite invalid. Unless, wired ISPs like Streamyx has succeeded in providing connections in every corner of Malaysia. If my area does have Streamyx, I leave Celcom a long time ago. Or probably never even considered it!

This post has been edited by mar_ware: Jan 18 2009, 04:19 PM
mar_ware
post Jan 18 2009, 07:36 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 18 2009, 07:13 PM)
Nationwide prob again. I have been having this prob since 6th till now. sad.gif
Ya me too. Around 5-7th, cant really remember exact date. Seems to nationwide prob but could very well be an extreme move to curb the bandwidth. Since I havent heard from Celcom CS after my complaints, most likely it is not problem, just measures to limit bandwidth. However I seen some high numbers in speedtest.net. Could be numbers from new users or ppl nearer to towers.

My result...

Upload speed almost equal to download??? doh.gif

This post has been edited by mar_ware: Jan 18 2009, 07:45 PM
mar_ware
post Jan 19 2009, 01:27 AM

299 posts

Agree. DiGi is normally very aggressive in pricing and promotion. Well i'm sure lots of ppl wanna switch for DiGi n that may cause bandwidth overload. But since my Celcom BB is contractless, I wouldnt mind giving DiGi a try for couple of months once it enters my area. After all, I gave almost half a year for Celcom. More than enough time for them to improve. However, all I can see is degrading service quality. Plus calling the retards in Celcom CS is more of an emotional torture... Upgrade... Upgrade... Endlessly... They might just as well ask a programmer to write codes or record voice to repeat the same excuse over and over again mad.gif

I hope DiGi come up with more honest promotion theme. The misleading, overly-stated promotion from Celcom about unlimited bandwidth is evil - cant believe I fell for that... Now I can only browse light webpages and check email... Bummer... If DiGi come up with the real unlimited bandwidth, I wouldnt mind paying extra. Nevertheless, if Celcom improves, I may stick with it. The trouble with today's customers is that we r more demanding tongue.gif

Let's just see wad DiGi will come up wif.
mar_ware
post Jan 19 2009, 12:07 PM

299 posts

In my case, I think the new DNS servers got congested. Coz the new DNS servers only been online for about 2 weeks, the same time whole crop of problems popping out. But my speed should have been uncapped liao but now I am still having extremely slow speed. Or maybe another technical glitch. I just hope this will be over soon. It has been 2 weeks like this. The best speed I got 128kbps... The worst 0kbps... Now IM login got problem again... And loading pages with lots of pics always stops halfway... I bet when CNY nearing, the conditions will be much worse. Perhaps cant even go online.
mar_ware
post Jan 19 2009, 09:18 PM

299 posts

Well I hope it is technical issue. I filed 3 complaints since the problem, the first around 5-7 Jan. Till now, the CS havent gotten back at me yet. Last time I reported problem, they at least called me back to clarify whether I still had the problem. But it took 9 days, if I amnt mistaken. Now it is about 2 weeks, no news so far. Either it is technical glitch that they have no idea where to look at, or this is wad they implementing from now on - slower speed for everyone so more people can share the bandwidth. The more we share, the more we love, anyone???

I probably make another call tml since my acc should have been uncapped and the speed is worse than dial-up... 30-50kbps... I beta make appointment with my psychiatrist too. Or I may go mad out of rage, courtesy of "kind" CS ppl.
mar_ware
post Jan 20 2009, 07:23 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jan 20 2009, 05:48 PM)
It is unbelievable that with this kind of speed you are able to load the speedtest. laugh.gif
I think for first few seconds of every loading of page, the speed is ok. (Note: OK doesnt mean it is fast, just abit faster) But after few sec, it just go real slow. I also can load speedtest and even tested it, but at extremely slow speed. 20-30kbps. Unbelievable... Anyway my line should be uncapped but now cant even using IM... Celcom very bad. If it wasnt for the fact that it is the only ISP in my area, I will abandon it like NOW. I called Celcom CS to uncap my line. After all, it is new billing cycle. Asked me to wait. So wad can I do now? Wait and pray till they uncap my line... Ridiculous service.

DiGi unlike other telco seems to be eager to expand and provide beta service. Hope it does the same for 3G service. Celcom network is pretty much VERY congested now. Dont think they will increase bandwidth anytime soon. Lets hope it wont happen to DiGi.
mar_ware
post Feb 3 2009, 12:14 AM

299 posts

Just back from long vacation, away from Celcom BB. Guess the problem still existent... MSN cant login too...

Took 30 "add reply" to finally post this... Pathetic. I cant believe y this is called broadband...
mar_ware
post Feb 11 2009, 12:01 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(realcheraz @ Feb 11 2009, 11:50 AM)
thanks for reminder,but v3xx use metal aluminium casing,dissipate heat very effective! thumbup.gif

i normally online more than 15hours everyday for the past 3 days, so far ok rclxm9.gif
LOL! 3 days u might not get capped yet. That explains the high DL speed u got. Try doing it for a couple more days and u see how "fast" Celcom BB can be. Upload speed now is really so slow... Cant even upload images. 8kbps... shocking.gif
mar_ware
post Feb 18 2009, 12:35 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Feb 18 2009, 11:41 AM)
I just received a call from Celcom CS regarding my complaint. As usual, they said no problem found...
They never say anything about upgrade... Maybe upgrade is just an excuse (instead of saying some problem here and there).
The only thing I noticed recently is that the capping will start about 20-30 seconds after every connection. Last time was about 5-10 seconds. This measure will make people to register fast speed in speedtest.net. Making new or potential customers think that Celcom BB is fast. Very clever deception by Celcom.
mar_ware
post Feb 18 2009, 07:41 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 18 2009, 07:07 PM)
Well, thank you? laugh.gif
Come and join MMU then.. tongue.gif

I think I'll ditch my Celcom broadband for good. hmm.gif
Lucky u. I just wish I have other options than Celcom BB. Currently waiting for DiGi... But so far no news wadsoeva... I think if the problems with slow upload are not solved soon, I will terminate Celcom for good in 2-3 months time. Download is too slow. Browsing is limited to light webpages. Uploading files and image is impossible. Pretty much have no purpose using Celcom BB. Apart from switching to GPRS and posting here and reading news... I might as well buy newspaper everyday blink.gif
mar_ware
post Feb 19 2009, 01:54 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 19 2009, 12:22 AM)
DiGi broadband will be launching this week.
More details here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/940231
But quite expensive and little places with coverage. sad.gif
Yikes! RM 128 for first 6 months and RM158 for wadeva after that. And it comes with minimum 12-month contract! However, it has 10GB quota and up to 7.2Mbps connectivity. Data quota is definitely bigger, twice that of Celcom. But considering the price and having to be tied by contract, DiGi 3G definitely has a huge drawback. But maybe as time goes on, the price will get lower but the contract will undoubtedly stay no matter wad...

There is also one very huge trap in DiGi FAQ wherein after 10GB, the speed will be reduced to "a lower speed". To wad extent is not enclosed in anywhere. If they reduce to at least 384kbps, then it is definitely beta than Celcom. Beta wait till first few ppl try out and see how it goes. Also the throttling may not yet be enforced, a possible turn-on for DiGi 3G potential users.

Also if DiGi manages to give faster upload speed, it will be beta since using Celcom basically means no image or file upload... DiGi 3G slogan "Rediscover what broadband should be" is kinda mocking the other telcos. Which I think specifically referring to Celcom coz in Celcom webpage, it defines broadband as internet connection higher than 384kbps. But it limits the speed to 64/128kbps after 5GB. A huge contradiction! So Celcom BB is not exactly a broadband service, by Celcom's own definition tongue.gif

For now, DiGi is not quite competitive. I guess I have to wait for Streamyx... Or wadeva beta ISP... Till then gotta stick with Celcom, for I dun have any alternatives...

This post has been edited by mar_ware: Feb 19 2009, 02:01 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0527sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:24 PM