Wireless Broadband Celcom Broadband Thread V4, 92/08 dissatisfaction -_-
dragonkiat
Jan 18 2009, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(imzate03 @ Jan 18 2009, 12:41 PM) tq.. at least i know that the problem is not mine alone. i have given up on calling centre becos might as well speak to a tree. at least the tree won't give stupid answer that put salt on the wound. U are not alone , I have the same problem in Johor Bahru , for weeks already . Thinking of switching to Streamyx ......
soulknight
Jan 18 2009, 03:32 PM
wierd but true the connection in my place become a lot more stable. however the download speed so slow. It took me almost 2 days to download a series which have a very good seeding...
de4thscythell
Jan 18 2009, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(dragonkiat @ Jan 18 2009, 03:25 PM) U are not alone , I have the same problem in Johor Bahru , for weeks already . Thinking of switching to Streamyx ...... no need to think anymore! u should switch to Streamyx!!
dragonkiat
Jan 18 2009, 04:13 PM

QUOTE(de4thscythell @ Jan 18 2009, 04:03 PM) no need to think anymore! u should switch to Streamyx!!  Sure ? So , anybody want to buy my 4 months old Huawei E270 3G modem ?????
mar_ware
Jan 18 2009, 04:15 PM

Downloading now is considered a luxury. Honestly, since the connection in my area is so unstable, I can hardly download any big file. Browsing light webpages and checking mails r the only usage of my RM98/month connection. When set to "3G only" connection, the speed will go down to 0kbps after some time. If not set that way, the connection will go to GPRS. Well, at least GPRS still offers download speed up to 6KB/s... Better than 0kbps...
I would like to think that Celcom ppl consider reading users' feedbacks from here but the chances are slim. They already had enough complaints from the CS department... Most of them are, of course, rendered irrelevant or BS (by Celcom CS ppl) coz my complaints have gone unanswered... Maybe just Celcom promoters lurking around here giving some "positive" feedbacks.
Well, even if Celcom ppl do read the feedbacks here, even slimmer chances that Celcom will act appropriately and somehow improve. The only way Celcom will improve is to force it to do so. Either a new competitor enters the market with more aggressive and attractive packages or the G's intervention. I am hoping for the former. Hope DiGi can bring the 3G service standard much better than current Celcom standards. Or Maxis may also improve, hopefully.
One other extreme option is not to use Celcom. Once alot of customers leaving Celcom due to its inferior services, no doubt Celcom has to improve. But honestly there will still be ppl needing internet connections, so this is quite invalid. Unless, wired ISPs like Streamyx has succeeded in providing connections in every corner of Malaysia. If my area does have Streamyx, I leave Celcom a long time ago. Or probably never even considered it!
This post has been edited by mar_ware: Jan 18 2009, 04:19 PM
de4thscythell
Jan 18 2009, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(dragonkiat @ Jan 18 2009, 04:13 PM) Sure ? So , anybody want to buy my 4 months old Huawei E270 3G modem ????? from what i heard, Streamyx is better in term of performance and stability  if ur area got Streamyx, better go for Streamyx. no need for this Sialkom bb PM me how much u want to sell ur modem, my friend might want to buy if the price ok
Savor_Savvy
Jan 18 2009, 07:13 PM
Nationwide prob again. I have been having this prob since 6th till now.
mar_ware
Jan 18 2009, 07:36 PM

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 18 2009, 07:13 PM) Nationwide prob again. I have been having this prob since 6th till now.  Ya me too. Around 5-7th, cant really remember exact date. Seems to nationwide prob but could very well be an extreme move to curb the bandwidth. Since I havent heard from Celcom CS after my complaints, most likely it is not problem, just measures to limit bandwidth. However I seen some high numbers in speedtest.net. Could be numbers from new users or ppl nearer to towers. My result...  Upload speed almost equal to download??? This post has been edited by mar_ware: Jan 18 2009, 07:45 PM
kelv13
Jan 18 2009, 07:46 PM

My D98 Speed Guess my last hope will be DiGi 3G This post has been edited by kelv13: Jan 18 2009, 07:54 PM
yfchin2
Jan 18 2009, 08:03 PM
digi 3G??everyone is waiting for it and damn it..when will Digi launching 3G...zzz...
axlrazal
Jan 18 2009, 08:17 PM
gud to hear everybody want to switch to digi 3g.. coz celcom bb will better,n same prob to digi 3g when users r to high huhu
kelv13
Jan 18 2009, 08:38 PM

QUOTE(axlrazal @ Jan 18 2009, 08:17 PM) gud to hear everybody want to switch to digi 3g.. coz celcom bb will better,n same prob to digi 3g when users r to high huhu  Ya totally agree with you They need more competitor in order to improve
yshear
Jan 18 2009, 09:13 PM

QUOTE(mar_ware @ Jan 18 2009, 12:37 PM) Ya, they changed DNS servers recently. That wad I noticed. For my case, the speed is terrible for both download and upload. Celcom CS had no idea wad their technicians are doing. AS ALWAYS. Sometimes can login IM, sometimes no. Sometimes can upload sometimes no. Even have the weird 0kbps download speed when I used "3G only" connection. Or it turns to GPRS after some time. All I can say is the connection is very unstable nowadays. Celcom has had its share of problems for last couple of months but honestly, this is worse. Cannot go online in MSN or Yahoo at times. Cannot upload. Download gone to 0kbps. Even loading webpages with lots of pics often stopped halfway. Celcom BB has officially worse than a dial-up!! So, buddy, the good news is u r not alone on this... At least, good news for Celcom since lots of people cannot use their connections for anything at all... i also had the same problem as u... aft 2 weeks my report had lodged to the kind customer careline, they informed me that the slow connection problem due to the congestion in my area (setapak), so they are upgrading their service...but the "kerja kerja pembaikan" will till MARCH [COLOR=red] so, what to do? terus terminate the siaocom bb
kopitiam
Jan 18 2009, 09:15 PM
only now can connect
realcheraz
Jan 18 2009, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(danoneism @ Jan 18 2009, 05:36 AM) ive seen celcom broadband improving a lil bit compare to last month... do u guys feel the same??? the connection were more stable than before and the speed also quite good... remember on my last post that i just managed to get 0bps for dl speed at my area and now i've connected with and average speed of 40-60kbps.. from what i've read. 'u r totally wrong'..hehe mine already capped but still serve me well...
jacklsw86
Jan 18 2009, 09:29 PM
haih last few days ago my dl was smooth. now all stuck d. when celcom gonna fix this prob
realcheraz
Jan 18 2009, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(beautifoolgirl @ Jan 18 2009, 11:51 AM) there should be setting in your dialer options: select "UMTS/HSDPA only" but u have to maintain an active connection (like downloading torrents). if not, it will switch to UMTS, which means *NO CONNECTION*. please state ur package, modem, and dialer u use. i think there's no terminal support HSDPA only except the 1 u can enable or disable HSDPA features like dopod838pro
OKLY
Jan 18 2009, 09:41 PM
The Penguin Vader
So far for my area, Celcom Broadband works well but I'm on the D68 plan though. Cruising at 300-350kbps most of the time from speedtest.
realcheraz
Jan 18 2009, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(axlrazal @ Jan 18 2009, 08:17 PM) gud to hear everybody want to switch to digi 3g.. coz celcom bb will better,n same prob to digi 3g when users r to high huhu  haha..me also thinking the way u do man..cant wait,but if digi is better,why not giv a try!btw providing gud svc is not 1 day job..i wont expect much!