59 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

DIY T-Amp User V2, TA2020 AIR CORES!, ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

kww
post Dec 29 2008, 02:31 AM

320 posts

I am also looking for a casing for my t-amp with extended board plus power supply module. I think that will be as big as an astro box. I got a spoiled VCR player some where in the store room, maybe that will ok to use.

After 10 hour of listening, the t-amp smoothen up a lot, hissing sound also less. I saw somewhere mentioned new capacitors need 160hours to run in. That sound really a lot for normal listening.
TSxtorm
post Dec 29 2008, 07:55 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

kww ill meet u up on wedsnesday same place smile.gif ss2 starbucks

t-amp need 100hours of burn in time according to alot of sifu.

ok cyl1000, see you then, hopefully im in the office.

loving my fullrange + tamp...hehe

Added on December 29, 2008, 9:13 pmjust compare mundurf and octave 2.2uf 100v dc, but mundurf boad is with elna audio grade 1000uf chip supply cap

mundurf better, wider and more body to it, more bass extension too... smile.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Dec 29 2008, 09:16 PM
cyl1000
post Dec 30 2008, 08:48 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 29 2008, 02:00 AM)
thanks for the pic, maybe the inner knob holder (to clip and hold to the pot's fluted or geared shaft) is made of transparent plastic material? and can be used to act as "light guide"
I can't wait and have started on the casing. I have drill most of the holes for the RCA, volume control, speaker binding..for power switch, thinking to use round (push in to ON) or rectangular (push up/down). For the volume knob with LED, I've got a big knob from an old donor amp (Denon) and most probably drill 4 holes in casing but hide inside the knob. Use VR to adjust the LED brightness and hopefully will get the effect.
ar188
post Dec 30 2008, 08:55 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cyl1000 @ Dec 30 2008, 08:48 AM)
I can't wait and have started on the casing. I have drill most of the holes for the RCA, volume control, speaker binding..for power switch, thinking to use round (push in to ON) or rectangular (push up/down). For the volume knob with LED, I've got a big knob from an old donor amp (Denon) and most probably drill 4 holes in casing but hide inside the knob. Use VR to adjust the LED brightness and hopefully will get the effect.
wah use VR to adjust the LED brightness? so when you turn it will have variable brightness?
jazzy939
post Dec 30 2008, 11:58 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

VR as in voltage regulator?
3V is what u need depending in LED types and the brightness that u want...
ar188
post Dec 30 2008, 02:22 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Dec 30 2008, 11:58 AM)
variable resistor aka Pot kua.. but not sure it'll work cos LEDs are current source devices ...

jazzy939
post Dec 30 2008, 02:27 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

pot would not work proper.. tongue.gif
I have tried that! biggrin.gif
a variable voltage regulator, may be .. a 0 to 5V would be 'workable'.. with the necessary current limiting resistor, that is!

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 30 2008, 02:29 PM
cyl1000
post Dec 30 2008, 06:25 PM

74 posts

hee...hee...I'd not want to construct a voltage regulator for a few LEDs tongue.gif I will just use a variable resistor to do the job.. might not be easy to get the desired brightness but I think will be sufficient...

Added on December 30, 2008, 6:28 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 30 2008, 02:22 PM)
variable resistor aka Pot kua..  but not sure it'll work cos LEDs are current source devices ...
Jazzy is right that it will not work proper..just for me it is "proper" enough for my application..

Just got the Tocos pot (VR tongue.gif ) from one of the bulk order...damn..these pots are really mini..

Added on December 30, 2008, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Dec 30 2008, 02:27 PM)
pot would not work proper.. tongue.gif
I have tried that! biggrin.gif
a variable voltage regulator, may be ..  a 0 to 5V would be 'workable'.. with the necessary current limiting resistor, that is!
Took out some pots from an old Denon amp with 250K and I think will be sufficient to dim the LEDs. Got some big transformers with shielding but the voltage is too high for t-amp..

This post has been edited by cyl1000: Dec 30 2008, 06:32 PM
jazzy939
post Dec 30 2008, 06:35 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I have installed a white small LED inside/underneath the knob of my volume/pot knob to get a similar effect.. nothing to see in the day but looks 'cool' at night.. wink.gif
After much experimenting I found a 25K series resistor to be suitable with an input voltage of 9V. 20K is already too bright! biggrin.gif
My preamp is a 9V battery powered, lass for a month for daily usage.. not too bad.

Oh, the preamp is driving my T-Amp power amp. wink.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 30 2008, 06:36 PM
jazzy939
post Dec 30 2008, 06:38 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

How high is 'too high'? hmm.gif

QUOTE(cyl1000 @ Dec 30 2008, 06:25 PM)
Took out some pots from an old Denon amp with 250K and I think will be sufficient to dim the LEDs. Got some big transformers with shielding but the voltage is too high for t-amp..
ar188
post Dec 30 2008, 06:49 PM

9,206 posts

if you fellas want blue and white LEDs let me know.. give you free la.. got so much in the drawers...
cyl1000
post Dec 30 2008, 06:51 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Dec 30 2008, 06:38 PM)
How high is 'too high'? hmm.gif
Actually I cannibalize a Denon and Onkyo amp yesterday and got some parts out to use. I have change one of the pot for my friend's ailling JP pot. These pot still work well and I'm confident that I wont encounter same problem as JP pot (maybe I'm in bad luck). As for the transformer, it looks big and "solid" and would be a waste to throw it away..the smoothing caps is rated 50V, so I think the transformer secondary voltage should be around 40V?? Lets see if there is any use for other future projects or just keep in store...
ar188
post Dec 30 2008, 06:51 PM

9,206 posts

3V and above for white and blue and pure greens, InGAN dice

for red and amber/yellow, 2V-2.2V should be more than enuf.. or else poooofff....
jazzy939
post Dec 30 2008, 06:53 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ar188,
I need some! Some blue ones would be nice! This is for my 'new' amp.. wink.gif

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 30 2008, 06:49 PM)
if you fellas want blue and white LEDs let me know.. give you free la.. got so much in the drawers...

Added on December 30, 2008, 6:56 pmcyl1000,
a 40V tranny would be a good candidate to power a GainClone! wink.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 30 2008, 06:57 PM
kww
post Dec 30 2008, 06:57 PM

320 posts

xtorm, ya see you there, give me a sms when you are leaving, i can be there in 15min.

I want to build a few RCA and phono cable, i only need it in short length, anyone know where can i get belden or canare or mogami? Or you have some to let go? i only need around 3m of each.
ar188
post Dec 30 2008, 06:58 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Dec 30 2008, 06:53PM)
ar188,
I need some! Some blue ones would be nice! This is for my 'new' amp.. wink.gif

Added on December 30, 2008, 6:56 pmcyl1000,
a 40V tranny would be a good candidate to power a GainClone! wink.gif
sure.. 5mm 3mm SMD 1206 or 0805s? biggrin.gif

can demo your amp ar? I bring my AE near-field bookshelfs to test test.. hehe!
jazzy939
post Dec 30 2008, 07:00 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

kww,
I have seen belden and canare in JP but not mogami. I need to make a few interconnects too.. time to drop by JP tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 30 2008, 07:03 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ar188,
the 3mm would be sufficient.
Sure, can drop in anytime (I am on leave) as long as you bring over those LEDs! laugh.gif

AE bookshelves.. that would an interesting speaker to 'test'... wink.gif

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 30 2008, 06:58 PM)
sure.. 5mm 3mm SMD 1206 or 0805s?  biggrin.gif

can demo your amp ar? I bring my AE near-field bookshelfs to test test.. hehe!
kww
post Dec 30 2008, 07:06 PM

320 posts

jazzy, which shop? I seen some belden 85xx series speaker cable before 2 yr ago but not RCA or phono cable.
ar188
post Dec 30 2008, 07:09 PM

9,206 posts

jazzy, how big are your JP pots, the diameter of the back cover. 12mm 16mm etc? see if got any surplus 50k Log scale ones for you..

59 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:13 AM