7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

hye
post Dec 15 2008, 10:39 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Well ... terapox is back ! The 2 VIP's is now back !

Terapox ... if you ask me, the credit card scene is rather boring these days. I see only the MPower (HSBC) and the Ikwan (MBB) are the new entrant. All others are just old products.
hye
post Dec 17 2008, 06:19 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I don't fancy this card too much coz not only they will charge you RM2 but the reload happens when it is below RM50. I translate that as you actually have only RM50 in your card. (Assuming you load up RM100)

In the old days, the auto reload happens when you hit RM0 but I guess TNG had a problem when there is a gap between reloading the card and charging the person acct. You see you could have cancelled your cc but the reload still happens. A better solution would be to lower the reload limit so I don't feel cheated.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 17 2008, 06:25 AM
hye
post Dec 17 2008, 09:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Dec 17 2008, 08:31 PM)
I am interested in OCBC bank Mastercard Platinum.

Anyone hold this card? How to qualify coz it's application is by invitation only.

I suggest you to forget this card and apply for another bank's credit card. CC market very competitive these days, if a bank play hard ball then you can always go to another bank. If you already qualify for a Platinum card then you should have no problems applying anywhere.

Added on December 17, 2008, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 17 2008, 09:17 PM)
Supposingly, MBB 5x TP with Petronas ended earlier but they did extend in later stage till 31 December 2008.
Fuel prices have dropped quite a bit these days, my prediction is that you won't see this promotion being extended beyond end 2008.

Added on December 17, 2008, 9:33 pm
QUOTE(pingping86 @ Dec 17 2008, 05:32 PM)
The guy told me have to pay RM30 for every month last 3years...
If 3yrs i didnt claim anything den i can get refund for 20% or 30% i forgot dy...
But, now this insurance i dono which insurance for...
Made me blur...
Next time just don't entertain them. That's what I do all the time. If you listen properly, they have a way to end the sentence and trap you to say yes. Say clearly that you do not want this product and just end the call. I find many telemarketeers resort to unscrupluous tactics these days.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 17 2008, 09:33 PM
hye
post Dec 17 2008, 09:39 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 17 2008, 09:12 PM)
the maybank booth u saw there is credit card agent. it is their right to offer anything of FREE Gift, be it expensive or cheap 1.

btw, shd you check how's the condition of "FREE Gitf" before sign up? you can not blame them but blame yourselves. The CC agent know our human greedy-ness inside, so is abuse it kaw kaw.
Just to add, that's why most of the veterans cc users don't put the free gifts upon signup as a priority in choosing a credit card. Always use the level of CS efficiency and what you ultimately want from the card (e.g Petrol rebates - DA MC card, points MBB cards or AMEX cc and the list goes on) as the deciding factor.

hye
post Dec 17 2008, 09:45 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 17 2008, 09:36 PM)
or else u can get OCBC Robison Platinium with 4k CL!!!    doh.gif
Hahaha .... to think I was approached by their agents @ Robinsons last weekend. The ease of getting this card makes it less attractive to me. Besides the alarm bell rings when one of the selling point of the agent was - "If you don't like it then just don't activate the card when you get it. After 3 months then it will auto cancel by the bank". Most of the benefits are linked to Robinsons and it make sense if you always shop there. In the entire year, I can count the number of times I went there.

No thanks, I'll pass. smile.gif
hye
post Dec 17 2008, 10:53 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Hominido @ Dec 17 2008, 10:02 PM)
Can i redeem the Maybank Petronas Visa card treat points for petrol vouchers in ANY of the Petronas petrol station?
A very straight forward NO. They don't work that way.

Added on December 17, 2008, 10:53 pm
QUOTE(RockIron @ Dec 17 2008, 10:23 PM)
i interested for OCBC Mastercard Plat bcoz i hav a strange hobby,i like to collect Platinum credit cards issue in Malaysia.(Active card,mostly generic card and not co-brand)

i hold almost all banks Platinum credit cards and except:
OCBC Mastercard Plat
PBB Plat
HLB Plat

still short of the 3 issuer above to complete my collection.
You remind us of another active forummer here. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 17 2008, 10:53 PM
hye
post Dec 17 2008, 11:02 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(J'Daniel @ Dec 17 2008, 10:58 PM)
I wonder does any of you really need to meet the income requirement for plat card. Sound kinda hard to grab it sweat.gif
In most cases yes. If it is easy to get then no longer have exclusivity plus often platinum cards have high CLs. Wouldn't make sense for the bank to encourage you to spend and then spend a lifetime paying back wouldn't it ?
hye
post Dec 18 2008, 11:49 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Dec 18 2008, 10:56 AM)
I pump petrol at Shell using my CC few days ago. machine has said approved but before the machine say pls remove your card I have pull the card already. then it get stuck few moments before I manage to get it back. Today, I have problem to use the card in other shell station. it could not be process, is that mean my card has damaged because of this? but when I call CS they said the card is OK but problem with the terminal.
Well .. you can try to pump in a few bucks @ a non-shell station and that will give you the confirmation whether your card is damaged or not.

Added on December 18, 2008, 11:51 am
QUOTE(siutimtim @ Dec 18 2008, 11:47 AM)
I got my HSBC amanah card already but I now only I find amanah credit card can not enjoy many normal hsbc card promotion..  blush.gif i should apply the normal one that day.. anyone got their amanah card also ?? can i use this card when the shop show promotion to hsbc credit card or i need to find only shop with amanah hsbc ?? i think i never see any amanah hsbc promotion anywhere wo cry.gif  can i change to normal one now??????
Are you sure ? HSBC promos should apply to all HSBC card holders irrespective of their card sub-brands. If got difference also maybe because you are Classic/Gold/Platinum card user.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 18 2008, 11:51 AM
hye
post Dec 18 2008, 03:57 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Dec 18 2008, 03:39 PM)
the problem is they copy it and thats AUTOMATICLY include my security number! thats mean they can use my CC to do online transaction right? i feel so shame like being totally rape at public now!
It is common for them to copy the front and back copy of your cc. But you should have taken steps to "black out" the CVV. An ethical agent would have done this for you but you should have double checked this. If I ever come across such agent, I will immediately cancel whatever this fella trying to sell and walk away.

Better they scold you than you get screwed later by fraud.
hye
post Dec 18 2008, 04:41 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Dec 18 2008, 04:22 PM)
so hye.. is if posible to us to use permanent marker to "black out" this number on our card?
Yes ... pen also can. Next time be more careful k?
hye
post Dec 19 2008, 12:28 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 19 2008, 12:12 AM)
anybody mind to enlighten me about the cash back thing?
don't really understand by the term, especially the term of carry forward balance at 2% sweat.gif
You are talking about which particular card ? There are many cards with cash back and mine does not have your 2% thing. Be more precise and don't assume people know what you are talking about if you want ppl to help you.
hye
post Dec 19 2008, 11:46 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Dec 19 2008, 10:27 AM)
No. What I'm trying to ask is how do you put in the real rewards card into the CC slot at the pump to collect points? It doesn't have a system like in Shell where you put in your bonuslink card first then only cc.
BTW ... FYI Real Rewards will no longer be accepted to accumulate points @ Petronas effective 1 Jan 2009
hye
post Dec 20 2008, 12:33 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 19 2008, 06:36 PM)
how much % is Shell card rebate?
Simple answer ... MISERABLE. Comparatively I can get 7% rebates on all petrol. Unfortunately this product is a debit card so I will stop here.

Added on December 20, 2008, 12:38 am
QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 19 2008, 09:11 PM)
that day i applied hsbc using my IC and current CC..that fella also photocopy my current CC both side le..anything that i need to worry? but he did crossed the photocopy and put it as for CC application use
Well it is not that easy to fraud cc actually and the mechanisms will side to the unsuspecting consumer if it was a genuine fraud case. Just put it this way ... crossing is one thing but if you are not satisfied, just do it yourself or take back all the application forms, photostat copy and walk away. I'm sure the next time around that agent will remember to be careful coz he/she can't risk another encountering another crazy customer.

Added on December 20, 2008, 12:47 am
QUOTE(siutimtim @ Dec 19 2008, 11:41 PM)
wah you all collect platinum card?i hear ppl say very difficult get platinum card but i see many forummer also got wo.no need to see income and easy can apply platinum card one?
Do you really think it is that easy to apply for platinum ? All platinum card holders will still be subjected to credit evaluation with the bank. Don't be fooled with so called "Platinum" cards with low credit limit - to me it should be a CL of nothing less than RM30K to be a worthwhile mention. If got such "product" I will avoid it coz I would want to hold some prestige and value with the card.

Like everyone says ... if one day you can earn it, you will. No need to compare with others. I started the hard way - all the way from a classic/silver card owner to whatever I am holding right now. I am also proud I did it that way coz I learned to appreciate the power and convenience of a credit card.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 20 2008, 12:47 AM
hye
post Dec 20 2008, 01:58 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(J'Daniel @ Dec 20 2008, 01:36 PM)
Can I request to change my billing cycle date ? Anyone try before ?
Yes ... possible. Call up CS. However sometimes they may refuse to do it. Good luck!
hye
post Dec 20 2008, 06:48 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Dec 20 2008, 05:11 PM)
Need recomendation letter from their top management for this plat MC.
Dun know what make this cc so exclusive?????
I seriously don't know either man! Card priviledge seems to be normal as per many other bank's offerings (or even less), nothing outstanding. yawn.gif

Anyway, my new long term target would be the CIMB, DA, MBF World Mastercard offerings. (I read about MBF World MC in TheStar newspaper today) Need to work harder to deserve those card.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 20 2008, 06:48 PM
hye
post Dec 21 2008, 02:12 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Dec 20 2008, 10:07 PM)
Nope,i dun think so.
They r manage by different credit commitee and management. Comfirm with both CS.
I hold both MBF and Ambank cards.
Ask before for CL increase from both, Ambank manage to increased but MBF denied.
I'm slightly skeptical about this info. Confirm MBF CL comes (and approved by) AMBank. They used to control everything until only recently where MBF is able to assign (and control) of the CL they assigned to one of their product line.

Frankly I have tried both product from both banks and I do not have a good impression. Hopefully MBF's World Mastercard product is of worth both from the CS standpoint and product package. I'm curious what are their offering coz no official info exist yet.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 21 2008, 02:35 AM
hye
post Dec 22 2008, 01:56 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Dec 22 2008, 10:33 AM)
hurrmmm... how about 24 hours outlet like Seven Eleven? do they apply merchant charge?
Can meh use credit card in 7-11? Even if yes, should not have extra charge.
hye
post Dec 23 2008, 04:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 23 2008, 10:24 AM)
Anyone has good organiser to remind us on each due dates of credit cards so that we do not need to set every month.

Set it for once and when we on the computer and if that date falls on, we will get pop up reminder.
I'm using Rainlender to manage all my schedules. It syncs with my Outlook and mobile.
hye
post Dec 25 2008, 05:21 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(wvt @ Dec 25 2008, 04:55 PM)
To MBB CC sifu\master\boss,may I know the purchases untill what amount only I'm entitle to convert it into monthly installment?what is the minimum pay back period?
No such offering from MBB. hmm.gif
hye
post Dec 25 2008, 06:26 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(wvt @ Dec 25 2008, 05:38 PM)
eeerr...no such thing like 0% installment plan?  unsure.gif
It is up to the MBB merchants if they want to offer 0% installment plan for their products. There is no such thing where the consumer converts their purchases to easy installments using their MBB cards.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0508sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:28 PM