7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

hye
post Dec 1 2008, 11:46 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(pingping86 @ Dec 1 2008, 08:01 PM)
Must walk in ah???
In JB oni got 2 UOB leh...
So leceh de oh...
Actually you can write in to do all that but of course it will take longer. (I did all this before, so I know)

Added on December 1, 2008, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 1 2008, 10:53 PM)
before you apply the card, you shd have aware of the circumstances that u going to face!

pls dun complain here n there, it's your own punya faults... tht's the price u need to pay when u get foreign bank.
Yup ... couldn't agree more. Always be aware of the consequences when you apply for any cc from any bank - each bank got their own peculiarities.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 1 2008, 11:48 PM
hye
post Dec 3 2008, 08:33 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Dec 3 2008, 08:22 AM)
Look at the star newspaper today. HSBC Amanah promote their new Platinum card-i. 5% cash rebate for 5th transaction & 0.5% for other transaction. Looks good, the first 4 transaction we buy only small transaction but on the 5th buy BIG items. haha.
I saw this too. Bear in mind that you don't get any points for your spendings. Comparatively,SCB has the same with their Platinum Business card (Unlimited 0.5% rebate for all transactions except petrol purchases, you get to accumulate points & 3X points for overseas purchases) The 5% cash rebate is interesting but I want to check it out whether this is a short time promo. (See the * in the advert ? It says Terms and Conditions apply) The website has no info on this 5% cash rebate yet.

Similarly Alliance Bank has a up to 1.5% tiered rebate for purchases but capped @ RM5K.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 3 2008, 08:35 AM
hye
post Dec 3 2008, 09:33 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ Dec 3 2008, 09:20 AM)
mmmm... how bout cash back? which CC offer the best cash back so far?
Read it up my friend. If you go back a few post then you'll find the answer. We do our homework to give this forum the info but at least we expect the readers to make some effort to read.
hye
post Dec 3 2008, 01:07 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 3 2008, 12:28 PM)
But the lesson taught me 1 thing. Never leave home with just 1 card or cards from the same bank. Nowadays, it's at least 2 cards from different bank and different operator (Visa and MC). Who knows, may be Visa computer could be down and MC running or vice versa?
Sorry to hear about your experience. I ran close into your problem before where the bank refuse to increase my CL temporarily. My CL nearly maxed out when I checked out and thank god I did not run out of it or I would have been in deep trouble. (5 figure bill mind you) This is a kind of trouble you don't want to have when you are travelling.

I got back home and called the bank and they told me - they can't help me to temp increase my limit and need to justify and need extra docs bla bla bla. I got upset coz I have been a good paymaster and use the card a lot. Next ... I pay for the whole thing and cancel the card.

The card was UOB. Not necessarily foreign bank will give good service.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 3 2008, 02:15 PM
hye
post Dec 3 2008, 02:25 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Dec 3 2008, 01:25 PM)
Really, UOB service is not good? I just received my preferred platinum CC but still not activated yet. Since the service is really bad then I should I cancel them?
Since you already got your card then maybe you want to try it out first. Some folks here speak well about one bank but another may have a bad experience.

If you ask me, UOB not much priviledges and the current preferred platinum product has this no-preset limit thing. (Plus now some of the forummers reported that they charge RM50 for cancelling the card. I don't support this fee/bank since no other banks does.) If you realise this is more or less to offset their CL upgrade inflexibility problem.

It is entirely up to you actually whether you want to use it. Except for the bad experience related to my CL incident, they are quite OK. It is just that I travel quite a bit and I need flexibility on my credit limit. Oh yes, I always practice carrying 2 cards from different banks where ever I go. I think you should be well experienced yourself to decide which card suits you and which one don't.
hye
post Dec 4 2008, 11:37 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Dec 4 2008, 10:19 AM)
i wanan apply sony maybankcard.. but i'm lazy to go branch fill in forms..

kenot like.. some agent call me.. then can get d? hahaha i have been using cimb credit card for 2 years d....
Maybank agents are less aggresive as compared to their local foreign cc counterparts. The likely hood of them looking for you are less as they are more likely to operate out of shopping mall and events. (or wait for the annual Treats fair) You want the card quickly then pick up the phone, fill in the forms and send it to them.
hye
post Dec 5 2008, 11:21 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(yitbunzai @ Dec 5 2008, 09:09 AM)
i would like to stop few of my credit card service, but i have no idea which one to keep or leave.

pls advice!!! notworthy.gif

1. HLB CC
2. Stanchart batman
3. Shell citi visa
4. MBF
5. HSBC
I would say HLB, Shell Citi VISA and MBF.

MBF = Always will con people to pay for the annual fee.
Citi Shell = If you want to enjoy the rebate, best if you have debt with the bank. Forget it
HLB = Not the best cc around. Many others which are better than them. They lost a lot of customers when no more free parking @ 1Utama coz that's their best priviledge !

SCB Batman = Neutral. Card got no problems actually but you may want to cancel this card once your friends / business associate laugh (or lose face) @ you when they see the card.

Added on December 5, 2008, 11:22 am
QUOTE(Norns @ Dec 5 2008, 11:12 AM)
i check my Visa & master seem to have rm5k limit on each of them

Is it a combine limit or seperate ?
Combined limit

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 5 2008, 02:35 PM
hye
post Dec 6 2008, 10:17 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Dec 6 2008, 10:09 AM)
So only UOB charge for cancellation? How about others?
No other bank will charge you for cancellation. I've even cancelled a cc right after I got it via mail with no charges applied!
hye
post Dec 6 2008, 09:03 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Dec 6 2008, 08:38 PM)
If I cancel a credit card from Citibank for example, Can I apply again any credit card from that bank a few years down the road?.
I heard someone says that if you cancel then you not eligible to apply any card again from that bank. Is it true?
Partially true. Some banks practice a temporary block out period for customers who cancels their card. This can varies from a few weeks to 6 months. But no, I do not know of any banks which permanently block you and if such permanent block exist means the person itself is blacklisted by all banks due to some reason. (Thanks to CCRIS, CTOS)
hye
post Dec 7 2008, 08:58 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Dec 7 2008, 07:36 PM)
last month i started to aplly for 12 pcs credit card.
What are you trying to achieve by applying for 12 credit cards ?
hye
post Dec 8 2008, 03:10 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Dec 8 2008, 02:56 PM)
I was wondering would it be easier for me to apply for another bank's platinum card if i have a platinum card for a year? even though the platinum card holder criteria for both banks r different?? unsure.gif  unsure.gif

Added on December 8, 2008, 3:07 pmand for the SC character card, i dont think u can get another character card because i think its available for mastercard onli....n u cannot have 2 gold mastercard from the same bank.......correct me if i am wrong here..hmm.gif
Should not be a problem for you to apply for another platinum card.

In the case of character card ... yes, you are right. SCB won't allow you to hold 2 VISA or 2 Mastercards. Hiya .... it's a very obvious answer to a simple question.
hye
post Dec 9 2008, 12:56 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Citibank opens a temporary counter for rewards redemption in KLCC. (I think today is the first day) Should have some agents promoting cc's as well.

Last time I went there ... they didn't even bother to ask me because I don't look like some potential customer maybe ? Hahahaha
hye
post Dec 9 2008, 04:07 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(kenneth87 @ Dec 9 2008, 03:19 PM)
Im a current citibank air asia card holder. May i know how does i calculate the interest fee for the outstanding amount? It does shows 18% per annual. Does that mean its 1.5% per month?

Means if i have an outstanding amount which accumulates to rm1000. Is Rm 15 is what i shud pay for the interest? Or it doesnt calculate that way? Called up the citibank customer service for few times, but still have no idea on what they are explaining.  doh.gif  doh.gif

Hi

Will do ya a favor since you helped me b4.

The simple answer is yes. Should you have an outstanding of RM1000, the interest will be about RM15. Which brings the total to RM1015. Remember that you should be paying a min of 5% per month for your cc as per BNM rules.

This means that the minimum that you will be expected to pay will be RM1015*5% =RM50.75

The above serve as a guide and the actual interest should be just about that. There is a slight difference to the actual interest charged coz they will take into consideration the varying dates that you incur a transactions. For example, a transaction which you incur on the 3rd of the month will carry more interest that a transaction which you incur on the 28th of the month. (Assuming your billing cycle is on the 1st of the month)

Hope I did not confuse you. Can PM me if you want.
hye
post Dec 10 2008, 10:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 10 2008, 10:24 PM)
thx...good one!!how about citibank..got this service as well?
Nope ... they don't. Strange ya ? They are larger than HSBC anytime of the day but yet they do not have this feature. Saying that none of the local international brands have either the PayPass, VISAWave or PayWave feature built into their cards. Only the local banks has it.

@tinkerbell
You are back!

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 10 2008, 10:40 PM
hye
post Dec 13 2008, 06:25 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Dec 12 2008, 11:05 PM)
may i know diners club international cards annual income requirement?
Ask yourself whether Diners Club is a cc? (This is afterall a cc thread) That's why you won't get any answers.

Added on December 13, 2008, 6:27 am
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 12 2008, 11:32 PM)
wondering, is it CL is really playing important part of strategy to attact customer to sign up particular card? ? ?
In my case yes. I've had banks offering my CL lower than my existing card, what a turn off! (The next logical thing to do was to cancel the card) And the CL difference was up to 50% ! At least offer an equivalent CL to my existing card which I believe is the standard practice for most banks.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 13 2008, 06:34 AM
hye
post Dec 13 2008, 10:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(J'Daniel @ Dec 13 2008, 10:37 PM)
I have M2U for years, but do I need to request for activation on M2U for cc?
Nope, you need not do anything. The very moment your card is approved it will show in M2U.
hye
post Dec 14 2008, 12:30 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 14 2008, 11:17 AM)
@hye,
Missed me?! *smiles*  So, have u decided which bank to stay loyal too? smile.gif
Aha ... tinkerbel.

Wonder what happened to you. When we got a new TS also, I was rather shocked. SCB is my fav bank at the moment and cancelling my HSBC soon. HSBC's service is outstanding but not much offers as compared to everyone else. The 5X points promotions @ MidValley is good but like everyone else ... I keep a close watch on my spending these days.

Seems a lot of the cards offerings are heading towards purchase rebate schemes. I'm still analysing all of them at the moment.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 14 2008, 12:33 PM
hye
post Dec 15 2008, 07:23 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 14 2008, 11:40 PM)
@hye,
SCB? Ah.. that's a bank I never really tried. 
I'm still waiting to see whether I got any free gifts or not from SCB. Anyway, the main attraction was the 3x overseas points, cash rebates and access to the KLIA lounge. CS service level is acceptable although they don't sound as friendly as your HSBC CS but I don't call CS often so I can bear with it.

I used to have their Character cards and I got out when I "grew" out of it.

Added on December 15, 2008, 7:26 am
QUOTE(Scopio @ Dec 15 2008, 01:04 AM)
how 2 obtain password for my CIMB Credit Card? Call the hotline center or any CIMB branch in Penang?
Last time I had to fill in a form to obtain the ATM pin. The process may have change so before you go to the bank, give the CS a call.

Added on December 15, 2008, 7:47 am
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Dec 15 2008, 01:29 AM)
Is there any chance for me to check online for MBB cards application?
The quick answer is no. There is no online facility to check for MBB cards application. For all that matters, none of the banks in Malaysia have this facility ! The closest that you can get is via the phone and some banks offer automated call response system when you check you cc application status.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 15 2008, 07:47 AM
hye
post Dec 15 2008, 01:32 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 15 2008, 12:18 PM)
Thing is - I have accumulated close to 350k points on my Amex card - if I make a switch will I lose all the points or will they be transferred?!  Anyone can help me?
Wow tinkerbel ! You have earned quite a fair bit of points. There's a possibility that you can make a switch but call first to confirm. About 1 year ago, I made a switch from MBB Gold Visa to MBB Petronas and I retained all my points. For all that matters, there's a chance that you can get a waiver on the Platinum AMEX ? You'll never know blink.gif

The CC market is about to heat up next year. More people are going to be spending less (and not to mention more careful) and CC with rebates are going to be the "in" thing in my prediction.
hye
post Dec 15 2008, 08:33 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Emmm ... discussion on CL again ?

Well as for myself, I got my Citibank CL increased every 2 years by the bank. I don't bother to ask to increase coz they always rejected me. Now I cancelled the card already coz I don't feel they are that good anymore especially when it comes to CS. Just a few days ago I got into a mixed up which led me on a wild goose chase to the bank. Plus, the counter service (Level 3 of the bank) was extremely slow ! (They are nice & helpful though) Many people but only 3 lines was available.

You can't beat HSBC's CS I tell ya. You can do everything via the phone although sometimes I feel they give you too much!

My advise is to go for banks which only have good CS.

TS mentioned about the banks getting more stringent on cc applicants. Means we are about to see a repeat of the period during the 97' crisis ? Possibly RM50 govt fee (Google it and see who imposed it, you'll be surprised) imposed on every card and higher qualifications for cc (good also since have time for ppl to mature before handling debt).

Share with us man even though it is some rumours at this time.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 15 2008, 08:37 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:13 PM