8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

vin_ann
post Nov 22 2008, 06:44 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 22 2008, 06:18 AM)
I had this card a short while back. Actually, it is quite cool but I decided to retire this card coz it is a little embarassing to pull this card out in front of a client. It is actually one of SCB's best product back then and this product was launched when SCB just had a management change. Their cc customer base grew coz of this card. Before that SCB cc was one of the hardest card to apply in town coz rejection rates was high.
i saw my colleague's SCB CC got cartoon pictures on it. it wont be my taste of card.
vin_ann
post Nov 22 2008, 08:38 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 22 2008, 08:27 AM)
Hi all, anyone know if possible to check online for DA card discounts?

why not le?

just go to direct access website.
vin_ann
post Nov 22 2008, 03:53 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 22 2008, 02:46 PM)
Just received my 1st month Ikhwan AMEX statement. It's seperated from my other two MBB CC statements. This one is under Maybank Islamic.
bro, as the name suggest, it's a separate entity. tht's why got 2 statement.
vin_ann
post Nov 23 2008, 08:06 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(betatestar1 @ Nov 23 2008, 07:00 PM)
Maybank ah biasa la. their processing is very slow man. If fast 3 weeks, or else you have to wait for months. Slow is another problem. but plus the approving rate so low, you will feel sick of them and never want to apply card from them anymore. if your salary is not above 2.5k then be patient but to wait or you can always choose other bank to apply.

For my experience, CIMB bank is one of the fastest i could tell. I apply on Monday and by next monday they send the card to me.  For Cimb DA, i think their customer service is quite lousy. There were once I tried to call them up, if i am not mistaken about 10 times, but just cant get through and cant get a person to talk to. I have no choice but to write an email to them and then have their personnel to call me back.  So, lets say you want to check your card application status or request anything from them, i think it is better for you to shoot an email to them instead wasting time calling because the line was always busy. good luck for your application.
my experience with DA customer service is not that bad. just that sometime, the waiting time is quite long...

the DA customer service quality is dropped since the acquisition by CIMB. previously got people mentioned it.
vin_ann
post Nov 23 2008, 11:23 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 23 2008, 08:26 PM)
Many years ago had one of them. I have such unpleasant experience that I swore I would never touch them with a ten foot pole.

They may be good now but the bitterness lingers......

Added on November 23, 2008, 8:38 pm

I have DA's Platinum. One of the better service compared to my other cards. Often get a REAL human being talking to me with 20 second unlike others that takes you through numerous selection menu.

For non-standard request. One of the best and the worst is EON which I am hoping to find another easy "free for life" card to replace it with.
if im not wrong, Platinium holder can call another hotline, i thinks which is lesser people calling and u get the good services.

unlike us normal CC.... sad.gif
vin_ann
post Nov 24 2008, 09:54 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 24 2008, 08:39 AM)
DA Platinum number 03-62047979. Is that the number you called?
DA gold card number i call is 03-62047878.
vin_ann
post Nov 25 2008, 07:11 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Catherine85 @ Nov 25 2008, 01:55 PM)
Daddy's card.

They need to talk to my dad, but my dad can't speak well in English.
Customer is KING.

you shd ask the customer service who can speak mandarin!!!
vin_ann
post Nov 25 2008, 10:18 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 25 2008, 08:50 PM)
Again, my weird experience. My salary is banked into HSBC every month. I applied HSBC CC, submit all docs, salary slip, proof, etc. But I got rejected.  doh.gif 

Then I not happy already. One fine day, HSBC tele-marketer called me, and asked me fill up one single form. No docs. I fill up, faxed in, and they send me the CC.  doh.gif  All happened within 12 months period.

Same company, same salary, same home.  rclxub.gif
good lo... since u got what u want, still complain?

vin_ann
post Nov 25 2008, 10:50 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 25 2008, 10:41 PM)
Seriously, my friend and I do not agree that HSBC is really efficient as everybody portrays.

They have only one classical credit card and they manage it like a total mess.

Some packages are tied with no annual fee for first 3 years but still got charged for it and couldn't get refund.

Seriously, some of my friends already cancelled them.
for people like me n you, sure will thinks HSBC is just another crap card, not much benefits but as you getting to higher income brackets, you will thinks HSBC the opposite as u thinks now.

perhaps, HSBC is not targeting fresh grad and young market but towards more mature and security wanted market.
vin_ann
post Nov 25 2008, 11:04 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 25 2008, 10:52 PM)
I'm not talking the benefits or privileges. No doubt that HSBC customer service is great; much better than most of the local banks. I also have to agree that the benefits or privileges that HSBC offers are not meant for an average joe or jane.

I'm talking about its efficiency.
example of bad efficiency???
vin_ann
post Nov 28 2008, 10:39 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 28 2008, 07:12 PM)
I got the thing that I redeemed from Maybank TP.

Surprisingly the turn around time is pretty fast; roughly in 1.5 weeks after faxing the redemption form.
fax? so troublesome!

HSBC is online redemption! haha

btw, Citibank upgraded my CL almost 1 times of my CL. now i got double of my CL than previous. sweat.gif

thinking of going to cancel it.
vin_ann
post Nov 29 2008, 01:19 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Nov 29 2008, 10:43 AM)
Just get my Maybank AMEX card, wanna ask something here, did you guys call to the Maybank and ask them waive your AMEX annual fee and how they response?

I heard nowsaday not all of the bank will waive your annual fee when you call to them (eg Citibank Co-brand card), but i wish the bank can waive for me instead of using my hard earning treat point to pay for the annual fee (10000 points = RM 5000 spend on the AMEX card)

Mine one is Maybank AMEX Classic

Hope somebody helps, thank you
just got the card, and so fast worry about annual fees??

if im not wrong, Amex got give either 1 year or 3 years waiver.
vin_ann
post Nov 29 2008, 05:31 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 28 2008, 10:43 PM)
But last time when I did an online redemption with HSBC, it took ages. I have to call CS to check my status and guess what, they said the online redemption that I did somehow didn't go through! WTH!
i have no problem at all.
vin_ann
post Dec 1 2008, 10:53 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(pingping86 @ Dec 1 2008, 08:01 PM)
Must walk in ah???
In JB oni got 2 UOB leh...
So leceh de oh...
sweat.gif

before you apply the card, you shd have aware of the circumstances that u going to face!

pls dun complain here n there, it's your own punya faults... tht's the price u need to pay when u get foreign bank.

vin_ann
post Dec 2 2008, 08:29 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 2 2008, 04:33 PM)
we should start practice paying the statement the moment the bill arrives, or on the usual date of the statement.

btw, anyone heard about that Ambank True Visa card? 12% p.a. Sounds tempting...
why wan to get CC tht give 12% p.a or 18% when u planning to let them charge u interest?

u shd not get it at the 1st place!
vin_ann
post Dec 2 2008, 10:30 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 2 2008, 08:36 PM)
How about this example for punctuality?

Statement date: 1-Nov
Statement received: 4-Nov
Payment made and check cleared from my account: 7-Nov

And still got hit by late  payment mad.gif

As I said, been there, done that with citi
i thinks some bad apple do happened. importantly u communicate with the Customer Service. demand explanation.

else, complain to bank negara.

since u face this kind of problems, did u know what's the reason why it's happened? how u solve it?
mind to share?

dun just complain, share with us, else keep it to yourself.
vin_ann
post Dec 3 2008, 10:12 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 3 2008, 10:23 AM)
wasn't Maybank giving 5% (10% on Tuesdays) at Carrefour? Even if you know what kind of cash back you want, you're most likely limited to one particular brand of supermarket to go to. Tesco also has a similar promotion but I don't know which cc is applicable for the cash back.
why you dun know? website, internet is always there for you to explorer.

i got my 10% cash back, set off my CC account at the statement date. thumbup.gif

btw, what are you trying to express in your post?

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Dec 3 2008, 10:15 PM
vin_ann
post Dec 6 2008, 06:15 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Dec 5 2008, 06:53 PM)
I found this old reply by vin_ann saying that you can terminate the UOB cc without any charges but must return the cc to the bank
haha. notworthy.gif

that's was my experience. the cancellation form states will charge RM25.

the result is i never return the ugly blue UOB Master CC to UOB. 1st i was faxed the cancellation in and going to send back the card, whose know after tht i got call from UOB and they offered me VOX master card.

after tht i din bother to send back.

Anyways, im going to cancel my UOB again. let's see this time how the reaction.

vin_ann
post Dec 6 2008, 10:36 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Dec 6 2008, 09:38 AM)
Yeah... i'm going to cancel UOB cc too. I find that their cards are not attractive anymore. (Even though they allow rebate on the spot at BHP petrol station now)
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Dec 6 2008, 10:09 AM)
So only UOB charge for cancellation? How about others?
the RM25 charge mention is charging for not returning the Card.

so the cancellation is FREE provided u return the card back to them in 2 pieces... biggrin.gif
vin_ann
post Dec 6 2008, 02:15 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 6 2008, 01:35 PM)
A new list of CIMB latest promotion for CIMB and DA Mastercard cardholders:

10% rebate + 10% to 20% of discounts at participating merchants:

The list is available at: http://www.directaccess.com.my/pdf/CIMB%20...bate_041208.pdf

Promotion period: 1 December 2008 to 30 April 2009.
it's wont interest me so much.
if, im so happened, i need to buy the particular item and so happened im at particular merchants, i will just go for it. even with rebate o without rebate.

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Dec 6 2008, 01:47 PM)
its hard ler .. need to time yr purchase properly.. like 1st fri 2nd fri.. one monday.. etc.. its supposed to be more convenient.. ending up need to pre-plan yr expenses.. want to buy also need to wait till tat particular fri or so.. thn whn it reaches thn.. forgot di..

i think its rather troublesome. want to buy jus buy.. get discount.. wouldnt tat be easier..  patut cimb can get so many merchants discounts.
yalo. you need to always to bring the leaflet with u all the time to remind of urself.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:53 PM