123 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket-AM2&AM2+ Overclocking V12, The Deneb Era...Is coming..Beware..

digswell
post Dec 13 2008, 12:21 AM

2,484 posts

QUOTE(MENCHELSEA @ Dec 13 2008, 12:02 AM)
not buy lo just survey . go tgk PC Fair booth gal  tongue.gif

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
what ur latest OC with the GEM chip?  biggrin.gif long time never post ... blush.gif
post some 23 sec result bro  wub.gif
Now stop oc.....now play Hackintosh.. whistling.gif brows.gif
but my rig running oc 24/7 icon_rolleyes.gif

MENCHELSEA
post Dec 13 2008, 12:31 AM

GEMENCHEHTER UTD
566 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Dec 13 2008, 12:17 AM)
erm ..want to ask a while ..
tweak amd proc is pump fsb?
similar to intel proc?
Intel Just pump up fsb style .. just buy a speedy ram and there u go.. biggrin.gif

Amd is more trickier .. I might say..more fun..
you will dealing with HTT link . Multiplier, Ram Divider , HTT , icon_idea.gif nod.gif

More interesting if u got a GEM proc.. thumbup.gif

davidletterboyz
post Dec 13 2008, 12:35 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 13 2008, 12:16 AM)
woot... i smell some hardcore oc ledi...  brows.gif

what chip u'll be gettin bro...  unsure.gif
Hardcore what la...I still using the same F3 X2 3800+. Not sure which CPU or mobo I'm getting next...seems like all also got slight disadvantages hehe.
ah_khoo
post Dec 13 2008, 12:38 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(MENCHELSEA @ Dec 13 2008, 12:31 AM)
Intel Just pump up fsb style .. just buy a speedy ram and there u go..  biggrin.gif

Amd is more trickier .. I might say..more fun..
you will dealing with HTT link . Multiplier, Ram Divider , HTT ,  icon_idea.gif  nod.gif

More interesting if u got a GEM proc.. thumbup.gif
d guru has spoken... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Dec 13 2008, 12:35 AM)
Hardcore what la...I still using the same F3 X2 3800+. Not sure which CPU or mobo I'm getting next...seems like all also got slight disadvantages hehe.
nothing perfect lah bro... amd cheaper & offer longer pleasure... tongue.gif
chyu89
post Dec 13 2008, 12:39 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Hard to find GEMs nowadays. If anyone wanna let go , pm me biggrin.gif
cdlim87
post Dec 13 2008, 12:43 AM

AMD
2,220 posts

JW mb sooo headache.....??? hmm.gif ram oso cnt tune??? NB too?? shakehead.gif if too much prob thn i dun1 aim it oledi sweat.gif sweat.gif
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fcuk90
post Dec 13 2008, 12:45 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

ty for the explaination menchelsea.

will read more about amd proc oc b4 come join you all =.=
ah_khoo
post Dec 13 2008, 12:49 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(cdlim87 @ Dec 13 2008, 12:43 AM)
JW mb sooo headache.....???  hmm.gif  ram oso cnt tune??? NB too?? shakehead.gif  if too much prob thn i dun1 aim it oledi sweat.gif  sweat.gif
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

for sure can one lah... it's impossible for a board of that kinda quality not to have mem divider option, even some lousiest boards have that. i'm sure there's an option for nb multi adjust as well... wink.gif
cdlim87
post Dec 13 2008, 01:06 AM

AMD
2,220 posts

@bro sadako-chan

1. do u able to access processor freq(FID)&(VID) frm pic3??
2. how about memory clock mode [AUTO]?? this not the option to choose the ram multiplier??
**for my asus mobo with totally same name, it is for ram multiplier, try it up bro.. thumbup.gif hope it work.. i will help u to research this board.. wink.gif
-> for the HTlink and NB freq, i oso no idea with it, wat i predict aft study manual is js adjust the cpu-nb HT link speed to adjust HTlink& NB freq;
but u say it dun work on NB whn u tune it, that is a prob... hmm.gif mayb still got other setting to change hmm.gif , i will try to get the solution for this.. smile.gif

@ah_khoo
yaya... hopefuly... mayb bro sadako-chan cnt found it yet... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cdlim87: Dec 13 2008, 03:01 AM
davidletterboyz
post Dec 13 2008, 01:09 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 13 2008, 12:38 AM)
nothing perfect lah bro... amd cheaper & offer longer pleasure...  tongue.gif
I'm trying to get an AMD Agena (deneb will be near RM1k, can't touch LOL)...but to say AMD setup is cheaper is not right to be honest. tongue.gif
cdlim87
post Dec 13 2008, 01:13 AM

AMD
2,220 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Dec 13 2008, 01:09 AM)
I'm trying to get an AMD Agena (deneb will be near RM1k, can't touch LOL)...but to say AMD setup is cheaper is not right to be honest. tongue.gif
what do u mean?? AMD setup exp??
watever..... u can ply with cheapo cpu 1st while waiting for Deneb, thn u can start funding for it... i thk the price will vy worth for the Deneb buy, i blive icon_rolleyes.gif biggrin.gif
sepulgilo
post Dec 13 2008, 02:03 AM

dead for good
1,626 posts

if J cant D always can tongue.gif
cdlim87
post Dec 13 2008, 02:05 AM

AMD
2,220 posts

QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Dec 13 2008, 02:03 AM)
if J cant D always can tongue.gif
arh......... D is totally out of buget lo bro....... sweat.gif sweat.gif
get B with something TAxxxGX3 oso good mayb.... biggrin.gif but B dun come with good mosfet sink...
sepulgilo
post Dec 13 2008, 02:37 AM

dead for good
1,626 posts

all brand does not come with good sink tongue.gif
cdlim87
post Dec 13 2008, 02:49 AM

AMD
2,220 posts

QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Dec 13 2008, 02:37 AM)
all brand does not come with good sink tongue.gif
laugh.gif i noe now some ppl gona get DIY water block for mosfet d... thats the best sink imo.. thumbup.gif but for me, normal sink ok d la....... beter thn naked mosfet there.... rclxm9.gif

sadako-chan
post Dec 13 2008, 03:26 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 13 2008, 12:49 AM)
for sure can one lah... it's impossible for a board of that kinda quality not to have mem divider option, even some lousiest boards have that. i'm sure there's an option for nb multi adjust as well...  wink.gif
If you think got, got lah.. I already have the board, and messed around for a few day already. BIOS option photo also got posted there.
only got one multiplier option, HTT for my B2 phenom 9500, if got Black Edition, then Multiplier available.
Ram multi tied to CPU multi I think for this board, because there's no ram divisor option

I cannot lower the NB speed no matter what I do.

Only HTT can go lower.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 13 2008, 03:27 AM
TSAMDAthlon
post Dec 13 2008, 04:13 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

AMD Setup < Intel
If about on systems..
Deneb requires only 1k..While Core i7 Requires 3k +..
sadako-chan
post Dec 13 2008, 04:32 AM

226 posts

AMD has always been cheaper than Intel, it's the reason why I bought it.

People comparing clock for clock and saying how intel is faster, but when you compare performance per ringgit, different story.

Update.. on the testing of the J&W mobo

The NB multi is locked, confirmed again and again
No option to slow down the NB speed from the stock 1800Mhz.

I tried retarding HTT link, but the NB speed still at stock 1800 at stock FSB (200Mhz)

Ram Divider option available, but not through the conventional 1:2, 3:5 option.. Just set Ram options to Manual, with 400, you get 1:2 mem divisor, 333, you get 3:5 mem divider. 533, I cannot confirm.. wont' post, but I assume maybe 1:1

The NB multi is tied to the CPU multiplier I think. I tried 3:5 divider and retarded my ram to 333mhz, but the NB still runs at 1800mhz, go figure. I can overclock it by pumping up the FSB, but I can't underclock it, which lies my problem of OC'ing using the FSB. More than 2000Mhz at NB, OCCT will fail.

Oh, and after playing with ACC, I think I figured out how to play with it.. FSB independent overclocking.. clever.. going to test it out before I say more though.

Edit:
OK..
On ACC
ACC seems to slow down the CPU speed independently of the FSB, when I tried a -2% setting for all cores, I got a CPU speed of 2Ghz per core..
In which case, I can see how it relates to higher overclock ability, as you can also slow down one particular core that could not hit the desired speed.
I tried increasing it to +2%, but nothing happens, probably increasing clocks are reserved for Black Edition Phenoms only.

The J&W bios is AOD friendly, as the only way I could adjust my CPU multiplier lower was through the AOD application.
However, northbridge multiplier is STILL non existent.

If the J&W board has it, they must have HIDDEN IT PRETTY WELL, cause there isn't any NB Multi adjustment.. nope, zip, zilch, none, nada, zero.

Without a phenom black edition, I don't think a reasonable amount of overclocking is available to me soon.

With my locked phenom, increasing FSB was my only avenue of OC, and without the NB Multi adjustment, looks like I'm limited in my FSB overclocking endeavour.

One can only hope they address this is future bios updates, or if AMI bios editor is out, I'd unhide the option myself. >_>

Photo whoring of UNDERclocking the cpu, while upping the FSB with AOD. The bios is meant to be used with AOD. I click apply, and on next reboot, the options sticks in the bios.., even though the CPU multiplier option isn't available in the bios, on next reboot, the mobo actually boots up with a x9 multiplier (O_o)

As usual, the pictures.. This is underclocking, just to show how the NB multi irritatingly stays at x9 even when I reduced CPU multiplier from x11 to x9, and increased FSB.

But as an enthusiast's board.. Why the heck is the NB multiplier option MISSING? (>_>)

An excerpt from http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view....2502&cid=6&pg=6
Basically, for an AMD 790FX (or any AM2+) based motherboard to properly support overclocking Phenom processors, it will need to have a NB multiplier control as well. Of the four motherboards we've tested, the ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe and Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DQ6 both feature standard multiplier controls for CPU and NB. The MSI K9A2 Platinum on the other hand, had surprisingly scant BIOS options. It was the only board that didn't even feature a NB multiplier at time of testing. This was surprising because we were using the latest v1.3 official BIOS. It was widely reported that the older v1.1 BIOS actually had a sub-menu with full advanced overclocking control, but MSI seems to have removed this feature again.
Well, I guess J&W forgot to put that in.. maybe I should go rant on their forums about it. Ha ha.

Edit:
Seems stable enough at the moment.. 2442Mhz with 1.3V.. 1.25 is a no go for anything above 2.4Ghz - 10 mins into the OCCT test, CPU was at 66degs, and climbing... looks like I might need a cooler after all, even though in real life, I hardly ever hit peak load sweat.gif

Well anyway, I trawled the J&W forums and found something about JHDT jumper being an item I should set when OC.. with anticipation, I set the jumper to JHDT, and NOTHING... no new options in the bios, nothing! Damn for not having NB multi.. lol

What a waste of time. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by sadako-chan: Dec 13 2008, 09:23 AM
cdlim87
post Dec 13 2008, 11:36 AM

AMD
2,220 posts

@sadako-chan
bro, do u read post#1809?? i had edit it last nite..

well, for the ram, if no mistaken there will be such option:
200 : HTT x1
266 : HTT x1.33
333 : HTT x1.67
400 : HTT x2
533 : HTT x2.67

p/s: we call the FSB as HTT, where HTlink is diff with HTT, hope u understand it wink.gif

for the NB, i still hvn get any ans for it rite now... waiting for the ans... yawn.gif
BTW u going to the J&W forum, do u try ask the moderator neil? mayb u can try post ur prob there icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif

Added on December 13, 2008, 12:19 pmProject Support CPU 125W for J&W RS780UVD-AM2+ 128M
add the modfet for hardware:

source: http://forum.silicom.vn/viewtopic.php?t=84

This post has been edited by cdlim87: Dec 13 2008, 12:19 PM
sepulgilo
post Dec 13 2008, 03:30 PM

dead for good
1,626 posts

ALL GO PCFAIR KA?

123 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top