Western Digital TV™ HD Media Player, Full HD 1080p Player @MSRP USD129.99

ar188
post Jan 14 2009, 07:50 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 14 2009, 04:51 PM)
no access to astro. and i can only play rmvb on the pc....no intention to get a 3rd media player just for rmvb.
no wonder you mention the RMVB looks bad... playback on PC.. (that was my opinion too until I got a RMVB player)

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 14 2009, 07:58 PM
ar188
post Jan 15 2009, 06:42 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 15 2009, 11:28 AM)
fuiyoh, im a faggot  drool.gif
we always knew that.. tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 09:17 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Jan 16 2009, 09:15 AM)
Nope as well
I've tried before with mkv files with DD 5.1 using RCA
No sound from my avr
waiting for RX to say TVIX is best... whistling.gif whistling.gif tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 10:15 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jan 16 2009, 10:02 AM)
Hi guys, tell me if I get this right.. if the unit has no internal Dolby Digital or DTS decoding, then if the user has no AVR to decode it, then its practically pointless to buy this unit?

I'm asking because a friend of mine is very interested in getting this unit but he only has a LCD TV with HDMI in. Can the WD output audio (in stereo) via the HDMI?

Many thanks!
something like that... (pointless if your movies are in DD or DTS)

if your TV got DD decoding via HDMI then still can hear sound..
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 10:31 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jan 16 2009, 10:27 AM)
Hmm..thanks for all the reply.
So I guess its not suitable for my friend who just wants to watch movies. If I have to process the mkv files before viewing them, then it defeats the purpose.

Oh well, good thing I asked here first. If he bought the unit and finds out there's no sound, he's gonna skin me alive. ;-)
yeah playing video files from download poses a problem due to a variety of Codecs used.. only way to play all is HTPC.. but then it's not as easy to use (to turn on etc) and it's more expensive..

so function related to price... (RX gonna remind us again TVIX can do it all.. tongue.gif except RMVB)

Added on January 16, 2009, 10:33 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 16 2009, 10:30 AM)
wait a minute, so this thing is pointless if u are playing bluray rips mkv with no amp?
not even decoding DD 5.1 to stereo?

ar188, dun flame la, u htpc kaki, shoo shoo
yeah curious to know also, if DD 5.1 video files cannot internal decode to RCA stereo?

rx, what HTPC? I also got RMVB player wor.

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 16 2009, 10:33 AM
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 04:01 PM

9,206 posts

dunno about you guys, but I prefer to keep the higher quality DTS for my collection, intact as original file.. rather than convert to lower DD track..
but for those with time and also HDD space, I guess can keep 2 files, one original content and the other playable for WD.
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 04:34 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Jan 16 2009, 11:11 AM)
RCA is not the correct term to use. RCA is a plug. Both digital and analog also got RCA hence the confusion.

How do I find out which MKV in my library has only DD/DTS?
There is no digital rca out on the wd. so no confusion here. Hehe.
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 09:48 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 16 2009, 09:35 PM)
Internet of course....for those you need very fast line...Streamyx 1mb is minimum and a Rapidshare account...of course there are other servers like Megaupload, Netload, etc..

These stuff are are not usually discussed in public forum....if wanna know more PM me..or try googling it example: rapidshare.com 1080p
wah azbro is 1080p taiko.. rclxms.gif
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 10:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 16 2009, 10:16 PM)
oii...  vmad.gif

doh.gif
releks la. how many MKv you got now? tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 11:28 PM

9,206 posts

quote=robinlim,
I got mentioned stereo sound lar, bro
of coz RCA carries only 2 channel sound cool.gif

single RCa carries mono sound.. a pair of RCa carries stereo sound.. and 8 RCAs can carry 7.1 sound tongue.gif

digital rca = coaxial, right? biggrin.gif

yes, coax cable, but the plugs would still be called RCA.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 16 2009, 11:30 PM
ar188
post Jan 17 2009, 02:22 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(louyeh @ Jan 17 2009, 01:13 PM)
Seagate is offering data recovery services.
hehe! bos you back?
I dun think free recovery services apply to OEM units...
ar188
post Jan 17 2009, 03:12 PM

9,206 posts

I think for this 7200.11 SD15 case can recover 100% as it's firmware locking up the unit.. but need the pros to do it..
ar188
post Jan 17 2009, 07:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 17 2009, 07:06 PM)
What happens if the hardisk contains alot of Maria Ozawa and friends AV collection....haha...sure the pros gonna have a good time
Maria is a Pro.. she sure having good time and can Que for camera.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 17 2009, 10:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(louyeh @ Jan 17 2009, 10:35 PM)
ar188: yea back already. last weekend busy with an accord.

the official statement from seagate is here. it claims to offer free data recovery services if any data is lost after/during the firmware update or caused by the faulty firmware. this should be international support so just got to send back the drives to Seagate Singapore.

the fixed firmware is only available through email with Seagate tech support. if anyone has it already then they can share it out.
from the seagate forums, they are still waiting for the firmware.. cipet Seagate.. now have to buy few TB of WD Green
ar188
post Jan 17 2009, 11:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(louyeh @ Jan 17 2009, 10:45 PM)
the newer 7200.11 SATA version shouldnt be affected as those are using 3 platters (ST310003 33AS, SD35). its only the 4 platter version (ST310003 34AS, SD15) which are badly affected.

my external maxtor basics came with the SD35 version.
how to check the maxtor basic 1TB is using what drive (3 or 4 platter) or what firmware?

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 17 2009, 11:37 PM
ar188
post Jan 18 2009, 02:11 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 18 2009, 02:08 AM)
I am also very keen to know abt it. Luckily, only bought one. Then again, maybe Maxtor basic is not affected (praying hard)
hopefully "our" maxtor is same like sifu Louyeh's SD35 firmware 3platter HDD.. rather than diamond max22..
ar188
post Jan 18 2009, 02:48 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Jan 18 2009, 02:27 AM)

Sell to me cheap cheap ur WD TV player  brows.gif
hehe! you buy TV from HT kaki lor can contra.. biggrin.gif

ar188
post Jan 18 2009, 12:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(louyeh @ Jan 17 2009, 10:45 PM)
the newer 7200.11 SATA version shouldnt be affected as those are using 3 platters (ST310003 33AS, SD35). its only the 4 platter version (ST310003 34AS, SD15) which are badly affected.

my external maxtor basics came with the SD35 version.
Barracuda 7200.11
ST31000340AS
ST31000640AS
ST3750330AS
ST3750630AS
ST3640330AS
ST3640630AS
ST3500320AS
ST3500620AS
ST3500820AS
ST31500341AS
ST31000333AS
ST3640323AS
ST3640623AS
ST3320613AS
ST3320813AS
ST3160813AS

whoops..

I guess those using WDTV better stick to WD green HDD..
ar188
post Jan 18 2009, 03:09 PM

9,206 posts

no one have yet.. not out yet. (as of end of this week)
ar188
post Jan 19 2009, 12:39 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(junwei @ Jan 19 2009, 12:18 AM)
I am currently testing a product from my supplier.
It supports One SATA 1.5GB HDD internally, TWO SATA 1.5 HDD externally at the same time, and Two USB HDD externally.

It can run as a USB HOST so that you can transfer movies, photos, mp3 to it via USB cable from PC to this unit.

IT support HDMI 1.3a with DTS-HD pass through. Standard Composite Video out, RGB out, HDMI out, Optical Out for audio and RCA Stereo out.
Supports most mkv formats (not all coz I tested it n failed to read the transformer mkv that i downloaded 12GB size). the rest so far is okay. It supports ISO format too.

So far, this unit is running quite ok. But I have yet to test the DTS-HD coz i can't find any mkv or media that has DTS-HD. Most files are only DTS ...
Anyone can help me find MKV with DTS-HD perhaps? hehe

Talked to my supplier. Bulk purchase of 10 units ...per unit price is RM1000.  Single unit = RM 1200.
I've seen this, uses the sigma designs 8635 chip also.. the dual sata ports can be seen externally.. but they are not Esata.

if you want DTS-HD have to try BD rip M2TS file.. hehe!

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0397sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:22 PM