Western Digital TV™ HD Media Player, Full HD 1080p Player @MSRP USD129.99

ar188
post Mar 8 2009, 08:58 AM

9,206 posts

better check if streaming HD via ethernet is smooth.. usually it's pretty choppy/jerky.. unless it's SD material like those DVDrip avi files..
ar188
post Mar 8 2009, 03:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Mar 8 2009, 02:57 PM)
1080p file, you mean mkv files or m2ts files?
yeah the difference in bitrates between the 2 makes a world of difference..
ar188
post Mar 13 2009, 06:22 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Mar 13 2009, 06:16 PM)
i got this from local distributor....this was 29euro. ...hence abt RM150
cheap! when you coming back.. can get one for me ar? brows.gif
ar188
post Mar 15 2009, 12:28 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Mar 14 2009, 11:10 PM)
please help! Can some kind soul please point me to where I can solve the "no audio" problem on 720p and 1080p files?
I tried downloading Popcorn Audio Converter but there's a trojan horse in there according to my AVG.
I don't have a DTS receiver either! (How much are recivers now?)
Anyway, I just want to watch my stuff on my LCD TV in my room, so the speakers from my TV is more than sufficient for my current needs.

Please please help!
Can try mkv2vob and convert the dts to dd with m2ts or vob format.

ar188
post Mar 15 2009, 01:19 PM

9,206 posts

your HDD is formated in FAT32, so max size is 4GB , either you split the files into 2 or you reformat the HDD to NTFS..
ar188
post Mar 16 2009, 12:34 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Mar 15 2009, 03:29 PM)
You don't have to reformat your HDD to get NTFS. Just convert it to NTFS...(always a good idea to backup what u have in there first)
Source : http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307881
good tip. rclxms.gif
ar188
post Mar 16 2009, 10:03 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Mar 16 2009, 12:49 AM)

any body?? How do u transfer ur finished Bdrip mkv to ur ext HDD??
usually just copy the file from your OS HDD to your ext HDD? or you can use a copy utility like teracopy 2.0 beta.
ar188
post Mar 18 2009, 01:17 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(hdwarexpert @ Mar 18 2009, 01:01 AM)
Damn! You have a large collection... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I'm more impressed to know where he store the backup files on HDD? I should have similar amount of titles >100) on physical ori BD discs but to transfer my entire collection to HDD as a movie server, say 100 titles would take up 30-40GB per title x 100.. that;s like 30-40TB of HDD space.. wah.. drool.gif
ar188
post Mar 18 2009, 01:15 PM

9,206 posts

acterly, MKV is just a Video/audio file container, can store std def DVD rip or any video files or HD-DVD rips or even recorded HD TV channels. doesn't mean really BD rips only..
cheers..

ar188
post Mar 18 2009, 09:18 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Mar 18 2009, 03:15 PM)
Dun confuse people lah.

What you see out there .... mkv = 720/1080 rips and avi = low resolution rips
if you are unsure about these things dun add confusion.. your statement shows you are ignorant yet still want to advise people.. shakehead.gif

Added on March 18, 2009, 9:20 pm
QUOTE(waeguk @ Mar 18 2009, 06:40 PM)
Why make it so complicating?

So instead of addressing hidef files with file extensions, whats the best way to say it then?

Everyone start saying '720p/1080p' instead of avi/mkv/mp4/mpg watever lah.

But then someone will start saying 720p/1080p can be small filesize because of compression ..... headache lah. hahahaha.
wished it was that simple. if it's so simplistic then your WDTV would be able to play all those MKV without problems.. no need to worry about high profile 4.1 or max bit rates audio codec, embedded Subtitles or MKV error checking etc.

by understanding what MKV is will enable you to know what kind of MKVs are playable on your media player and why some can't play.. or stutter or hang..

Added on March 18, 2009, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(studwo @ Mar 18 2009, 06:12 PM)
u all forget mp4 format ..
summore got, HD formats like M2TS, VOB, RMVB HD.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Mar 18 2009, 09:23 PM
ar188
post Jul 4 2009, 04:39 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(in_george @ Jul 3 2009, 05:08 PM)
BD9/BD5 are physically DVD media, but with the content encoded using Blu-ray specification codecs. Thus they're not playable on normal DVD players, but could be duplicated using DVD duplicators and blank DVD-R/+R media or existing DVD pressing machines.
nope. they are not the same. smile.gif so you cant use red laser DVD duplicators to make 405nm laser blu-ray discs.

* Blu-ray disc player uses blue laser to read and write data while DVD player uses red laser. As blue laser has shorter wave length of 405 nm (when compared with red laser of 650 nm wavelength), a blu-ray disc player can record much more information (ten times more than DVD player). Blue laser can be focused on smaller pits precisely so data can be read and processed much faster.
* The optical unit in blu-ray disc player uses improved optical features like powerful lens that can increase its aperture to 0.85 with ease.
* Thirdly, the pit size on a blu-ray disc is less than half of the pit size on a DVD (0.15 microns Vs 0.4 microns). The track length is also minimized on a blu-ray disc (0.32 micros) when compared with DVD disc (0.74 microns).
* Next, the polycarbonate layer over the bumps (which contain data) on the blu-ray disc is thinner (1.1 mm thickness) and this helps to remove optical aberrations and focus the laser more precisely on a smaller spot.

ar188
post Jul 5 2009, 11:23 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(in_george @ Jul 5 2009, 03:19 AM)
Extracted from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blu-ray_Disc

BD9/BD5 Blu-ray Disc
BD9 and BD5 are lower capacity variants of the Blu-ray Disc that contain Blu-ray Disc compatible video and audio streams contained on a conventional DVD (650 nm wavelength / red laser) optical disc. Such discs offer the use of the same advanced compression technologies available to Blu-ray Discs (including H.264/MPEG-4 AVC, VC-1 and MPEG-2) while using lower cost legacy media. BD9 uses a standard 8152MB DVD9 dual-layer disc while BD5 uses a standard 4482MB DVD5 single-layer disc.

BD9/BD5 discs can be authored using home computers for private showing using standard DVD±R recorders. AACS digital rights management is optional. The BD9/BD5 format was originally proposed by Warner Home Video, as a cost-effective alternative to regular Blu-ray Discs. It was adopted as part of the BD-ROM basic format, file system, and AV specifications. BD9/BD5 is similar to 3× DVD for HD DVDs.
oh... using DVD9s but authored to BD compatibility.. for BD player playback.. thanks for pointing out..

ar188
post Jul 6 2009, 07:28 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 6 2009, 05:32 PM)
Never tried 10 mkv in one folder back to back....what are you watching bro?
maybe hidef manga or TV series should have many episodes wan..

This post has been edited by ar188: Jul 6 2009, 07:28 PM

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0215sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:43 AM