post Nov 28 2008, 08:12 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

The SRT subtitles must have the same name as the movie, that's all. biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Nov 28 2008, 11:03 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Tested it just now. Work flawlessly for MKV files. I am using HDMI for connection. HDD is WD.

Will test other files as well tomorrow. Darn tired now.

can WD HD player owner do me a favor pls? download the clip (720p mkv with h264 + aac) and see if the player can playback flawlessly? thks~

That's taken in HK Disneyland. This is near the main entrance.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Nov 28 2008, 11:27 PM
robinlim
post Nov 29 2008, 12:26 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

tested just now
most of my mkv files were played flawlessly
except few files with different flaws

anyway, i was using the composite cable to test
tomorrow gonna get a HDMI cable to test again
to see whether the flaws can be resolved

about the subtitle
yes, all the english subtitles can be shown
but not the chinese subtitle
not even a single word was shown

the subtitles are the srt type
the so called 3rd party subtitle
not the embedded one
I tested one mkv movie with embedded subtitle
it shows nothing
I think like metalgrindsolid bro mentioned
need to extract the subtitle out

when i opened some of my mkv files
it shows that the audio track type is not supported, no sound
maybe not all the digital audio track types are supported?

This post has been edited by robinlim: Nov 29 2008, 12:29 AM
iman_210
post Nov 29 2008, 07:59 AM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ Nov 27 2008, 12:20 AM)
Played around with the new WD media player just now.

Performance depends a lot on the type of USB hardware. Didn't do well with my 2.5" and 3.5" HDD enclosures, video freeze, etc.

Worked well with my Transcend usb drive. 720p mkv was beautiful on big screen.

Wonder if it's to do with data read/transfer speed. The WD Mybook or passport is faster too?
how much and where did u get it?
DigitalTech
post Nov 29 2008, 11:28 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Nov 29 2008, 12:26 AM)
tested just now
most of my mkv files were played flawlessly
except few files with different flaws

anyway, i was using the composite cable to test
tomorrow gonna get a HDMI cable to test again
to see whether the flaws can be resolved

about the subtitle
yes, all the english subtitles can be shown
but not the chinese subtitle
not even a single word was shown

the subtitles are the srt type
the so called 3rd party subtitle
not the embedded one
I tested one mkv movie with embedded subtitle
it shows nothing
I think like metalgrindsolid bro mentioned
need to extract the subtitle out

when i opened some of my mkv files
it shows that the audio track type is not supported, no sound
maybe not all the digital audio track types are supported?
Robin, you are right. Some mkv files played without sound.
and embedded subtitle cannot display.
rx330
post Nov 29 2008, 11:40 AM

11,811 posts

hmmm, so how good is this?
any internal decoding of DD n DTS?
jeromeccm
post Nov 29 2008, 01:05 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2008, 11:40 AM)
hmmm, so how good is this?
any internal decoding of DD n DTS?
you considering? your tvix kong already right? blush.gif
rx330
post Nov 29 2008, 01:38 PM

11,811 posts

kong ur head la, just the screen kaput
furthurmore, this can never be a replacement for the tvix, tis is for a secondary display
jeromeccm
post Nov 29 2008, 01:57 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2008, 01:38 PM)
furthurmore, this can never be a replacement for the tvix, tis is for a secondary display
ha ha ha.. ok ok.. soli...
i am considering the WD media player and TVIX i duno which one is worth more in long run....
htkaki
post Nov 29 2008, 07:16 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, if I got no time to use it, I shipped to you to test for few days. Anjua?
iman_210
post Nov 29 2008, 07:56 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

does this has co-ax out?
aiman04
post Nov 29 2008, 08:17 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Always the best post! rclxms.gif

Yup, this can never replace the TViX. But it's good enough for it's price. Me also thought of buying, but had to pass after I read the specs.
DigitalTech
post Nov 29 2008, 09:30 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Nov 29 2008, 07:56 PM)
does this has co-ax out?
only optical out.
rx330
post Nov 30 2008, 02:55 AM

11,811 posts

bro aiman, long time no see, still bagus?

htkaki, if u dun mind :$
i test kaw kaw water for u 1st biggrin.gif
but wat im interested to know is, got internal decoding of dts n dd or not?
corez
post Nov 30 2008, 08:10 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

It happens to my TIVX also hmm.gif
TSsotong168
post Nov 30 2008, 08:36 AM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 28 2008, 11:03 PM)
That's taken in HK Disneyland. This is near the main entrance.
thks for clarifying, else ppl would actually think that is maria ozawa clip sweat.gif

QUOTE(corez @ Nov 30 2008, 08:10 AM)
It happens to my TIVX also  hmm.gif
how's your wd tv hd player? arrive yet?

Btw, if anyone already fade out and would like to let go his/her wd tv hd player, kindly pm me blush.gif
htkaki
post Nov 30 2008, 09:31 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 30 2008, 02:55 AM)
bro aiman, long time no see, still bagus?

htkaki, if u dun mind :$
i test kaw kaw water for u 1st biggrin.gif
but wat im interested to know is, got internal decoding of dts n dd or not?

I think tarak. Whatever in the mkv, it will just output it. In my AVR, certain clips has DD (oftenly) and some DTS. Only one audio option. Should I say, no option.

I dont mind to send to you to test. Bundle with ext HDD inside. U tau apa mau butalah tongue.gif The other HDD will go to BBA wink.gif

thks for clarifying, else ppl would actually think that is maria ozawa clip sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Tested. It played flawlessly smile.gif

corez
post Nov 30 2008, 09:20 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Nov 30 2008, 08:36 AM)
thks for clarifying, else ppl would actually think that is maria ozawa clip sweat.gif
how's your wd tv hd player? arrive yet?
Btw, if anyone already fade out and would like to let go his/her wd tv hd player, kindly pm me blush.gif
Not yet sad.gif Hopefully this coming week.
rx330
post Nov 30 2008, 10:45 PM

11,811 posts

so if direct hdmi to tv, no audio? cos no decoder?
u free u send to me lor, but if rosak not my probelm tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:24 AM