Western Digital TV™ HD Media Player, Full HD 1080p Player @MSRP USD129.99
aiman04
Nov 11 2008, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(corez @ Nov 11 2008, 11:20 AM) Just ordered from Amazon at $115.99 free shipping to Vpost. But no stock ATM, so have to wait from Amazon to restock. The previous pricing of USD 122 is from another seller BTW and they have stock. 70 BDs, BD player, and this? I should've join you when you asked me to rob the bank.
aiman04
Nov 14 2008, 02:29 PM
Theatrical films, even those shot digitally, are shot at 24fps. Digital movies that are not meant for cinemas, like concerts/TV series, mostly shot at 60fps.
aiman04
Nov 26 2008, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(chchch @ Nov 26 2008, 02:36 PM) Run thru whole pdf, most lkely it doesnt has hdmi 1.3 chipset and support HD audio. All MKV that I have only normal DTS (1.5mbps max) and Dolby Digital only. So that's fine. I have yet to come across any video file with HD audio tracks.
aiman04
Nov 27 2008, 07:00 AM
I was talking about HD audio in MKV files, I can't seem to find any. If you remux and re-encode the audio tracks to DTS-HD MA/Dolby TrueHD, it's still not lossless to the original BD, only lossless to the MKV.
Direct rip from BD, that's another story.
aiman04
Nov 27 2008, 07:52 PM
Guys, discussing MKV files or any type of media in general is fine. But is it ok to mention about downloading certain copyrighted titles? And giving links is even more inapropriate. Can discuss this privately via PM.
aiman04
Nov 28 2008, 08:12 PM
The SRT subtitles must have the same name as the movie, that's all.
aiman04
Nov 29 2008, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2008, 01:38 PM) kong ur head la, just the screen kaput furthurmore, this can never be a replacement for the tvix, tis is for a secondary display Always the best post! Yup, this can never replace the TViX. But it's good enough for it's price. Me also thought of buying, but had to pass after I read the specs.
aiman04
Dec 1 2008, 09:11 AM
It seems like this WD can't decode some audio formats internally (presumably DTS & Dolby), you'll need to have an AV receiver to do the decoding. So those connecting directly to the TV might not get the audio.
aiman04
Dec 1 2008, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(SynHeng @ Dec 1 2008, 09:56 AM) Is this gonna help? http://forum.videohelp.com/topic358929-150.html#1911796Anyway received the items on Saturday. Gonna tried it tonight.  If I have to do remux/demux then I might just as well use my PS3. I can quickly remux an MKV file and play it straight on the PS3.
aiman04
Dec 1 2008, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(vex @ Dec 1 2008, 10:28 AM) i dun under stand, DVD got 1080P resolution meh ??? or u are talking about BD ? DVD native resolution is 480p. I think his TV screen/upscaling is 1080p which don't have anything to do with the WD player, so of course it will play flawlessly. He need to test it on a real 1080p native video to get the WD's real performance result.
aiman04
Dec 1 2008, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(laowai @ Dec 1 2008, 03:38 PM) Is this really 1080? Looks more like 800p ?!? 1080p refers to vertical pixel count of 1.78:1 aspect ratio (16x9, same as your widescreen TV). Because most movies were shot at wider screen with 2.35:1 aspect ratio, the vertical resolution will be smaller. Some movies were shot at 1.85:1 will be stretched to 1.78:1 (negligible effect to the picture) during rip process, so the vertical resolution will be 1080p. The best way to know the actual resolution is to look at horizontal size. If it's 1920 then it's 1080p, regardless of the vertical size. Same with 720p which will always have 1280 pixels horizontally. So if the video size is 1920x800, it is 1080p at 2.35:1 aspect ratio.
aiman04
Dec 2 2008, 07:09 AM
Use SubtitleWorkshop to edit your subtitles. Download here: SubtitleWorkshop 2.51SubtitleWorkshop 4.00 Beta 4This is a freeware, feel free to distribute.
aiman04
Dec 2 2008, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(beebee @ Dec 2 2008, 08:29 AM) hi guys, is there any entry level with hdmi in/out which is not too expensive? Wanna fulkly utilise the WD TV with the dts decode. Receiver only: Yamaha RX-V663 for around RM1.9k. Onkyo TX-SR606 for less than RM3k. Or for HTiBs, the Sony HT-SF2300 for RM1999, and few others, don't know much about the models, maybe can refer tot he HTiB thread.
aiman04
Dec 2 2008, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(laowai @ Dec 2 2008, 10:15 AM) No need HDMI to listen to DTS, just get any DTS amp with optical input, cost maybe less than RM1k. Ooops, yeah, you're right. I was misleaded when he mentioned HDMI. Any receiver with optical input and legacy DTS decoding will do. You'll only need an HDMI receiver if there's a need to decode HD audio.
aiman04
Dec 12 2008, 07:13 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 12 2008, 12:11 AM) pundek, u till now also no send to me for testing Just come to KL this weekend and get one from the PC Fair bro. It's dirt cheap for you, you won't notice any changes in your wallet.
aiman04
Dec 12 2008, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 12 2008, 07:15 AM) Minta ampun, YB. You kecut my balls liao.  RM499 is a hell lot of money to me  A hell lot of money to me too. But not to elites lah.
aiman04
Dec 13 2008, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 13 2008, 11:16 AM) didi, ps3 can do most avi's ler or u can stream from your pc using tversity, it even does mkv on tat That's correct. It can also play AVI-HD and WMV-HD directly. For MKVs can stream using Tversity. In fact, with wired/wireless connection with PS3 is one advantage over the WDTV. If you don't wanna stream, can always remux the MKV. Another reason for me to not sell my PS3.
aiman04
Dec 15 2008, 12:53 PM
Yeah, everyone should take this into consideration before buying. If you own an AV receiver or plan to buy one, you're good to go. If not, you won't hear the audio for those MKVs with DTS (or Dolby Digital too?) when connect the audio directly to the TV. Looks like it doesn't have internal decoding for those audio codec.
aiman04
Dec 16 2008, 10:55 AM
If we have to go all this conversion/remux process, for PS3 owners should just settle with their PS3 instead.