10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Malaysia Import Duties

kherel77
post Jan 18 2016, 12:20 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Jan 18 2016, 12:17 PM)
Hey, thanks for your reply!! rclxms.gif
Anyway, green lane = no GST as well?
Yup, no GST as well...
kherel77
post Jan 18 2016, 10:46 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(maz07 @ Jan 18 2016, 06:36 PM)
kherel77, how to count the 6% GST? Total of items + shipping? Does all items imported from overseas have GST?
GST = (Invoice value + 10% insurance + IATA Freight Rate + Import duty) x 6%

Not all items have GST, but most of items....refer HERE
kherel77
post Jan 27 2016, 11:02 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(kukendran @ Jan 27 2016, 10:51 AM)
Hi I would just like to inquire what would the GST and/or import duty for:

Item: Keyboard

Cost: 74 USD (RM 315 based on current exchange rate) - this includes shipping but from the reseller and does not factor in the IATA rate and I can't seem to find the rate on the IATA's website.

Origin: US (Massdrop to be exact)
I tried to calculate this by myself based on some of the other information provided in the thread but couldn't find the IATA rate. From what I could Google the package weight is 0.90kg. I'm guessing there may be a standard 10% insurance. But correct me if I'm wrong if the CIF is below RM500 then there won't be any import duty and GST right? I really hope the IATA rate is low if that is indeed the case.
Min IATA freight rate from US is RM421.59 for <45.0kg
kherel77
post Feb 4 2016, 10:57 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(niamataikamka @ Feb 2 2016, 11:45 AM)
Hi there, i would like to know if there is any local tax for archery bow if i were to buy one frm US. thx heaps...
You can declare it under Tariff Code 9506.99 000 which carry 0% Import duty + 6% GST
kherel77
post Feb 4 2016, 11:00 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Feb 1 2016, 05:33 AM)
Is there any import tax for vacuum cleaner, which costs RM 2000+ ?
Vacum Cleaner with <1500W motor & dustbag/container <20L have 20% import duty + 6% GST & need SIRIM certification.
kherel77
post Mar 22 2016, 05:01 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

Instant noodle Tariff Code is 1902.30.400 which carry 8% Import duties + 6% GST (if applicable)
Both have CIF value less than RM500...can apply for duty/tax exemptions.

QUOTE(eugene9201 @ Mar 22 2016, 03:54 PM)
Hi, any sifus can advise on my import duty and tax?

1st package
What item? – Instant Noodle
Origin? - Korea
Gross weight (packaging)? - 5.69 kg
Invoice value? - 29,250won (include shipping of 5,000won)
**Actual shipping cost: 52,800won

2nd package
What item? – Cup Noodle
Origin? - Korea
Gross weight (packaging)? - 8.66 kg
Invoice value? - 51,000won (include shipping of 5,000won)
** Actual shipping cost: 78,400won

**I brought the noodles from Gmarket because they have promotion now – 5,000won for EMS shipping (unlimited weight). Only after that I thought of the import duty and tax...
**I got the actual shipping cost from this website - http://www.koreapost.go.kr/eng/sub/subpage...contId=e1020300
kherel77
post Jun 30 2016, 02:37 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(XyzionzX @ Jun 29 2016, 11:42 PM)
I wanna ask if i bring any kind of knives? How much it will be taxed?
Agricultre, horticultre or forestry knives is 5% import duties + 6% GST
Others knives is 25% import duties + 6% GST
kherel77
post Jul 11 2016, 05:05 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Jul 11 2016, 03:56 PM)
@kherel77 Hi, may I know how much tax I expected to pay if import the following

Item: Kitchenware (pot, frying pan, wok)
Origin: Korea
Gross weight: 3.8kg
Invoice value : approximate RM420

Thank you for your help smile.gif
Mostly kitchenware made of stainless steel have 15% import duties + 6% GST

Below only for estimation
Import duties:
(Invoice value + 10% insurance + IATA freight rate) x 15%
(RM420 + RM42 + RM112.50) x 15% = RM86.18

GST:
(Invoice value + 10% insurance + IATA freight rate + Import duties) x 6%
(RM420 + RM42 + RM112.50 + RM86.18) x 6% = RM39.40

Total duties + GST = RM125.58 excluding service charge by courier company if they do the declaration on behalf.
kherel77
post Jul 11 2016, 05:10 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(fangyi379 @ Jul 8 2016, 03:43 PM)
Hello! May I ask about, My taiwan friend is shipping 50+ swimsuit(clothes) to me
May I know how much is the import duty?
Isit 30%+GST 6%?
May I know where to see as well? TTvTT i can't really find the thing i want from google
*might not having invoice.
Also, the tax form is done from taiwan?γ€€or wait them to call me only pay? I am appreciate who is answering is my question TTvTT
Only 6% GST under Tariff Code #6211.** *** icon_rolleyes.gif
Tax form is done here in Malaysia (to declare your import items). Can instruct your shipping agent/courier to do it on behalf.

This post has been edited by kherel77: Jul 11 2016, 05:12 PM
kherel77
post Jul 11 2016, 07:46 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(elenatec @ Jul 11 2016, 05:52 PM)
Hi, May I know if I order a graphic card from Massdrop what will cost me?
Item cost 429.99
Shipping 28.50

I have asked the custom they reply this to me
Importing graphic card into Malaysia is subject to 6% GST. The calculation of tax is based on cost, insurance and freight (CIF) value.

so mean there will have Tax + 6% GST?

Regards,
GST is the tax... notworthy.gif
kherel77
post Jul 11 2016, 11:08 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(elenatec @ Jul 11 2016, 10:13 PM)
sorry for the noob question haha, I guess that only apply 6%GST?
If not mistaken, yes...only have 6% GST.
kherel77
post Jul 12 2016, 02:20 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Jul 12 2016, 12:42 PM)
Thank you so much for your help  notworthy.gif

How about if kitchenware that made of ceramic? What is the import duties charged?
Ceramic have higher import duties...30% + 6% GST

QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Jul 12 2016, 12:42 PM)
And how to calculate the IATA freight rate from Korea? If my invoice value which approximate RM420 is actually RM350 (item) + RM70 (shipping fee charged by seller), does the IATA freight rate will be reduced or still remains at RM112.50?
Thanks again  thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif
That fee is what you paid to seller & they paid to courier company for freight/delivery charge. IATA freight charge is not to pay, only use in duties & taxes calculation. So your IATA freight charge still remain accordingly to that parcel weight.
kherel77
post Jul 12 2016, 03:09 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Jul 12 2016, 02:26 PM)
IC.. where can I refer the IATA freight charge rate? Any resources which I can refer to?Β  biggrin.gif
I got it annually from my courier agent. I try to upload it here.

Ohh...wait...that rate I'd given is 2015. 2016 already RM123.75 minimum.

[attachmentid=7068876]

This post has been edited by kherel77: Jul 12 2016, 03:14 PM
kherel77
post Jul 13 2016, 08:01 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(nimeewon @ Jul 13 2016, 05:43 PM)
Am planning to buy some cosmetics from US. If I go over the RM500 limit, how much will I be taxed? The cosmetics are single items, small stuff like lipsticks.
6% GST only & maybe need import permit from KPDNKK.
kherel77
post Aug 1 2016, 11:18 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Aug 1 2016, 07:38 PM)
i bought a digital audio player from korea and was charge 10% import tax. mp3 player also 10% charge is it normal? what is the right hs code for mp3 player
Don't get it wrong...that 10% is import duties. Tax now is call GST (flat rate 6%). If not mistaken HS Code for mp3 player is 8519.81 590
kherel77
post Dec 22 2016, 02:28 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

Shipping fee - it's only between buyer & seller.
Kos Tambang Dagangan - it's use in Customs duties/taxes/GST calculation in every inbound shipment. RM480.25 is minimum freight charge from US using air freight.
So, actual CIF is RM675.18 is correct.
I think i'd share the freight charge schedule in my post before.
kherel77
post Dec 22 2016, 03:16 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(mastering @ Dec 22 2016, 02:51 PM)

Yup, saw that schedule attachment. But from my experience and in my humble opinion, I do not see a reason for Customs to amend the freight cost especially since the cost of freight is already stated on the invoice. By default, the valuation method should be based on Customs Valuation Method 1, which is "Transaction value" i.e. price paid or payable by the buyer up until point of importation. In this case the price has been paid by the buyer which was stated in the invoice. If there is no cost of freight stated on the sales document, then Customs may use their judgment to apply a fair value on it. In that case, the jadual/schedule will be relied on by the Customs officer.
Freight charge in Customs calculation is not shipping fees that seller charged to buyer for sending the items bought.
In bold - that applicable for items/goods FOB value, not the K1 freight charge. Freight charge that using in duties/Taxes calculation (K1 Form) is standard rate worldwide provided by IATA, not from Customs themselves.

Lets say if 2 person bought same item from same seller with same invoice price but using different courier/forwarder, the shipping fees will be different. Then the duties/taxes amount will be different too, rite? That's not fair, is it?

That's why shipping fees is only between buyer & seller, but freight charge using in duties/taxes calculation (K1 Form) is standard rate worldwide.

kherel77
post Dec 22 2016, 03:42 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(mastering @ Dec 22 2016, 03:37 PM)

Thanks bro @kherel77. I have learnt something new today. I guess the laws may have changed and also it has been long since I last dealt with Customs. At that time, there is no such jadual. Nevertheless, if the importer disagrees with the valuation, they can always pay the duty under protest and follow up with an appeal. At least that's what I will do.

My takeaway point here is this: I have dealt with Customs numerous times in the past and I have seen many examples of their usual tactics in getting importers to pay unnecessary tax. This includes classifying to higher tax HS or adjusting the value based on their internal documents. Ignorant importers usually will just accept it especially if the amount of tax is insignificant in order for them to quickly get on with their business. Unfortunately, this has made Customs to be bolder in their attempts to secure more tax revenue for the country.
Welcome at anytime bro...that's what i do in this 7 years. With correct knowledge about this import & export regulations, you can easily beat some crap & lazy Customs officers...hahaha. thumbup.gif
kherel77
post Dec 29 2016, 09:27 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Dec 28 2016, 10:52 PM)
Thanks kherel77 and mastering for your replies. Very informative.  biggrin.gif

I actually bought two graphic novels from Barnes & Noble and they were sent out in separate parcels. The taxed parcel we're talking about was the first one to arrive. The second one arrived two days later also via UPS. Although the item and shipping cost are the same, no K1 freight charges were added to this parcel and therefore no tax was charged.

kherel77, if you're correct in saying that my first parcel should definitely have K1 freight charges applied to it, does this mean that customs was being lenient and closed one eye when they did not apply the K1 freight charges for the second parcel? I'd also like to add that I received a DHL parcel worth CIF USD95 (~RM400) a few months back and despite customs opening my box for inspection, they did not apply any K1 freight charges or tax as well. Were they being lenient as well?

I've attached below both customs slips. Sorry for the poor quality but the print was already pretty faded when I received it. I did notice that they used different tariff codes for both (4205.00.900 and 4901.99.000) but that should be irrelevant as it has no impact on the K1 freight charges.

Oh, and just to confirm. Does this Kos Tambang Dagangan apply to EMS/Poslaju as well?

First, for printed books/brochures/leaflets or similar, Tariff Codes should be from 4901.xx xxx which carry 0% import duties & 6% GST. If both of your shipment have same value & weight, from my calculation...both should be 6% taxed.

From the K1 attached, i should say it's Customs mistake about the second shipment's calculation & you should be grateful as Customs also human, sometimes newbies/rookies, and made mistake. I'd face this many times before but as working for strictly-audit-able company...I have to rectify what they missed out or mistake...and pay as it should.

For the DHL case you'd mention, maybe the items is fall under non-taxable items or it go through some smuggling checking inspection...something like that.
And yes, Kos Tambang Dagangan is applied to every shipment inbound...air/land/sea, although the rate is different between this three.
kherel77
post Dec 30 2016, 04:30 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Dec 30 2016, 01:21 AM)
Thank you very much for the info!  thumbup.gif  I've always been a bit unsure as to how Kos Tambang Dagangan works and what little info on the Net about it wasn't very definitive, so this helps to clear things up.

I guess I won't be pursuing clarification from UPS now then, as my first parcel seems to be correctly taxed and I'm lucky that my second parcel wasn't.  rclxms.gif

Every shipment coming in? I was led to believe that Kos Tambang Dagangan only applies to express couriers like Fedex/UPS/DHL/Poslaju, and normal mail services from Pos Malaysia are not subjected to it. If really for all shipment, I'm guessing Customs is not that strict with Pos Malaysia and Poslaju, as I've received multiple shipments from them without any tax.
Yes, you're right about Pos Malaysia & Pos Laju. My assuming is both is gorv. body so they just close one eyes to the others. But not all, as few shipment thru POS Malaysia/Laju also got taxed.

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Dec 30 2016, 12:00 PM)
What if the merchant is declaring more than what I paid? Apparently just clarified with my merchant that he has declared on the declaration form outside the parcel based on RRP and not the discounted price...
Declaration value take from what stated in shipping invoice or Air Way Bill / Consignment Note. I think your seller put the pre-discount price.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:51 PM