Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Malaysia Import Duties

kherel77
post Dec 6 2019, 03:27 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(BobSponge @ Dec 6 2019, 02:02 PM)
Thanks kherel. I got the same result but I would like to ask how did you get the 10% SST figure?

If you see the result below under PDK 2017, The column for "IMPORT RATE" and "SST" is blank on the customs page. I assume blank would mean 0% for both import duty and SST?

Scroll to the right for duty/tax percentage.

QUOTE(BobSponge @ Dec 6 2019, 02:02 PM)
I have a second question if you don't mind. Do you know what's the HS code for console games? (e.g. PS4/PC/XBOX games). Basically console games on disc.
8523.80.9900: Import duty 0%, SST 5%
kherel77
post Dec 9 2019, 05:04 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(baldiajaib @ Dec 9 2019, 11:48 AM)
i bought 40 pieces of used CDs from Zenmarket. Is there a possibility that custom will hold my item? There are few options that the website offer such as:

1. remove the website sticker on the parcel
2. remove all price tags on the item and remove any invoice @ receipt
3. Other special request (i can request to tag the parcel as personal belonging)
4. The items can be shipped multiple times (separate the CDs to few parcels and posted separately)
No reason for Customs to hold your items unless containing indecent or pornographic material of any description.
Music CD's have 5% SST.
kherel77
post Dec 9 2019, 05:08 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Dec 9 2019, 01:55 PM)
Hi, can I know what's the rate for purchase of tshirt, polo shirts, rugby jerseys. Basically clothing. Is there any difference in price of the import duty or SST say if I buy RM1200 worth of tshirts/clothing, including shipping in 1 package comparing to splitting it to 2 RM600 packages?
Both situation will incur duty/tax. 2nd method will increase total duty/tax as freight charge is calculate twice.
kherel77
post Dec 9 2019, 05:15 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 9 2019, 04:08 PM)

May I know if my friend to ship a new road bike from Japan to Malaysia to me. Will it subject to Import Duty or SST? If yes, how many percent applicable for it??
Racing bicycle (HS# 8712.00 110) 0% import duty + 0% SST
Children's bicycle (HS# 8712.00 120) 0% import duty + 0% SST but need Import licensed (MDTCC)
Other that above (HS# 8712.00 190) 25% import duty + 0% SST
kherel77
post Dec 9 2019, 07:59 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Dec 9 2019, 05:31 PM)
Thank you bro. What's the tax rate in this case?
Mostly 10% SST.
kherel77
post Dec 9 2019, 08:42 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(baldiajaib @ Dec 9 2019, 08:05 PM)
Thanks bro. Apart of the SST charges, any other charges such as the import taxes etc?

All are Audio CDs
No import duty, only SST.
kherel77
post Dec 10 2019, 07:50 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 9 2019, 09:39 PM)
Thanks for the prompt reply.

This lead to another two question, based on what you have mentioned. It will be best for me to declare the actual figure of the bike? (I want to insured that package)
Base on market price+insurance+IATA freight rate. If used, declared it as "used" item in the shipping invoice (can ask your friend to create it) or Airway Bill/Bill of Lading to get lower value.

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 9 2019, 09:39 PM)
Another question is, what if the custom do hold the item and request for the Import Duty or SST only then they will release the item??

What should I do then?

Thanks again.
Import duty/SST incurred must be settle before Customs release the item. If no duty/SST incur, they will release it. Can ask your shipping agent/courier to pay on behalf first.
kherel77
post Dec 10 2019, 12:01 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Dec 10 2019, 10:18 AM)
So can I safely assume what I'm going to need to pay is 10% of RM1783(GBP326) = RM178.30 + RM53 DHL charge for clearance(based on DHL agent) = RM231.30

All are item of clothing...shirts, caps
Roughly, yes. Refer my previous post for exact duty/tax calculation.
Min IATA freight rate for UK-MY is RM316.94.
kherel77
post Dec 12 2019, 11:04 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 10 2019, 10:29 PM)
Thanks for your reply.

Based on Sales exempted tax 2018, yes bicycle is 0% SST.

But how about the import duty. Bit confuse on this part, any specific details on how one will hit with this import duty for bicycles? (Does this depends on the officer liking whether or not to incur that shipment?)
Depend on your shipping invoice/AWB description. If in doubt, then Customs will proceed with actual physical checking.

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 10 2019, 10:29 PM)
And also, say I do ask my friend state it an used item and state the value say half the actual pricing of the bike. Then how about the insured value? Can I still insured for the actual pricing?
You can declare "used" price in the shipping invoice & when do Customs declaration.
Insured value that we're talking here is figure to calculate duty/tax only. Actual insured value is up to you, higher insured value come with higher premium.
kherel77
post Dec 12 2019, 11:10 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(kl920930 @ Dec 11 2019, 02:55 PM)
hi guys, I'm planning to import about 170pieces of leather watch straps from alibaba which sums up to about RM3600 after usd conversation

roughly how much or how many % in total of import taxes am I expected to pay?
Tariff Code 9113.90.0000: 0% import duty, 5% SST
kherel77
post Dec 12 2019, 12:16 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 12 2019, 11:27 AM)
Thank you for your reply. And sorry for asking more.

One last thing, if I opt to get direct from a shop which they unwilling to state as "used" and in the invoice will be as sales.

Will this situation might lead to the higher chance of getting hit with import duty??
Still follow shipping invoice value, if any. But if too low, it will trigger Customs.
kherel77
post Dec 12 2019, 12:17 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(kl920930 @ Dec 12 2019, 11:38 AM)
thanks for the info

do I need to go to airport customs to pay the 5% sst? or can I assign the courier forwarding company to pay on my behalf then I pay them directly?
Yes, you can assign them.
kherel77
post Dec 12 2019, 04:04 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 12 2019, 02:28 PM)
Noted, and from previous table the import duty is 25% on others bicycles type will this is the actual and maximum percentage if one really get hit by the import duty? Will the officer impose higher than this value??
They can't. It is in the Customs Duties Order, cannot simply increase or reduce if the item is fall under specific Tariff Code which have it's own rate.

This post has been edited by kherel77: Dec 12 2019, 04:05 PM
kherel77
post Dec 13 2019, 11:07 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Dec 13 2019, 10:48 AM)
Good to hear this,

Cause I read from a blog (dated 2011) that the blogger state some custom officer can simply slap the importer any import duty amount they like doh.gif .

Blog

Now everything is clear.

Again thanks for your input.  notworthy.gif
This is happened because he don't know exact Tariff Code for his items. We as importer must know which Tariff Code will be use & estimate % of import duty/SST and ready to argue with Customs if dispute arise. Happened to me few times.... Customs also human being, still can make error & mistake.
kherel77
post Dec 17 2019, 11:09 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(BobSponge @ Dec 14 2019, 10:17 PM)
Hi Kherel.

I'm trying to find the HS code for virtual reality headsets. Items such as Oculus VR, Playstation VR, Samsung VR. Just wondering if u know?

Do you refer to a file list where we can find the HS codes easily based on item? Finding the HS code through the customs web site seems a bit hard.
If not mistaken is 8528.52.0000 which have 5% SST.

I have this book for my job requirement.

kherel77
post Jan 9 2020, 07:05 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(baldiajaib @ Jan 9 2020, 11:55 AM)

Hi bro, i got this SMS from FedEx regarding import duty. Want to seek your advise, if there should be no import duty, should i call them to clarify?
No import duty but there is SST. SST is the tax that mentioned in that SMS. You can ask for Customs K1 Form from them before proceed to pay.
Fedex (including few big name courier company) usually pay on-behalf when do declaration & claim back from you prior to delivery/on delivery.
kherel77
post Jan 31 2020, 08:33 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(Junking @ Jan 29 2020, 09:06 PM)
Hi, Kherel77. Would you share us the iata freight rate or is it confidential? Appreciate ur help
Enclosed IATA rate for 2019. 2020 rate still not effective yet...
Attached File  IATA_TACT_2019.pdf ( 180.02k ) Number of downloads: 244

kherel77
post Feb 4 2020, 10:17 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(Mr_Rocket @ Feb 2 2020, 09:43 PM)
Hi kherel77,

Can you help me with this question? Sorry but seem that you are knowledgeable in this matter.

I just got to know a friend got tax buying a roadbike from Germany.

Appreciate your help.

Normal roadbike under Tariff Code 8712.00.3000 got 25% Import duty, 0% SST.
kherel77
post Feb 7 2020, 07:20 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(Marcus5003 @ Feb 7 2020, 05:12 PM)
Sifus sekalian,

Want to ask if foreign supplier want to send me a demo unit of machinery for free, do I need to pay for any import duties or SST as in there is no value (no selling price by supplier) for this machinery. Or the Kastam officer will evaluate the machinery base on market value?

sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Whatever goods transfer across border, it must have certain value to declare to Customs whether for sale, loan, demo, etc...

Is it import into Malaysia & to be return back to your supplier? If so can apply temporary import permit from Customs to exempted for duty/tax.
But most of machinery have 0% import duty/tax. What kind of machinery?

If failed, you can ask supplier to decrease value in shipping invoice with remark "used items/for demo unit/not for sale/for Customs value purpose only"

Temporary Import Facility
kherel77
post May 20 2020, 09:09 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(Fenix98 @ May 19 2020, 08:08 PM)
Dear kherel77

How much duty for importation of bicycle wheelset?

Thanks bro.
Tariff Code: 8714.10.5000 ~ 25% import duties + 10% SST

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0202sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:38 PM