4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

How frustrating watching football is in Malaysia?

TSkobe8byrant
post Nov 6 2008, 04:51 AM, updated 18y ago

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

We wake up 2 to 3 in the morning expecting to watch our favorite team play and there's no weather affecting the Astro signal but then, Astro STILL manages to find a way to piss us off! Somehow along the line, my TV reads "This channel is not included in your subscription. To subscribe........"

What the hell have I been paying for then? I can understand that transmission would be interrupted in the event of bad weather but what's the excuse this time?! Bear in mind, this is not the first time this is occurring, when United played West Ham (and Spurs played Arsenal), we had the same crap and missed 20+ minutes of the matches shown. It's annoying as heck.

Is there a channel where we can voice our complains? Writing to papers, would they publish our rants? Consumer tribunal or something cause I didn't stay up at 4.51 AM to face this garbage.
SUSلادن
post Nov 6 2008, 04:55 AM

133 posts

and thats y i dont watch soccer .. sleeping is much more better
gry
post Nov 6 2008, 04:58 AM

Red Warriors
780 posts

just because sometimes this happen, you didnt watch football..hahaha really good answer..maybe you are bookworm and after study, sleep...hhehee
s@ni
post Nov 6 2008, 05:38 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

if only we have wut so call "competition"

no. astro is the only one doh.gif doh.gif

same case with stimix
XiuKeong
post Nov 6 2008, 05:41 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,441 posts

When it happens, I just go to sleep.
cloudwan
post Nov 6 2008, 06:11 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

Yup stoopid astro.. Happened a few times already all over M'sia, i've have friends n JB, KL n me in Pahang face d same prob..
They gave msg saying "This channel is not included in your subscription. To subscribe please call astro customer service", try calling their customer service at 4am ah.. The automated voice answer will surely say "our customer service line is open from 8am till 12pm only"..
WTF.. I wish we have other options.. sad.gif
fu5ed
post Nov 6 2008, 06:16 AM

88 posts

the frustrating part for me is astro only show EPL , boring league
Blackened
post Nov 6 2008, 07:49 AM

1,068 posts

Another alternative is to go mamak and watch doh.gif
MyDevil
post Nov 6 2008, 08:28 AM

7,480 posts

QUOTE(Blackened @ Nov 6 2008, 07:49 AM)
Another alternative is to go mamak and watch doh.gif
Mamak not use Astro meh? tongue.gif
SUSkillingspree
post Nov 6 2008, 08:33 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(لادن @ Nov 6 2008, 04:55 AM)
and thats y i dont watch soccer .. sleeping is much more better
soccer is for yanks!
chronic_blade
post Nov 6 2008, 08:46 AM

1,099 posts

I use to think like you... how frustrating it is in Malaysia right... now im in UK....

You need TV lisence to watch tv.... 132pounds plus a year... then the TV and that only gives you Champion league and not all too.. then you buy pay per view like SKY... and that also.... sat EPL match kick off at 3pm... they WON'T SHOW (Because they more people to go to the stadiums..) ...so for students like me how ?? if got luck then the pub will show.. and that also quite sometimes ady the satelite no signal... my friend and i are like grumbling like mad!

EPL matches in Malaysia ALL can watch... can even watch 2 games at once at mamak shop with 2 projector screens and can see almost all the games, worse come worse delay only...

Other than the stadium part... i think i'll still prefer to watch matches on tv back in Malaysia... mayb streaming is better but not much diff for me as i can't run p2p network at uni anyway... so no p2p streams for me...
Duke Red
post Nov 6 2008, 11:39 AM

6,112 posts

Could it be something to do with coverage? I've never experienced such issues before.

I've become accustomed to the ritual of getting up in the wee hours of the morning to keep up with our European exploits. If you students think it's tough, try imagining what it's like for us working folk. It isn't a though we have the option of skipping class or falling asleep in it. No work = no job = no pay. Simple equation.

Added on November 6, 2008, 11:41 am
QUOTE(killingspree @ Nov 6 2008, 08:33 AM)
soccer is for yanks!
Contrary to what many believe, the term 'soccer' was actually coined by the English themselves.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Nov 6 2008, 11:41 AM
ken0777
post Nov 6 2008, 11:51 AM

536 posts

Should change the thread name to Astro sucks... den maybe the Astro people will start taking notice in not f**cking up the live broadcast. LOL! My fren's cousin is in fact working in Astro... He is in charge of the... LOL! I better say no further later you guys gonna start a witch hunt on that fella...
maxizanc
post Nov 6 2008, 11:56 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 6 2008, 11:39 AM)
Could it be something to do with coverage? I've never experienced such issues before.

I've become accustomed to the ritual of getting up in the wee hours of the morning to keep up with our European exploits. If you students think it's tough, try imagining what it's like for us working folk. It isn't a though we have the option of skipping class or falling asleep in it. No work = no job = no pay. Simple equation.

Added on November 6, 2008, 11:41 am

Contrary to what many believe, the term 'soccer' was actually coined by the English themselves.
Same for me, in my hometown, no such issue, probably because of the new decoder and satellite. But at mamak stall near my place is worst.. doh.gif No bad weather no raining, suddenly plup.. black screen already.. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(ken0777 @ Nov 6 2008, 11:51 AM)
Should change the thread name to Astro sucks... den maybe the Astro people will start taking notice in not f**cking up the live broadcast. LOL! My fren's cousin is in fact working in Astro... He is in charge of the... LOL! I better say no further later you guys gonna start a witch hunt on that fella...
I can't imagine how people can worked at their call center lol..
Duke Red
post Nov 6 2008, 11:57 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Nov 6 2008, 11:56 AM)
Same for me, in my hometown, no such issue, probably because of the new decoder and satellite.
Actually I've been told by ASTRO themselves that the old decoder is better than the new one hmm.gif Well that's what I was told anyway when I wanted to change mine.

schmeichel7
post Nov 6 2008, 12:02 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

When I first saw the thread's title, I initially thought this was another discussion on how bad Malaysia's football state is currently..

Then I realized it was referring to the quality of astro's transmission during the UCL match this morning..

Yeah, I watched it as well and noticed the same message.. I was initially concern if I didn't pay my astro bills.. hehehe...

Anyway, the technology used by astro is an old technology.. compared to what is being used currently in UK. It's so crappy, when it rains, you loose signal and broadcast... then you have this..

Dunno why la this country is so behind in terms of technology.. same case with our internet and broadband coverage as well...
maxizanc
post Nov 6 2008, 12:03 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 6 2008, 11:57 AM)
Actually I've been told by ASTRO themselves that the old decoder is better than the new one  hmm.gif Well that's what I was told anyway when I wanted to change mine.
?? How's that so? shakehead.gif doh.gif

Anyway get back to the football in Astro real discussion.. They should add new channel in sport la, i can understand Spanish football league fan about the lack of live broadcast of Spanish League football game.
Hevrn
post Nov 6 2008, 12:05 PM

4,017 posts

Thats what happens in a monopoly. They get lazy and theres no effort at all to better their services. We need competition to shake them up.
verx

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

Weird...it's never happened to me.
I just have disruptions during bad weather which is enough reason for me to complain tongue.gif
maxizanc

5,909 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Nov 6 2008, 12:02 PM)
Dunno why la this country is so behind in terms of technology.. same case with our internet and broadband coverage as well...
Malaysia is good in mobile telecommunication.. Why? Because lots of competition everywhere. But internet? Astro? haih. I guess if only our internet connection is good, we will have IPTV then, no need to subscribe Astro anymore..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:42 AM