6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Gamers, Piracy & The Industry, Why most gamers dont buy original?

crapp0
post Nov 4 2008, 09:57 AM

4,414 posts

If you dont have the money, then dont buy ler. Why have to stoop to being a petty thief. If you dont earn alot, then whose fault is that, the game company?
Darkstalker
post Nov 4 2008, 10:00 AM

214 posts

Keep in mind that there lots of old games currently released under budget prices.

Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts, Painkiller, Rise of Nations, etc.
dfcloud
post Nov 4 2008, 10:04 AM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Nov 4 2008, 09:57 AM)
If you dont have the money, then dont buy ler. Why have to stoop to being a petty thief. If you dont earn alot, then whose fault is that, the game company?

why do you have to start being a thief?
AeonStrife
post Nov 4 2008, 10:12 AM

another unrelated post lolx~ being a thief hahahaha~~
TimKen
post Nov 4 2008, 10:33 AM

398 posts

I would really appreciate it if the original games price is cut to half,
i mean not only games but other software such as windows should have
their price reduce, how can you ask a normal home user to buy a rm1000++
software shocking.gif
crapp0
post Nov 4 2008, 10:37 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(TimKen @ Nov 4 2008, 10:33 AM)
I would really appreciate it if the original games price is cut to half,
i mean not only games but other software such as windows should have
their price reduce, how can you ask a normal home user to buy a rm1000++
software  shocking.gif
Depends, i think game prices would hit the sweet spot if reduced by 20%, half would be too much since then cannot make profit or sustain a company. Also have to see volume of sales, if they sell very cheap but nobody wanna buy, go bankrupt also.

What software you want 1K? Adobe photoshop isnt exactly for "home" use so too is dreamweaver. I find that adobe acrobat is rather expensive, but there are cheaper alternatives such as nitro pdf. Try buying autocad software, 1 license alone can buy u a motorcycle.

LeoLilieno
post Nov 4 2008, 10:42 AM

542 posts

Buying pirated games has already become parts of Malaysian's life. Out of 10 who play game, how many will buy ori? Unless its big title and games where you think you will replay it many times, then its worth it to buy ori. If you think you are only going to try it out and see whether its good, its not worth it to spend hundreds in ori. Imagine that amount of money can feed you for 1 or 2 weeks.

I myself buy ori but only those title with good review and long replayability. Every now and then, i admit that I do buy pirates just to test the game OR that game is only good to play once (once finish, the urge to play will vanish). To combat this issues, i think distributor or whoever decides the pricing of the game should seriously look at how to price the game in order to reach out to more people.

A singaporean with monthly salary of SGD2000 pay SGD50 for a game. Its not much to him. A malaysian with monthly salary of RM2000 pay MY150 for a game. Its almost 10% of his salary man. So, for that malaysian, will he consider ori? Most likely not.
Archaven
post Nov 4 2008, 10:42 AM

It isn't Death you should be afraid of
1,201 posts

Even if it's just RM10 for an original copy.. my friend just won't buy it. Why pay when you can just download it? I'm paying RM88 per month that is so expansive to TMNut.. that's what he said.

I think the bottomline is the attitude and mentality. Most malaysian gamers won't want to pay even if it's just RM5 for an original game.
crapp0
post Nov 4 2008, 10:46 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Nov 4 2008, 10:42 AM)
Buying pirated games has already become parts of Malaysian's life. Out of 10 who play game, how many will buy ori? Unless its big title and games where you think you will replay it many times, then its worth it to buy ori. If you think you are only going to try it out and see whether its good, its not worth it to spend hundreds in ori. Imagine that amount of money can feed you for 1 or 2 weeks.

I myself buy ori but only those title with good review and long replayability. Every now and then, i admit that I do buy pirates just to test the game OR that game is only good to play once (once finish, the urge to play will vanish). To combat this issues, i think distributor or whoever decides the pricing of the game should seriously look at how to price the game in order to reach out to more people.

A singaporean with monthly salary of SGD2000 pay SGD50 for a game. Its not much to him. A malaysian with monthly salary of RM2000 pay MY150 for a game. Its almost 10% of his salary man. So, for that malaysian, will he consider ori? Most likely not.
Theres an easy solution, if you cant afford it, dont buy it unless morality is just an annoying thing then ppl got no prob to buy pirated games and then some.
LeoLilieno
post Nov 4 2008, 10:47 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Nov 4 2008, 10:42 AM)
Even if it's just RM10 for an original copy.. my friend just won't buy it. Why pay when you can just download it? I'm paying RM88 per month that is so expansive to TMNut.. that's what he said.

I think the bottomline is the attitude and mentality. Most malaysian gamers won't want to pay even if it's just RM5 for an original game.
Frankly speaking, is it that easy to download a game? Dont you all scared that the downloaded file consist of malicious virus? I do heard a lot of people keep saying that they download game to play. I just find it too dangerous.

tech_frix
post Nov 4 2008, 10:47 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

i think RM50 is fair enuff for games...
more than that just overkill...
i dont mind about monthly fee if we go online but pls dont sell it more than RM100...
we suffer from paying telephone bills, streamyx and oil price...
our salary pun not that much...paiseh..
crapp0
post Nov 4 2008, 10:50 AM

4,414 posts

I guess the best way to reduce piracy would be make all games as MMORPG or require an internet connection for content since the material would in control of the developer and they can minimize the incident of something pirating the full product.

But then again it would not be feasible since net penetration isnt very wide spread yet. Plus the hassle of logging on just 2 play a game may put ppl off.

If your salary not enough, only way is to upgrade yourself and make yourself a better person. But then again generally food stuff in malaysia is very cheap compared to most other countries which are equalled to malaysia, philipines food stuff way more expensive but their gaji around malaysia standard.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 4 2008, 10:52 AM
tech_frix
post Nov 4 2008, 11:01 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

i beg to differ...
i really believe if they set d price tag to RM50, no pirate will survive in Malaysia...
or maybe less la...
ppl always talking bout d price...
this is due to our gaji and lifestyle...

FYI, RM2000 per month break down...
RM550 car (MyVi)
RM450 flat house
RM150 bills
RM300 petrol (using motocycle daily) from shah alam to kl
RM300 grocery
RM200 other installment....

so how?
LeoLilieno
post Nov 4 2008, 11:07 AM

542 posts

RM50 per game is really mouth watering price where I also believe will kill off piracy all together. However, I dont think its going to happen due to Sini Tax, Sana Tax, Every Corner also Tax. Having said this, dont you all realise that ori DVD movie began to appear more affordable? Lets just hope that game will move into that direction as well.
DoomHammer
post Nov 4 2008, 11:24 AM

228 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Nov 4 2008, 10:42 AM)

Same here bro!
Example:
(average)Fresh grad engineer in US salary: USD 2500 ~ USD 3000 /month
average game price in US: USD40 ~ USD50

(average)Fresh grad engineer in MY salary: less than RM 2500
average game price in MY: RM100 ~ RM150

I only buy ori when the titles have very high production value + high replayability (so that I can appreciate)i.e. C&C series (including Red Alert 3), The Witcher, Neverwinter Nights, Starcraft, Fallout 3, Company of Heroes, World in conflict, Half life 2 etc.
I will not buy a short, low replayability game like Crysis (bad coding), Transformers the game (u r buying the license actually not the game) etc. for a premium price (RM100+).
For myself, piracy is a good way to try a good title first b4 investing my hard-earned money.
Some of us might not realize how hard to produce/develope a computer/video games that's why they r dedicated so much to piracy.

abubin
post Nov 4 2008, 11:29 AM

10,429 posts

someone mentioned about games rental in page 1. That won't work in Malaysia as people here are ignorant and inconsiderate barbarians who double park for their own convenience and never clean up their own fastfood trays.

Anyway...what about second hand games? I mean..like some said, they only want to play the single player portion of the game. Buy they can play it for a month and then sell it back. Someone else can buy at cheaper price and used software does not degrade in quality. Except of course the DVD/CD in which case the people will not buy back if you don't take care of the media.

Those who plan to to sell back out will take care of the DVD/CD. Since you only need to install it once or something. Sure, there are CD checks like securerom but I would personally install cracks after installing with my original. Cause less CD reading means my hardware last longer and nothing wrong using crack to play the game since I already paid full price for it.

Plus reselling games are totally legal too. Everyone benefits.
xJoeX
post Nov 4 2008, 11:46 AM

54 posts

Original games are too expensive, spend a hundred of RM just to play few months or 1 ~ 2 years. Not worth it at all. If the original price is like RM50 ~ RM60, I will buy. Rm100 ++ too expensive. 3 ~ 5original games' price can be used to buy a GC.
AMDAthlon
post Nov 4 2008, 11:58 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Actually the game is quite cheap-ass if we are in US.Around 50 Bucks Example
50 X 3.5 = RM 175
Imagine original games at RM 50..
Its Malaysia,think about it.

tech_frix
post Nov 4 2008, 12:01 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

i dont get ur point amdathlon...
what r u trying to say?
AMDAthlon
post Nov 4 2008, 12:04 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

What i trying to say is,the game is actually cheap(in US).But its our money exchange(Malaysia)making it looks very expensive..
ie : Red Alert is 50$ US Dollar,if we stay there(US)its considered quite cheap.But in Malaysia after converted become RM 175,it becomes quite expensive.
Think about it.
Dont mention Microsoft Software whistling.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:46 PM