Gamers, Piracy & The Industry, Why most gamers dont buy original?
LeoLilieno
Nov 4 2008, 10:42 AM
Buying pirated games has already become parts of Malaysian's life. Out of 10 who play game, how many will buy ori? Unless its big title and games where you think you will replay it many times, then its worth it to buy ori. If you think you are only going to try it out and see whether its good, its not worth it to spend hundreds in ori. Imagine that amount of money can feed you for 1 or 2 weeks.
I myself buy ori but only those title with good review and long replayability. Every now and then, i admit that I do buy pirates just to test the game OR that game is only good to play once (once finish, the urge to play will vanish). To combat this issues, i think distributor or whoever decides the pricing of the game should seriously look at how to price the game in order to reach out to more people.
A singaporean with monthly salary of SGD2000 pay SGD50 for a game. Its not much to him. A malaysian with monthly salary of RM2000 pay MY150 for a game. Its almost 10% of his salary man. So, for that malaysian, will he consider ori? Most likely not.
LeoLilieno
Nov 4 2008, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(Archaven @ Nov 4 2008, 10:42 AM) Even if it's just RM10 for an original copy.. my friend just won't buy it. Why pay when you can just download it? I'm paying RM88 per month that is so expansive to TMNut.. that's what he said. I think the bottomline is the attitude and mentality. Most malaysian gamers won't want to pay even if it's just RM5 for an original game. Frankly speaking, is it that easy to download a game? Dont you all scared that the downloaded file consist of malicious virus? I do heard a lot of people keep saying that they download game to play. I just find it too dangerous.
LeoLilieno
Nov 4 2008, 11:07 AM
RM50 per game is really mouth watering price where I also believe will kill off piracy all together. However, I dont think its going to happen due to Sini Tax, Sana Tax, Every Corner also Tax. Having said this, dont you all realise that ori DVD movie began to appear more affordable? Lets just hope that game will move into that direction as well.
LeoLilieno
Nov 4 2008, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Nov 4 2008, 11:58 AM) Actually the game is quite cheap-ass if we are in US.Around 50 Bucks Example 50 X 3.5 = RM 175 Imagine original games at RM 50.. Its Malaysia,think about it. US citizen earns US dollor and buy things in USD. Malaysian earn ringgit and buy things using ringgit. The same goes to SG. If SG can charge games at SGD50 on average (almost on par with US even though USD is valued higher than SGD), why not Malaysia. Well, just a thought.
LeoLilieno
Nov 4 2008, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(frags @ Nov 4 2008, 12:14 PM) QFT I dont think so. It think its the mentality of people. Dont get me wrong if ori's were priced RM50, i would love it and i think most of everyone here would love it too. But dropping the price to RM50 is like preaching to the converted ie it only makes a difference to us not the ones that have relished in the culture of piracy  . Its like this...why spend so much when you got other alternative much cheaper. SO even if they drop price they will never be able to compete with pirates and pirates being easily available...guess who wins...Look at the movie industry in Malaysia...they dropped the price of Ori's...are people buying more Ori's? Probably to a certain degree...these are probably the people who have been buying Ori's...They are buying more...Did it kill all pirates? Quite the opposite...people who buy pirated continued to do so. To the guys/gals that said Malaysian earns RM800-RM1600 cant afford Ori's...Do you honestly believe when these people who have been buying pirated stuff all along suddenly buy Ori when they earn RM2,600, 3000, 5000? Seriously, you honestly believe so?  They will suddenly change to Ori supporters and goody two shoes when they earn more huh?  Don't be ridiculous. Its all about mentality. Malaysians hardly respect each other how to expect them to respect IP? I beg to differ on your second paragraph. I for one, is probably one of many who start to buy ori movie when the price drop. A lot of my friends are doing so as well because by paying a little bit more, we can enjoy the original without having to worry about DVD faulty or any other defects. We also starts to buy ori Hong Kong Drama Series as it is on par or even cheaper if compared to pirates. Ori = better quality goods and if the price is affordable, I seriously believe people will start take notice of it.