46 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

2oz Copper PCB Mobo OC Discussion, Gigabyte UD3 P45 Series UD3/UD3R/UD3P

ham_revilo
post Apr 7 2009, 10:05 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 7 2009, 06:18 AM)
revilo can take a look at this..what do i need to change?
MB Intelligent Tweaker(M.I.T.)
Robust Graphics Booster ...............: Fast
CPU Clock Ratio ..........................: 9
CPU Frequency ...........................: 3600
Clock Chip Control
Standard Clock Control
CPU Host Clock Control..................: [Enabled] <<<its either enable or disable, but you MUST put enable to OC your rig
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ............: 400
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) .........:100

C.I.A.2 .................................:[Disabled]

DRAM Performance Control
Performance Enhance...................: [STANDARD]
Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.).....: Disabled
(G)MCH Frequency Latch...............: [Auto]
System Memory Multiplier ..............: 2.00D

Memory Frequency (Mhz) ..............: 800
DRAM Timing Selectable ................: [Manual]

Standard Timing Control
CAS Latency Time........................4
tRCD ..........................................4
tRP'.............................................4
tRAS..........................................15

Motherboard Voltage Control
Voltage Type.………... Manual
CPU
CPU Vcore….……….........................:1.30 <<<< depending on your chip. some chip can do with 1.25v. some cant. so its really up to your chip smile.gif
CPU Termination…..... 1.200V*.......: auto <<<<< either put it to "normal" or 1.2
CPU PLL…………………....1.500V*.......: auto <<<< either put it to "normal" or 1.5
CPU Referen.…………....0.755V*.......: auto <<<< "normal" should be fine if you not going extreme
CPU Reference2………,,0.800V*.......: auto <<<< "normal" should be fine if you not going extreme

The settings below need to change too?

MCH/ICH
MCH Core…………….....1.100V...........: 1.2000
MCH Reference….…….0.800V...........: auto
MCH/DRAM Ref.…......0.900V...........: auto
ICH I/O……………….....1.550V............: auto
ICH Core…………...……1.100V............: auto

DRAM
DRAM Voltage ……....1.800V............: 2.00
DRAM Termination .…0.900V............: auto
Channel A Reference 0.900V............: auto
Channel B Reference 0.900V............: auto
hope this helps you bro smile.gif

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 7 2009, 05:36 PM)
lol.i seldom go 24/7 la.will switch off my comp before going to bed evryday.as long the temps are ok at idle any vcore is ok i think

btw e8400 is safe @ 74.1 c according to intel

http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLB9J#
that is rated by intel, but usually if your proc temp is around 55-65c then its really not good for the long run. but the fact is i seldom see ppl RMA-ing their proc even after so many years of torture smile.gif

if you read most oc or temp guide, there is no safe temp or max temp for proc. most of it are just estimation smile.gif

This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Apr 7 2009, 10:06 PM
faidz85
post Apr 8 2009, 02:57 AM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

My 1st overclock attempt after installing the mobo:

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=542412

Too lazy to play with the minor details.

From default, I changed the multiplier, ram timings and FSB.

Also increased Vcore to 1.3v. But increased it by a bit(1.325) after crashing while gaming. Though I alreaady played for more than 30mins.

As for the temps, its idling @ 34-38'C and load temp was about 45-48'C(gaming). 58'C tops when running Orthos(usually hovering @ ~55'C).

I will install A better CPU cooler tomorrow and hopefully, the temps will be better.

Anything sifus here got anything to add?

This post has been edited by faidz85: Apr 8 2009, 10:43 AM
lightonokira
post Apr 16 2009, 09:45 PM

788 posts

err i just bought ud3r.. its a good mobo indeed!

but i wanna try tweaking manually

ham_revillo can u help me with this

i have an e4500
ham_revilo
post Apr 16 2009, 10:53 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Apr 16 2009, 09:45 PM)
err i just bought ud3r.. its a good mobo indeed!

but i wanna try tweaking manually

ham_revillo can u help me with this

i have an e4500
what do you mean tweaking it manually? OC are mostly manually tweak smile.gif

anyway try reading up this link:
http://forums.tweaktown.com/f69/gigabyte-e...clocking-28257/
its a very good guide for OC-ing UD3 board. although its not using your proc but its a good start smile.gif

yimingwuzere
post Apr 17 2009, 03:11 PM

990 posts

Just asking, how much of a speed bump can I get if I swap my EP35-DS3 with a EP45-UD3P? Right now using a X3350 C1 ad CM Hyper212 for cooling, not in an a/c room.
ham_revilo
post Apr 17 2009, 04:44 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 17 2009, 03:11 PM)
Just asking, how much of a speed bump can I get if I swap my EP35-DS3 with a EP45-UD3P? Right now using a X3350 C1 ad CM Hyper212 for cooling, not in an a/c room.
i would say not much difference. iinm the difference between P35 and P45 is the south bridge and more tweaking option for OCer. if you dont really OC, then i think you should stick with P35 smile.gif

yimingwuzere
post Apr 17 2009, 04:47 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Apr 17 2009, 04:44 PM)
i would say not much difference. iinm the difference between P35 and P45 is the south bridge and more tweaking option for OCer. if you dont really OC, then i think you should stick with P35 smile.gif
Sorry, should have reworded my post. Actually what I meant was how far can I overclock my CPU on a EP45-UD3P given that I'm not using the computer in an air conditioned room, and without breaking into unsafe voltages for 45nm CPUs, as I'm aware that mobo swapping, like low latency RAM gives very negligible bonuses.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Apr 17 2009, 04:49 PM
ham_revilo
post Apr 17 2009, 05:06 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 17 2009, 04:47 PM)
Sorry, should have reworded my post. Actually what I meant was how far can I overclock my CPU on a EP45-UD3P given that I'm not using the computer in an air conditioned room, and without breaking into unsafe voltages for 45nm CPUs, as I'm aware that mobo swapping, like low latency RAM gives very negligible bonuses.
i would say P45 board are much better in OCing. mainly due to extra feature in bios. all those extra tweaking option makes you achieve higher clocks and fsb. so yes nod.gif you might be able to OC even much higher but still need to depends on your proc batch. if you hit your proc wall, then no matter how good this board is still it wont let you pass that wall smile.gif

This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Apr 17 2009, 05:07 PM
yimingwuzere
post Apr 17 2009, 05:17 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Apr 17 2009, 05:06 PM)
i would say P45 board are much better in OCing. mainly due to extra feature in bios. all those extra tweaking option makes you achieve higher clocks and fsb. so yes nod.gif you might be able to OC even much higher but still need to depends on your proc batch. if you hit your proc wall, then no matter how good this board is still it wont let you pass that wall smile.gif
OK, thanks. BTW, regarding proc batches, What's the minimum FSB wall for my proc anyway? If it's minimum is 450FSB I'd consider an upgrade worth it.
ham_revilo
post Apr 17 2009, 05:45 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 17 2009, 05:17 PM)
OK, thanks. BTW, regarding proc batches, What's the minimum FSB wall for my proc anyway? If it's minimum is 450FSB I'd consider an upgrade worth it.
that i really not sure. coz i never use your proc before. try google your batch number. see how's the result

yimingwuzere
post Apr 17 2009, 10:14 PM

990 posts

Mine's L803. Found a pair each of Q9450 and X3350 procs on HardOCP's Core 2 Database for that L803 at 3.0-3.8 gigs on asus rampage formula, I guess that means it's a decent batch?

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Apr 17 2009, 10:16 PM
OC4/3
post Apr 18 2009, 12:11 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 17 2009, 10:14 PM)
Mine's L803. Found a pair each of Q9450 and X3350 procs on HardOCP's Core 2 Database for that L803 at 3.0-3.8 gigs on asus rampage formula, I guess that means it's a decent batch?
Err chip differ from chip to chip smile.gif
But if i am to make an assumption,i will say 480FSB stable is pretty easy smile.gif
After that take more and more gtl ref/vtt tweaking sweat.gif
And quad core fsb wall is depend on a lot of factor,like vtt/gtl/vnb and so on smile.gif
So if you are pro in tweaking,you might even get 510FSB-520FSB stable laugh.gif
ham_revilo
post Apr 18 2009, 03:38 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 18 2009, 12:11 AM)
Err chip differ from chip to chip smile.gif
But if i am to make an assumption,i will say 480FSB stable is pretty easy smile.gif
After that take more and more gtl ref/vtt tweaking sweat.gif
And quad core fsb wall is depend on a lot of factor,like vtt/gtl/vnb and so on smile.gif
So if you are pro in tweaking,you might even get 510FSB-520FSB stable laugh.gif
510fsb on quad is rare especially on air imo. besides that, to get to above 500fsb, require hours of tweaking plus benching.

OC4/3
post Apr 19 2009, 01:16 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Apr 18 2009, 03:38 AM)
510fsb on quad is rare especially on air imo. besides that, to get to above 500fsb, require hours of tweaking plus benching.
That why i said pro,pro as in cstkl1 24/7 tweaking skill smile.gif

chaos32
post Apr 21 2009, 12:24 AM

485 posts

Just in case no one has noticed, there is updated bios for the GA-EP45-UD3P bringing the bios update version to F9. This update is available for both the rev1.0 & rev1.1

Cheers smile.gif
gamers maniac
post Apr 21 2009, 11:44 PM

Casual Gamers
1,070 posts

just want to ask, the chipset temp is quite hot. i cannot touch it with my bare hand. is it quite normal?? i set it to 1.26v. im thinking of changing it to 3rd party cooling...
ham_revilo
post Apr 22 2009, 01:00 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(gamers maniac @ Apr 21 2009, 11:44 PM)
just want to ask, the chipset temp is quite hot. i cannot touch it with my bare hand. is it quite normal?? i set it to 1.26v. im thinking of changing it to 3rd party cooling...
im not sure its normal or not but i think a 40mm fan will do the job smile.gif

btw, if you were to remove the NB, does it means the mosfet cooler goes with it?

aHceNt
post Apr 22 2009, 01:21 AM

193 posts

Hi people, can you guys help me out? trying to OC my rig but failed. reboots 3 times after done setting up in bios.. doh.gif

My rig : brows.gif

CPU - QX6800
Mobo - EP45-UD3P
RAM - Patriot ram xtreme 4*1gb (800)
GPU - Gigabyte HD4850
PSU - Corsair TX 750w
CASING - Raidmax Ninja
LCD - Samsung 2233sw
HDD - WD 640gb
OS - Vista ultimate 64 bit.

Trying to get 3.6ghz @ ratio 1:1 ! hope you guys can help me out!!

THANKS !! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by aHceNt: Apr 22 2009, 01:22 AM
ham_revilo
post Apr 22 2009, 08:16 AM

I
6,583 posts

@aHceNt

what software do you use to stress your proc? could it be your RAM that cause the trouble?

This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Apr 22 2009, 08:17 AM
uzer85
post Apr 22 2009, 11:51 AM

love............love......
3,812 posts

@aHceNt

why dont u sell ur 800 kit ram n get 1066 kit ram. ur ram is the main obstacle to OC with high fsb.

46 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:17 AM