PC Audio Edifier Fan Club V4, where great sound comes to LIFE!
Jun 11 2009, 06:23 AM
1,385 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: What Gives? |
u should save a lil bit n buy s330 n b very happy
Jun 11 2009, 03:06 PM
797 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Bukit Mertajam, Penang |
anyone using m3200?
it looks nice to me, while my friend suggested me to take 3300 i'm not very into speaker, but my budget lies around the price range <rm200 i usually listen to jazz , vocal, chinese classic songs and some pop songs. i wont be playing it very loud also, just around medium in my small room will it serves me well? any idea where to get edifier in penang? This post has been edited by lazo: Jun 11 2009, 03:08 PM |
Jun 11 2009, 03:57 PM
1,242 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Cheras |
QUOTE(lazo @ Jun 11 2009, 03:06 PM) anyone using m3200? Kompleks Bukit Jambul got some Edifier speakersit looks nice to me, while my friend suggested me to take 3300 i'm not very into speaker, but my budget lies around the price range <rm200 i usually listen to jazz , vocal, chinese classic songs and some pop songs. i wont be playing it very loud also, just around medium in my small room will it serves me well? any idea where to get edifier in penang? |
Jun 11 2009, 04:28 PM
3,174 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Wonderland |
Jun 11 2009, 04:38 PM
27 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
i have edifier s550 with xfi xtreme music as soundcard. anyone have any idea how to active the sound card dts? cos i only get dolby digital suround only...
Jun 11 2009, 05:35 PM
234 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(piumiu @ Jun 11 2009, 03:28 PM) strongly recommend u buy a sound card, built in sound card is crappy if the motherboard manufacturer din designed it well.... built in sound card usually treated by manufacturer as a bonus only... 1 more thing is C3's bass actually not strong enough compare to others speaker with price around it... so, if u wanna the a very good and strong bass, may be u nid to upgrade both speaker and sound card.. or upgrade the sound card 1st to make decision for upgrade speaker... |
Jun 12 2009, 05:00 AM
5,124 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Mummy's tummy |
QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ Jun 11 2009, 05:35 PM) strongly recommend u buy a sound card, built in sound card is crappy if the motherboard manufacturer din designed it well.... Yea, you should spend some money to get a decent soundcard/DAC, onboard SC is pretty suxs. You should get S730D if you want more bass.built in sound card usually treated by manufacturer as a bonus only... 1 more thing is C3's bass actually not strong enough compare to others speaker with price around it... so, if u wanna the a very good and strong bass, may be u nid to upgrade both speaker and sound card.. or upgrade the sound card 1st to make decision for upgrade speaker... |
Jun 12 2009, 12:12 PM
955 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
Yes, sound card makes a HUGE difference. I just sent my Audigy Platinum Ex to XTREME for modifications. Modded the opamp to AD8066 and bypass 1 opamp (my card use 2 opamp for front output), Power capacitor and DSP capacitor to Panasonic FM caps, and a few other capacitor in the signal's path...
At first the sound was okok...i posted review at his thread too early... after 2 days of burn in...the sound seems damn different. I heard that caps need 20-40 hours of Idle-ing and 100 hours of usage to be fully burn in. Opamps not so sure...but i still bombarded it with pink noise... difference is obvious, soundstage widen a lot. Too bad my M3400 left speaker tweeter softer/spoil than the right speaker...any ideas why and how to fix it? =\ Otherwise i would have modded the opamp and caps on the speaker too. Haih, why cant those big speaker/soundcard manufacturer order good opamps and capacitors in BULK and use it in their products This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 12 2009, 12:17 PM |
Jun 12 2009, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jun 12 2009, 11:12 AM) Yes, sound card makes a HUGE difference. I just sent my Audigy Platinum Ex to XTREME for modifications. Modded the opamp to AD8066 and bypass 1 opamp (my card use 2 opamp for front output), Power capacitor and DSP capacitor to Panasonic FM caps, and a few other capacitor in the signal's path... may be u can change the tweeter by you own? At first the sound was okok...i posted review at his thread too early... after 2 days of burn in...the sound seems damn different. I heard that caps need 20-40 hours of Idle-ing and 100 hours of usage to be fully burn in. Opamps not so sure...but i still bombarded it with pink noise... difference is obvious, soundstage widen a lot. Too bad my M3400 left speaker tweeter softer/spoil than the right speaker...any ideas why and how to fix it? =\ Otherwise i would have modded the opamp and caps on the speaker too. nid to open the satellite unit... may be the problem came from the crossover too.. QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jun 12 2009, 11:12 AM) Haih, why cant those big speaker/soundcard manufacturer order good opamps and capacitors in BULK and use it in their products |
Jun 12 2009, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ Jun 12 2009, 01:41 PM) may be u can change the tweeter by you own? nid to open the satellite unit... may be the problem came from the crossover too.. coz the manufacturer wanna maximum profit lo... yeah probably the crossover is having problems, i did not drop the speaker or any physical abuse...wonder i can bring back to edifier service center(if there is one) to fix or not...i guess the driver should be fine... but screw it la I'm more to vocal and instrument clarity and soundstage but bass must be low and tight and smooth ( good QUALITY, QUANTITY not so important, as long enough to give the oomph and support the overall music shall be fine ) Heard that C3 got excellent sound staging, i went audition it also, but bass seems weak (i think because the shop use cheapskate RM60 dvd player to on song S330 i heard before also, kinda too thick in bass...treble abit too sweet. but i did not audition it extensively lah... S530 never audition before...hmm This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 12 2009, 02:09 PM |
Jun 12 2009, 02:42 PM
1,592 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Penang |
Jun 12 2009, 02:45 PM
1,592 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Penang |
QUOTE(lazo @ Jun 11 2009, 03:06 PM) anyone using m3200? Get m3300 or m3300sf for your budget, you can get'em from Complex Bukit Jambul, a shop over there is Edifier agent, Precess, you may grab'em with a pretty good price, sometimes even cheaper than Lowyat Plaza it looks nice to me, while my friend suggested me to take 3300 i'm not very into speaker, but my budget lies around the price range <rm200 i usually listen to jazz , vocal, chinese classic songs and some pop songs. i wont be playing it very loud also, just around medium in my small room will it serves me well? any idea where to get edifier in penang? |
Jun 12 2009, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jun 12 2009, 01:01 PM) yeah probably the crossover is having problems, i did not drop the speaker or any physical abuse...wonder i can bring back to edifier service center(if there is one) to fix or not...i guess the driver should be fine... but screw it la I'm more to vocal and instrument clarity and soundstage but bass must be low and tight and smooth ( good QUALITY, QUANTITY not so important, as long enough to give the oomph and support the overall music shall be fine ) Heard that C3 got excellent sound staging, i went audition it also, but bass seems weak (i think because the shop use cheapskate RM60 dvd player to on song S330 i heard before also, kinda too thick in bass...treble abit too sweet. but i did not audition it extensively lah... S530 never audition before...hmm for the new speaker, i think C3 and S330 have their own pros and cons... C3 has separate amp that may let u mod it easily.. S330 has a nice tweeter... however, C3 has a more complicated circuit since it is use digital volume control.. while S330 nid to open the subwoofer if u wan to mod it, and a volume knob that may reduce the sound quality due to the wire... a lot of people think that S330 has better sound than C3, but sound is subjective... may be u nid to audition them deeply before make decision... |
Jun 13 2009, 04:48 AM
1,468 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Earth |
Guys, im using the C2. Whenever i plug in the headphones into the amplifier, the sound still comes from the speaker. Is it meant to be like that? Coz rather pointless if you're gonna use headphones and then sound still comes from the speaker ...
Else, how to rectify? |
Jun 13 2009, 10:03 AM
2,308 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -----Penang Lang----- |
QUOTE(zs3889 @ Jun 12 2009, 02:45 PM) Get m3300 or m3300sf for your budget, you can get'em from Complex Bukit Jambul, a shop over there is Edifier agent, Precess, you may grab'em with a pretty good price, sometimes even cheaper than Lowyat Plaza He told me he already bought this... Ain't this like the Sonic Gear ??? http://www.divoom.com/X3.htm |
Jun 13 2009, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(befitozi @ Jun 13 2009, 04:48 AM) Guys, im using the C2. Whenever i plug in the headphones into the amplifier, the sound still comes from the speaker. Is it meant to be like that? Coz rather pointless if you're gonna use headphones and then sound still comes from the speaker ... lower down your volume to 0. If doesnt work, off your speaker. Else, how to rectify? my 3400 also like that, when i turn off the power at the woofer there, my headphone still got sound, but speaker is no power so cannot on la of cos. I think it's a protection feature by edifier, so that we do not suddenly pull out our headphone then the speaker suddenly blast out sound. So by forcing us to off the speaker, when we pull out the headphone, we need to on back the speaker in order to use the speaker again.... |
Jun 13 2009, 12:42 PM
2,193 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(befitozi @ Jun 13 2009, 04:48 AM) Guys, im using the C2. Whenever i plug in the headphones into the amplifier, the sound still comes from the speaker. Is it meant to be like that? Coz rather pointless if you're gonna use headphones and then sound still comes from the speaker ... same case with most edifier products.Else, how to rectify? they purposely gave "mute" button to let u mute yourself. the reason why it is auto-mute the speaker, cause generally its more complicated and hence cost more. the simple one would be to provide both speaker and headphone connectivity. most multimedia speaker are like that, cause if they make "auto-volume and auto-mute" like the x-fi 5.1 usb for example. it would need more advanced circuit, not really worth it for multimedia speakers. the x-fi usb, when u plug headphone, auto mute, and auto volume. hence got 2 volume. very convenient. |
Jun 13 2009, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(nismo91 @ Jun 13 2009, 12:42 PM) same case with most edifier products. c2 got mute? cool...my m3400 no mute == have to off main power button ==they purposely gave "mute" button to let u mute yourself. the reason why it is auto-mute the speaker, cause generally its more complicated and hence cost more. the simple one would be to provide both speaker and headphone connectivity. |
Jun 13 2009, 12:48 PM
2,193 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
i think have. my ex M3300 got. but can wat, just slide the volume to the left-most, auto off liao. M3400 remote cooler. look like the S2000V remote.
Jun 13 2009, 03:24 PM
1,385 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: What Gives? |
| Change to: | 0.0281sec