4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

PC Audio Edifier Fan Club V4, where great sound comes to LIFE!

andrew9292
post Jun 12 2009, 02:01 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ Jun 12 2009, 01:41 PM)
may be u can change the tweeter by you own? wub.gif
nid to open the satellite unit... sweat.gif
may be the problem came from the crossover too.. sweat.gif
coz the manufacturer wanna maximum profit lo... cool.gif
blink.gif Hey how u been doing man... Did any mods yet drool.gif drool.gif

yeah probably the crossover is having problems, i did not drop the speaker or any physical abuse...wonder i can bring back to edifier service center(if there is one) to fix or not...i guess the driver should be fine... but screw it la biggrin.gif now saving up cash to get new speaker ... ETA 2-3months. Currently my sniper aiming at S330, C3 and S530D blush.gif

I'm more to vocal and instrument clarity and soundstage but bass must be low and tight and smooth ( good QUALITY, QUANTITY not so important, as long enough to give the oomph and support the overall music shall be fine )

Heard that C3 got excellent sound staging, i went audition it also, but bass seems weak (i think because the shop use cheapskate RM60 dvd player to on song sweat.gif ), but the amp is housed inside an amplifier...which I'm quite reluctant to open and mod. But imagine C3 with Black Gates or Rubicon... that will definitely take care of the bass issue man xD

S330 i heard before also, kinda too thick in bass...treble abit too sweet. but i did not audition it extensively lah... S530 never audition before...hmm

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jun 12 2009, 02:09 PM
andrew9292
post Jun 13 2009, 12:28 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(befitozi @ Jun 13 2009, 04:48 AM)
Guys, im using the C2. Whenever i plug in the headphones into the amplifier, the sound still comes from the speaker. Is it meant to be like that? Coz rather pointless if you're gonna use headphones and then sound still comes from the speaker ...

Else, how to rectify?
lower down your volume to 0. If doesnt work, off your speaker.

my 3400 also like that, when i turn off the power at the woofer there, my headphone still got sound, but speaker is no power so cannot on la of cos. I think it's a protection feature by edifier, so that we do not suddenly pull out our headphone then the speaker suddenly blast out sound. So by forcing us to off the speaker, when we pull out the headphone, we need to on back the speaker in order to use the speaker again.... rclxms.gif
andrew9292
post Jun 13 2009, 12:45 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Jun 13 2009, 12:42 PM)
same case with most edifier products.
they purposely gave "mute" button to let u mute yourself. the reason why it is auto-mute the speaker, cause generally its more complicated and hence cost more. the simple one would be to provide both speaker and headphone connectivity.
c2 got mute? cool...my m3400 no mute == have to off main power button ==
andrew9292
post Jun 14 2009, 11:56 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Jun 14 2009, 10:16 AM)
Mind telling me what should I tell the shopkeeper for that cable??

3.5mm jack to 3.5mm jack?
Yeap - 3.5mm to 3.5mm Stereo Jack.
andrew9292
post Jun 14 2009, 03:29 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(Paca @ Jun 14 2009, 01:25 PM)
the normal one or monster? brows.gif
LOL Did not know monster has 3.5mm-3.5mm
andrew9292
post Jun 14 2009, 04:32 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Not sure, I've never seen a 3.5mm monster cable in most AV stores...
andrew9292
post Jun 18 2009, 02:50 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jun 18 2009, 08:30 AM)
I used Xonar EQ setting to enhance bass, too much bass & vibration might drop the vocal quality. juz my personal taste wink.gif
Aiyoh don't use EQ mah....spoil the shape of the sound =\ use the speaker control much better, or better, if possible tune your room acoustic to get what u wanna hear... smile.gif
andrew9292
post Jun 18 2009, 11:23 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(Paca @ Jun 18 2009, 03:14 PM)
Room Accoustic?
you mean how we arrange the speaker or whuut? rclxub.gif
Yeap, and also putting sound absorbing material on certain areas of the room to absorb unwanted sound. LOL. It's just a suggestion plus it requires alot of budget doh.gif

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jun 18 2009, 10:55 PM)
Any noticable sound improvement stock cable vs monster cable?
Stock cable vs DIY cables that my friend make for me that value about RM 60 make difference already. Monster would pawn those anytime i guess...
andrew9292
post Jun 27 2009, 11:37 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(Angel of Deth @ Jun 26 2009, 11:18 PM)
Is the bass heavy?
that's like asking whether normal toyota car can speed fast or not...

audition for about 3 times already, conclusion...c3 not designed for bass...
andrew9292
post Jul 3 2009, 10:48 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

hehe. added 3 blue ice heatsinks to get rid of the extreme hot heat from the woofer plate to improve components efficiency inside. noticed the bass is tighter also, because the heat sink strengthens the back plate and reduce unwanted vibrations

[attachmentid=1057985]

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jul 3 2009, 10:49 PM
andrew9292
post Jul 4 2009, 12:37 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Jul 3 2009, 11:25 PM)
good idea.. i might wanna use it also...
how u paste the sink to the backplate?
use double sided tape, those thin yet sticky ones...they're damn effective, but only on blue ice/copper heatsinks, and make sure most area of the base of the heatsink is covered. It will get as hot as the plate used to be if all heat is transferred to the heatsink.

I used an cheapo aluminum heatsink before, the heatsink was just warm only, not all heat was transferred...mayb it even block the heat from escaping loh.

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 3 2009, 11:30 PM)
I dont think it will affect the performance too much. Thats because only the amplifier chip is connected/glued to the backplate to disperse the heat generated. The louder you turn on, the hotter it will get. Thats it.
Yes not too much, but the lower the heat, the lower the electrical resistance = more current/signal pass through the IC. If you take a look at those op-amp data sheets and graphs, even 10 degree Celsius increase in temperature will affect the current passing through it by a margin...so yeah, i was using the same principal as that...also it will prolong the life of the chip...

BTW. i think i'm becoming a freak. ahaha.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jul 4 2009, 12:38 AM
andrew9292
post Jul 5 2009, 02:05 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Jul 4 2009, 02:44 AM)
so thats how it goes. how about alumunium foil tape?
cause i know double-sided tape doesnt conduct as much heat.
of course, it's not as crucial as the cpu one, but at least it should make some difference.
i guess foil tape should be better...but in my condition double sided tape gets the heatsink as hot as the back plate after 1min+ of loud music, so i guess its doing okay loh... rclxms.gif
andrew9292
post Jul 6 2009, 12:00 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Jul 5 2009, 11:40 PM)
ar?
wat do you meaning?
can try take a pic of the prob?
really headache with the treble of m3400
blush.gif
i think he means that the midrange is 4ohm while the tweeter is 8ohm. Generally the higher the ohm, the harder it is for the amp to drive it. so with 8ohm tweeter, the treble will sound softer than the midrange I GUESS. correct my if i'm wrong ;p

also m3400's treble depends a lot on your sound card and source. what sound card u using?

cuz with my old sound card, it sound like no treble at all. with my modded audigy, i can say the sound is near m3300sf (the not so "sharp/bright" m3300), which is a big difference.

m3400's woofer back plate got no heatsink also unlike other edifiers, if you can add some high efficiency heatsinks it will do much better ; )

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jul 6 2009, 12:06 AM
andrew9292
post Jul 8 2009, 12:21 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Jul 7 2009, 10:44 PM)
Hi experts,

I wish to grab a 2.1 for my working desk, Music Purpose...near-field...budget about RM150? is it posible to get a Cheap and Nice punchy sound? Music type: Pop Rock or Country Rock like Bon Jovi...
Which Model do fit my enquirement?
thanks for help and recomendation...
wah 150 kinda tight loh...add 100 can get m3300sf...excellent clarity, but bass depends on your room's acoustic
andrew9292
post Jul 9 2009, 07:57 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Jul 9 2009, 05:49 PM)
i dont think any edifier got bad clarity. my very first x300 got excellent clarity for the price... between those two, M1335 better. cause bigger woofer.
i think you forgot, there is one with bad clarity only..only one. edifier m3400
andrew9292
post Jul 11 2009, 08:53 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Jul 9 2009, 08:17 PM)
not really. i got listen before. u compare it to VS4121....
haha of course eddies pawn altecs ; ) but seriously m3400 is quite weak in terms of clarity compare to other edifiers.
andrew9292
post Jul 12 2009, 04:43 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

If only Edifier could use audiophile grade cables, capacitors and opamps in their S series....

in fact i think that edifier S series could be THX certified as they sound better than most THX certified multimedia speakers. but it's good thing they didnt certify it, lower the cost n use it to improve SQ. nice...
andrew9292
post Jul 15 2009, 09:01 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 15 2009, 07:21 PM)
Are you sure you can afford it when they used these stuffs?

I suggest you go out and survey the pricing first and then tell me whether you will upgrade the component inside your EDIFIER speaker. I myself is using S2000 and even with the pricetag of RM1.5k(Retail), they still dont use very good cap nor opamp for it. I did survey the capacitor for the xover nia and to my horror, if I really wanted to upgrade to so called audiophile grade cap (not even the best yet), I have to fork out like RM400~500 for the capacitors, and thats only for one side. I use lousy cable from Belden nia and even that already RM6-7 per metre(not terminated yet), plus a canare F10 plug cost like RM20 or so (F12 cost like RM30+ if Im not mistaken). You still want audiophile grade? Think again...
Okay, nice bashing there. I know u're trying to say u are very financially strong and i'm poor and i cant afford when it comes to high end audio. Correct.

Clearly u don't know what you are talking about. Most edifiers use ST4558 opamps, They could use something like the famous AD8066 or LM4562 that audiophiles use in their external DAC or CMOY. Those opamps are only about few ringgit when you it by piece, if such big speaker producers buy those opamps in bulk, I'm sure the total price will drop significantly.

May i know what caps edifier put in your s2000? And what caps that you are looking at that cost you 400-500 bucks? I think you're quite stupid to consider something that expensive, there are many other caps that are 10 times cheaper and will yield better results than stock caps. Edifier could use better caps and opamps considering your speaker cost 1.5k.

Edifier's analog cables oxidizes quickly if you room has no dehumidifier or air cond, they could provide a medium grade gold plated plugs and wire to come with their speakers...

U are the type of person that thinks using stuff and gears that cost hundreds of ringgits is called "audiophile", you are wrong. Please look up an English dictionary for the meaning of audiophile.

Besides, in my first post i said IF Edifier could use those on the S series, since they already cost quite alot, it would increase their price-performance ratio if they put in opamps and caps just a couple of ringgit more expensive.

U know sometime u go thinking "If i could be a millionaire someday?" It's just a thought.

IF. Oh! Wait, u're the lan si guy with s2000 costing rm1.5k looking at rm400 ringgit caps and canare plugs, why do u even care about best price to performance ratio.

To other in this forum, sorry, its between me and him. If he has stuff to say to me and he is clever, he will reply me by PM.

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jul 15 2009, 09:09 PM
andrew9292
post Jul 17 2009, 03:57 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Hmm... what is long throw bass/woofer? hmm.gif hmm.gif

most altec lansings are "long throw" ?

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jul 17 2009, 04:01 PM
andrew9292
post Jul 17 2009, 04:07 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

I found this somewhere in google...KONONYA...

A "long throw" speaker is normally considered to be a high-directivity speaker. Vertically, because it projects a tight beam, you're able to "throw" the sound over the heads of the nearest listeners without killing them with SPL(sound pressure level). Horizontally, it sends less energy into the sidewalls of the room - the reverb picks up more slowly as you walk toward the back.

When it comes to floor-stacked sub woofers, neither of these effects apply. All of the listeners are in the direct path of the subs, so there is no throwing it over their heads. Also, all subs have wide patterns, and nearly all rooms have relatively long reverb times at low frequencies - so the effect of low frequency directivity on the distribution of reverb(reflect) in a room is usually insignificant.A long throw woofer design for a Sub tends to increase its bass output,while limiting distortions

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0428sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:52 PM