beederbest
post Nov 29 2010, 08:41 PM

768 posts

this page die already?
lwyn
post Nov 30 2010, 09:23 PM

hi everyone im planning to go to for WAT 2011 summer,anyone wanna join?
then we can go as a group as it is better (i heard)

any job to recommend?

i heard hardrock cafe is nice biggrin.gif
prelude23
post Dec 1 2010, 01:04 AM

fYeah!!
2,497 posts

I wanna ask. This work and travel thingy only in US kah?

Other countries no?
duke22
post Dec 1 2010, 09:14 AM

22 posts

well, from what i know from its eligibility:

to be eligible to participate in Work & Travel USA, you must meet the following requirements:

- be at least 18 years old
    - be enrolled in a full time course at a state-recognised institution of tertiary education not in your final year of study
    - be able to function in an English speaking working environment
    - have a pre-arranged job and a minimum of US$475 available to support yourself upon arrival in the USA.

does it mean this WAT is not meant for final year student waiting for graduation? i come across sb in this forum says it is only designed for current university students and last semester students awaiting graduation only.correct us if possible.

is there any internships position available to apply through this agent for doing a research in US universiies?

the cost of staying and working and spending in US can be easily seen in the following:

[/B]
I worked for 2 months, originally just in Colonial Properties, but I got a second job in McDonalds. I earned about US $ 400 a week, working 36 hours a week at Colonial Properties and 24 hours a week at McDonalds. Accommodation cost me US$ 250 per month, and I spent about US $ 200 a month on food. Apart from that, I spent about US $ 80 per month on leisure, laundry, etc.

so i guess we can still earn a nicely net sum of money at the end of our WAT at US!=)
chicaman
post Dec 1 2010, 10:28 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(lwyn @ Nov 30 2010, 09:23 PM)

any job to recommend?

sounds cool, but dont know the procedure and other stuff

graduating next year may hopefully can finish my project lol!

Been looking to travel via working holiday to US or NewZealand!
FCUK89
post Dec 1 2010, 04:22 PM

www.bigvisionsocialmedia.com
955 posts

any job to recommend?

Where are you planning to go?

I have joined WAT 2009 summer before and I went to Yellowstone. I'm glad to help anyone here on this forum.
beederbest
post Dec 1 2010, 04:58 PM

768 posts

any job to recommend?

I wan join but haven confirm yet. haven pay deposit.
when's ur holiday?
U go with speedwing or ootb?

Added on December 1, 2010, 4:59 pm
QUOTE(prelude23 @ Dec 1 2010, 01:04 AM)
I wanna ask. This work and travel thingy only in US kah?

Other countries no?
The agent sound like more encourage us to apply USA lo~
I ask about other country they say New Zealand can but apply yourself.
Not sure I get the wrong meaning or not.

Added on December 1, 2010, 5:04 pm
QUOTE(duke22 @ Dec 1 2010, 09:14 AM)
well, from what i know from its eligibility:

to be eligible to participate in Work & Travel USA, you must meet the following requirements:

does it mean this WAT is not meant for final year student waiting for graduation? i come across sb in this forum says it is only  designed for current university students and last semester students awaiting graduation only.correct us if possible.

is there any internships position available to apply through this agent for doing a research in US universiies?

the cost of staying and working and spending in US can be easily seen in the following:

[/B]

so i guess we can still earn a nicely net sum of money at the end of our WAT at US!=)
QUOTE(chicaman @ Dec 1 2010, 10:28 AM)
sounds cool, but dont know the procedure and other stuff

graduating next year may hopefully can finish my project lol!

Been looking to travel via working holiday to US or NewZealand!
go speedwing or out of the box website. they are the agent for this. can ask them any quuestion.

This post has been edited by beederbest: Dec 1 2010, 05:04 PM
numblink
post Dec 1 2010, 11:36 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Dec 1 2010, 04:22 PM)

I have joined WAT 2009 summer before and I went to Yellowstone. I'm glad to help anyone here on this forum.
Hi,mind to share ur experience??like how much u earn.....blablabla.....i going for 2011 WAT too.....but i plan to go marriott oceanview resort.....i cant find info for housing there.Any idea??
FCUK89
post Dec 1 2010, 11:58 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(numblink @ Dec 1 2010, 11:36 PM)
Hi,mind to share ur experience??like how much u earn.....blablabla.....i going for 2011 WAT too.....but i plan to go marriott oceanview resort.....i cant find info for housing there.Any idea??
Yellowstone is definitely an awesome place to go if you like nature. It's really somewhere out of this world I have to say.

I was working as a housekeeper and my pay was 7.25 an hour. I worked really hard, trying to reach 48 hours a week (I had to look for extra shift to reach 48) and I managed to recoup my initial cost. I didn't spend much as well, didn't buy iPod/iPhone/shopping. Just plain travel in Chicago and NY.

The hiking in yellowstone was really awesome and every employee was like a family there. It's a nice community and nature together living for 3 months. Friends come and go as well, so you make new friends and you will miss some as well.

If you can afford to go for work and travel, I do encourage you. It's really fun, but make sure the employers are good. Check with speedwing/ootb on how are they, because new employers are coming up and some of them have not had track record before with the agents.

Housing, you can try craiglist. It's a pretty famous place to look for just about anything in the US. Hope it helps.

beederbest
post Dec 2 2010, 11:59 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(numblink @ Dec 1 2010, 11:36 PM)
this is the only thing i get for the housing info for Marriott resort.

"We will provide a housing referral/recommendation list a minimum 30 days prior to arrival. We recommend prearranging
housing. The average cost per person per week will range between $75 and $100.00."
numblink
post Dec 2 2010, 11:03 PM

145 posts

Thx for sharing guys....now i am trying to find the best job.....any1 going for summer 2011??
FCUK89
post Dec 2 2010, 11:05 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(beederbest @ Dec 2 2010, 11:59 AM)
this is the only thing i get for the housing info for Marriott resort.

"We will provide a housing referral/recommendation list a minimum 30 days prior to arrival. We recommend prearranging
housing. The average cost per person per week will range between $75 and $100.00."
Yeah some don't provide housing, they just recommend. Try asking if they will provide a place to stay for the first week, at least will buy you time to get the contract done and move in to the house.

QUOTE(numblink @ Dec 2 2010, 11:03 PM)
Thx for sharing guys....now i am trying to find the best job.....any1 going for summer 2011??
All the best, but do note that there is no best job. Just don't want you to put too much expectations and get disappointed after that, cause the jobs are just so so. It's the experience that counts. smile.gif
numblink
post Dec 3 2010, 12:42 PM

145 posts

Thx for the advice.....waiting for the agent to come this coming week....=)
lwyn
post Dec 5 2010, 06:21 PM

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Dec 1 2010, 04:22 PM)

im going with out of the box..
planning to go to hardrock cafe gatlinburg..

I dont quite understand on the tipping part,some ppl say waiters can earn a lot from it..
but not everybody gives tip,so how does it work?

mind to explain a bit? cause i think i really need to cover back my cost .. thx
tishaban
post Dec 5 2010, 07:30 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(lwyn @ Dec 5 2010, 06:21 PM)
I dont quite understand on the tipping part,some ppl say waiters can earn a lot from it..
but not everybody gives tip,so how does it work?

mind to explain a bit? cause i think i really need to cover back my cost .. thx
Tipping is a culture in the US so people working in the service industry are paid slightly lower than minimum wage and make it up based on their tips. Tips are usually between 10-20% of the total bill, most customers will tip but there are those who don't. In my experience customers in big cities eg. NYC will tip more than those in smaller kampungs.

You're supposed to pay taxes on your tips but ... biggrin.gif

lwyn
post Dec 7 2010, 11:51 PM

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 5 2010, 07:30 PM)
Tipping is a culture in the US so people working in the service industry are paid slightly lower than minimum wage and make it up based on their tips. Tips are usually between 10-20% of the total bill, most customers will tip but there are those who don't. In my experience customers in big cities eg. NYC will tip more than those in smaller kampungs.

You're supposed to pay taxes on your tips but ... biggrin.gif
oh i see...so is gatlinburg considered a kampung area?
is it worth it to choose this kind of tipping job instead of normal salary job?
cause tipping job's salary is much more lower tho...
FCUK89
post Dec 8 2010, 12:09 AM

955 posts

QUOTE(lwyn @ Dec 7 2010, 11:51 PM)
tishaban is right.

well, kampung or not it also depends on the restaurant. if it's a popular one then yeah you should probably get lots of tips cause there's a lot of ppl. if it's not, then probably not so much of a good idea.

you can try googling more about the restaurant to see reviews and all. smile.gif
numblink
post Dec 10 2010, 10:44 PM

145 posts

Any1 got more info on morey's piers? choosing there....XD
FCUK89
post Dec 10 2010, 11:23 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(numblink @ Dec 10 2010, 10:44 PM)
Any1 got more info on morey's piers? choosing there....XD
Is it the one near New York?
Ethanps3
post Dec 10 2010, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(lwyn @ Dec 7 2010, 11:51 PM)
If i am not mistaken, that place is kampung area but don't worry about it . Kampung area you can save a lot of money because there is no place to spent on unless you do a lot of online shopping.

And if you ever get offered a job as a server never hesitate just accept it as you will earn so much more than you ever expected. You will at least go home not less than a benjamin each day with or without your basic salary. As long as you speak good english, serve what they want , make them happy and you will walk away with a bank each day in your pocket .

Good luck !

33 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:07 AM