Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best

N1-C
post Feb 2 2009, 10:51 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Feb 2 2009, 09:11 AM)
their reseller ratings is sorta suspicious.  >> http://www.resellerratings.com/store/MALIBAL

all positive is great, but from reviewers who joined only posted once (and never again on any other site?)  hmm.gif
I'm one of the "reviewers who joined only posted once (and never again on any other site?)" tongue.gif .

I actually keep Xotic PC update about my status and when I emailed them about the arrival of my machine and very happy of it. They then suggest me to drop them a review in their reply... So I register to Reseller Ratings and only post once for Xotic PC... and never again laugh.gif .

This post has been edited by N1-C: Feb 2 2009, 10:52 AM
N1-C
post Feb 4 2009, 11:02 AM

126 posts

Indeed, although its has a very arguable design and the result of reviews are rather mix, some says it has good value but some disagree. In addition, I'm quite disappointed with the unavailability of WUXGA screen.

However, there's a few solid features such as;

# You're able to switch to a weaker IGP when doesn't require all the graphics power.

# Superior sound quality with 4.1 speaker setup.

# Quad core support.

# Incredible sound.

# Very incredible sound.

# Did I mention very very very good sound?

Enough with the crap... Sorry I'm a little bit over excited with... the sound.

Take note though this notebook is loaded with... LOTS of bloatware. I'm warning you, a fresh install is absolute require, half of the performance of your notebook will be dedicated to run those bloatware if you don't clean them away.

[EDIT]

And apparently my previous post did not caught anyone attention... I'm rather surprised.

DID I MENTION CLEVO WILL BE RELEASING A NOTEBOOK WITH DESKTOP INTEL i7 AND MOBILE G280? NO? NOW I'M TELLING YOU.

Specification from Eurocom (Similar to Xotic PC).

And once again thanks for Gophn from NotebookReview for providing this exciting information.

This post has been edited by N1-C: Feb 4 2009, 11:11 AM
N1-C
post Feb 7 2009, 09:37 AM

126 posts

That's one hell of a best... and what's more? Changing your CPU would not spoil your warranty... biggrin.gif

@corad

I don't know... rclxub.gif
N1-C
post Feb 9 2009, 12:01 AM

126 posts

Yea its east... Lol.

Anyway Bankster are you a student? If yes how do you find carrying it to school? ~1 hour carrying it with a messenger bag/backpack.
N1-C
post Feb 9 2009, 11:12 AM

126 posts

Its either me losing my mind or Eurocom does biggrin.gif .

They now offer up to QX9300 for the Sager NP8660 at a whopping $1035 (From the base CPU T5900).

Link.

No word on official support yet, maybe Eurocom put in their own custom heat sink? I doubt they will sell notebook that will burn a hole in them laugh.gif .
N1-C
post Feb 10 2009, 09:19 AM

126 posts

Hm... Do Singapore charge taxes for notebook? Try check with your local custom.

@Bankster

Yes... I'm referring to college of course, hard to imagine anything below than that need to carry notebook to school (With all the textbooks... You have to have plenty of muscle to kill lol )

Never own a 17" before and since its not much more heavier; ~0.5kg, might consider it on my next investment. Thanks for the reply.
N1-C
post Feb 10 2009, 08:42 PM

126 posts

@corad

No... not now of course, I'm planning after i graduate from college and move around less.

@Bankster

9800M GTS destroy 8700M GT SLI, whats more an 9800M GTX? You should fire up some games and show him who's the boss lol.

Raw performance > LEDs.

Saving money and going to slap a Intel SSD into the beast... Hopefully the price drop will quicken my time of getting it lol.

[EDIT]

What college are you in? I would happily transfer to college that with notebook (Not the cost tongue.gif ) will be able to attract girls LOL.

This post has been edited by N1-C: Feb 10 2009, 08:46 PM
N1-C
post Feb 10 2009, 11:49 PM

126 posts

Don't really get you, while I'm always... "addicted" to tech, I'll always look into my wallet first, or my parent's LOL.

Like I said, last semester I've only one textbook with me that need to carry to class twice a week (Not necessary... but meh I'm a good student tongue.gif LOL). I'm a programming/ networking student so most of my... "textbook" are in digital form, PDF files mostly.

Less then a month before my college re-open... So I'll try to enjoy it as much as I could. Might do benchmark of F.E.A.R 2 when its released on Steam for my GTS! While it will be not anything in depth... stay tune, hopefully will give people a better idea of what 9800M GTS is capable of biggrin.gif.

And you kirakun! I'm waiting for your NP9262 review lol.
N1-C
post Feb 12 2009, 12:07 AM

126 posts

Then I guess I'll not mention Eurocom to upset you... biggrin.gif You have the advantage of taking it to retail store though.
N1-C
post Feb 12 2009, 08:56 AM

126 posts

I can assure you, your speakers will kick most of the a$$ out there... laugh.gif One of the finest set of on-board speakers I've ever seen/hear. Not to mention the beautiful interior design.

Don't worry about the GPU, you can upgrade them if you feel like it later. I remember if you talk with Eurocom, they are willing to sell you individual part... like say... the GPU (X300 support up to 9800M GTX and please do not attempt this as I'm not sure).

@wilsonjay

Err no, Sager don't sell desktop.
N1-C
post Feb 13 2009, 10:22 AM

126 posts

I'll personally recommend the PC151 as there's no obvious difference between the two (Except for the price).
N1-C
post Feb 18 2009, 05:04 PM

126 posts

Your score is pretty normal from the looks of it, the 9800M GTX SLI is not really good in benchmarking. A single 9800M GTX could score over 10k but dont underestimate the 9800M GTX in SLI lol.

I've seen 15k but that's with a Q9650 @ 3GHz.

Nevertheless... it destroyed every single notebook's GPU on the surface of earth (Including the recently yet to release 4870 crossfire according to Notebookcheck). You should be proud of that lol.

I'm thinking of doing some Fear 2 benchmark but I don't think its happening after I fire up my copy yesterday night, it just... maxed out lol.

This post has been edited by N1-C: Feb 18 2009, 05:06 PM
N1-C
post Mar 1 2009, 07:49 PM

126 posts

No I don't think there's a chance for you to fit a 17" notebook into 15" bag.

There's nothing you can do about the noise actually, if you're referring to noise emitted by your notebook's fan and not some strange noise. The only cooling solution available to notebook so far is by air, thus as the fan spin up to cool the high performance part, the noise level with eventually goes up.
N1-C
post Mar 10 2009, 02:53 PM

126 posts

Yes its loud in my opinion but I wouldn't mind because of all the performance that its giving me and considering I'm using headphone most of the time. I guess it is a thing that you need to live with when you're using a high performance components that generate considerable amount of heat.
N1-C
post Mar 11 2009, 05:44 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(BiBima @ Mar 10 2009, 03:34 PM)
Oh I seee, if gaming then I understand.
But let's say..if I quit the game and try to surf net and do some simple word processing, will it generate loud cooling noise also?
Yea basically its only during gaming period, sorry I didn't mention that.

During idle time or normal use its perfectly quite.

Not sure about the NP5793 though.
N1-C
post Mar 26 2009, 09:48 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(havefun2night @ Mar 23 2009, 06:46 PM)
Hi Guys..

I am interested to buy a sager maybe from xoticpc. Been thinking about Np5797 with the GTX280M or Np8660 with the GTX260M (have to see my budget 1st.. hahaha).. So I have a couple of questions before buying the sager.
1. Do they provide u with a receipt (printed or writing) as i need it to claim to my company later? Going to use a company laptop to fulfill my most inner desiress..!!! har har harrrrr...  drool.gif  .... gaming of course.

2. I heard that sager is upgradable later. It is true? It is hard to assemble it and upgrade it later?  doh.gif

3. What are the specs that i should concentrate on as i have limited budget as to get the full Oo mighty specs. My budget is around Rm8000 including the shipping.  hmm.gif

4. Should i get the Intel Turbo Memory as i will be using vista and maybe windows 7 later?  brows.gif

5. If i buy a ram here in Malaysia, it can fit in that sager right? Unless sager have a different out of space modul right? he hhe he...

6. Should I order now or later as it is a back order until end of march for Np5797 and ETA early april for Np8660.
Thanks guys...

May The Force Be With You...  bruce.gif
1. Yes

2. Yes but provided Sager support them in their bios.

3. Pick the best screen as they are the hardest thing to upgrade, to be specific, get the WUXGA screen for the NP5797 but as for the NP8660, WUXGA on 15.4" is overkill IMO, stick with the WXGA. Almost all games out there will be playable on the P8400 (Except GTA IV as far as I'm concerned... but don't even bother playing that game on PC), 2GB of RAM is enough for normal use and gaming and Go for the biggest storage.

4. As far as I'm concerned, the answer is no. The ITM 2.0 will shave away a few seconds of startup time of program that you specific but it's driver is far unstable and they don't work on all program under the sun.

5. They are the same provided you get the correct model.

6. I'll recommend you to wait for the 260/280M GTX.

QUOTE(havefun2night @ Mar 25 2009, 12:24 PM)
Guys.. want to know what is the different with a solo GC and duo GC? how does it improve the performance..? with the new GTX280, is it better to have a solo GTX280 or duo GC 9xxx series?
Also, do u guys think that the intel turbo memory be any use for windows 7?
There performance is around 150% +- depending on how well a certain game scale on multiple gpu.

The 280M GTX itself is just a smaller, faster 9800M GTX but no, 9800M GT SLI and onwards will out perform a single 280M GTX provided the game supports SLI. Not sure about GS and GTS though.

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Mar 26 2009, 12:46 AM)
Hi guys,

Now I need your advice here.

My system is pre-installed with the official Nvidia 179.48 drivers. However, should I install the Laptopvideo2go 185.26 or Dox 185.20 driver?

Personally I did not notice any performance increase in either side. So I'm sticking with Nvidia one.

Try search around in notebookreviewforum or google and please don't take what I said as guaranteed smile.gif .

N1-C
post Mar 26 2009, 09:59 PM

126 posts

Hey no problem, I'm glad to help and sorry to hear that.

Yes , they're standard. Provided you get the one with the right connector but it's less likely that you'll get the wrong one.

What is your budget like now? Where are you buying from? And to be specific, which model do you decide to buy?

I might be able to help you out more if you could provide me with a little more information.
N1-C
post Mar 26 2009, 11:40 PM

126 posts

The base configuration of NP8662 @ Xotic PC is not bad at all and its well within your budget range even after adding a copy of Vista Home Premium and including shipping fee.

Rjtech will also be a good idea but I have little information about them.

Of course, go for whichever option that appeal you more.
N1-C
post Mar 27 2009, 07:31 PM

126 posts

Good luck with it... and don't mind I ask, aren't the system you're looking for a little overkill for what you're doing? Programming aside, don't you think that a powerful processor (Quad) and a decent Quadro will be sufficient for web design (Assume you're doing the painting part)?
N1-C
post Mar 29 2009, 10:38 AM

126 posts

Sometimes game that does not support SLI will run poorer in SLI mode than single card mode.

Personally I would pick single card over SLI any day due to reliability/stability and Nvidia over ATI due better driver support. I've seen Nvidia and ATI's cards that are suppose to be the same in term of technical specification but ATI's perform slower due to driver instability and also the fact that most of the games in the market built on Nvidia's card.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0393sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:51 AM