Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best
Mr.Docter
Apr 23 2010, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(corad @ Apr 23 2010, 08:23 AM) on all the gaming series , lid and the area around the mouse pad is aluminum , bottom & rear is composites (plastic mostly) but what gives it the omph are the copper heatsinks for the proc & gc  yup3. very agree with that kinda keen to own one Sager, but i prefer to wait till new Nvidia GPU or ATi GPU lunch first
Mr.Docter
Apr 28 2010, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(SonicSpyro @ Apr 28 2010, 11:29 AM) http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html^ Should answer your questions and push you into the right direction. According to that, it can play almost any game at MAX settings. So yeah... if you have more money, go get the Alienware MX-17, the one with DUAL HD5870M. Now that one is gonna blow your cute little socks off. lulz. just noticed the website updated its content!  EDIT : updated. This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Apr 28 2010, 12:16 PM
Mr.Docter
Apr 28 2010, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Apr 28 2010, 05:06 PM) alienware for dual HD5870 meh?? it's either 4870X2 or single HD5870 right?? i think Alienware gonna skip HD5870 as their most powerfull GPU and directly go to 5870CF  /lets keep Sager's thread clean from sidetalk please
Mr.Docter
Apr 29 2010, 03:49 PM
any HD5870 user tried Eye Infinity yet??
Mr.Docter
Apr 30 2010, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(Trrienty @ Apr 29 2010, 11:26 PM) Need advise from you guys..what is the different betwen NP8760 and NP8690. Both i put the same spec juz that the screen size is different. Both i7-720 and GTX 285M. NP8760 is around RM6.3k and NP8690 is around RM6.1k. What do you guys think about it? is it better to go for the 17 inch NP8760? And is it worth to go for GTX 285M or stick with the ATI HD 5870? +1 for ATI HD 5870 GTX285 is just overclocked GTX280. thats all. isn't this is one of Nvidia expert in? rebranding? QUOTE(Fantasia @ Apr 30 2010, 12:23 AM) because the the word "nvidia"  don't forget, Nvidia always update their driver from time to time. but frankly saying, yep you are right
Mr.Docter
Apr 30 2010, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(Trrienty @ Apr 30 2010, 04:41 PM) i know Nvidia always rebrand their model. Didnt know its overclock from GTX280M This sager beast is so much worth it compare to alienware. I choose the NP8760 and same spec with M17x and its only RM6.2k with postage while m17x is RM9k! The design and fancy light cost RM3k  go tell that to Sony thread too.
Mr.Docter
Apr 30 2010, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Apr 30 2010, 07:19 PM) both still in gaming.. different performance,different driver.. we must always update the drive to boost performance of the card.. every month ati always update their driver either for desktop or notebook.. for now,ati supporting new driver for both desktop n notebook. nvidia little bit late to update their driver n they not fully support driver for notebook.they leave it to notebook provider to create the driver for notebook. if you know more about tweaking and utilizing GPU beyond its driver and default setting, you know why Nvidia is leading for laptop GPU. for a start - go google about nHancer. i am not fanboy fron either side. i am stating the fact. which party can provide me the best performance, they are my choice, period.
Mr.Docter
Apr 30 2010, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Apr 30 2010, 07:48 PM) like i said.. different performance.. i'm not saying that ati is better than nvidia in performance.. just the driver support..  err you saying that ATi have better driver support than nVidia? maybe i slowpoke about this matter. gonna do some research later. thanks for the input bro.
Mr.Docter
Apr 30 2010, 10:26 PM
lulz faiz2036, i really think you should recheck your statement back.
ATi is just about to start updating their driver frequently, which can be consider as normal for Nvidia. and link you posted above is prove that Nvidia have much better support than ATi.
Mr.Docter
Apr 30 2010, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Apr 30 2010, 10:34 PM) haha.. maybe i always see the driver problem for gt320m.. it prove me that i'm wrong.. need more research..  lulz why you reflect the whole Nvidia by judging from GT320M ? it just few weeks released, surely stable-updated driver is not been released yet  nevermind, everyone learning
Mr.Docter
May 1 2010, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(amduser @ May 1 2010, 12:02 PM) nothing much to discuss about the laptop as it is working perfectly  lulz this is so true....
Mr.Docter
May 2 2010, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(coolman91 @ May 2 2010, 01:39 PM) guys i hard to pick my selection can some poeple tell me which laptop should i take ?? asus G73 or NP8690 ?? the price almost the same >.< the question is - do appearance matter to you? if not, go for Sager.
Mr.Docter
May 4 2010, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(SonicSpyro @ May 3 2010, 03:32 PM) Beat the HD5870? I doubt. XD lulz GTX480M pawn 5870 like nobody business. *fanboii* » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « anyway, thats my bet
Mr.Docter
May 4 2010, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(corad @ May 4 2010, 06:12 AM) Definitely, since the nVidia 480GT M is inside a Clevo X8100. And Sagers are built by Clevo  any rumors about the estimated price, in RM? this really catch my attention..
Mr.Docter
May 4 2010, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(faiz2036 @ May 4 2010, 11:25 AM) yeahhh!
Mr.Docter
May 4 2010, 12:10 PM
^ its desktop variant GPU bro...  ...
Mr.Docter
May 4 2010, 02:43 PM
QUOTE NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480M
Beware: Most of the informations in this article are still based on rumors (e.g. leak by Eurocom) and therefore might change till the GPU is released.
The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480M is a high-end graphics card for laptops based on the Fermi architecture. Therefore, it supports DirectX 11 and is produced in 40nm. According to Eurocom, the GTX480M is available in June 2010 and needs up to 100 Watt. That indicates the usage in large laptops (e.g. the 18" Clevo X8100 like Eurocom announced).
The GeForce GTX 480M can be combined with 2 GB of fast GDDR5 graphics memory (dedicated) according to Eurocom, which doubles the amount of GPU memory found in current laptops (excluding SLI and Crossfire solutions).
Compared to the desktop version of Fermi (GeForce GTX 470 and 480), the mobile version will definately feature less shader cores and therefore also a reduced memory bus (2 GB main memory would indicate a 256 bit wide memory bus). Therefore, the performance should be noticeable slower than a GTX 470 desktop card, but the mobile Mobility Radeon HD 5870 (currently fastest notebook card) should be beaten.
Eurocom charges $380 more than for a single Radeon HD 5870. This also indicates a higher performance of the GTX 480M. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-480M.30196.0.html
Mr.Docter
May 4 2010, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ May 4 2010, 03:38 PM) Well if only Malaysia had SAGER,CLEVO and EUROCOM!!! 1 question - does Clevo and Eurocom support their warranty in here, Malaysia?
Mr.Docter
May 5 2010, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(ineser @ May 5 2010, 07:23 AM) If they are to open a base here in Malaysia, then we will have local warranty + support! Ever since the 1999 crisis, our currency went down  i don't mind spending my semester break in UK or USA just to buy this beast. but the thing that worries me is its warranty and support  looks like i have to wait for a few years some times till Sager or Alienware equipped with GTX480M.. This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: May 5 2010, 11:57 AM
Mr.Docter
May 5 2010, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ May 5 2010, 11:25 AM) U sure that long doc? Maybe give it half a year and a new model of your M17x might come out with that monster of a card! Sager should get it around the same time I think but my guess is it will involve and overhaul of the motherboard and power supply system for both brands. maybe not that long right.. hopefully we can find laptop with this beast around Q2 of 2011..