http://www.wherelah.net/seng-huat-bak-kut-...-bak-kut-teh-5/
deodorant
post Apr 19 2011, 02:04 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(skkor @ Apr 19 2011, 12:42 AM)
Under the Klang Bridge Bak Kut Teh - still the best original BKT

Oh! heard about this bkt before but cos i not orang klang so never know how to go. now got map, can go try smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Apr 19 2011, 02:51 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Apr 19 2011, 12:07 AM)
finishes at 8?  shocking.gif there goes my chance.... any night bkt?

I went to Fei Kei bout 9/ 9.30/9-ish. Not that great... Did i go at the wrong time?
Morning 9 something? Fei Kei soup is good at night it seems. Try the night one. smile.gif

Mo Sang Kor has night wan. I haven't been there for dinner before but I know it starts at like 5.30pm. Some say need to be there before 7pm, or else finish edi. Lol.
Well, 5.30pm is better than 5.30am right? Haha. laugh.gif
samlee860407
post Apr 19 2011, 09:18 AM

4,631 posts

I went to Fei Kei bout 9/ 9.30/9-ish. Not that great... Did i go at the wrong time?
mo sang kor got few branch ma. i tried the pandamaran one, quite good. when i eat finish which is at around 7.45am, still not much people yet and at that point, am sure it won't sold out at 8am la. the day i went is on christmas day 2010 though, so yea...

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 19 2011, 02:04 AM)
Oh! heard about this bkt before but cos i not orang klang so never know how to go. now got map, can go try smile.gif
seng huat very near ktm station ma

stimix
post Apr 19 2011, 09:22 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Mo Sang Kor & Pao Shiang now having so many branches dy. Not only in Pandamaran or Berkeley. They hv branches in Puchong, Lot 10, Cheras & more. I hv tried Mosang Kor & Pao Shiang in Puchong. - MSK meat very soft & tender & thick soup yummy but really kiamsiap when comes to soup. Pao Shiang - My 1st & last there..

Well, when comes to BKT, the problems of them actaually manitaining the taste consistently throughtout the day. Even Yap Chuan of Puchong also suffered quality problem esp their soup based BKT..If wrong timing, the soup either no taste (Early Morning) or not thick esp after 2pm (Suspect adding new base/soup)...So really depending of timing.

Similarly, The time I visited the Tlk Pulai (The ori) or even Fei Kay, chances probably I visited at the wrong timing kua? I visited Mo Sang kor in Pandamaran once years back ~ 11am. Once I parked & walked in, the auntie will shout from far Bor Liao...damn...Lucky I managed to tried their Puchong branch haha..well still cheaper than Hutong Lot 10 for sure
littleprawn
post Apr 19 2011, 09:28 AM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Apr 19 2011, 12:23 AM)
perhaps I'll go for afternoon.... but got basah wan ar? I like to flood my food with soup.
they got soup one~
even if you order the dry one u can ask them for the soup only~
but dont put too much hopes on the soup though~ tongue.gif
samlee860407
post Apr 19 2011, 04:06 PM

4,631 posts

mo sang kor and ah her, both i go very early (as in baru start business not long i reach liao), and the soup still super eh
BlurSotong
post Apr 19 2011, 04:36 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 19 2011, 02:51 AM)
Morning 9 something? Fei Kei soup is good at night it seems. Try the night one. smile.gif

Mo Sang Kor has night wan. I haven't been there for dinner before but I know it starts at like 5.30pm. Some say need to be there before 7pm, or else finish edi. Lol.
Well, 5.30pm is better than 5.30am right? Haha.  laugh.gif
Er... I went at night. Mornings are for sleeping in.... unless there's a promise of good food. like BKT or dim sum. lol. I went at night, hungry, served quickly, but only certain types of meat left... maybe cos I didn't get the meat I wanted.

5.30pm is definitely better than morning. lol. Will try when I can. Now going through vegan phase.

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 19 2011, 09:18 AM)
mo sang kor got few branch ma. i tried the pandamaran one, quite good. when i eat finish which is at around 7.45am, still not much people yet and at that point, am sure it won't sold out at 8am la. the day i went is on christmas day 2010 though, so yea...
what would my chances be at 10-11am?

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 19 2011, 09:22 AM)
Well, when comes to BKT, the problems of them actaually manitaining the taste consistently throughtout the day. Even Yap Chuan of Puchong also suffered quality problem esp their soup based BKT..If wrong timing, the soup either no taste (Early Morning) or not thick esp after 2pm (Suspect adding new base/soup)...So really depending of timing.

Similarly, The time I visited the Tlk Pulai (The ori) or even Fei Kay, chances probably I visited at the wrong timing kua? I visited Mo Sang kor in Pandamaran once years back ~ 11am. Once I parked & walked in, the auntie will shout from far Bor Liao...damn...Lucky I managed to tried their Puchong branch haha..well still cheaper than Hutong Lot 10 for sure
was just about to ask samlee860407 for my chances at 10-11am. laugh.gif sad.gif

ya, I agree with soup consistency. But if they don't change the soup base, the soup taste would be... off. Like how fuchuk with meat in claypot and meat in a bowl, fuchuk in another. Meat with soup has a better taste than fuchuk with meat and soup. gotta have them in separate bowls.

Anybody for intestine? laugh.gif and no news bout the one in teluk gadong and midvalley? teluk gadong is very close to teluk pulai's "ori"... probably 5km apart? less than 5mins by car.

Added on April 19, 2011, 4:37 pm
QUOTE(littleprawn @ Apr 19 2011, 09:28 AM)
they got soup one~
even if you order the dry one u can ask them for the soup only~
but dont put too much hopes on the soup though~  tongue.gif
okok drool.gif yum yum... but I'm vegetarian for a period of time... cry.gif

This post has been edited by BlurSotong: Apr 19 2011, 04:37 PM
buntutwoman
post Apr 19 2011, 04:41 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 19 2011, 09:22 AM)
Mo Sang Kor & Pao Shiang now having so many branches dy. Not only in Pandamaran or Berkeley. They hv branches in Puchong, Lot 10, Cheras & more. I hv tried Mosang Kor & Pao Shiang in Puchong. - MSK meat very soft & tender & thick soup yummy but really kiamsiap when comes to soup. Pao Shiang - My 1st & last there..

long time we didnt go out liao. lets go. ahmund brought me to 1 in kuchai lama previously so we'll arrange. and at the same time u can lemme know who maxcjs is. i'll bring ahwang oso. he's been calling me.
stimix
post Apr 19 2011, 06:51 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

lol use PM lor..haha
deodorant
post Apr 19 2011, 09:50 PM

5,691 posts

eh i just went to pao xiang puchong branch for dinner (actually was looking for pizza uno cos i ketagih anchovy pizza but couldn't find it, so bkt lor).

the soup is totally different from the pao xiang i ate in pavilion. the soup in pavilion more "soupy" and light brown, the puchong one was more "gravy/saucy" and closer to black.

price also big diff, pavilion is rm30/pax, puching rm20/pax.
skkor
post Apr 19 2011, 09:58 PM

Hi deo...

wa... if you eat at Pao Xiang,Klang (Berkeley Garden)...it's about rm9.50/pax.
and if lucky, can still get the "tuar kut" - big bone...
of course, their policy is "limited soup" ...

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 19 2011, 09:50 PM)
eh i just went to pao xiang puchong branch for dinner (actually was looking for pizza uno cos i ketagih anchovy pizza but couldn't find it, so bkt lor).

the soup is totally different from the pao xiang i ate in pavilion. the soup in pavilion more "soupy" and light brown, the puchong one was more "gravy/saucy" and closer to black.

price also big diff, pavilion is rm30/pax, puching rm20/pax.
munkeyflo
post Apr 20 2011, 09:08 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Apr 19 2011, 04:36 PM)
Er... I went at night. Mornings are for sleeping in.... unless there's a promise of good food. like BKT or dim sum. lol. I went at night, hungry, served quickly, but only certain types of meat left... maybe cos I didn't get the meat I wanted.

5.30pm is definitely better than morning. lol. Will try when I can. Now going through vegan phase.
what would my chances be at 10-11am?
was just about to ask samlee860407 for my chances at 10-11am.  laugh.gif  sad.gif

ya, I agree with soup consistency. But if they don't change the soup base, the soup taste would be... off. Like how fuchuk with meat in claypot and meat in a bowl, fuchuk in another. Meat with soup has a better taste than fuchuk with meat and soup. gotta have them in separate bowls.

Anybody for intestine? laugh.gif and no news bout the one in teluk gadong and midvalley? teluk gadong is very close to teluk pulai's "ori"... probably 5km apart? less than 5mins by car.

Added on April 19, 2011, 4:37 pm
okok drool.gif yum yum... but I'm vegetarian for a period of time...  cry.gif
Vegan until Easter?
I'm salute you still can come to this thread and discuss BKT. Hahaha. Most of my friends are like "NOOOO Don't talk about meat with me, especially BKT".

10-11am usually most 'nice' and popular BKT shops will be out of BKT edi leh.
littleprawn
post Apr 20 2011, 09:30 AM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

guys & girls,
when u add soup for your bkt, do u feel it usually taste differently than the 1st one b4~
most of the time i add soup the taste sure bcome different dy~
is it possible they cook it separately without the rempah?
yeelin04
post Apr 21 2011, 02:25 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Apr 17 2011, 09:26 PM)
Oh, izzit at those shop near the Jaya Jusco Bkt Tinggi?
I heard that there got many varieties type of bkt~
I didnt try it b4~ i sensed that it will be quite expensive so didnt go there eat~  tongue.gif

the seafood soup really that bad ar~  sweat.gif
do u know that it appear in Ho Chiak b4~
the host puji nice but i still doubt it haha~

Added on April 17, 2011, 9:31 pm

Fei Kay so big dissapointment?  tongue.gif
u try their soup izzit~
their soup so so only~
ya ya, the one neat jj bkt tinggi...yah a lot of types but the soup taste like water...

its very expensive...2 person eat RM 50++ shakehead.gif

i ate that time, i think ho chiak not yet go b4 kwa unsure.gif

QUOTE(alicechan883 @ Apr 18 2011, 10:38 AM)
no lah where got. coz i see many bad reviews about klang BKT
you also say the same thing
now how i dare go Klang eat??!
good, thank you...we klang-ians are happy that u dont dare to eat at klang...

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 18 2011, 10:41 AM)
Fei Kei dry BKT. drool.gif
Now I'm craving for BKT lol.

Added on April 18, 2011, 10:42 am
Food is a personal taste. What may be the best for you doesn't mean its the best for everyone else.
So what bad reviews you heard about klang BKT?
Have you been to Klang to eat BKT before first or not? If you haven't then please shh. wink.gif
+ 1 , agreed with your statement, Klang BKT FTW!!! laugh.gif

i think try to go earlier, cos the soup will taste nicer usually in the morning around 8+ cos they cook very very early in the morning biggrin.gif
yeelin04
post Apr 21 2011, 02:28 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(skkor @ Apr 19 2011, 12:42 AM)
Under the Klang Bridge Bak Kut Teh - still the best original BKT
erm, now the taste n quality drops a lot compared to last time nod.gif
BlurSotong
post Apr 21 2011, 03:26 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 20 2011, 09:08 AM)
Vegan until Easter?
I'm salute you still can come to this thread and discuss BKT. Hahaha. Most of my friends are like "NOOOO Don't talk about meat with me, especially BKT".
yeah, but falling off the wagon soon. Was watching AFC when I stumbled into food and flavours and into BKT. Singaporean reviewing bout their version of BKT. White peppery base soup. My appetite was gone just like that. cos he kinds snubbed Malaysia's BKT. Have you seen Black BKT soup with chinese tea spilled into it on your plate? You'll see whitish... swirls like lipids? That' what I saw on tv for Singaporean BKT. Look unappetizing. But peppery soup... *slurp*

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 20 2011, 09:08 AM)
10-11am usually most 'nice' and popular BKT shops will be out of BKT edi leh.
QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Apr 21 2011, 02:25 PM)
i think try to go earlier, cos the soup will taste nicer usually in the morning around 8+ cos they cook very very early in the morning  biggrin.gif
but to get to klang at 8, one must get up at 6 something, start driving at 7... my bf loves bkt. Was thinking of taking him to some places. There was one in Pandamaran called "Tuah Pui Kow" years ago, then they moved. I followed them, and they have night BKT by their son. That one was great at first, then it was inconsistent, some days bland, some days great. Now the night BKT is closed entirely. I dunno bout mornings anymore cos I went to the one in teluk gadong. You guys knows which? erm... along persiaran raja muda musa, there's a continental tyre shop, turn right and straight to the end of the road, then you'll come to another row of shop houses. It's along row but I dunno kedai name, I just know I have to cari parking.

skkor
post Apr 21 2011, 03:37 PM

Suggest the best for nite Bak Kut Teh in Klang is Pao Xiang in Berkeley Garden.
It's open till 9.30pm... not too crowded during nights...and at the same row,further down, you can try the popular Fatty Mee Hoon Kueh... and plenty of durian stall around Berkeley Gdn too.... man, sure put on weight!
javascript:emoticon(':hyper:')

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Apr 21 2011, 03:26 PM)
yeah, but falling off the wagon soon. Was watching AFC when I stumbled into food and flavours and into BKT. Singaporean reviewing bout their version of BKT. White peppery base soup. My appetite was gone just like that. cos he kinds snubbed Malaysia's BKT. Have you seen Black BKT soup with chinese tea spilled into it on your plate? You'll see whitish... swirls like lipids? That' what I saw on tv for Singaporean BKT. Look unappetizing. But peppery soup... *slurp*
but to get to klang at 8, one must get up at 6 something, start driving at 7... my bf loves bkt. Was thinking of taking him to some places. There was one in Pandamaran called "Tuah Pui Kow" years ago, then they moved. I followed them, and they have night BKT by their son. That one was great at first, then it was inconsistent, some days bland, some days great. Now the night BKT is closed entirely. I dunno bout mornings anymore cos I went to the one in teluk gadong. You guys knows which? erm... along persiaran raja muda musa, there's a continental tyre shop, turn right and straight to the end of the road, then you'll come to another row of shop houses. It's along row but I dunno kedai name, I just know I have to cari parking.
deodorant
post Apr 21 2011, 04:27 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Apr 21 2011, 03:26 PM)
Singaporean reviewing bout their version of BKT. White peppery base soup.

Hmm my friend brought me to eat long long time ago. White pepper base soup, with meat and also those peanuts (already soft after boiling long time). Can't remember where, I think some roadside stall near/around Petaling Street. Already lupa the taste though, ha ha.
skkor
post Apr 21 2011, 04:36 PM

I just recall having similar white soup based BKT in Kelana Jaya, near LRT station... can't remember the shop's name..
quite different taste..maybe was influenced by it's color..haha. next time, will snap some shots and post it here

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 21 2011, 04:27 PM)
Hmm my friend brought me to eat long long time ago. White pepper base soup, with meat and also those peanuts (already soft after boiling long time). Can't remember where, I think some roadside stall near/around Petaling Street. Already lupa the taste though, ha ha.

24 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:19 AM