Food Bak Kut Teh!, Any nice bak kut teh

deodorant
post Apr 7 2011, 12:20 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 7 2011, 08:49 AM)
No man, dun like that style (Klang original style. i.e no claypot & mixed BKT) and super expensive

not really man. i go to the pavilion KL one, 2 bowls bkt + rice + tea + vege + you tiao = rm50+

compare to last week i go teluk pulai BKT in klang, 2 ppl bkt + rice + tea + vege = rm50 exactly.

so effectively no difference in price ler.
deodorant
post Apr 18 2011, 10:37 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Apr 18 2011, 12:35 AM)
tried Teluk Pulai BKT and the taste was so-so,
when the gf and i went a few weeks ago for first time, it was EXPENSIVE (rm50 for two) and also everything salty. bkt soup salty, vege super salty, rice also salty!
deodorant
post Apr 19 2011, 02:04 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(skkor @ Apr 19 2011, 12:42 AM)
Under the Klang Bridge Bak Kut Teh - still the best original BKT
http://www.wherelah.net/seng-huat-bak-kut-...-bak-kut-teh-5/

Oh! heard about this bkt before but cos i not orang klang so never know how to go. now got map, can go try smile.gif
deodorant
post Apr 19 2011, 09:50 PM

5,691 posts

eh i just went to pao xiang puchong branch for dinner (actually was looking for pizza uno cos i ketagih anchovy pizza but couldn't find it, so bkt lor).

the soup is totally different from the pao xiang i ate in pavilion. the soup in pavilion more "soupy" and light brown, the puchong one was more "gravy/saucy" and closer to black.

price also big diff, pavilion is rm30/pax, puching rm20/pax.
deodorant
post Apr 21 2011, 04:27 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Apr 21 2011, 03:26 PM)
Singaporean reviewing bout their version of BKT. White peppery base soup.

Hmm my friend brought me to eat long long time ago. White pepper base soup, with meat and also those peanuts (already soft after boiling long time). Can't remember where, I think some roadside stall near/around Petaling Street. Already lupa the taste though, ha ha.
deodorant
post May 2 2011, 09:57 PM

5,691 posts

just reviving this thread with picture of bak kut teh. pig trotters! but too fat for me lah, i prefer healthier balance of lean meat to fats.

Trotters Bak Kut Teh by shuigao25, on Flickr
deodorant
post May 15 2011, 04:08 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ May 15 2011, 03:56 PM)
can i know how to cook klang style bkt?

I seriously doubt anyone here would be able to tell you how to do that. I mean, there's tons of 'klang style' bkt shops in KL/PJ that absolutely suck ass - if the commercial guys also cannot, us home people are doomed, no?

i know how to cook 'newbie' BKT (i.e. from packet herbs), but klang style? don't even know where to begin.
deodorant
post May 16 2011, 02:33 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 16 2011, 01:48 PM)
I have been taken to this Teluk Pulai BKT at 3.05622N, 101.47427E a couple of times. Is that considered one of the better ones because I find it OK only.

In fact, I find the one opposite Federal Hotel (now close shop already) better.

I don't use gps co-ordinates but is this the one?

I went there once and found it so-so only too. everything too salty, rice also add salt wtf.
deodorant
post May 16 2011, 05:11 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 16 2011, 03:02 PM)
Thanks. With these coordinates, may be I can show my KL friends where to go. LOL.

when stimix says 'plain bkt in a bowl,' what he really means is the shop serves you two things: 1. bkt 2. rice.

EVERYTHING ELSE you gotta bring yourself. that includes chili, you tiao, sauce, toufupok, whatever you feel like eating with your bkt.
deodorant
post May 17 2011, 04:19 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 17 2011, 01:57 PM)
hmm.gif
got to bring chiili padi and soya sauce or not?
if u *must* have your bkt with chili and soy sauce then yes you have to bring your own.
deodorant
post May 29 2011, 11:55 AM

5,691 posts

@etigge u go klang eat BKT all serve rice on plate and eat with fork n spoon one.
deodorant
post May 29 2011, 05:55 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 29 2011, 05:33 AM)
One thing though, BKT is getting to be an expensive fare as for this meal, it cost us RM35.00 for two and even that we didn't order greens or 'tau foo pok' and only 2 iced chinese tea. sad.gif

Teluk Pulai BKT in klang charged me and my gf rm50 for tea, bkt for 2 pax, 1 vege. damn expensive liao sad.gif

Anyways I still haven't tried the famous under the bridge, but went to a nearby shop where got one old man in an old run down shop - Teck Teh. Thought it was better than teluk pulai or fong keow bkt's. story here if you want otherwise pictuars below!

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image
deodorant
post Aug 16 2011, 10:22 AM

5,691 posts

imo discussing bakuteh with a vegetarian is the same as discussing it with a muslim. both also cannot eat good one ... how to describe other than to say "it's delicious?"
deodorant
post Aug 16 2011, 02:42 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(WSL999 @ Aug 16 2011, 10:35 AM)
Don't discriminate me lar.. Vegetarian also can enjoy vege kut teh ma.. Why is it people have this mental block with Vegetarian.. I can't even express my freedom of speech.. kesian betul ku ni..

Not that i'm discriminating against you but ... example if you ask "how does it taste like" ... then ... how to tell you how it tastes like? "it's like vegetarian bkt except with a porky taste" ... ?

QUOTE(cuebiz @ Aug 16 2011, 10:42 AM)
Wrong. There is also chic kut teh. muslim can eat bkt chicken version  biggrin.gif

it's different. got no pork taste.
deodorant
post Jan 28 2012, 12:30 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 27 2012, 04:21 PM)
though beside the main road, what u could be smelling is also a mixture of dust, carbon dioxide and fumes from vehicles passing by.

it's ok one lah, malaysian spirit is the dirtier the kitchen the better the food lol.

Pao Xiang bkt got outlets in Singapore, somehow the Singapore outlets not really nice ... sad.gif

0.0192sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:58 AM