post Apr 18 2011, 10:41 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

Fei Kei dry BKT. drool.gif
Now I'm craving for BKT lol.

Added on April 18, 2011, 10:42 am
QUOTE(alicechan883 @ Apr 18 2011, 10:38 AM)
no lah where got. coz i see many bad reviews about klang BKT
you also say the same thing
now how i dare go Klang eat??!
Food is a personal taste. What may be the best for you doesn't mean its the best for everyone else.
So what bad reviews you heard about klang BKT?
Have you been to Klang to eat BKT before first or not? If you haven't then please shh. wink.gif

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Apr 18 2011, 10:43 AM
munkeyflo
post Apr 18 2011, 10:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(alicechan883 @ Apr 18 2011, 11:08 AM)
did u read this thread
many ppl say klang bkt not nice lah
You know why? Cause there are like a zillion BKT shops in Klang. Does everyone know where to go for BKT in Klang?
Most of them are commercialized cause people like you from outside of Klang will just come to Klang and assume all BKT are nice.
You have to know which shop to go to. And find the one that suits your taste.

Yes, Klang is one of the dirtiest town ever. But if you haven't had BKT there before, then please go try at least once. Then only go and compare with your Puchong one.

Most of the tastiest food are from those type of back lane stalls. wink.gif

Just had BKT at Ah Ping at SS14 just now. Used to be better.
munkeyflo
post Apr 18 2011, 10:46 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(alicechan883 @ Apr 18 2011, 04:38 PM)
why are you warning me? I am just stating facts. Can you browse back a few pages and see how many ppl are commenting on Klang BKT not nice??  doh.gif
Oh btw, I did browse back on all the pages. And I found that your comment is the first one who say that Klang BKT is not nice. So I guess the number of ppl commenting on Klang BKT being not nice is like one only.

And Mo Sang Kor in Port Klang usually finishes by 8am.
Last time I reach around 8.20am on a weekday. Was already the bottom of the pot and not much nice meat. It seems people start eating at 5.30am there. sweat.gif

As for Fei Kei, you guys have to see you go for the morning one or the night one. Some say the night soup is better, and morning dry is better. To me same taste lol.
munkeyflo
post Apr 19 2011, 02:51 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Apr 19 2011, 12:07 AM)
finishes at 8?  shocking.gif there goes my chance.... any night bkt?

I went to Fei Kei bout 9/ 9.30/9-ish. Not that great... Did i go at the wrong time?
Morning 9 something? Fei Kei soup is good at night it seems. Try the night one. smile.gif

Mo Sang Kor has night wan. I haven't been there for dinner before but I know it starts at like 5.30pm. Some say need to be there before 7pm, or else finish edi. Lol.
Well, 5.30pm is better than 5.30am right? Haha. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Apr 20 2011, 09:08 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Apr 19 2011, 04:36 PM)
Er... I went at night. Mornings are for sleeping in.... unless there's a promise of good food. like BKT or dim sum. lol. I went at night, hungry, served quickly, but only certain types of meat left... maybe cos I didn't get the meat I wanted.

5.30pm is definitely better than morning. lol. Will try when I can. Now going through vegan phase.
what would my chances be at 10-11am?
was just about to ask samlee860407 for my chances at 10-11am.  laugh.gif  sad.gif

ya, I agree with soup consistency. But if they don't change the soup base, the soup taste would be... off. Like how fuchuk with meat in claypot and meat in a bowl, fuchuk in another. Meat with soup has a better taste than fuchuk with meat and soup. gotta have them in separate bowls.

Anybody for intestine? laugh.gif and no news bout the one in teluk gadong and midvalley? teluk gadong is very close to teluk pulai's "ori"... probably 5km apart? less than 5mins by car.

Added on April 19, 2011, 4:37 pm
okok drool.gif yum yum... but I'm vegetarian for a period of time...  cry.gif
Vegan until Easter?
I'm salute you still can come to this thread and discuss BKT. Hahaha. Most of my friends are like "NOOOO Don't talk about meat with me, especially BKT".

10-11am usually most 'nice' and popular BKT shops will be out of BKT edi leh.
munkeyflo
post May 15 2011, 08:44 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(BlurSotong @ Apr 21 2011, 03:26 PM)
yeah, but falling off the wagon soon. Was watching AFC when I stumbled into food and flavours and into BKT. Singaporean reviewing bout their version of BKT. White peppery base soup. My appetite was gone just like that. cos he kinds snubbed Malaysia's BKT. Have you seen Black BKT soup with chinese tea spilled into it on your plate? You'll see whitish... swirls like lipids? That' what I saw on tv for Singaporean BKT. Look unappetizing. But peppery soup... *slurp*
but to get to klang at 8, one must get up at 6 something, start driving at 7... my bf loves bkt. Was thinking of taking him to some places. There was one in Pandamaran called "Tuah Pui Kow" years ago, then they moved. I followed them, and they have night BKT by their son. That one was great at first, then it was inconsistent, some days bland, some days great. Now the night BKT is closed entirely. I dunno bout mornings anymore cos I went to the one in teluk gadong. You guys knows which? erm... along persiaran raja muda musa, there's a continental tyre shop, turn right and straight to the end of the road, then you'll come to another row of shop houses. It's along row but I dunno kedai name, I just know I have to cari parking.
Hmm. Somehow the peppery soup doesn't sound tasty to me. Cause I don't like pepper. Hhaha.

Try going for night BKT dinners then. No need to wake up so early lor.

QUOTE(kamfoo @ May 15 2011, 03:56 PM)
can i know how to cook klang style bkt?
Ask those restaurant owners! tongue.gif
I think it is quite hard to do it, or else there won't be so many BKT shops around Klang.

Most of the BKT shops in Klang also have their own packet BKT. Where you just add the ingredients into your homemade BKT to get the taste. I know Mo Sang Kor and the BKT shop next to A1 tuition center in Eng Ann has it.
munkeyflo
post May 17 2011, 12:19 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 16 2011, 07:03 AM)
IMO if you use sachets like A1 to cook BKT it is quite nice already. Use good quality soya sauce though. Although the taste won't be as good as those good BKT operators but it is also better than a lot of BKT operatorss  laugh.gif . Most famous BKT operators concoct their own combination of herbs. Even now if you ask the inventor of BKT (the fisherman from Klang), his concoction won't even come near those who have perfected their flavour. If you were to go into a chinese medicine shop, the shop keeper can pick out every herbal ingredient but in the wrong proportions. The secret is also not only the proportions but also how they treat their meat, the hours taken and off course their judgements which is singularly the hardest or even impossible to imitate.

If I were to cook my own I use A1 sachets too but I usually buy extra pork bones (you can buy the cheaper ribs if you are willing to spend more) to enrich the soup base other than the meats themself. The most important in any soup based dishes is the soup stock, it has to be rich, really rich. In a household consumption, the amount of meat you cook can never reach the richness of the stock base in a BKT operators stall because they use almost half a pig. laugh.gif
Yea, it's usually good enough to have a nice BKT meal at home.
I have to get boxes of it for my family in NZ. doh.gif
munkeyflo
post May 30 2011, 07:03 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 29 2011, 11:55 AM)
@etigge u go klang eat BKT all serve rice on plate and eat with fork n spoon one.
Yea. That's true. But you can ask them nicely for bowl and chopsticks and they'll give you.

Once I brought my kelantan friend to klang for BKT. She was so surprise that we use fork and spoon to eat. tongue.gif
munkeyflo
post May 31 2011, 12:19 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ May 31 2011, 03:05 AM)
haha all this reading about klang bkt makes me drip saliva liao brows.gif so far i eated seng huat and wing heong(next 2 teluk pulai bkt). i only eat bkt in night. where else good klang bkt open for nights?
Most of the BKT in klang are open at night. Heck, most of Klang BKT open all day long wan. You can eat BKT at 2 in the afternoon, what I did yesterday. tongue.gif
Just those more popular like Mo Sang Kor have certain opening time.
munkeyflo
post Jul 22 2011, 06:56 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

I tried Bao Xiang today. Not as good as I was expecting it to be. Disappointing and pricey.

I shall stick back to my usual Klang BKT.
munkeyflo
post Aug 14 2011, 12:05 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

My mum made BKT with beef instead of pork before and it turn out wonderful lol. But pork still taste better.

QUOTE(Unker Bird @ Aug 14 2011, 01:42 AM)
What is "mo sang kor" ?
It's the famous BKT shop in Port Klang. The one where they give you very little soup and finishes by 8am.
munkeyflo
post Apr 4 2013, 05:46 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Tricember13 @ Jan 21 2013, 02:33 PM)
I'm wondering why bak kut teh working hour is in the MORNING TIME hah and night time hah ??
eat bak kut teh as breakfast then no need lunch ah ??
Actually yea, most of the time I eat BKT then still quite full until dinner time. Lol.

0.0282sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:20 PM